TSpanasonic88
post Mar 7 2008, 04:46 PM, updated 18y ago

37,028 posts

just wondering...

is anyone interested in buying BURSA? a share that linked-directly to KLCI rolleyes.gif

based on the above diagram,

take the nearest example,
in early Jan 08, thanks to plantation stocks, pushing our index up to near 1550
and BURSA was priced at RM 15.00

currently CI is around 1300
while BURSA priced at RM 9.95

do you forsee the price to go up if CI is going back to 1500 and above? rolleyes.gif

====================

some analyst said that KLCI physcological support is between 1260 to 1280

====================

due to unforseen circumstances, eg. GE, U.S entering to recession, CPO/gold price is rocketing up, bubbles, etc, those are the factors that will drag our CI & BURSA price further down, so those factors must be in our consideration as well

back to my question, would you buy BURSA and keep it as a mid term investment? rolleyes.gif

tkwfriend
post Mar 7 2008, 05:58 PM

I always doubt and always something goes wrong
1,904 posts

well for sure is a yes for long term invesment. even if this company going to die it will have angle come and help too.
so why not. and if this share die the other sahre can say almost no need to see already
TSpanasonic88
post Mar 7 2008, 09:07 PM

37,028 posts

RM 9.00 to RM 9.30 probably a price to enter

expecting CI to drop another 50 to 100 points, hmmm....

me wait, 2 more weeks rolleyes.gif
cherroy
post Mar 7 2008, 09:15 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Mar 7 2008, 09:07 PM)
RM 9.00 to RM 9.30 probably a price to enter

expecting CI to drop another 50 to 100 points, hmmm....

me wait, 2 more weeks rolleyes.gif
At RM9+, it is still trading at around 20 PE which is not cheap though. The company earned roughly 40+ cents for the last financial year.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Mar 7 2008, 09:16 PM
dreams_achiever
post Mar 7 2008, 10:41 PM

1,120 posts

Sometime i quite surprise BURSA performance during mid of August. From that time onwards, its share price keep rising from RM8 (17th August) until reach peak of RM16.90 (30th Oct 2007). More than double.

I foresee that there are 2 major news that could bring up BURSA.
First: it plan to partner/or sell some shares to other international bourse(not sure what bourse liao)
Second: it will launch USD denominated oil palm market.

(just my opinion though)..
skiddtrader
post Mar 7 2008, 10:42 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Mar 7 2008, 09:15 PM)
At RM9+, it is still trading at around 20 PE which is not cheap though. The company earned roughly 40+ cents for the last financial year.
For year 2007, it gave out 85 cents of dividends. That was considered the bull year for KLCI. From their quarterly report, you can see a clear trend downwards for their earnings and profit. 2008 is not going to be as bullish as last year or even turn bearish, so I would expect their quarterly down trend to continue.

TSpanasonic88
post Mar 8 2008, 12:29 PM

37,028 posts

thanks for you guys input, appreciate it, as i am still hesitating:

1. is BURSA worth keeping? (as mid term investment)
2. is the current price OK to buy?

================================

got some info here...
can use it as a reference
like i said before, BURSA price follows CI movement

CODE
06/2005 RM 3.40   KLCI 870
12/2005 RM 3.70   KLCI 895
06/2006 RM 5.50   KLCI 930
12/2006 RM 7.00   KLCI 1090
06/2007 RM 12.00  KLCI 1360
10/2007 RM 16.00  KLCI 1411

This post has been edited by panasonic88: Mar 8 2008, 12:29 PM
skiddtrader
post Mar 8 2008, 02:20 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Mar 8 2008, 12:29 PM)

got some info here...

CODE

Let me estimate and continue your trend for Bursa during a bearish run.

03/2008 RM9.90 KLCI 1300
12/2008 RM6.00 KLCI 1100
05/2009 RM4.00 KLCI 800

biggrin.gif Not serious though because no one can predict the future.
cherroy
post Mar 8 2008, 03:41 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Mar 8 2008, 12:29 PM)

got some info here...

CODE

Bursa share price has high correlation with the stock market movement and volume. So if one think the market will have a bull run in near future, (as bul run always associated with volume increment), then it might be a good buy. But if in near future, stock market is drifting lower one, then it has more room for the down side.

Don't look at its previous dividend for the dividend yield calculation as previous there are some special dividend or more accurately capital repayment which make the total 'dividend' higher. We should look at its EPS as a future guide of potential dividend.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Mar 8 2008, 03:43 PM
benghooi
post Nov 21 2008, 10:37 AM

41 posts

How many counters in KLSE has monopoly business?

Which counter meets the above criteria and at the same time is considered one of the safest counter in KLSE? (‘Safe’ here is referring not to capital loss due to drop in share price but unlikelihood of the company/ business collapses.)

One counter that share investors should not neglect is BURSA MALAYSIA BERHAD.

Why so?

The chance of a stock exchange goes bankrupt is very small. Referring to the most recent 5 years financial statement for year 2003 till 2007, the company recorded both operating and net profit. It is very highly unlikely but in the event the company faces financial difficulty, I can’t imagine a stock exchange not been rescued from collapse as long as capitalism survives.

