Intel Celeron (E1XXX) & Pentium Dual Core E2XXX, Discussion & Compilation [v2]

Dreamworks
post Mar 16 2008, 09:57 PM

Shining with 3x2+1 stars!
2,141 posts

Bought an E2160 (January batch) for my friend yesterday, overclockability isn't as good as I hoped it to be. Managed 2.8GHz at stock vCore, anything beyond that without increasing the vCore is unstable... Restart and crashes. No go for FSB above 400MHz, walled cry.gif
Dreamworks
post Mar 16 2008, 11:19 PM

2,141 posts

QUOTE(Silverfire @ Mar 16 2008, 10:02 PM)
Stock vcore 2.8ghz? Not bad wor... I'm sure mine can't...
QUOTE(a1098113 @ Mar 16 2008, 10:44 PM)
2.8Ghz is not bad.. i am using stock cooler on 2.8Ghz lol. Idle is at 39... dont dare to do a stress test lol.
Really? blink.gif I thought most of you guys did more than 3GHz at stock. But I only ran ORTHOS for 1 hour on it hmm.gif

a1098113, are you using TX-2? Because the E2160 I bought is cooled by a stock heat sink as well (The one which is slimmed down/chopped in half sleep.gif ), and it idles at 43'C, loads at 60'C, using AS5 as the thermal compound... The motherboard's northbridge is at a whopping high 69'C doh.gif

This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Mar 16 2008, 11:20 PM
Dreamworks
post Mar 17 2008, 10:14 PM

2,141 posts

I thought someone once said that watching movies while running ORTHOS is a good way to stress your system hmm.gif That's what I usually do, either that or I just leave my PC alone laugh.gif

Added on March 17, 2008, 10:14 pmNow say cannot run other programs pulak sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Mar 17 2008, 10:14 PM
Dreamworks
post Mar 18 2008, 05:00 PM

2,141 posts

QUOTE(LExus65 @ Mar 18 2008, 01:35 PM)
i notice too e2140 seems to be lacking stock, might this be due to celeron Dual?

thx for the info tech_frix, but ur chip is a bit special thats why. Hrm.... any one use e2220 here ?? like to have an opinion.

May be i'll be the white rat and see hehe........
If I recall correctly... E2140 already EOL, so it's hardly possible to get them now laugh.gif

QUOTE(outsiders_86 @ Mar 18 2008, 02:52 PM)
can we choose M0 or L2 when we purchase? i maybe wan to get a e2160
Most new E2160 are M0, look at the label on the box... If you can find SLA8Z, it's M0 nod.gif
Dreamworks
post Mar 19 2008, 02:36 PM

2,141 posts

QUOTE(LExus65 @ Mar 19 2008, 09:57 AM)
just got my e2220 yesterday, so far manage to get 3.0 at stock vcore, but the reading a bit low, the mobo seems to set it at 1.26 or so... may be it's according to the vid i suppose.

btw what the real vcore, the reading u 1st put on the mobo or according to the box?

will upload more result tomorrow when i'm OC it more. High multiplier really fun man, make me remember of the old barton.
1.26v for stock vCore is pretty normal, it's called vdroop or voltage drop if not mistaken... You most probably won't get what you set in the BIOS hmm.gif

Mine can sometimes be as low as 1.248v during heavy load rclxub.gif
Dreamworks
post Mar 21 2008, 12:01 AM

2,141 posts

Gonna get my third E2 series soon, E2200 seems quite promising... Should I get that or stick with E2160... hmm.gif

My motherboard will definitely be Gigabyte, because I'm also too lazy to rest the CMOS laugh.gif
Dreamworks
post Mar 29 2008, 01:27 PM

2,141 posts

I noticed significant lag after my system returned from stand by. Somehow, my "instincts" told me to run CPU-Z... And look what I found!

This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Mar 29 2008, 01:27 PM
Dreamworks
post Mar 29 2008, 01:45 PM

2,141 posts

Those 2 I know... I was talking about the FSB, it gets restored to stock after stand by sweat.gif
Dreamworks
post Mar 29 2008, 06:44 PM

2,141 posts

QUOTE(bryanyeo87 @ Mar 29 2008, 01:49 PM)
sure, go to bios and change it back lor smile.gif

smells like the bios boot block resetted itself due to OC phail/instable or its a bug with the bios for standby to wakeup.
I believe it's a bug... Gigabyte boards full of bugs dry.gif Everything in BIOS is set normally, so I had to do the "Disconnect and reconnect AC power thingy" again shakehead.gif
Dreamworks
post Apr 11 2008, 07:10 PM

2,141 posts

QUOTE(Oxburg @ Apr 11 2008, 12:07 AM)
oic.BTW any L2 stepping user here ma? hehe
Me! Me! Me!

