Your best (and worst) bargain purchases today, Were u able to catch the falling knife?

TSokyjace
post Mar 10 2008, 10:08 AM, updated 18y ago

230 posts

So many stocks oversold and still dropping, interesting to see what happens when the dust settles. I've started this thread for those happy punters who managed to pick up some bargains today. Just disclose purchase price and closing price.

Please refrain from criticising fellow investors who lost money today ok.

This post has been edited by okyjace: Mar 10 2008, 01:22 PM
panasonic88
post Mar 10 2008, 10:31 AM

37,028 posts

ahh nice topic, i'd love to know, too.

some shares are cheap, some aren't.

i am looking forward to buy the following, but the price still high.

MAYBULK - 3.70 or below
BJTOTO - 4.50 or below
BURSA - 8.00 or below
DIGI - 20.00 or below

staying sideline, meanwhile monitoring smile.gif
Crossbone
post Mar 10 2008, 10:58 AM

275 posts

i predict the market will go further down in the future

is bjtoto a good stock to hold during the bear market?

i bought more star shares today
LanEvo7
post Mar 10 2008, 11:03 AM

Hmmm... what to put for title?
1,838 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Mar 10 2008, 10:31 AM)

MAYBULK - 3.70 or below
BJTOTO - 4.50 or below
BURSA - 8.00 or below
DIGI - 20.00 or below

good choice .. looking into these too
panasonic88
post Mar 10 2008, 11:23 AM

37,028 posts

the main focus on what to pick during time like this are:

1. stock that could rebound fast
2. dividend stock, which could promise you a steady DY% of the year
3. defensive stock like REITs

===============

stock that you should avoid

1. warrants (due to uncertainty, not advisable, market takes several months or years to recover, your warrants cant wait for you for that long)
2. government-linked stock
optimuz
post Mar 10 2008, 11:52 AM

24 posts

Anyone looking at this three:

1. Bursa - currently drop 10.05% @ 8.95
2. Maybank - currently drop 3.91% @ 8.60
3. PBBANK - currently drop 4.41% @ 9.75

Thinking of getting some of these counters during grand sales biggrin.gif

Appreciate any comments from sifus and taikor

This post has been edited by optimuz: Mar 10 2008, 11:52 AM
TSokyjace
post Mar 10 2008, 01:29 PM

230 posts

Had to modify the thread title seeing as stocks are continuing to fall and some people (won't mention names) decided to jump into Public Bank at 10.00 - one of the many stocks still falling.
aretla
post Mar 10 2008, 01:35 PM

o\n_n/o
713 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Mar 10 2008, 10:31 AM)

MAYBULK - 3.70 or below
BJTOTO - 4.50 or below
BURSA - 8.00 or below
DIGI - 20.00 or below

haha.. more ppl with bet on TOTO jackpot during bear market..
so BJTOTO is good choice tongue.gif
panasonic88
post Mar 10 2008, 01:45 PM

37,028 posts

QUOTE(okyjace @ Mar 10 2008, 01:29 PM)
Had to modify the thread title seeing as stocks are continuing to fall and some people (won't mention names) decided to jump into Public Bank at 10.00 - one of the many stocks still falling.
even at 10.00, i'd still say it is a good buy, why? because it is PBBANK
as long as we chosen the RIGHT stock rolleyes.gif
bear in mind that we can't buy at the lowest nor sell at the highest
aurora97
post Mar 10 2008, 02:09 PM

八方來財
3,790 posts

still too early to say on the impact of Non-halal industries, whether the opposition will take action to put a clamp on this activities. Especially PAS controlled turfs...

So long term outlook looks abit gloomy...

looking for other potential defensive stocks...

Not GLC owned, HALAL in every sense and has major projects on going abroad.

any suggestions????

