iPhone iPhone SDK Discussion here, All about SDK!

SUSmojoza
post Mar 9 2008, 04:34 PM, updated 18y ago

85 posts

With the official announcement of iPhone SDK will definately ROCK mobile industry! Gamers do not have to worry much anymore as there will be lots of good console games coming to iPhone and iTouch and hopefully to our mac computers! Steve Jobs has done a great job and surely a successful move for Apple. If Apple continuously improve their branding and services,there is no doubt that in a few years time they will up-perform the Windows market. Discuss!
terencetoo
post Mar 9 2008, 05:41 PM

3,246 posts

so SDK is a program for software development?

frozzbyte
post Mar 9 2008, 05:52 PM

Feeling butthurt lately? Like I care
3,657 posts

What do u think it was before this?
terencetoo
post Mar 9 2008, 05:55 PM

3,246 posts

i though it was some Apple Enginner using their own applicaiton to produce Apple software where now they releases their coding to 3rd party to develop new features for programmers to come out with new applicaitons ~

Am i correct (before searching the uncle google smile.gif)

http://events.apple.com.edgesuite.net/rtp2...ernal=fj2l3s9dm

This post has been edited by terencetoo: Mar 9 2008, 05:56 PM
raulfverine
post Mar 9 2008, 05:55 PM

36 posts

BTW, u need Leopard and Intel Mac to use it wink.gif
allvin
post Mar 9 2008, 06:04 PM

4,506 posts

well, it has alot of restriction and limitation. The current SDK is still not finalize yet. More like a beta btw. Have to wait till June. For now, you can write your apps but can't test it in your iPhone/Touch. And if you want to test it, you have to "pay" as what apple developer. USD99/year. sweat.gif

Current SDK is 2.2GB. Why so big? Cos' it is including XCode.
z3171600
post Mar 9 2008, 06:16 PM

534 posts

They are going to take 30% from the sale and still charge the developer USD99/year. Apple going to be a lot richer. lol. Anyways, i've just watched the SDK event. Not bad. A lof of nice application soon. June is not too long actually. But hopefully they won't delay it.
LaskarCinta
post Mar 9 2008, 08:04 PM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(z3171600 @ Mar 9 2008, 06:16 PM)
They are going to take 30% from the sale and still charge the developer USD99/year. Apple going to be a lot richer. lol. Anyways, i've just watched the SDK event. Not bad. A lof of nice application soon. June is not too long actually. But hopefully they won't delay it.
mmm...but the deal is better and reasonable though for developers. virtually they don't have to worry anything after delivering the software through the app store, so the 70/30 deal is no big deal actually. still reasonable for developer than some other app distributor for WinMo devices such as Handango that ripping the larger piece.

and the tool is already available for free for Apple machines though.

This post has been edited by LaskarCinta: Mar 9 2008, 08:18 PM
frozzbyte
post Mar 10 2008, 01:11 AM

Feeling butthurt lately? Like I care
3,657 posts

They only charge the USD99 for 1 time only. Only for business program that have an annual fees of USD299. This initial SDK is just to test the developers reactions to it and later fine tune the SDK for the final release in june. Anyone on mac can download the SDK and try. If u plan to release ur apps then only u pay the USD99 once in the standard program. U can test the app from within the SDK in an iPhone simulator. Its basically an iphone but in software version plus all the infrastructure needed for the test. This infrastructure come from iPhone OS 1.2 or code-named "Aspen". Later in june the firmware will be 2.0. Looking at the features from iPhone OS 2.0 is really exciting.

