gundam must hav "V" horns~
no arms not gundam~
hehe
EZ8 doesn't have V-fins and the design kicks ass laugh.gif

No arms not gundam... LOL

QUOTE(wolfx @ Jun 3 2008, 01:47 PM)
Yeah that one. wink.gif
Well I've always mentioned that the Astraea is a much balanced design than the Exia. Beam rifle, bazooka, shield, sabres... basic necessities... no need for overwhelming number of swords which only TWO can be wielded at once (two hands only, TWO !!) tongue.gif

Avalanche Exia still doesn't suit my taste as it's too messy. It's similar to the Astray designs where everything just get slapped onto its backpack. I still don't believe that the extra upper torso weight can be balanced by whatever GN particles as it would severely affect the centre of gravity when it's running. Shoot the legs and it'll topple easily.

Having said that, the gunpla looks bulkier than the lineart which has skinny legs and an overweight top. Yet the shoulder design is too similar to the Mushas tongue.gif

If extra boosters are required it should be equally distributed all over the body, or at least on the bottom part of the mecha to improve the stability. This is why huge Zeon MSes have boosters around the bell bottom legs and lower skirt armour.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Jun 3 2008, 03:06 PM
StarGhazzer
post Jun 3 2008, 05:27 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

GN = anti gravity but only to levitate the mecha. When the mecha is on earth it'll still have weight and therefore be affected by earth's gravity. Fair point about the Avalnche Exia being used in space, but its poor centre of gravity prevents it from being used on Earth. And like Quazacolt said, if the other ranged units fly around in circles the Exia is pretty much a stand still target, hence a balanced ranged-melee unit like the Astraea would be a better choice biggrin.gif

I still think the Avalanche doesn't bring that much improvement to the Exia. It could have provided more ranged weapons to balance it, but yet it's still packed with melee blades which again, only two can be wielded at once. Why not ditch the heavy solid blades to shed some weight and hence improve on the speed enhancement. Or add some rifles too.
StarGhazzer
post Jun 4 2008, 06:26 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(Exiled_Gundam @ Jun 4 2008, 03:26 PM)
Haha, i was commenting about the statement of the character in the pic i post though sweat.gif  sweat.gif
The only gundam series i find the armor is actually useful is in Gundam X, in which MS Crouda use by Space Revolutionary Army can withstand direct hit by beam weapons. Oh, gundams in Gundam X also can withstand beam weapons of certain caliber with just their armor (no xxx field etc)
And that's why I couldn't like Gundam X as much as I would like to. Garrod would have been killed umpteen times if not for the armour. The Frost brothers managed to land so many direct shots at the torso, and even slashed it with beam sabres and yet Garrod survived. Same case with the GW Tallgeese-Heavyarms fight. Heero should have been fried by Tallgeese's beam sabre.
StarGhazzer
post Jun 5 2008, 05:52 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

IIRC Sandrock has the strongest armour, not Heavyarms... but HA does have freaking thick armour.

It still doesn't change the fact that plot armour saved Heero/Garrod when they should have died.
StarGhazzer
post Jun 5 2008, 09:49 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(Exiled_Gundam @ Jun 5 2008, 08:37 PM)
That's why i said "among". However in Gundam X, all Gundams actually have received direct hit from beam weaponry and survived. But beam weaponry of EF lah. Virsago (or Ashtaron;i didnt remember) did lose some parts when receiving direct hit from SRA beam weaponry. I think among AU gundams series, only gundams in Gundam Wing and Gundam X didnt have xxx field thingie or beam shield to block beam weaponry attack (Virgo and Mercurius did have the Planet Defensor, but both of them are not gundam, and the first is grunt MS)
Because their own armour is already strong enough to resist beam shots sweat.gif

GX's best part is their grunts who actually use tactics to beat the gundams. Remember the early episodes where the grunts, Jenice types I think, lured the Airmaster and Leopard into a valley and cornered them. And since the Gundam armour are thick enough to resist shots, the grunts used flamethrowers to attempt to fry the pilots rclxm9.gif

The early parts of GX are actually the best of the show as it spirals downwards into a monster-of-the-week episode towards the middle. The rushed ending due to the premature cancellation of the show doesn't help either.

And look at this:

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Jun 5 2008, 10:07 PM
StarGhazzer
post Jun 6 2008, 11:11 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

Seriously. shakehead.gif

Izubuchi-san.... Hajime-san where are you guys?

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Jun 6 2008, 11:14 PM
StarGhazzer
post Jun 7 2008, 11:42 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

This is GUNDAM.

