Hobbies Fishing Club v7, No Fishing No Life !

Asurada
post Mar 18 2008, 07:39 AM

370 posts

Hi to all sifu sifu, I plan to have a Terengganu oilrig trip, can recomend me the set within RM500.00 budget ?
Asurada
post Mar 18 2008, 01:12 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(March 18 @ 2008, 9:25 am)

Hi Asurada,
Do share with us what are the type of fishing you will be doing at the oil rig.

Is it jigging? Is it bottom or even popping?

Different setup different cost ler.. smile.gif
I think i will use lure more.
Asurada
post Mar 18 2008, 01:32 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(rorytate @ Mar 18 2008, 06:17 AM)
Hi Asurada,
It's not about the things that you will use be it lure, jig or bait.

It's the method that i'm talking about.

Each of jigging, bottom and popping, all the 3 have 2 options, spinning or multiplier smile.gif

IF you say jigging with spinning, then its a different rod poundage, line and line capacity.
IF you say doing bottom with multiplier, then it's a total different story compared to jigging setup.

Both setup requires different gears and of course different $$ value also.. smile.gif
Sifu rorytate, I would like to use spinning.
Asurada
post Mar 18 2008, 03:49 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(March 18 @ 2008, 1:39 pm)
Hi Asurada,

Lacking of informations ler...cant assist further...

Can advise us your setup please.

1. Using Spinning or Multiplier
2. Jigging, Bottom or Popping
3. What is the depth of the oil rig that you are fishing?
4. Targeted species

I wish to assist you bro...but lacking of infos, i would prefer not to MIS-direct you ler.. smile.gif
1. Spinning
2. Bottom
3. & 4. I got no idea at all as never been there to fish before.

Asurada
post Mar 18 2008, 06:17 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(rorytate @ Mar 18 2008, 09:00 AM)
Bro Asurada,

Since you will be doing bottom at the oil rig, you are not likely to hold the rod all the time. Most of the time, you will not park your rod and waiting for the rod to bend smile.gif That's bottom waiting game.

Since you prefer spinning reel(and i would not recommend you some expensive stuffs - reels that is more than enough to use will be recommended), i suggest that you get the BANAX GT. Honestly, it's on the heavy side, but since you are doing bottom you dont have to bother about reel weight smile.gif Try to get the largest size possible such like GT5000.

As for your rod and not knowing the depth of the seabed, i ASSUME you might need to use 1kg+- weight. In such, you need a medium tapered rod and higher poundage. Those rod with the backbone of 15kg or 20kg would be good. smile.gif
Thank you sifu rorytate .....

0.0429sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 10:58 AM