This post has been edited by frozzbyte: Mar 10 2008, 01:19 AM
Moonflown
post Mar 10 2008, 01:27 AM

DayDreamer
1,036 posts

I'm more looking forward to Revised iPhone with those stuff integrated in it.
z3171600
post Mar 10 2008, 06:38 AM

534 posts

QUOTE(Moonflown @ Mar 10 2008, 01:27 AM)
I'm more looking forward to Revised iPhone with those stuff integrated in it.
I second that. I think the most important thing people ask for in the next revision of iPhone is 3g capability. I'd say June is the appropiate time to introduce 3g iPhone.
siawgu
post Mar 10 2008, 10:37 AM

996 posts

The early SDK now available not including the Interface Builder. so need to wait till the next release of SDK in June..
SUSmojoza
post Mar 10 2008, 11:04 PM

85 posts

hehe with 3G iPhone you can have wireless gameplay or internet gameplays biggrin.gif
Balok
post Mar 10 2008, 11:19 PM

Truly Malaysian
1,666 posts

Online Games on IPhone?

can play Dota smile.gif
smartncy
post Mar 11 2008, 05:44 AM

62 posts

if play dota wif ur iphone,then u gonna b a great feeder..lol
darkimp
post Mar 11 2008, 09:23 AM

363 posts

just curious. how many of you had downloaded the SDK?

i personally downloaded once.. but failed to mounted and it show error 4960..

the Dev server is kind of 'jam'. i had some hard time to accessing it. It keep on asking me to refresh in a short moment.

i will try download again tonight. hope the network traffic not that jam...

Balok
post Mar 11 2008, 09:46 AM

Truly Malaysian
1,666 posts

Haven't download the SDK. want to wait till June then download the SDK smile.gif
siawgu
post Mar 11 2008, 10:09 AM

996 posts

downloaded the SDK (2.1GB) took me 7hours to download it.. and install take about 5.6GB space..
allvin
post Mar 11 2008, 10:58 AM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(darkimp @ Mar 11 2008, 09:23 AM)
just curious. how many of you had downloaded the SDK?

i personally downloaded once.. but failed to mounted and it show error 4960..

the Dev server is kind of 'jam'. i had some hard time to accessing it. It keep on asking me to refresh in a short moment.

i will try download again tonight. hope the network traffic not that jam...
Ouch... Well, it only took me 2hours to finish dl tongue.gif

Extra 1GB space will be used if you already install Xcode, like myself.
ezinger
post Mar 11 2008, 11:40 AM

butter cookies
1,536 posts

there is a very significant drawback in the sdk.

no multi tasking, no java and worst of all, no emulators...YUCK!

i'm sticking with AppTapp until the sdk guidelines becomes more flexible
ken_wickedboy
post Mar 11 2008, 09:13 PM

439 posts

Lotsa new games to expect. EA is launching a jet fighter game that is completely controlled by the accelerometer. SPORE will be released as well.

And well some LEGO building games that im looking forward to.
http://playnyc-inc.com/
Balok
post Mar 11 2008, 10:04 PM

Truly Malaysian
1,666 posts

Damn,

now downloading the SDK. 8 Days left sad.gif

ken_wickedboy
post Mar 11 2008, 10:05 PM

439 posts

Ouhh you signup as a developer and paid the fees? What are you working on?
LaskarCinta
post Mar 11 2008, 10:55 PM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(ken_wickedboy @ Mar 11 2008, 10:05 PM)
signup as a developer and paid the fees? What are you working on?
hoho...u can just create the free ID at Apple Developer Connection and then download the free iPhone SDK (2.1GB). just need to pay the one-time-fee if wanna publish at iTunes App Store.
ken_wickedboy
post Mar 11 2008, 11:01 PM

439 posts

Sweet...i'll try playing with it...Maybe you'll be seeing some app from me tongue.gif
LaskarCinta
post Mar 12 2008, 09:39 PM

?
1,651 posts

nyum nyum, the SDK has been downloaded for 100,000 times:

http://www.engadget.com/2008/03/12/iphone-...ames-get-outed/

looks healthy though for starter.
allvin
post Mar 12 2008, 11:27 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(ken_wickedboy @ Mar 11 2008, 10:05 PM)
Ouhh you signup as a developer and paid the fees? What are you working on?
laugh.gif i tot every mac users should know that appleID is free to register it. tongue.gif
SUSmojoza
post Mar 13 2008, 11:14 PM