This post has been edited by aurora97: Mar 10 2008, 02:10 PM
NaMyzarC
post Mar 10 2008, 02:12 PM

1,140 posts

expect market to rebound in the afternoon session as oredi confirmed badawi will be the pm for the 2nd term, selling pressure in the morning might coz by rumors saying the pm might forced to resign. whoever bought any shares in the first half, sit back and enjoy ;-)
aurora97
post Mar 10 2008, 02:15 PM

八方來財
3,790 posts

Badawi may still be able to take up his PMship, but problem is my 2cents worth he will start to feel the heat below. For now its just for stability sake and no chants for his head, I expect him to resign within the year sighting health issues and Najib heading the Mob.
KLsooner
post Mar 10 2008, 02:21 PM

737 posts

GE08 aftershock will be continue with UMNO and MCA party election coming up. So expect to see the volatile share market. Keep cash is better.
panasonic88
post Mar 10 2008, 02:22 PM

37,028 posts

QUOTE(NaMyzarC @ Mar 10 2008, 02:12 PM)
expect market to rebound in the afternoon session as oredi confirmed badawi will be the pm for the 2nd term, selling pressure in the morning might coz by rumors saying the pm might forced to resign. whoever bought any shares in the first half, sit back and enjoy ;-)
we'll see then rolleyes.gif

Added on March 10, 2008, 2:23 pm
QUOTE(KLsooner @ Mar 10 2008, 02:21 PM)
GE08 aftershock will be continue with UMNO and MCA party election coming up.  So expect to see the volatile share market. Keep cash is better.
when is it? few more weeks from now?

This post has been edited by panasonic88: Mar 10 2008, 02:23 PM
Avex
post Mar 10 2008, 02:39 PM

570 posts

my goodness it is still dropping. Come on drop more more more. If drop close to 1100, i think i wana bargain hunt O&G and plantation.

This post has been edited by Avex: Mar 10 2008, 02:48 PM
aretla
post Mar 10 2008, 02:44 PM

o\n_n/o
713 posts

QUOTE(NaMyzarC @ Mar 10 2008, 02:12 PM)
are u sure? im doubt about tat brows.gif
NaMyzarC
post Mar 10 2008, 03:01 PM

1,140 posts

trading halted ? no chance to recover today ;-)
greddym3
post Mar 10 2008, 03:13 PM

132 posts

i bought cepat at 1.27...very undervalued plantation stocks.it will hold nicely even if KLCI < 20 percent hehe
aurora97
post Mar 10 2008, 03:13 PM

八方來財
3,790 posts

tripped first 10%. Market Halted its official
smartly
post Mar 10 2008, 03:22 PM

2,148 posts

Market halted !! Better stay out for now, may dip further to < 1000.
Drian
post Mar 10 2008, 03:27 PM

4,999 posts

I would suggest staying away from GLCs and UMNO crony companies.
I'm looking at Genting annd PBbank as a good bargain now as these companies do not depend on government's handout to survive.

Just need to know when dust settles.
dolphine_chan
post Mar 10 2008, 03:35 PM

36 posts

How about bursa?

think it will dip further... any chance below 8?

skiddtrader
post Mar 10 2008, 03:41 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(dolphine_chan @ Mar 10 2008, 03:35 PM)
How about bursa?

think it will dip further... any chance below 8?
Will even go to RM6 if you check it's prices compared to KLCI index.
Singh_Kalan
post Mar 10 2008, 03:46 PM

2,033 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Mar 10 2008, 03:27 PM)
I'm looking at Genting annd PBbank as a good bargain now as these companies do not depend on government's handout to survive.

keke....equine patrick lim must be teh tiau lampa chi. contract kena hold in penang and company share drop 50%. laugh.gif
panasonic88
post Mar 10 2008, 03:56 PM

37,028 posts

yo singh, dun describe till so "yellow" la laugh.gif

This post has been edited by panasonic88: Mar 10 2008, 03:56 PM
Dennos
post Mar 10 2008, 05:01 PM

