All Things about BLU-RAY | V3, High Def. Experience | Only 1 CHOICE

edvpc
post Apr 11 2008, 06:45 PM

HardSun..... (IntoTheWild)
1,274 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Apr 11 2008, 04:51 PM)
I'm so proud of my PS3. Yeah, call me fanboy, whatever. A product that you only pay once, but keeps getting better and better each month? It's a no-brainer. rclxm9.gif

Dolby TrueHD
Dolby Digital Plus
DTS-HD Master Audio
DTS-HD High Resolution Audio

I love those words. Though I already have a receiver that can do all that, I like it that it's ready for the future. rclxms.gif

For PS3 owners, all you need is a 7.1 receiver with HDMI input (HD audio decoding is NOT necessary) and set your PS3 to output to HDMI as PCM. (5.1 will do fine, the surround back channel will be downmixed to the left/right rear channel.) You'll be able to enjoy all kinds of HD audio, DTS-HD MA/HR, Dolby TrueHD or linear PCM, just name it. thumbup.gif
Have you guys even truly listen to a true DTS-HD MA before? I doubt. Then we can't already say PCM better, can we? tongue.gif

PCM takes a large space on the disc. While I'm watching a BD with a PCM audio, I always thought, the picture could be much more detailed with higher bitrates video. DTS-HD MA and Dolby TrueHD will solve that problem.

Tuesday will be the first time I ever hear to a true DTS-HD MA. Can't wait to "see" how it compares with PCM and Dolby TrueHD.

For those who prefers bitstreaming, just do this test. Set your BD audio output to bitstream, and then watch a BD with the legacy Dolby Digital (NOT TrueHD) track. Then change the audio output back to PCM, and play the same movie again with the same audio track. How does it compare? Well, I've done it myself, the result is, I don't need to bitstream, decoding the audio internally by PS3 is just the same, if not better. But that's to my ears. How about you guys? biggrin.gif
haha since i bought PS3 i never set my PS3 to bitstream...LPCM FTW (until 15th april)... flex.gif laugh.gif thumbup.gif i already done the audio test since the day i got my PS3 and AV receiver... cool.gif

dont worry bro.if u afraid of losing picture details on movie becoz of PCM, in the future we got 4 layer BD 200gb.so we can enjoy those high bitrate PQ and AQ... thumbup.gif
edvpc
post Apr 12 2008, 11:06 AM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Apr 12 2008, 10:39 AM)
UPS sucks!!!!

Now it says "Late airplane"?

US --> Germany --> HK --> Philippines?

They should've dropped my package by parachute when they flew pass KL on the way to HK.

looks like UPS FFK u for a while la bro ... sweat.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by edvpc: Apr 12 2008, 11:07 AM
edvpc
post Apr 12 2008, 12:26 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(PrinceOfPersia @ Apr 12 2008, 12:23 PM)
thanks for the info YB Sun  tongue.gif , u also can get a cheaper HDDVD from amazon UK, price around 4 pound - 7 pound  biggrin.gif
wrong thread... whistling.gif sweat.gif tongue.gif
edvpc
post Apr 12 2008, 12:34 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(PrinceOfPersia @ Apr 12 2008, 12:27 PM)
HDDVD thread at xbox section already hilang la  laugh.gif  tongue.gif
yup already cabut from pinned section... laugh.gif go2 HDDVD... whistling.gif tongue.gif
edvpc
post Apr 12 2008, 06:34 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(MC_Amig0 @ Apr 12 2008, 06:29 PM)
anybody i can tumpang sekaki beli BD. tq
boleh.ask bro ARJ... rclxms.gif
edvpc
post Apr 13 2008, 03:14 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(PrinceOfPersia @ Apr 13 2008, 08:33 AM)
pinjam, can ? tongue.gif
bg pinjam pun tak tgk... whistling.gif ko kan minat radja... whistling.gif laugh.gif
edvpc
post Apr 13 2008, 07:24 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Apr 13 2008, 07:11 PM)
I haven't watch my Close Encounters of the Third Kind, ID4, I, Robot, The Day After Tomorrow and Pan's Labyrinth. Can't wait to watch them with pure DTS-HD MA! thumbup.gif

I I'll also watch again my Live Free or Die Hard, Cast Away, Shoot 'Em Up, and.., The Devil Wears Prada just for the new DTS-HD MA experience! thumbup.gif

It's like getting to know Blu-ray again!! rclxms.gif

Well, now you know just how many my Fox/New Line titles in my collection. It's just obvious that Sony put the DTS-HD MA on Close Encounters by the request of Steven Spielberg himself. wink.gif
nice siggy bro... thumbup.gif
all New Line titles is DTS-HD MA 7.1 now... thumbup.gif LOTR plz... flex.gif
edvpc
post Apr 14 2008, 04:33 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Apr 14 2008, 04:30 PM)
Just finished watching No Country For Old Men..

