18 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Perdana V6 Owners, share ur experience!! V-sixers

NeuroOne
post Dec 22 2009, 04:59 PM

495 posts

there are many possibilities if white smoke comes out of your exhaust.
-maybe just after cold start. 1 or 2 minutes of white smoke.
-gasket leaking
-piston ring busted
-plug seal leaking
etc etc

but if u need to open the head, u might just as well do top overhaul.
clean everything..

cost varies depending on labour cost of mechanic and parts that u use and brand of the parts.
i'm waiting for a top overhaul quotation from my fren.
will update here...
NeuroOne
post Dec 24 2009, 11:36 AM

495 posts

QUOTE(peris @ Dec 23 2009, 03:40 AM)
fyi,the car suffering a gasket leaking...n need to regularly topup ..  rclxub.gif 
so how ek ?
u may just change the gasket.
but make sure nothing else contributes to the white smoke prob...
NeuroOne
post Dec 28 2009, 11:02 AM

495 posts

ermm..
cannot agak the sound ler.
maybe wind sound?
wheel bearing sound?

where the sound coming from?
lately hearing it or it's been a while now?
NeuroOne
post Dec 31 2009, 07:55 AM

495 posts

QUOTE(peris @ Dec 30 2009, 02:16 PM)
already changed..but still...is't because of piston ring or something?
btw..do u know bout v6tt in term of pro n cont ? how much now ek..
maybe. or the other stuff i mentioned before.

v6tt? hmm...
pro
great long distance cruiser. top speed superb.
can reach 260kmh and can maintain that speed without any problem.
was created by mitsubishi to be smooth and relaxed cruiser.
wanna play long distance top speed? v6tt is the choice.
evo, vtec also cannot kejar.

smooth engine.
quiet and composed during top speed.

will not easily overheat at top speed.

exhaust note is very very nice!

con
pick up not that great. will kalah to evo and vtec. but still way better than NA.
but can mix/kacuk gear from evo gearbox, take 2,3,4 gear from evo and replace the v6 gear.
pick up will be nearly as powerful as evo.

heavy engine.

6 pistons, many parts compared to evo.

spare parts are plenty as long as there are kedai potong around.
performance parts kurang.

summary
6a12T v6tt - black meter 220hp, white meter (RS version) 240hp
6A12 NA - normal 145hp, sports ECU (japan only) 175hp, mivec 200hp
4G63T - evo1 250hp, evo2 255hp, evo3 270hp, rvr 210hp

v6tt for top speed and smooth engine. pick up could be better.

evo for pick up and trashy drive. top speed ok but cannot maintain top speed for long time.
turbine will overheat, oil will overheat, engine will overheat.

but both can be long lasting, as long as u maintain standard or mod just a little bit.
if u start to change internal parts, that is when ur car will become a weekend car only.

Added on January 1, 2010, 12:54 pmbtw, just changed my front tyres to these superb babies..
user posted image user posted image

This post has been edited by NeuroOne: Jan 1 2010, 03:41 PM
NeuroOne
post Jan 4 2010, 12:35 AM

495 posts

QUOTE(slickdeals @ Jan 3 2010, 01:47 PM)
Dear NeuroOne,

Seems like you know stuffs about car. Please feel free to answer my noobie question.

I inherit my dad v6, it's approaching 200k now, and curious if I need to do major service. If yes, what to change? I mean, I just changed engine oil and filter, other than that what else?
perdana v6 needs major servicing every 100K km.
so, if ur car is approaching 200K km, u need to do it.
servicing such as:
change belting - timing belt (includes seals and tensioners), alternator belt, aircond compressor belt.
change filters - gearbox, oil, fuel and air
oil/fluids - engine, gearbox, radiator, brake, steering
changing spark plugs, spark plug cable (if needed), water pump, alternator (if needed), etc
(should ask ur mechanic for other stuff that i may have missed

regarding previous question, I suspect wind sound as it starts produce sound after 140kmh, and when I slow down, the sound stop. if it's a wind sound, then how to fix? 
usually the wind sound coming from the side mirror (nothing u can do except not having a side mirror or change ur side mirror to race-design side mirror)
or sometimes (this is happening to me as well) the rubber on the doors are seasoned already (keras or koyak), so, it will not perform as good as it is new in reducing noise. change the rubbers la. i haven't changed mine yet, haha.

Dear Omnipotent,

I read your previous post and you did some stuff to your car. My questions are posted below.

1. ATF cooler (immediately after taking over)
Old PV6 (not alfa design) doesn't have ATF cooler? How much did it cost you? Planning to get one to protect my GB
PV6 does have ATF cooler but not external/dedicated ATF cooler la.
it is located in the lower part of the radiator, small only, u can see 2 hoses from/to the gearbox to the lower part of the radiator.
but it is not good enough.
only mid-2005 PV6 have dedicated ATF cooler installed by proton.

u can get 2nd hand chop shop condition oil cooler from evo/gsr/pajero and buy hose to connect it to ur gearbox.
2nd hand oil cooler cost ~ RM150. hoses ~ RM100. labour ~ RM50.
or u can get new ATF cooler set like Hayden (~ RM550 siap pasang), Work Engineering (~ RM500) or Proton (~RM800)

2. 7 point earthing (immediately after taking over)
No idea what it is, care to explain its function?
like omnipotent's comment, better earthing. i only do 5 points...