85 posts

Seems like Apple is heading towards gaming market wirelessly biggrin.gif

Balok
post Mar 14 2008, 07:21 AM

Truly Malaysian
1,666 posts

so there's no iGame? damn.

looks like Apple is merging Mobile phone with game.
LaskarCinta
post Mar 14 2008, 08:04 AM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(Balok @ Mar 14 2008, 07:21 AM)
looks like Apple is merging Mobile phone with game.
haha...ok what. at least they got an established platform to start with.
Moonflown
post Mar 14 2008, 08:17 PM

DayDreamer
1,036 posts

Apple has also said that they will record the high scores of the game you played in iPhone. Therefore we might see something like world record or King of pacman
ResQ
post Mar 14 2008, 08:58 PM

1,039 posts

~wrong post~

This post has been edited by ResQ: Mar 15 2008, 12:34 AM
SUSmojoza
post Mar 16 2008, 04:57 PM

85 posts

I won't be surprised to see Apple partnership with Nintendo for Apple TV and iPhone
Balok
post Mar 16 2008, 06:49 PM

Truly Malaysian
1,666 posts

If Apple + Nintendo

IPhone = WiiPhone, WiiPhone Colour and WiiPhone Advance

allvin
post Mar 16 2008, 09:02 PM

4,506 posts

lulz at it..

Do you think those "big japanese console" companies willing to join Apple mer? I highly doubt it. Especially Nintendo. Else, why not Sony? laugh.gif Nintendo got their own way of doing it. Just like how their old gen, GameCube(ultra failure in the console market). Now they redesign to Wii console.

Only game companies (i would say) *probably* partnership with Apple, such as EA rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by allvin: Mar 16 2008, 09:05 PM
stringfellow
post Mar 16 2008, 09:11 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Hardware does not determine if a gaming platform succeeds or not, it is the content. Sony/Nintendo/Gamecube are not contents, they are the hardware the content are running on. As much as a certain few here would rolleyes.gif, if a significant number of developers would dedicate their resources into iPhone SDK and see it as a possibility for them to paint their creative canvas on, then why not?

Easy to roll your eyes like this ===> rolleyes.gif and condemn it as a failure, but "success" is not determined by figures and numbers alone. Otherwise, Apple is already a failure compared to Microsoft if we go by the numbers. The same case it was with the Gamecube, only stupid fanboys would deem it a failure just because it was third place "by the numbers". rolleyes.gif
allvin
post Mar 17 2008, 11:13 AM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Mar 16 2008, 09:11 PM)
Hardware does not determine if a gaming platform succeeds or not, it is the content. Sony/Nintendo/Gamecube are not contents, they are the hardware the content are running on. As much as a certain few here would rolleyes.gif, if a significant number of developers would dedicate their resources into iPhone SDK and see it as a possibility for them to paint their creative canvas on, then why not?

Easy to roll your eyes like this ===> rolleyes.gif  and condemn it as a failure, but "success" is not determined by figures and numbers alone. Otherwise, Apple is already a failure compared to Microsoft if we go by the numbers. The same case it was with the Gamecube, only stupid fanboys would deem it a failure just because it was third place "by the numbers". rolleyes.gif
yea you right cool2.gif Do you see the price keep dropping and dropping in the US market? laugh.gif If it is really that "success", i sure the price is quite stable. Like PS3 now, the price will be dropping again (i bet) rolleyes.gif whistling.gif
stringfellow
post Mar 17 2008, 01:38 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(allvin @ Mar 17 2008, 11:13 AM)
yea you right  cool2.gif Do you see the price keep dropping and dropping in the US market?  laugh.gif If it is really that "success", i sure the price is quite stable. Like PS3 now, the price will be dropping again (i bet)  rolleyes.gif  whistling.gif

Mongo the monkey says "Huh?" to you. WTF indeed. Itu Inglis boleh repair aaa, bos? I put in Babelfish also come out crap, put in shit come out shit also. Says a lot about your post there.

If you even care to spend a little time looking into how the economics of the gaming industry is, price drops are a common practice. It even shows the prowess of the said console manufacturer since they can afford to trim down the price, hence narrowing their profit margin, but still stay afloat.

