i've this problem as well. especially my left hand eye ... thr is afew large and noticeable. annoying and obvious especially when staring at the monitor.
Eye Floaters, Specks & debris INSIDE the eyeballs
Aug 3 2008, 11:21 PM
29 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
i've this problem as well. especially my left hand eye ... thr is afew large and noticeable. annoying and obvious especially when staring at the monitor.
Aug 4 2008, 06:12 AM
4,893 posts Joined: May 2008 |
my mom got this floates (spelling?), went to see specialist but they said kenot be cured, can only cope with it unless very critical, my mom said its very distracting when driving
Aug 4 2008, 10:15 PM
155 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: Does it really matter? |
I think its quite common? I used to think it was some kind of bacteria in my eyeballs lol
Aug 4 2008, 11:59 PM
29 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
since alot of claim that this cannot be cured, how to prevent it from becoming more seriouss? ?
Aug 5 2008, 12:39 AM
183 posts Joined: May 2008 |
I have a floater in my eye and you get used to it or learn to ignore it..*It may go away it may not* but it dose not bother me its really really easy to ignore( dont ignore it ..you just naturally get used to it which makes it disappear completely)
Yeah well its good to know about YAG ...But im not going to do it..cause it dose not seem to bother me that much..but yeah you should definitly go for it if its for you This post has been edited by kikikilly: Aug 5 2008, 12:48 AM |
Aug 6 2008, 04:33 PM
820 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
i thought this is normal...
is it so serious? |
Aug 29 2008, 11:51 AM
5 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
QUOTE(normal_user @ Mar 14 2008, 08:24 PM) How much is your longsightedness power? Yes, this laser treatment is available in Malaysia. But only certain types of floaters can the ndYag laser vaporise the floater. Most doctors prefer to be conservative and have the patient learn to live with it.Mine is visible all the time. And I'm sick of it. Does anybody knows if the laser treatment is available in our country? |
Nov 17 2008, 10:12 AM
381 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: イチゴ軍団 |
sorry to bring this up again, but is there any recommended specialist for treating retinal detachment? apparently my father is suffering from this illness which has deteriorated his vision. and now i'm seriously worried...
Nov 17 2008, 01:20 PM
169 posts Joined: Nov 2008 From: BJ, Seremban |
QUOTE(kennji @ Nov 17 2008, 10:12 AM) sorry to bring this up again, but is there any recommended specialist for treating retinal detachment? apparently my father is suffering from this illness which has deteriorated his vision. and now i'm seriously worried... Retinal detachment is a medical emergency.you'll have sudden painless loss of eye sight ! - like a curtain falling down your eye . Floaters can either be - normal physiological aging process or - warning sign of detachment ( but it'll be suddenly lots and lots of floaters, not 1 or 2 If you are realllly worried sick, see an ophthalmologist |
Nov 17 2008, 03:49 PM
381 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: イチゴ軍団 |
thats why i'm asking, is there any recommended ones to go to?
Nov 17 2008, 06:00 PM
11 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
I have several floaters in both eyes but I only notice them in bright sunlight. When I was small I used to think they are dead bacteria or dust stuck to my cornea. LOL! It doesn't really bother me much, I guess you get used to it after a while. I've heard of the YAG laser treatment but do not know anyone who actually went for it for floaters ... plus it's pretty costly
Nov 23 2008, 12:19 AM
2,364 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: malaysia |
Nov 23 2008, 02:25 AM
847 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
well, since you have sudden onset of increase in floater's numbers...
u should find an eye specialist... u can go to Tun hussein Onn eye specialist hospital , or to any University Hospital (UKM/UM) to check your eyes. if can be just as simple as mild detachments to severe detachments. this can be confirm by looking into your eyes using slit Lamp/fundoscope and do an ultrasound. consider this as an emergency case, dun drag further. there's various way to treat detachment depends on what kinda of detachment. in some cases, whereby the detachment is mild, and ballon can be apply to push the retina back. some use oil and vitrous which have different density. if the retina is completely torned out from the layer, they'll just go in and drain the vitreous fluid out. |
Apr 28 2009, 05:01 PM
54 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: Shah Alam |
QUOTE(chocoholic221 @ Aug 4 2008, 10:15 PM) lol. I had those thoughts too when I was a teen. But when a big floater popped out more than a year ago, its totally distracting. It occupies around 15% of my eyesight, not too far from the center view.QUOTE(eyefly @ Aug 29 2008, 11:51 AM) Yes, this laser treatment is available in Malaysia. But only certain types of floaters can the ndYag laser vaporise the floater. Most doctors prefer to be conservative and have the patient learn to live with it. eyefly, may I know where the laser treatment is available locally? I've been searching for more than a year, but the local doctors said no such technology existed here.As far as Im concerned, there are only 2 American doctors who are specialists for eye floater laser surgery treatment (each in Virginia & Florida state). Its not a feasible option, since it'll costs me a bomb to go and have treatment there. Their websites are: www.eyefloaters.com www.vitreousfloaters.com This post has been edited by normal_user: Apr 28 2009, 05:04 PM |
Apr 28 2009, 05:07 PM
326 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
Wow strong necro thread
I got floaters too but they're just a slight annoyance, like a bug that flies around the vision sometimes. Its a lifetime thing. Its much more prevalent among myopic/hyperopic people due to the retina. Not serious unless you get a sudden increase in the number of floaters over a few days. |
May 17 2009, 01:02 PM
1 posts Joined: May 2009 |
I also have this issue recently, mine is in the right eye with a round greyish dote with cobwebs and a thread like as well. It is highly annoying as u seems to notice it all the time esp when reading or when outdoors. Evenwhen you are indoors u will be able to see it as long as u looking a a single colored surface. I went to see 2 specialists and they too told me to live with it as my retina is ok. They will not understand how that feels as imaging a greyish mosquito like dot keeps buzzing around your right eye vision its highly distracting and annoying Help! any people out there have similar experience and managed to reduce it I am concerned every day that it will get more greyish or bigger or more. It seems to get slightly bigger Worse part the specialist say we have no control over it! advices pls |
Jun 13 2009, 11:48 PM
35 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
I think that most of all the people have this floater & flashes sickness
Jun 22 2009, 03:16 PM
5,713 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
no wonder i cannot wash them away thru eyewashing..
hahaha Seriously i also have those as well. and it is really niusance at times but since there is no "economical cure" might as well live with it. |
Jul 3 2009, 04:51 PM
52 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Hi, I have a floater in my right eye... I read that it was a vein that was previously used to deliver blood to the eyes when very young and now disused... it is the shape of a crooked vein and is transparent. I find it quite interesting to be able to see it floating around... I guess i am lucky it wasn't huge or black in color!
Dec 30 2009, 05:02 PM
28 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
Sometimes, i feel so frustrated about my eye when I can noticed the floaters in the eye. I had it since Oct 2008 and now almost 14 months. Luckily It doesn't get worse. Where can I find the support group for the Eye Floaters? I just need someone to talk to and someone has this problem just like me. So that we can support each other
| Change to: | 0.0255sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 11:15 AM |