The one and only L2 user iirc... So lonely cry.gif If you wanna get old procs, might as well get those early M0 batches la, they OC better brows.gif
Dreamworks
post Sep 17 2008, 01:35 AM

2,141 posts

After 7 to 8 months, I finally decided to tweak my OC setup again... And surprisingly, I got a tiny 40MHz increase without additional voltage raise even though it would have BSODed in the past hmm.gif

But I still couldn't get pass the 400MHz FSB wall no matter how much vcore I pumped, overvolting FSB voltage and (G)MCH voltage yielded no results. 400MHz will give me frequent lockups, while 401MHz and beyond... Simply a black/blank screen doh.gif

Does mobo and RAM affect FSB wall? My friend with an E2180 also can't get pass 400MHz (Black/blank screen), both of us use the same mobo (EP35-DS3R), same brand of RAM (Kingston) but different chipsets. Any pros here can help me out? Thanks biggrin.gif
Dreamworks
post Sep 17 2008, 11:42 AM

2,141 posts

Thanks for the responds guys notworthy.gif

QUOTE(hilmiangah @ Sep 17 2008, 02:43 AM)
woah lucky you ur vr can go that high.
mine cant even pass 750.higher than that it goes blank on me......
Hmm... Maybe you could try to loosen the timings and see how things go. My KVR can only hit 8xxMHz @ 5-5-5-15, but 948MHz @ 5-6-5-15 w/2.1V, both settings are IBT stable 100/100. 948MHz @ 5-5-5-15 w/2.1V also can lar but always hang/BSOD, and somehow better results in Evereset benchmark @ 5-6-5-15 compared to 5-5-5-15 rclxub.gif

QUOTE(dro @ Sep 17 2008, 03:34 AM)
@Dreamworks

care to share ur settings? mebe we all can help
btw.....400fsb @ wat multi?
u can try lowering ur multi mate

@hilmiangah
....750  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Here are my current IBT stable settings: rclxms.gif

FSB = 395MHz
CPU Multi = 8x
CPU Clock = 3160MHz
vcore = 1.35V
FSB:DRAM = 5:6
DRAM Frequency = 948MHz (474MHz*2)
Timings: 5-6-5-15
Performance Level (tRD) = 6
vdimm: 2.1V

Unstable settings: mad.gif

FSB = Equals or more than 400MHz
CPU Multi = 6x/7x/8x all tried liao
CPU Clock = Depends on the above lor
vcore = Max I tried was 1.55V
FSB:DRAM = 1:1
DRAM Frequency = Also depends on the above
Timings: Auto
Performance Level (tRD) = Auto
vdimm: 2.1V

QUOTE(joe_star @ Sep 17 2008, 08:04 AM)
Drop ram multi to 1:1 n try. Anyhow, I think you're hitting an FSB wall, or perhaps a point where the internal FSB strap changes. Another thing you can try is to boot ar 410mhz n see if it works. AFAIK most E2XXX procs hv max fsb from 400-430mhz.
Okie, I'll try with 410MHz now.

QUOTE(a1098113 @ Sep 17 2008, 10:41 AM)
anyone here has played with the e2160 G0 stepping. post up results here.. with my foxconn, theres no way i can use my e2* series. sadly. BTW, hows everyone here?
coolice just posted one yesterday, more than 4GHz flex.gif

Added on September 17, 2008, 11:45 am
QUOTE(coolkwc @ Sep 17 2008, 11:35 AM)
i think BSEL mod maybe can help...the FSB strap for E2XXX series can't let us pass the 390-400Mhz no matter how you tweak the voltage or lower the multiplier
Any risks in doing that? Scared later short circuit or something because I'm noob with that kinda thing sweat.gif But most of you here don't even need BSEL mod also can get pass 400MHz wor, I can't cry.gif

This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Sep 17 2008, 11:45 AM
Dreamworks
post Sep 17 2008, 12:24 PM

2,141 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Sep 17 2008, 11:58 AM)
no, mine one can't pass that....stop in 390Mhz only although my board guaranteed can over 400Mhz FSB
In that case, maybe I'll need to try try BSEL mod after all. But better wait till my short sem is over first... 1 and half months to go sweat.gif

QUOTE(a1098113 @ Sep 17 2008, 12:00 PM)
u need a G0 stepping.. u have one, dreamworks?
No, I don't. But coolice has one mar, his results are here:
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/651173/+2060#

This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Sep 17 2008, 12:24 PM

0.0491sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 10:35 PM