So, you are saying that if the said console and/or console platform manufacturer can hold their pricetag as high as long as possible, that is determined as a successful venture to you? Heard of The NeoGeo or 3DO? google that up, they held their prices up, and according to your line of thinking here, they are so "successful" , they got booted off the scene and went to high heaven already. *smirk* /sarcasm.

Did you get a new Economics 101 textbook I didnt know off, coz you need to get that outdated state of mind revised. rolleyes.gif

Next time, try holding off sipping Sony Ericsson's and Apple's Kool-Aid and spend a little more time research what you are spewing. The Gamecube sure isnt big in numbers, but try telling to those who are in the scene in those days that the Gamecube has insignificant impact on the gaming industry as you have implied, and you'd get a laughing riot with you being the subject .And oh, try not sideswiping the issue to PS3 now, you look waaaaaayyy obvious on trying to salvage whatever credibility you have, bud. wink.gif

Added on March 17, 2008, 2:22 pmBottom line here is, as long as Apple can get studios like EA and Sega to stay and provide exclusive and/or unique content specifically geared towards taking advantage of the iPhone's capabilities like touchscreen and accelerometer, all kinds of possibilities can open up. Nintendo DS already shows that it does not take horsepower to conquer, all it takes is a little creativity. So does it's big brother Wii. Apple should be given a chance to show what they can do before you proclaim them another failure, "based by the numbers".

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Mar 17 2008, 02:22 PM
SUSmojoza
post Mar 18 2008, 10:51 PM

85 posts

Well, get ready for APple to enter the gaming industry hehehehe biggrin.gif
nokia2003
post Mar 18 2008, 10:59 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Mar 17 2008, 01:38 PM)

Mongo the monkey says "Huh?" to you. WTF indeed. Itu Inglis boleh repair aaa, bos? I put in Babelfish also come out crap, put in shit come out shit also. Says a lot about your post there.

If you even care to spend a little time looking into how the economics of the gaming industry is, price drops are a common practice. It even shows the prowess of the said console manufacturer since they can afford to trim down the price, hence narrowing their profit margin, but still stay afloat.

So, you are saying that if the said console and/or console platform manufacturer can hold their pricetag as high as long as possible, that is determined as a successful venture to you? Heard of The NeoGeo or 3DO? google that up, they held their prices up, and according to your line of thinking here, they are so "successful" , they got booted off the scene and went to high heaven already. *smirk* /sarcasm.

Did you get a new Economics 101 textbook I didnt know off, coz you need to get that outdated state of mind revised. rolleyes.gif

Next time, try holding off sipping Sony Ericsson's and Apple's Kool-Aid and spend a little more time research what you are spewing. The Gamecube sure isnt big in numbers, but try telling to those who are in the scene in those days that the Gamecube has insignificant impact on the gaming industry as you have implied, and you'd get a laughing riot with you being the subject .And oh, try not sideswiping the issue to PS3 now, you look waaaaaayyy obvious on trying to salvage whatever credibility you have, bud. wink.gif

Added on March 17, 2008, 2:22 pmBottom line here is, as long as Apple can get studios like EA and Sega to stay and provide exclusive and/or unique content specifically geared towards taking advantage of the iPhone's capabilities like touchscreen and accelerometer, all kinds of possibilities can open up. Nintendo DS already shows that it does not take horsepower to conquer, all it takes is a little creativity. So does it's big brother Wii. Apple should be given a chance to show what they can do before you proclaim them another failure, "based by the numbers".
ooo, you're nasty (like how the black guy would say it)
stringfellow
post Mar 18 2008, 10:59 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

They did enter once, with a game console named Pippin. Google that up and see where they went with that. Less than 100,000 units sold before they bowed out.
MacDaNife
post Mar 18 2008, 11:11 PM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Mar 18 2008, 10:59 PM)
They did enter once, with a game console named Pippin. Google that up and see where they went with that. Less than 100,000 units sold before they bowed out.
Actually, wasn't that Sony's entry into the game console market too?