3. Pivot Blue Raizin VS
Why do you need voltage stabilizer? Does it improve overall performance of the car?
overall performance, no.
but maybe in terms of brighter lighting, longer lasting battery and cooler aircond.
i also have Pivot Raizin blue.

4. Michelin MXV8 (still running on it after 60k kms with 40% tread left)
my PV6 is still doing fine with its tyre. Just changed it, and it costed a bomb.
slickdeals, u r still using standard rims? upgrade to bigger rims la.. haha..
michelins are good but they r expensive, u may opt for Falken 912, Yoko C.drive, Goodyear Excellence etc etc.
search the net for tyre reviews..

5. SACHS Advantage all round (making noise now after 60k kms...need to replace soon)
How do you determine shock absorber fits your car? Does any shock absorber fits any car or must have spesific lengh etc.
aiyo. ask for perdana absorber la.

6. Autofoam Track Package
Auto foam??? foam? No idea what is it.
the foam will harden and strenghten the chasis.
for everyday usage, rugi. but for track, bagus.

7. LED trunk, footwell and puddle lights (DIY)

8. Hella FF75 Driving Lights
adds extra ligthing.

9. Osram Nightbreakers (used 3 sets, burns out every 9 months as I drive early in the morning to work and late at night from work daily)
good quality headlamp bulbs.

10. Retrofitted BiXenon Projector headlights (DIY)
xenon or HID are illegal in malaysia unless it is a standard fitment on the car model. use it at ur own risk.

Mind to explain how you chage your car headlight? Mine is the  old one, and showing annoying-yellowish on the cover itself, how to clean it, I mean, how to take out your light and do the cleanign. I saw pins that fit the lamp to the car. Do I need to just take out the pins?
u may clean it (like advised by omnipotent) but if it is too dirty/yellowish, u are better off buying new sets.

Thanks in advance for your help. Appreciate it, and I'm learning about cars from here biggrin.gif
This post has been edited by NeuroOne: Jan 4 2010, 12:36 AM
NeuroOne
post Jan 6 2010, 11:09 PM

495 posts

mid-2005
NeuroOne
post Jan 11 2010, 10:45 AM

495 posts

perdana v6 auto 2002
city driving around 9 km/l
hiway driving around 11 km/l

i once did about 710km travel from putrajaya-JB-bangi
then fill-up tank back in bangi, used 63 liters brooo.. nearly habis full tank.. haha..

NeuroOne
post Jan 26 2010, 12:21 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(Omnipotent @ Jan 11 2010, 11:00 AM)
any Perdana owners here changed the bulbs on the meter cluster or a/c panel before? any tips to share? (what bulbs used, which part is sensitive, step-by-step guide on removing the panels)...

my a/c panel lights slowly dying off 1 by 1...1st the control knobs, then the a/c & circulate switch, then my hazard switch....now my rear demister switch also died...  rclxub.gif
aiyo.. damn a lot bulbs are dying..
i haven't encounter those so can't help u bro.
but some of my frens have changed them.
later i ask them...

Added on January 26, 2010, 12:33 pm
QUOTE(nic yong @ Jan 25 2010, 02:37 PM)
Halo,friend..
i'm seeking for some advice from u all expert V-sixer here.
I heard from some foreman said V6 is not adviceable to use semi-symthetic engine oil, engine will come out with white smoke if u use semi frenquently.Is it true?
Secondly, how to take care v6 gearbox? i have install ATF Gear oil cooler and change gear oil every 15K km. Any recommendation to take care gear box?
u have done what u can.
advise that i can give is just don't trash the auto box, example: like playing drag or main pickup at traffic light.
going for top speed is ok, and do it smoothly la..

This post has been edited by NeuroOne: Jan 26 2010, 12:34 PM
NeuroOne
post Jan 28 2010, 09:36 AM

495 posts

QUOTE(malkovich @ Jan 27 2010, 12:39 AM)
my perdana oso got problem,engine oil leak i guess...need to topup every 2weeks...but i recognize there is no white smoke come out...

where to repair? how much is the cost? hope not reach thousand...need to replace the gasket,oil seal ring or do overhaul?
im from kL

tq sifu
wow.. top up every 2 weeks? that is considered bad..
what's the mileage? sometimes, the engine can 'eat' oil but it will not emit white smoke.
IMHO, maybe your engine leaks in other places that does not directly connected to the combustion chamber..

my car is now emitting white smoke @ 165K km.
i suspect that my plug seal on piston no.4 is already bocor coz when i changed my spark plug cable, there were oil on the old spark plug cable head.
but i also suspect something else as i can see oil on my extractor's screw and nut; and dirt + oil around the extractor. but this is maybe the extractor's gasket..

but honestly, i dono, as there are many other things that can cause white smoke and engine 'eat' oil.
have to take the car to the mech..