2,736 posts

should buy PB stock at RM9.50, is it a good price to buy?
TSokyjace
post Mar 10 2008, 06:00 PM

230 posts

ALAM purchased 1.68, closed at 1.69 ---> my favourite mid-cap O&G company

Notable recoveries that I'm tracking:

IJM's from 5.25 (low point) to close at 5.85
GENTING from 6.00 (low point) to close at 6.20

SKY 1809
post Mar 10 2008, 06:15 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(okyjace @ Mar 10 2008, 07:00 PM)
ALAM purchased 1.68, closed at 1.69 ---> my favourite mid-cap O&G company

Notable recoveries that I'm tracking:

IJM's from 5.25 (low point) to close at 5.85
GENTING from 6.00 (low point) to close at 6.20
Alam is oil and gas stock, right ? It is rated as good buy.

Is it GLC or political stock ?

TSokyjace
post Mar 10 2008, 09:07 PM

230 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Mar 10 2008, 07:15 PM)
Alam is oil and gas stock, right ? It is rated as good buy.

Is it  GLC or political stock ?
No idea whether it is a GLC or political stock. I'm not an analyst by profession or trying to recommend any stocks, but I like its business model, have read its financial report and AMresearch recently gave a target price of over rm3.

Silveru
post Mar 10 2008, 09:24 PM

39 posts

It's not pretty. Am in the markets. Heavy selling seen across board. Nothing was spared. After circuit breaker, things were worse (or chaotic i should say). Orders couldn't go through. System hang. Institutional clients shouting and screaming wanting to get out but to no avail! Selling should probably resume tomorrow if everything remains status quo.
Believe this is not bottom. Only bargain hunt on high yielding and good fundamental stocks. Should avoid politically linked stocks. Though MRCB looks interesting but I'll probably look into it at RM0.80.
Obviously stocks will low foreign ownership will be least hit, I'd prefer to stay on sidelines.

One word to sum it up! UGLY!

Added on March 10, 2008, 9:28 pmDon't forget, everyone expects selling pressure to intensify at 3p.m. when UK traders come in. However, due to circuit breaker, they didn't quite have the chance to sell. Moreover, with system being jammed up, it's worse.

This post has been edited by Silveru: Mar 10 2008, 09:28 PM
dolphine_chan
post Mar 11 2008, 09:42 AM

36 posts

so strange today market suddenly back with 20point ... as US market dropped last night, shouldn't it be dropping again??? And regional market oso drop...

panasonic88
post Mar 11 2008, 10:04 AM

37,028 posts

my best gain for today is : i made my mind what stock i should focus and buy during next round of correction (not easy to achieve this as when market is on big sales, everything seems cheap, but they arent actually, 900++ out of 1000 counters are down, you need time, observation & homework before rectifying which should buy, which shouldn't)

that is my best profit which i made on yesterday & today biggrin.gif
SKY 1809
post Mar 11 2008, 10:17 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Mar 11 2008, 11:04 AM)
my best gain for today is : i made my mind what stock i should focus and buy during next round of correction (not easy to achieve this as when market is on big sales, everything seems cheap, but they arent actually, 900++ out of 1000 counters are down, you need time, observation & homework before rectifying which should buy, which shouldn't)

that is my best profit which i made on yesterday & today biggrin.gif
You talk like professor Pana.

Do not get what you mean, blur blur.

panasonic88
post Mar 11 2008, 10:31 AM

37,028 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Mar 11 2008, 10:17 AM)
You talk like professor Pana.

Do not get what you mean, blur blur.
aiseh, seriously tongue.gif

never mind, as long as i can see the lights, enough biggrin.gif
crazyconsumer
post Mar 11 2008, 10:46 AM

Big Spender
673 posts

Thanks to bargain hunters.

