U Mobile The U-Mobile Thread

ZizOu
post Oct 7 2008, 04:03 AM

186 posts

QUOTE(loveu1668 @ Oct 7 2008, 03:56 AM)
I plan to get U mobile broadband also, but afraid the upload speed. Ur download speed is 14Mbs but upload speed is very slow.

Is it the line always disconnected? How the U mobile service actually?

I need u all to give me opinion. Thanks.
at my place (puchong,tmn wawasan) very bad connection at 8pm to 12.30am..cant connect at all..call CS they told me the reason is "outage"..dunno why every nite cant connect but morning speed is damn fast
wch5274
post Oct 9 2008, 03:51 AM

Validating
532 posts

morning fast due total usage low...
but when come at night, many user online at same time...
thats y u find out ur speed drop.. this also happen to all ISP include wired one (but still acceptable)..
u must understand that we sharing bandwith with other user..
and if not mistaken, each tower can hold 14Mbps...
so guess the speed if got 1000 user at same time sad.gif
9M-MAS
post Oct 9 2008, 07:22 AM

1,422 posts

QUOTE(wch5274 @ Oct 9 2008, 03:51 AM)
u must understand that we sharing bandwith with other user..
Can we share the payment too then? heh heh brows.gif

All technical stuff and jokes aside, from a consumer point of view, it's not his concern how the bandwidth is aggregated. Even MCMC stipulates you are supposed to get 70% of the advertised speed. As a technical person myself, I can appreciate the limitations, but as a paying consumer no way.

IN any case, I think the slowdown has nothing to do with the number of users per tower - if that were the case, I think everybody would get 3G (or not able to connect at all) instead of HSDPA speeds (I consistently get HSDPA connect speeds). Just like TMnut I fear their international Internet bandwidth is not sufficient, at least at night.

This post has been edited by 9M-MAS: Oct 9 2008, 07:27 AM
xpresside
post Oct 9 2008, 12:53 PM

1,982 posts

yea umobile's upload is very low since hsdpa is supposed to hav 384kbps upload speed max..
but even though at halfspeed which is 256kbps..umobile is far from anywhere near it
MakNok
post Oct 10 2008, 01:46 PM

5,713 posts

since this morning dc every now and then...

so i set my modem to auto reconnect....
damn mah fun.
vmad.gif
wch5274
post Oct 10 2008, 05:15 PM

Validating
532 posts

same case here at kajang...
think their system got problem...
mine not dc but no signal at alll
weird...
jesselau88
post Oct 11 2008, 10:26 AM

75 posts

mine full signal but limited service...
cant connect at all
wch5274
post Oct 11 2008, 01:46 PM

Validating
532 posts

QUOTE(MakNok @ Oct 10 2008, 01:46 PM)
since this morning dc every now and then...

so i set my modem to auto reconnect....
damn mah fun.
vmad.gif
how to set auto reconnect using e220 modem?
MakNok
post Oct 13 2008, 10:45 AM

5,713 posts

i am not using e220 modem by the way.
i am using the Orange Globe Trotter Module HSDPA as stated in the network connection properties.
i modify manually from there although like setting the autoconnect from "0" to "1" and autoreconnect as well.
but it always give me error and cannot connect at all.

WHat i do is auto restart and now it seem the setting somehow embbeded in the Win XP system and cannot be reset back to original status.

Well,as long it work as what i wan....let it be...
hehehe

U mobile rockssss daytime but night time...nightmare....can't surf at alll............but can download but sometime got hiccup.
At less,,,it is muchhhhhhhhhh better than SiowCom...hahaha

QUOTE(wch5274 @ Oct 11 2008, 01:46 PM)
how to set auto reconnect using e220 modem?
wch5274
post Oct 13 2008, 06:50 PM

Validating
532 posts

ya la... better than celcom....
and morning time my download speed ..... incredible...
never get that speed when i was celcom

jacktai
post Oct 13 2008, 09:33 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(wch5274 @ Oct 13 2008, 06:50 PM)
ya la... better than celcom....
and morning time my download speed ..... incredible...
never get that speed when i was celcom
Really that the U mobile is better than Celcom, I thinking to switch to celcom. And celcom do not block in P2P service.

But I seen my u mobile so slow and not stable at all, some time can surf very well, but most the time was slow compare to celcom,
Test in Shah Alam area.

This three day the speed seem going down, and the u mobile sc said they upgrading the service. Hopefully will see some result after that.

And anyone know how to unblock the u mobile P2P network?
wch5274
post Oct 13 2008, 11:37 PM

Validating
532 posts

actually it depend on location...
i stay at bangi and at my area celcom suck..
im using it for 2 month and the speed very slow.. i can say my x digi faster..
but for umobile.. i don't say that they r good... i say they r better...
cause till now after 1 month and half subcribed, i already downloaded more than 50GB... and my download record r 2.4GB in 2 hours... but still other umobile user get faster than that... tongue.gif

if u findout ur umobile slow... its maybe due to conggestion... especially at night...
i tell u, i already use maxis, celcom, digi and umobile... All of this ISP facing same problem... disconnecting (except DIGI), conggestion at night, always down for maintenance... vmad.gif

I believe if u read celcom thread u can find many comlaint inside it.. same also for maxis and DIGI..
For P2P, i dont think they block P2P as i can download it... But i believe they control the speed so u can't download fast.. the faster i get is 15kB/s... compare if download using HTTP = 300kB/s

