Travel Penang, Accomodations, Attractions & Guides

Nosense
post Aug 11 2010, 12:54 PM

I am planning to drive up to Penang on the 10th Sept, anyone can advise me on the traffic there during Hari Raya. Will there be massive jams? and what will be the best time to reach Penang Bridge to avoid the jam.

I am choosing between Traders Hotel and Evergreen Laurel for my 2 nights stay. Actually the price is quite the same, I am wondering which one will have more food outlets nearby for makan at night.
Nosense
post Aug 11 2010, 01:24 PM

Thanks rayfoo. I did tried the sunway hotel but is fully booked on the 10th Sept.
I had stayed in Traders hotel before last year. If I can recall, there is not much food near there at night, but I am afraid Evergreen will be worst.

QUOTE(rayfoo @ Aug 11 2010, 12:59 PM)
i was in penang recently for worked, stay at sunway georgetown, makan quite easy , at nite road closed to 1 way got lots of hawker food...traders hotel there near to the 1st avenue new mall not yet open, i didnt really see much food over there, no ideas where is evergreen
Nosense
post Dec 4 2010, 02:23 AM

Anyone can recommend any long term parking place in Penang? or the daily parking rate at Penang Airport?

Intend to park there for few days.
Nosense
post Dec 14 2010, 02:07 AM

QUOTE(kokuryo @ Dec 9 2010, 08:27 AM)
where can i get the famous penang 'Heong beng' / 'dao sa beng' for souvenir?
I try Soon Hiang during my last trip to Penang, after reading the review from

http://thefoodsite.net/2008/06/penang-tau-sar-pneah/

However, you need to call and pre-order first

Nosense
post Jan 30 2011, 03:11 PM

I heard the lek kok si is open at night during CNY. Is it for all the 15 days of the CNY? I will be at Penang on 6th Feb, intend to do a night visit.
Nosense
post Feb 11 2011, 01:33 PM

Fly from Langkawi to Penang. Rent a proton saga (A) for 2 days from Hawk at RM$140/day. Never visit Kek Kok Si, afraid of the jam and also limited time in Penang.
Visited the Wat Buppharam for the lifting Buddha, clan jetty, historical sites, shopping at gurney plaza, queensbay mall and 1st avenue. Supper at New Lane.
Flight back to KL to collect my car, and continue my trip to malacca.
Nosense
post Feb 12 2011, 02:26 PM

QUOTE(skon9 @ Feb 12 2011, 01:07 AM)
Did you enjoy your trip to penang? smile.gif
Yes, I do enjoy the trip. Actually this is my 3rd time to Penang.
1st time is by flight and trying taking bus and taxi. However, the taxi in Penang is very expensive and is not always available in certain area.
2nd time, I decide to drive.
3rd time, I rent a car.

I my opinion I find Penang folks very helpful. They do help knowing that you are not familiar.

One thing that I am not sure on is the parking. Penang is still using the coin parking meter and if I park at a lot then realize that the coin meter is not working. Should I just leave it or find a lot with a workable coin meter. Will I get a parking fine if the coin meter is not working?

0.0526sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:53 PM