About 58% of its operating income is from clearing fee. This revenue has no concern on receivables.

No inventory in this business. No inventory management required and no inventory shrinkage loss or write downs of inventory.

Let’s look at the company’s business from Porter’s 5 competitive forces model:

Potential new entrants
- Will the government approved another stock exchange? This risk from the threat is almost negligible.

b. Bargaining power of customers
- It is menu-driven pricing. The clearing fee is fixed at 0.03% and the customers cannot bargain on the rate.

c. Bargaining of suppliers.
- Suppliers are basically information technology suppliers. The threat from this force is considered low as there are competition among suppliers and BURSA has bargain power as the orders usually involve huge amount of money.

d. Threat of substitute products
- With fast growing pace of unit trust, retail investors have option to invest in unit trust instead of investing directly in share market. Somehow, unit trust fund manager will put part of the investment amount into equities market (except those unit trust funds invested overseas). With advance development of information technology and telecommunication, international and local news can be disseminated to public within very short time. It very convenient to trade online and share investment has become more user-friendly with availability of more ready customer support to the retail investors.

e. Rivalry among competitors
- While there is no local rivalry, the penetration of overseas investment by retail investors is increasing. However, this threat has not caused real concern in foreseeable future.
htt
post Nov 21 2008, 11:10 AM

4,305 posts

Think big & good company prefer not to list here, they went elsewhere. The exchange hardly grow with all for past few years. Given choice, I rather buy other exchange.
They monopoly here, but nowadays it's not hard to get listed elsewhere also, HK, SG or even NY. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by htt: Nov 21 2008, 11:16 AM
Irzani
post Nov 21 2008, 12:36 PM

Just you know why .. why u and i ...
2,972 posts

How many counters in KLSE has monopoly business?

TM .. monopoly home fixed line and wired broadband .. it take time to competes with them except when PR manage to take over gov
SUSmato89
post Sep 24 2009, 09:05 PM

342 posts

Guys, I monitor the BFE (Broker Front End) this evening around 4.53pm..since morning bursa share has been hovering around RM8.13 on average.within 4 minutes before market close the price suddenly jumped to RM8.24 until last trading price. could be marking at close? hopefully the catalyst is in...

To share, buy bursa share has been on the uptrend since last 3 months from RM4++ to RM8.24 now..i remember last year the highest was reached at RM16.90....before this year end the price could potentially up to RM10 above....

i bought last 2 months ago around RM4++ and sell at RM7.76...wow, thats a lot of gain guys...i made profit of RM3++..for 1000 units, easily i can make profit of RM3K above....now i'm still holding around 5000 units (1 lot equivalent to 100 units)...if its go up to RM10, i can easily make profit of RM60,000 above..after minus all the brokerage fee, and others..

so guys..dont wait too late...hope it will gain momentum before year end or before next year CNY..

happy investment...
marco_ooi
post Sep 24 2009, 11:27 PM

20 posts

totally agree with u

Added on September 24, 2009, 11:35 pmu buy its call warrant or mothershare
u say that u have 5000 unit remaining
if u buy mothershare, then u must have a huge modal to invest
i suspect u must be very rich person

This post has been edited by marco_ooi: Sep 24 2009, 11:35 PM
skylands
post Sep 24 2009, 11:48 PM

713 posts

yeah , if i hold 10lots ( 1lot = 1,000 unit ) @ 7.2, and if price goes up to $20 , i earn $128k .. what say u ?

dont have so many IF la dude..
zenstone
post Sep 30 2009, 06:51 PM

58 posts

i go in at 7.70 ...still ok lah ..but too mahal...can't buy much..
cheeseng54a
post Aug 30 2010, 12:59 AM

21 posts

Klci now > 1400.

But the price is just 7.13

Dunno when it will fly.
mm310
post Sep 21 2010, 10:50 PM

93 posts

Price today is rm 7.70
It's warrant looks attractive at 0.07

Can go in now?
pml_318
post Sep 23 2010, 01:35 PM

231 posts

QUOTE(mm310 @ Sep 21 2010, 10:50 PM)
Price today is rm 7.70
It's warrant looks attractive at 0.07

Can go in now?
i sold mine at 7.70 2days ago and 8.13 today..

Still holding some...i think it's time to clear it? not hmm.gif
mm310
post Sep 26 2010, 08:24 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(pml_318 @ Sep 23 2010, 01:35 PM)
i sold mine at 7.70 2days ago and 8.13 today..

Still holding some...i think it's time to clear it? not  hmm.gif
I would like to wait until its 3Q results revealed.... volume in 3Q is higher than previous quarters i think.

Added on October 13, 2010, 10:13 pmtoday closing price is increased to 8.50

3Q results will be announced on next Tuesday - 19 Oct 2010.

This post has been edited by mm310: Oct 13 2010, 10:13 PM

0.0238sec    1.04    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 05:58 PM