SIEG ZEON !!
StarGhazzer
post Jun 11 2008, 05:21 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

^ Love those two songs... classic thumbup.gif

I never knew the name of the first song haha... always called it the "Lalah song"... that truly epitomises the tragic fate btw Char-Lalah-Amuro.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Jun 12 2008, 03:15 PM
StarGhazzer
post Jun 12 2008, 03:16 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

I guess those who watched Zeta would have understood the meaning of this pic icon_idea.gif
StarGhazzer
post Jun 13 2008, 10:26 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

This is how melee battles should be done. Pure punching action, not floating around chopping grunts for fun...
StarGhazzer
post Jun 19 2008, 06:17 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

dead thread tongue.gif

Unicorn's latest chapter out liao... something about atmospheric reentry... possibly Unicorn is going to get some action on Earth. The last page information sheet about the reentry procedure mentioned the death of someone important...

here's the summary from zeonic corps:
The Federation Forces naval submarine "Bonefish" is tasked with searching the Atlantic Ocean for the fallen Neo Zeon ship "Garancieres". The Federation Forces believe that the Garancieres is lying under the sea, so they focus their search on listening for "sounds of armor creaking from water pressure." Although Addy, with excellent hearing for sonar operations heard a strange sound, there was no response from an inquiry in the ships database, so his superior officer didn't respond. Guenon, a shipmate, tells him about the rumor of "the sea ghost." There were multiple "unidentified sound sources" system errors picked up by SOSUS. While chatting with Guenon, he became engrossed deep in thought when a strange noise reverberated in their ears. The strange unknown was rapidly approaching them! The inside of the entire vessel shudders violently while the warning alarm blares. Was the sea ghost just a rumor after all?

The scene changes to the sea ghost side. The sea ghost side's true character was a mobile armor, AMA-X7 called the "Chambro." The crew was made up of Mahdi Garvey and three children. His objective was the same as the Federation Navy: to locate the Garancieres. However, searching for three days proved futile, so they suspended their searching temporarily and made their way to the Sodetsuki's HLV, which had descended earlier, for recovery.

A report about contact with the "Bonefish" being lost on the Atlantic reaches Rhona, who groans at the latest victim of "the box." But then in the scope of this sacrifice, the Federation's political measures can be questioned... Another main subject was presented by Patrick. The name of Captain Bright Noa, of Londo Bell commend, was mentioned on a list obtained from Lieutenant General Tedd. Rhona wanted everything under his control, which wasn't supported by the foundation. Patrick's strategy is to block contact with the Nahal Argama, which is attached to Londo Bell, and using the matter of involvement with a terrorist incident, the warship will take Bright in. Rhona has Patrick arrange the interview.

The Garancieres crash-landed in the Western Sahara of Africa, penetrating into a sand dune. For three days, violent sandstorms blew twice, completely covering them. They were stranded in this state, having neither the ability to launch mobile suits or call for assistance due to a broken radio. However, after three days, the hellish heat of the blazing sun made everyone smell and the Federation is searching for the ship. Before being found by the enemy, it was necessary for them to get in contact with their allys quickly. Although the Garancieres MS cannot be launched from the hanger, they could if they used the Unicorn. However, it needed a pilot, but Banarge was rather absent minded throughout the day. The trauma involving Gilboa has left his heart torn. Do we continue to wait to be rescued or do we destroy the ship and launch the mobile suits to seek help? Zinnemann considered the possibilities, but made another decision. "You'll keep me company as we head into town on foot," Zinnemann said to Banarge as he grabbed his lapels. "Don't sulk over it forever." he said as a little pep talk.

April 21st, a private shuttle flew down to Agusta. Onboard the "Empress of the Moon" is Martha, whom is going to the Agusta research institute with Albert. At Agusta, the second unit "Banshee" completed testing under gravity. The practice data from unit one was fed back and space movement was improved significantly. On the other hand, Albert is experiencing hallucinations from his childhood. Being a blood relative, Marth notices his state and tell him to not to worry about guarding the family fortune. This time, the silent pressure to not screw up this time was evident. Together with Chief Bentona, the two overlooked the 6th floor prison. In the twelfth cell was a specimen housing Marida. She has an inherent genetic design, and through the use of drugs, she was readjusted. Bentona tells Martha that it was difficult for her, but Martha doesn't mind and talks to Marida.