Only Sony went ahead to the PlayStation...

Apple (then under Sculley) still awaited the return of Steve Jobs...
stringfellow
post Mar 18 2008, 11:52 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(MacDaNife @ Mar 18 2008, 11:11 PM)
Actually, wasn't that Sony's entry into the game console market too?

Only Sony went ahead to the PlayStation...

Apple (then under Sculley) still awaited the return of Steve Jobs...
OT: Sony's entry was for the SNES CD-ROM addon, in which Nintendo, being the paranoidal all-consuming scrooge that they are, decides to back away from the deal and went with Phillips and their CD-i technology. Sony went all out after that, exacting revenge on Nintendo's act of betrayal by expanding on their SNES CD-ROM project into a full-blown console, leveraging their own expertise in audio, and went the unconevtional way with adding a true 3D-processor (unlike Saturn, which are mainly 2D processors working in tandem to assimilate 3D, which in turn made 3D games on their platform suffer) and named their firstborn....... The PlayStation with the now already iconic "P" and "S" drawn in 3 dimensional plane. Nintendo were heavily trounced by Sony, even though the hype for their own console , the Nintendo 64, was significantly bigger. Developers then migrated en masse to the Playstation platform due to Sony's open-arm policy, liberatingly fresh new outlook on gaming (3D) and of course, larger storage memory (CD vs cartridges).

Where were Apple/Pippin and the rest at this pivotal point in gaming history? Could not stand a chance against the assault from the three heavyweights (Sony, Sega and Nintendo), crashed and burned with the rest of the victims (Panasonic 3DO, Neo Geo to a certain extent and Atari Jaguar, even though these three were sporting console specs better than the Playstation itself). /end OT.

Sorry for the long-winded nostalgic throwback in time, i read The Ultimate History of Video Games: From Pong to Pokemon--The Story Behind the Craze That Touched Our Lives and Changed the World by Steven .L. Kent when im bored. tongue.gif In the world of video games, just like politics, dirty mishandlings and power-jostling are commonplace as well.
LaskarCinta
post Mar 28 2008, 12:13 PM

?
1,651 posts

nyum nyum nyum, second beta of SDK is now available! hehehe...
T-nes
post Mar 28 2008, 12:42 PM

179 posts

ANYONE CAN TEACH ME HOW TO USE IT ?
SUSMike3300
post Mar 28 2008, 01:07 PM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(T-nes @ Mar 28 2008, 12:42 PM)
First of all don't cap your sentences, it's rude. SDK is not release yet, you will have to wait till around June for the updates.
LaskarCinta
post Mar 28 2008, 02:25 PM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(T-nes @ Mar 28 2008, 12:42 PM)
SDK is Software Development Kit and it is used to create a program for use on the iPhone (but not yet usable on iPhone itself, as the distribution channel will only be made available this june). it's not an application on iPhone.
haha...u need a Mac to start with. then do your program using XCode. hehehe...btw the SDK is on beta 2 with interface builder if u'd like to start program today.
LaskarCinta
post Apr 9 2008, 05:42 AM

?
1,651 posts

nyum nyum, SDK Beta 3 is now available.
d3vilzzzz
post Apr 9 2008, 09:24 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

iphone will b a gamers paradise of sum sort soon?
catsper
post Apr 9 2008, 02:06 PM

1,241 posts

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Apr 9 2008, 09:24 AM)
iphone will b a gamers paradise of sum sort soon?
I see the possibility. Gaming industry is highly profitable.
Even Microsoft Zune will have its gaming platform soon. A multiplayer one.
wutsoever
post Apr 9 2008, 02:13 PM

35 posts

anyone interested in an iphone. plz visit our blog for more,
http://colourfullining.blogspot.com/
thanx =)
me0wSter
post May 28 2008, 10:23 PM

www.me0wster.com
8,537 posts

Anyone heard of any way to develop it on any machine other than a Mac?

0.0297sec    0.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:18 PM