PQ----6 stars...the best transfer I've seen so far
AQ----6 stars...5.1 LPCM...powerful!! can feel the bullet pearcing through the skull and the car crash...uchhh...it's like the car accident is right in front of me....
wah 6 stars form 5?
edvpc
post Apr 14 2008, 05:33 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Apr 14 2008, 05:29 PM)
And yes, awesome PQ and AQ, but like 4.5 stars only, not 6! tongue.gif
mpyw give 6 becoz he's sick... laugh.gif tongue.gif
edvpc
post Apr 14 2008, 06:23 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Apr 14 2008, 06:06 PM)
Hey there Ataris. You should visit this thread more often. Every HD junkie in Malaysia should visit this thread. We share a lot of things here, even the ahem2 ones!

The more the merrier! rclxms.gif

I think it's time for a Blu-ray sub-forum. Right everyone? wink.gif
yeah u rite... tongue.gif i only hate one person here... whistling.gif
edvpc
post Apr 14 2008, 06:31 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Apr 14 2008, 06:24 PM)
You are a true movie junkie! I salute! notworthy.gif

Added on April 14, 2008, 6:26 pm

I guess that person must hate you to! tongue.gif

We must unite!

"What we do in life, echoes in eternity!"
haha he hate me coz he only know to typing in front of pc... whistling.gif laugh.gif

yeah2 we must unite and hate him so much... laugh.gif there's only one UNITED... flex.gif thumbup.gif

bro bila nak buat open house? whistling.gif tongue.gif
edvpc
post Apr 14 2008, 08:53 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(apisgogo @ Apr 14 2008, 08:14 PM)
spider pig spider pig..

guess what movie it came from?

hahaha
i know but dont want to answer it... laugh.gif
just watched G.I Jane...just like what u told me... sweat.gif but PCM really blast la bro... thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by edvpc: Apr 14 2008, 08:54 PM
edvpc
post Apr 15 2008, 01:18 PM

1,274 posts

PCM FTW... thumbup.gif
edvpc
post Apr 15 2008, 01:21 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(apisgogo @ Apr 15 2008, 01:19 PM)
ahaha, btw,

watched gattaca semalam.. PCM rawk! even for dialoge based movie...

Hows the island?
huhuhu i told u already PCM FTW... tongue.gif

The Island didnt watch yet la bro... tongue.gif The Island DD+ only.not TrueHD or PCM or DTS-HD MA... laugh.gif
edvpc
post Apr 15 2008, 02:35 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Apr 15 2008, 02:29 PM)
I'm going back after I finish downloading in few minutes. Don't tell my boss! whistling.gif  tongue.gif
i won't tell ur boss... tongue.gif 1 BD free for me plz... whistling.gif laugh.gif
edvpc
post Apr 16 2008, 09:15 AM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(apisgogo @ Apr 16 2008, 09:05 AM)
my fren,

u able to hear the back surround of pans? i mean do u found a way to play it all 7.1 channel?
i think bro aiman already mentioned it at previous post...some like enable and disable things... sweat.gif tongue.gif
edvpc
post Apr 16 2008, 09:31 AM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Apr 16 2008, 09:20 AM)
Yes, there's a workaround. biggrin.gif

1. Go to BD settings in PS3, audio settings.
2. Select HDMI out, select manual instead of automatic.
3. Select all except for the 5.1 PCM frequencies.
4. Enter and finish.

But then, you can't get 5.1 channel audio formats if you set this. So after you watched your Pan's Labyrinth or any other New Line titles, go back to the settings and set it back to automatic. sweat.gif

I really really hope Sony will provide a fix very, very soon!
i never owned 7.1 movie so far... sweat.gif
but i just ordered WAR with PCM 7.1... tongue.gif that error is just for New Line titles?bro u got any 7.1 PCM movies?
edvpc
post Apr 16 2008, 09:38 AM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(apisgogo @ Apr 16 2008, 09:33 AM)
thats only for New Line titles..

my Lionsgate's Saw IV played flawlessly. My avr shows all 7.1 channel. smile.gif
haha thx bro.cool lah... thumbup.gif

bro watch ur movie fast.i wanna trade with G.I Jane... laugh.gif

Added on April 16, 2008, 9:39 am
QUOTE(aiman04 @ Apr 16 2008, 09:38 AM)
Yup, only New Line titles, with DTS-HD MA 7.1.

3.10 to Yuma got 7.1 PCM, no problems at all. My receiver is showing 7.1 channels, and I can hear my surround back channel sound without doing any matrix. This movie also nice audio, you'll hear gunshots flying all over your living room, rear left to right, rear left to front right, front to surround back, and the other way aorund. So lively. Imagine if it's also DTS-HD MA... drool.gif
watch ur head bro.u might get headshot... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by edvpc: Apr 16 2008, 09:39 AM
edvpc
post Apr 16 2008, 09:44 AM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(apisgogo @ Apr 16 2008, 09:42 AM)
Beowulf & gattaca baru abis...

haha bro friday free ke?nak ajak lepak minum... tongue.gif can discuss bout the "sponge bob" too... laugh.gif
edvpc
post Apr 16 2008, 10:29 AM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(apisgogo @ Apr 16 2008, 09:46 AM)
friday bole...

sponge bob? haha ok.. ok..

nobody doing tumpang?
bro i tot u enuf buying this month... sweat.gif tongue.gif

12 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top