I need help..

TSNairdamil
post Mar 5 2008, 02:11 PM, updated 18y ago

378 posts

ok...
i'm planning to get macbook soon...
then my fren told me dat if macbook fast enough in terms of ram...
i can set my macbook to run mac os and windows in the same time...
can any1 teach me on this???

Balok
post Mar 5 2008, 03:27 PM

Truly Malaysian
1,666 posts

If you want to know, i upgrade my Mac to 2GB ram and can run Mac, XP and Vista at the same time by using VMWare without any problems smile.gif

This post has been edited by Balok: Mar 5 2008, 08:06 PM
TSNairdamil
post Mar 5 2008, 03:46 PM

378 posts

ok...thanks...
then btw...
i'm in penang...
there is 2 shops i can get my macbook
1 is house of notebooks and another 1 is cg computer (switch)
if i get from house of notebooks
when claim warranty, izzit same wit cg computer??
my question is both authorised resellers claim warranty from different place or wat??

then which shop is better to buy from???
can any1 share their experience wit me??

ty
amp
post Mar 5 2008, 03:52 PM

106 posts

QUOTE(Balok @ Mar 5 2008, 03:27 PM)
Google it smile.gif
This kind of answer defeat the purpose of a forum doesn't it.
If you are lazy enough to explain then please refrain your self from posting.

bjkhan
post Mar 5 2008, 03:57 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(Nairdamil @ Mar 5 2008, 03:46 PM)
ok...thanks...
then btw...
i'm in penang...
there is 2 shops i can get my macbook
1 is house of notebooks and another 1 is cg computer (switch)
if i get from house of notebooks
when claim warranty, izzit same wit cg computer??
my question is both authorised resellers claim warranty from different place or wat??

then which shop is better to buy from???
can any1 share their experience wit me??

ty
the good thing from apple product is no matter where you buy from in malaysia, its the same
as far as warranty is concerned.....apple is international warranty, so as long you pass it back to an authorised reseller they will then settle it for you.
you may want to check whether the both of them are authorised reseller or not....

as for the running concurrent OS
this is my suggestion, assuming your HD is big, install the XP/Vista using BootCamp
then install VMWare Fusion.

when you need to run concurrent then use VMWare
if you running just one OS then use bootcamp. Two in one, no regrets,
well at least for me, hahahaha

as for the steps, they are quite straight forward
when u run bootcamp, it gives you specific instructions of what to do
nothing fancy actually
when u install vmware, they to tell you how to do that

word of note, if u want to save HD space in the notebook and keep the other OSs in different disk, then u cannot install using bootcamp, pure VMware mode only, bootcamp cannot boot a partition from external drive
kapalterbang_737
post Mar 5 2008, 05:12 PM

859 posts

This kind of answer defeat the purpose of a forum doesn't it.
If you are lazy enough to explain then please refrain your self from posting.

agreed with u icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on March 5, 2008, 5:14 pm

anyway juz like bjkhan said
the important thing is which one is authorised reseller
so it will be less hassle for u when ur macbook have problems (i hope it wont)
but i prefer an apple reseller like switch
where they only focused on apple product

juz my 2 cents though wink.gif

This post has been edited by kapalterbang_737: Mar 5 2008, 05:14 PM
TSNairdamil
post Mar 5 2008, 07:01 PM

378 posts

sifus...last thing i wan to ask....
the new penryn macbook got wat diff wit the previous macbook??
Balok
post Mar 5 2008, 08:05 PM

Truly Malaysian
1,666 posts

QUOTE(Nairdamil @ Mar 5 2008, 07:01 PM)
sifus...last thing i wan to ask....
the new penryn macbook got wat diff wit the previous macbook??
Penryn Macbook has better battery life than merom based Macbook nod.gif

Penryn Macbook also has better HDD Space

but i heard the low-end Macbook is abit slower than low-end Merom Macbook hmm.gif

@amp & kapalterbang,

oredi fixed the google thingy notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Balok: Mar 5 2008, 08:07 PM
sonnettech-asia
post Mar 10 2008, 10:27 AM

602 posts

if you want to run many things on your macbook or macbook pro.
you have to upgrade your RAM. I have mine at 4GB RAM.

and also get a external HDD or upgrade your HDD.
xaw5126
post Mar 10 2008, 11:36 AM

3,488 posts

@ Balok
the Penryn MacBook has a 3MB cache, the Merom ones had a 4MB cache. that's the only speed-related thing I could find...
anything more specific you'd like to share?
allvin
post Mar 10 2008, 03:06 PM

4,506 posts

geez.. just dono why ppl like to create stupid "rumors"... Penryn is not "helly" slow btw. Yea, cache is lower. But again, Penryn got SSE4 here. Look at the brighter side. Besides, if it *happens* to be slow abit, you still won't notice a thing from our naked eyes. wink.gif

0.0191sec    0.75    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 12:17 AM