A Mandarin Portrait, Inspired by Lasse

TSR a D ! c 4 L
post Mar 13 2008, 11:57 PM, updated 18y ago

Linc | Nox
4,744 posts

This is a portrait of my grandpa. Nothing much to say about this one, he's a happy old man. happy.gif This is a submission for my college assignment too. nod.gif

This is a piece which I was deeply inspired by a photographer named Lasse(yes that's his name), aka Nullermanden@ http://nullermanden.deviantart.com/

Check out his portrait series. Seriously great and inspirational photos. I do not know how he edit them but I think that's what made them unique. smile.gif

Side notes:
On the editing part there's not much to say, I did a raw conversion via lightroom with some necessary tweaking on the "blacks" of the image, then i gave it a major sharpening and little vignetting. The only photoshop'ing is the color tone and a little levels adjustment to give more contrast.

Mavik
post Mar 14 2008, 12:00 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Nice, love the shot and the PP effect. thumbup.gif I can see each and individual strand of hair! notworthy.gif
TSR a D ! c 4 L
post Mar 14 2008, 03:55 AM

Linc | Nox
4,744 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Mar 14 2008, 12:00 AM)
Nice, love the shot and the PP effect.  thumbup.gif  I can see each and individual strand of hair!  notworthy.gif
Haha... thanks... just give it a major sharpening then the details pop out lol laugh.gif
kenlui
post Mar 14 2008, 06:20 AM

2,380 posts

@radical

I've seen this in PM but I decided to commet here.. A nice pic overall, you did a good job in sharpening but on the face area it's a lil bright to my liking. I saw your original raw shot in the other thread, and I prefer the same tone even after conversion to B&W. But it's still a good image smile.gif
SUSTheVoIP
post Mar 14 2008, 10:48 AM

Super General
5,793 posts

My comments are different.... because of my personal taste hope you dun mind...

I never like over PP pictures like over contrast etc... a little bit more contrast is fine... but never excessive... samething to color and everything. Maybe because of my background from film....

Anyway, it is still a personal taste... just like some people do not like ajinomoto or spicy chilli. Some people like me still ok with some ajinomoto and chilli la... but not excessive until lossing the original taste.

But I still admit the end result of your picture is good la... tongue.gif

Hope you dun mind with my 'negative' comments... I guess you should know my taste as my pictures always lacking in constrast. Many already saying Canon camera constrast are clearly lower than Nikon. And I still further reduce them... into neutral... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by TheVoIP: Mar 14 2008, 10:49 AM

0.0171sec    0.46    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 08:59 AM