haiyo.. duit duit.. di mana kau duit...
NeuroOne
post Jan 31 2010, 08:00 AM

495 posts

QUOTE(koh_424 @ Jan 30 2010, 08:35 AM)
Yeah!!..got my v6 yesterday afternoon..very happy with it..nice condition all original..will upload picture once i capture it..smile.gif may join TT later biggrin.gif..
yeah.
congrates on your purchase.. hehe..
ya, can join TT later with me and nazrilvi.. and the others if they want to leh.. hehe..
NeuroOne
post Feb 1 2010, 09:07 AM

495 posts

QUOTE(nagasie @ Jan 31 2010, 12:06 PM)
btw, does 1 bottle (4 litres) of engine oil enough for normal perdana v6 oil change service?
but if u just do normal service like changing oil engine and oil filter, 4 litres is enuff.
if u flush it all, then u r gonna be needing 4.2-4.3 litres..

Added on February 1, 2010, 9:13 am
QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Jan 31 2010, 04:08 PM)
anyone feel nauseous in a perdana? i do

i think it's bcoz of the leather seats.... rclxub.gif
my leather seats still smell and i like.... rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by NeuroOne: Feb 1 2010, 09:13 AM
NeuroOne
post Feb 4 2010, 07:32 AM

495 posts

QUOTE(koh_424 @ Feb 3 2010, 07:20 PM)
any recommand of the 6x9 for our V6??..wan a nice nice sound quality n with a good good price tongue.gif..haha
ur 6x9 already koyak, is it?
any branded 6x9 will do.
look for big magnet for bigger boom.
but bigger magnet will make the boot sangkut a bit.

btw, i'm using JBL decade edition.

Added on February 4, 2010, 7:38 am
QUOTE(raclette @ Feb 3 2010, 08:18 PM)
hi. how much is it to replace the original rim for perdana (facelift edition..04 or 05 cant remember..) ? need to buy only one because its badly dented..thanks to the f***ing potholes.... tq smile.gif
if u just want to buy 1, u hv to go to proton la..
or u can try at mudah or lelong or any other car forums.

this one is first edition v6 (non-enhanced)
http://www.mudah.my/Perdana-v6-sport-rim-5174607.htm

this dono, no pic
http://www.mudah.my/Rim-perdana-v6-original-4561172.htm

but they all are selling 4 pcs..

This post has been edited by NeuroOne: Feb 4 2010, 07:38 AM
NeuroOne
post Feb 5 2010, 07:14 AM

495 posts

alaa.. JBL replica only.. haha..
cost about 240..

NeuroOne
post Feb 9 2010, 10:17 AM

495 posts

QUOTE(Omnipotent @ Feb 8 2010, 03:20 PM)
my OEM Clarion speakers sudah koyak so i bought a pair of Sony X-Plod (sebab murah) but now the bass tak kuat...is it because the speaker rating too high and the OEM player cannot provide enough power? cry.gif
yup.
i do not know what's the wattage supplied by the OEM clarion player.
but, it's not enough.

for example, your JBL may have rating of say, 85W RMS and the OEM supply maybe 35W RMS, so no power lah..
your JBL needs more power to have optimum output but OEM cannot supply.
so the sound not so good la..

This post has been edited by NeuroOne: Feb 9 2010, 10:19 AM
NeuroOne
post Feb 11 2010, 08:15 AM

495 posts

this is pv6 front 4" speaker

NeuroOne
post Feb 11 2010, 07:20 PM

495 posts

focal 6.5" component set for the front

This post has been edited by NeuroOne: Feb 11 2010, 07:20 PM
NeuroOne
post Feb 12 2010, 09:50 AM

495 posts

no lah.
i fit it to the front door. make hole for it.
the speaker place under dashboard i left empty la..

actually u can get mitsubishi eterna door panel comes with speaker hole. from chop shop la..

This post has been edited by NeuroOne: Feb 12 2010, 09:50 AM
NeuroOne
post Feb 16 2010, 09:19 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(koh_424 @ Feb 12 2010, 02:37 PM)
oo..no wonder la..i also saw tat Mit door panel..but doesn't match our interior design wo..

Added on February 16, 2010, 10:44 amsum noob question here..
spark plug Bosch or Denso better??
brake pad which brand had better stopping??
actually, it fits nicely on perdana, except for the leather part if ur car is V6 la.. Sei still fabric..
u can take out the leather part from perdana and put it to the eterna panel..

for power and constant spark, use iridium.
i use Denso Iridium spark plug, Bosch ok, NGK ok, Volker ok..
NeuroOne
post Feb 19 2010, 07:26 AM

495 posts

Bosch normal is just like OEM proton.
Bosch PowerPlus is a bit better. around RM60-70 per set.
Bendix Metal King Titanium is more better. around RM100-120 per set.

but BendixMKT needs to be heated up a bit to perform.
NeuroOne
post Feb 23 2010, 07:29 AM

495 posts

check battery with voltmeter. (without starting your car)
if lower than 12V, battery weak.

check starter also.
as i hv encountered this prob before.

18 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0234sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:30 PM