Best Blueray Disc Player - PS3, HD DVD lost, buying a good BR-D player?

TSeddie_lim
post Mar 4 2008, 03:01 PM, updated 18y ago

You Never Walk Alone
4,024 posts

Here's something to share,
recently surveying for a HD player, but now after all the HD-DVD format obsolete, blueray has finally win the battle and make me considering buying a new BD player.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GUjRn_MAW8c

after watching this youtube, i'm considering buying PS3 for blueray purpose,
is the only player that can firmware upgradable to blueray profile 2.0 or future profile.

if you spend RM3999 for Sony Blueray Player, why don't you buy a RM1xxx PS3 with 40G 60G hardisk inside.

just my 2 cent. peace! cool.gif
TSeddie_lim
post Mar 4 2008, 03:09 PM

You Never Walk Alone
4,024 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Mar 4 2008, 03:04 PM)
peace dude, but i dun think tis thread is really needed, no?
Has this been discussed b4? i have search all the forum for this but haven't got 1, just found a good youtube just want to share with you guys.
btw, for a HD idiot like me, will the BD Player like PS3 downscale 1080p/1080i to my small 32" LCD TV for 720P? i'm not as rich as the youtube guy which has the 50" LG LCD TV
TSeddie_lim
post Mar 4 2008, 04:26 PM

You Never Walk Alone
4,024 posts

But as of software updated, the firmware can be homebrewed!
so features can be enriched by doing so...

but for a budget blueray player, i think PS3 is the most valuable player at the moment
you can't get an official PS3 @ malaysia, but there are already been here for parallel importers, waranty is only the matters.

QUOTE(rx330 @ Mar 4 2008, 04:23 PM)
no need to downscale by the ps3
just output @ 720p will do
How to downscale? automatically by HDMI detect the LCD TV?
now only watching HD via PC output on 720P, keen to try a blueray disc anyway drool.gif drool.gif
TSeddie_lim
post Mar 4 2008, 04:29 PM

You Never Walk Alone
4,024 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Mar 4 2008, 04:27 PM)
why u tok like PS3 just launch yesterday one? biggrin.gif
Nope but i believe nobody just buy the console only for blueray playback isn't it?
TSeddie_lim
post Mar 4 2008, 04:37 PM

You Never Walk Alone
4,024 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Mar 4 2008, 04:32 PM)
u wrong , got ppl buy just for bluray playback
Ok, i post here just to invite any PS3-Blueray Player enthusiasts to show opinions and satisfactory of BD playback, pros & cons.
I'm not here to bring debates here.

0.0217sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 12:32 PM