QUOTE(dolphine_chan @ Mar 11 2008, 09:42 AM)
so strange today market suddenly back with 20point ... as US market dropped last night, shouldn't it be dropping again??? And regional market oso drop...
cherroy
post Mar 11 2008, 10:53 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(dolphine_chan @ Mar 11 2008, 09:42 AM)
Yesterday drop 10% already, no room for further down as market is oversold. Even want to go lower, it will have some technical rebound first. If you are familiar and stay long enough in the market, then you will know market will not fall straight down one, sometimes it takes months even up to a year to reach the bottom.
dolphine_chan
post Mar 11 2008, 11:23 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Mar 11 2008, 10:53 AM)
Yesterday drop 10% already, no room for further down as market is oversold. Even want to go lower, it will have some technical rebound first. If you are familiar and stay long enough in the market, then you will know market will not fall straight down one, sometimes it takes months even up to a year to reach the bottom.
thanks...
dsugums
post Mar 11 2008, 11:34 AM

607 posts

Can see a lot of "kacang putih" sales volume now, especially on blue chips
cutegurl
post Mar 11 2008, 04:55 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Mar 10 2008, 03:27 PM)

But I was thinking .... IF one day Pahang fall under Islam party... then genting ...bye bye ..

Just assuming.. tongue.gif
cherroy
post Mar 11 2008, 05:32 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(cutegurl @ Mar 11 2008, 04:55 PM)
But I was thinking .... IF one day Pahang fall under Islam party... then genting ...bye bye ..

Just assuming..  tongue.gif
There is no assuming in stock market, either yes or no.

SImPle PLan
post Mar 11 2008, 06:30 PM

353 posts

QUOTE(cutegurl @ Mar 11 2008, 04:55 PM)

Just assuming..  tongue.gif
No... even if pahang falls to PAS, Genting wil b not reli b affected coz the new casino is not in Pahang. The old one is. Tats y genting builds another casino. Such a gud foresight and management tis company has.

Btw i jz bought Suncity. Duno wil keep cont to fall anot coz property and construction stock. unsure.gif unsure.gif
SKY 1809
post Mar 11 2008, 08:00 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(SImPle PLan @ Mar 11 2008, 07:30 PM)
No... even if pahang falls to PAS, Genting wil b not reli b affected coz the new casino is not in Pahang. The old one is. Tats y genting builds another casino. Such a gud foresight and management tis company has.

Btw i jz bought Suncity. Duno wil keep cont to fall anot coz property and construction stock. unsure.gif  unsure.gif
Suncity is now trading at PE of 5X. Quite a good buy.

TSokyjace
post Mar 12 2008, 12:17 AM

230 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Mar 11 2008, 09:00 PM)
Suncity is now trading at PE of 5X. Quite a good buy.
Suncity closed at 2.71 today. Can you please explain how you arrived at a PE of 5X? I took a quick peek at the latest Q4 2007 earnings release. The profit of 310m is deceiving because this entirely due to the one off revaluation gain of 316m. Said differently, without this revaluation which they disclose as "there is no significant and indicative
change in value of the said investment properties since the last balance sheet", Suncity actually made a loss last quarter.

As far as I can tell, its EPS has been decreasing the past two years. So I'd be grateful to know why you think it is a good buy.
SKY 1809
post Mar 12 2008, 12:23 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(okyjace @ Mar 12 2008, 01:17 AM)
Suncity closed at 2.71 today. Can you please explain how you arrived at a PE of 5X? I took a quick peek at the latest Q4 2007 earnings release. The profit of 310m is deceiving because this entirely due to the one off revaluation gain of 316m. Said differently, without this revaluation which they disclose as "there is no significant and indicative
change in value of the said investment properties since the last balance sheet", Suncity actually made a loss last quarter.