This post has been edited by wch5274: Oct 13 2008, 11:38 PM
saki_kawaii
post Oct 14 2008, 07:34 PM

61 posts

i'm using u mobile in shah alam. u58 without modem. i hv option gtmax 3.6mbps express card

got activated yesterday, 13oct after registered on 23 august
yeah took damn long time
at first it seems that my number was 'given' to someone else.
then on 30august, i think, went to the dealer where i registered n he said it's their fault so they would try to help me change my number and get activated.
so finally got activated yesterday

verdict?

speed very good during day (compared to celcom 98 that i'm also using now). download speed reaches 230KB/s. and stable around 150-170KB/s.
the highest that i got with celcom 98 is 120 KB/s, early in the morning. Rarely, though. normally around 40-50KB/s if i'm lucky

frequent dc. but it's okay for me as long as the speed is good.

speed at night? also good, but not as good as during day. BUT last nite around 10pm it dc-ed and i couldnt reconnect. "connection has failed", my option gmax said.

now? the same thing happened. so i'm using celcom 98 to post this.

well, sometimes celcom also like that (cannot reconnect) so i dunno what's wrong.

planning to cut my celcom 98 if my umobile is better than celcom since i'm a student and paying rm58 a month is a lot more affordable for me than rm98

MakNok
post Oct 15 2008, 04:22 PM

5,713 posts

i also facing the connection have failed problem sometimes.
sometime restart might help or better yet,try reconnect maybe 30min lator

i believe if Umobile got connection failure will also apply to Celcom as well.

Yup ...pay RM58 until end Dec this year still much better deal than paying RM98 for Celcom but mind u...coverage for UMobile is Klang Valley while Celcom is country wide (almost lah)

for me,i have a postpaid Celcom which i will subcribe to unlimited daily plan if i were to travel out of klang valley...just treat it as cheaper if compare paying if surfing from hotel room.

QUOTE(saki_kawaii @ Oct 14 2008, 07:34 PM)
i'm using u mobile in shah alam. u58 without modem. i hv option gtmax 3.6mbps express card

got activated yesterday, 13oct after registered on 23 august
yeah took damn long time
at first it seems that my number was 'given' to someone else.
then on 30august, i think, went to the dealer where i registered n he said it's their fault so they would try to help me change my number and get activated.
so finally got activated yesterday

verdict?

speed very good during day (compared to celcom 98 that i'm also using now). download speed reaches 230KB/s. and stable around 150-170KB/s.
the highest that i got with celcom 98 is 120 KB/s, early in the morning. Rarely, though. normally around 40-50KB/s if i'm lucky

frequent dc. but it's okay for me as long as the speed is good.

speed at night? also good, but not as good as during day. BUT last nite around 10pm it dc-ed and i couldnt reconnect. "connection has failed", my option gmax said.

now? the same thing happened. so i'm using celcom 98 to post this.

well, sometimes celcom also like that (cannot reconnect) so i dunno what's wrong.

planning to cut my celcom 98 if my umobile is better than celcom since i'm a student and paying rm58 a month is a lot more affordable for me than rm98
saki_kawaii
post Oct 15 2008, 04:29 PM

61 posts

well, i dont travel that much (except when i go to my hometown. but my home got streamyx) so it doesnt matter if umobile's coverage is only at Klang Valley. i pay 98 for celcom n yet i only use it here at shah alam.

i think i'll stick with u mobile until i graduate. when i'm working maybe i'll consider other isp, depending to where i got posted

bout the connection failure, yep i tried reconnect after around 30min to 1 hour, n it works ^^
MakNok
post Oct 16 2008, 07:34 AM

5,713 posts

Welcome to the club... rclxm9.gif
What modem u using anyway??

QUOTE(saki_kawaii @ Oct 15 2008, 04:29 PM)
well, i dont travel that much (except when i go to my hometown. but my home got streamyx) so it doesnt matter if umobile's coverage is only at Klang Valley. i pay 98 for celcom n yet i only use it here at shah alam.

i think i'll stick with u mobile until i graduate. when i'm working maybe i'll consider other isp, depending to where i got posted

bout the connection failure, yep i tried reconnect after around 30min to 1 hour, n it works ^^
mitodna
post Oct 16 2008, 10:03 AM

14,039 posts

QUOTE(ZizOu @ Oct 7 2008, 03:28 AM)
puchong speed at 3 am

hi, what modem are you using? drool.gif thanks
saki_kawaii
post Oct 16 2008, 03:26 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(MakNok @ Oct 16 2008, 07:34 AM)
Welcome to the club... rclxm9.gif
What modem u using anyway??
thanx! ^^

i'm using Option GT Max 3.6mbps ExpressCard
iRonTech
post Oct 17 2008, 11:02 AM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(saki_kawaii @ Oct 16 2008, 03:26 PM)
thanx! ^^

i'm using Option GT Max 3.6mbps ExpressCard
hmm.gif does the 3.5G modem make the speed performance different? i'm still dilemma MF622 or E220 tongue.gif
SUSomgro
post Oct 17 2008, 12:50 PM

So far with UMobile, it's unpredictable. I've downloaded as high as 500/kbps and as low as 0.

It's mostly very good on morning. Getting slow on afternoon, evening can use e-mail and at night, we can sleep together with it.

174 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.0169sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:25 AM