Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

throttle body problem

views

yong88
post Sep 10 2010, 06:10 PM

7 posts

QUOTE(skyther @ Aug 19 2010, 01:21 AM)
Allright, I'm not a mechanic by trade, but I've worked on cars enough to know that some of the solutions offered here will do your car more harm than good.

That "FICD" posted above is a Vacuum Switched Valve (VSV) that opens up whenever +12V is applied to it. VSVs are used for EVAP and EGR control, *NOT* for idle control. All it does in this instance create an air bypass from your intake straight into the manifold. Wiring it up to your A/C compressor will cause your idle to go up to 1.5k - 2k RPM. There is no form of idle "control" here. In EFI engines, this will kill your fuel consumption and cause other issues like your car jerking/surging forward when you release your brake pedal, or even cause shifting issues if you have an auto transmission. This is because your ECU is no longer able to properly control the idle and will think you have a vacuum leak.I know some people are going to flame me for this, saying there are no issues with this setup, but trust me, this would cost manufacturers at most $5 to implement, and if it were this simple they would. Car manufacturers know more than you about their own engines. This "FICD" is not intended to supplement or replace your engine's idle control method. If your car wasn't designed with one, you shouldn't be using it.

user posted image