As far as I can tell, its EPS has been decreasing the past two years. So I'd be grateful to know why you think it is a good buy.
I have not done the calculations but read the news :-

DJ MARKET TALK: Malaysia Market De-Rating Offers Bargains - UBS - 2008-03-11 04:09:00.0

0409 GMT [Dow Jones] UBS says Malaysian market de-rating offers bargains. Says post-correction, three lowest-P/E stocks under coverage are Kinsteel (5060.KU) at 5.8X, Sunway Holdings (4308.KU) at 6X, and Sunway City (6289.KU) at 6.5X. "We think the sell-down on Kinsteel and Sunway Holdings have more than priced in earnings risk from potential delays in infrastructure spending." Notes highest dividend yield stocks under coverage now Gamuda (5398.KU) at 7.8%, Bursa (1818.KU) at 7.1%, Public Bank (1295.KU) at 7%. "Clarity on politics could trigger a rebound for the KLCI. While it is difficult to second-guess the political news flow, we think both BN and the opposition parties will unlikely want to see a sharp slowdown in economic activity in the near-term. Thus, we believe the political posturing on both sides could be short-lived." Says UMNO elections next key event to watch. KLCI up 2%. (LES)

TSokyjace
post Mar 12 2008, 12:36 AM

230 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Mar 12 2008, 01:23 AM)
I have not done the calculations but read the news :-

DJ MARKET TALK: Malaysia Market De-Rating Offers Bargains - UBS - 2008-03-11 04:09:00.0
0409 GMT [Dow Jones] UBS says Malaysian market de-rating offers bargains. Says post-correction, three lowest-P/E stocks under coverage are Kinsteel (5060.KU) at 5.8X, Sunway Holdings (4308.KU) at 6X, and Sunway City (6289.KU) at 6.5X. "We think the sell-down on Kinsteel and Sunway Holdings have more than priced in earnings risk from potential delays in infrastructure spending." Notes highest dividend yield stocks under coverage now Gamuda (5398.KU) at 7.8%, Bursa (1818.KU) at 7.1%, Public Bank (1295.KU) at 7%. "Clarity on politics could trigger a rebound for the KLCI. While it is difficult to second-guess the political news flow, we think both BN and the opposition parties will unlikely want to see a sharp slowdown in economic activity in the near-term. Thus, we believe the political posturing on both sides could be short-lived." Says UMNO elections next key event to watch. KLCI up 2%. (LES)
That analyst should be fired IMHO
SImPle PLan
post Mar 12 2008, 01:42 AM

353 posts

QUOTE(okyjace @ Mar 12 2008, 12:36 AM)
That analyst should be fired IMHO
After checkin is 8.x. Suncity is gonna revalue alot of its properties coz some properties wil b goin to b listed as reit later tis year.

But still,
Excluding the fair value adjustment from the revaluation, the net earnings from operations is RM47 million as compared to RM45 million in the previous quarter(2nd quarter). The 1st half of FY2008 net earnings of RM92 million is 48% higher than the 1st half of FY2007 net earnings of RM62 million.

The significant jump in net earnings is due to better performance from all business components. The Property Development Division sees stronger earnings from Sunway Damansara commercial development and Kiara Hills. Apart from the earnings enhancement from Sunway Pyramid Mall expansion, the Property Investment Division also recorded better results with improved occupancy and room rates from its hotel operation.

The management maintains its positive outlook for the Group for the financial year ending 30 June 2008, backed by recorded unbilled sales of RM1.2 billion, representing unbilled sales of RM964 million as at 31 December 2007 and RM219 million for the enbloc sales of Palazzio Condominium, which was signed in January 2008. The Group has recorded sales of RM924 million for the 1st half of FY2008 including the en-bloc sales for Palazzio Condominium. This is approximately 68% of its FY2008 sales target of RM1.3 billion. The completion and opening of the key property investment project namely Sunway Pyramid Shopping Mall expansion in October 2007 and the better hotel performance derived from Visit Malaysia Year 2007 will continue to support the Group's performance.
Source:http://www.sunwaycity.com/news.htm(edited version)

This post has been edited by SImPle PLan: Mar 12 2008, 02:13 AM

0.0217sec    0.41    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:41 AM