LYN Proton Saga/Iswara Drivers' Forum! with**V11**, third official TT photo upload ^_^

knight
post Apr 14 2008, 05:51 PM

The Truth is Out There..
1,842 posts

Hi, I'm new to this Saga thread.

I'm curious how much the service center usually charge us in every services for a saga user??

I found that many service centre find some fault and convince the customer to change/add this and that which that particular parts is still usable.

My first service at Jalan Pudu was terrible. They charge me gasket and ask me to change coolen. Lucky me, I just let them change the gasket which they mentioned that they must change that in every servicing. The most terrible thing is that they dun even allow to change a small pin at the bezel behind the number plate which is loosen for FOC. This is a quality issue.

The manager for that service center giving me bullshits mentioning that they can't change that and they wanted to charge me for that. Additionally, he mentioned he's an Mechanic even I'm not born yet just to convince me. Very angry that time. WTF. We can't measure experiences by ages.

For my second service at another service centre, they don't even charge me for that.

This making me confusing as I don't wan to been cheated. So, wan to ask how much the service center charge Saga(LMST) owner after the third warranty.

Seriously need some kind advise here.
knight
post Apr 15 2008, 01:47 AM

The Truth is Out There..
1,842 posts

QUOTE(blackpc @ Apr 14 2008, 07:47 PM)
Things to do when servicing your car;

1. Avoid Proton SC as it charges quite high for workmanship. (full service will set u back about rm170 just for workmanship)
2. Know what to change and when to change. Keep to that and be strict about it.
3. Decline oil treatment. Useless and waste rm20. Motor oil companies has done extensive R&D before putting their product on the shelves.
4. Coolant is important to a car well being. Change if it's it's rusty. Top up if the level drops.
5. Decline carburettor/fuel injector cleaner. You can buy this outside cheaper.

Things to change;

1. Engine oil every 5000km (mineral type 20/50) RM50~RM60 depending on brand
2. Oil filter with every engine oil change RM12~RM15
3. Air filter every 10000km~20000km (if dirty change early) RM12~RM15
4. Spark plugs every 20000km RM20~RM25
5. Gear oil every 20000km RM25~RM30
6. Fuel/Petrol filter every 20000km RM15~RM20
7. Coolant to be flushed and changed every 20000km. Anything from RM5~RM20 per bottle depending on the brand. U need about 2 to 3 bottles.
8. Workmanship anything from RM10~RM30.

So check your mileage and do the calculation.  thumbup.gif
Thanks for the great info there..at least I won't be so noob this time. Sometime I just don't know which part should change..like yesterday they ask me to change the gear oil..My gear still feel so smooth so i just say no 1st.

By the way, does the workmanship just cost around RM10-30 in KL?? I heard the guy say rm50 after my 3rd servicing. Maybe he wan to cut my neck out to suck my blood. icon_question.gif

0.0466sec    1.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 07:54 AM