Banarge, Zinnemann and two others crossed the desert in the evening. Having been born and raised in the space colony's closed space, their hearts cowered before the merciless cruelty of Mother Nature. Although exhausted, they dragged behind Zinnemann and eventually stopped following him. Zinnemann spoke to Banarge with harsh words, but disguised among it was a parental love or affection. Banarge remembered Flast's story before following Zinnemann. He participated in the Earth descent operation during the One Year War and fought in Africa before becoming a prisoner of war. He was abused in the occupying forces camp. They ravaged his homeland after the war, and he was powerless to protect his relatives that were left behind and keeps fighting as a curse for that. The world is cruel and man is too powerless. He hangs on the line of life and death, a reality that is set out before him. Yet, despite it all, he continues walking, facing defeat if it comes to him. Thus, he tells Banarge to keep fighting and keep moving forward to keep on living.

Notations: Gilboa was killed by Banarge. "Banshee" is the name for the second UC Plan.

I make no sense out of it since I dunno what exactly happened.
StarGhazzer
post Jun 22 2008, 07:37 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

^ Or if somebody is willing to burn their eyes by reading the Chinese translated novel on the monitor screen... There's just too many words and I believe there are many parts lost/mucked up in translation.

I tried, but couldn't bear it. So let's just look at the pictures instead.

And I posted this in the gunpla thread, but it's worth rejoicing the fact that Izubuchi gave us sexy mechas in CCA instead of this hi-streamer junk.

StarGhazzer
post Jun 22 2008, 03:38 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

Tobe! Zaku !!

user posted imageuser posted image

Not a Zaku, girl... NOT a Zaku !!

Bang bang bang... guntank FTW !!
StarGhazzer
post Jun 23 2008, 10:42 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

New Unicorn unit? Jesta... looks like a pimped up GM Quel.
StarGhazzer
post Jun 24 2008, 06:53 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

OMFG. More crappy stuff from CE.
Speculum. doh.gif

Now THIS, is a speculum.
StarGhazzer
post Jun 26 2008, 06:27 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 25 2008, 09:43 PM)
only gundam being minimalistic is the early gundams and gundam 00 lol
Early Gundam 00s probably, but definitely not the alien Thrones. The rumoured design of the 00 Gundam is quite yucky too although I know you will disagree with me.

Tieren = thumbup.gif Simple and military like. large bore shell shooting cannon + big diameter bazooka FTW !!
StarGhazzer
post Jun 26 2008, 02:58 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

The original GAT-Xs are much more minimalistic compared to the exaggerated designs of the Thrones. The Thrones have parts which look integrated to the mechas' bodies instead of just a stick-slap job where every thing is stapled on. And again, they look nothing like Gundam... they look in place for other mecha animes like FMP.

Nothing can be more minimalistic than the original Duel or normal Strike.

However anything after the original Seed, esp those found in Astrays are overboard. Same goes with the MSVs of 00... Apart from Astraea other units are just "add-as-much-stuff-as-you-can".
StarGhazzer
post Jun 26 2008, 06:04 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

Oh here we go again... I'm not going to get into another debate... You keep your opinion and I'll have mine.

Zaku for the win. No fancy bling bling or alien lookalike.
StarGhazzer
post Jun 27 2008, 06:49 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 26 2008, 09:42 PM)
so apparently im not allowed to love w/e anime series or in this case a specific gundam series? and negative form of comment? tbh i dont see how my earlier replies are negative unless it apparently hit one of your old school gundam nerves, in which it did.

since all you see in gundam is a flame fest, which is apparent from your lolpic, my only response is:

Stop being a prick.

No one said you are not allowed to like 00. There are lots of gundam fans here who like different series. It's just that everytime anyone says anything negative about 00 you throw all sorts of insults and retaliation. I have no problems with you trying to explain 00 stuff in a proper manner like how you did with the Avalanche's design; but now you tend to end up saying "old school gundam, old school fanboy" etc.

If you think 00>geass or macross then simply state it in a sentence plus your reasons and leave it like that. What for point fingers at other people and calling them "biased" or "old school" or other names?

Live with the criticisms. 00 is NOT perfect. We applaud and recognise its pros here, and at the same time we point out its flaws too. Same with ALL gundam series. No gundam is perfect, and let us just be tolerant about it.

Geesh. dry.gif
StarGhazzer
post Jun 27 2008, 09:16 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 27 2008, 08:01 AM)
you might want to direct that to yourself or redeye in particular.

first off i dont find my earlier reply towards the subject of "minimalistic" gundams being 00 defensive at all. if anything its YOU guys who are being on the defensive trigger and jumping on the gun at the first sight of any 00 references.

first off:
- were there ANY insults being thrown from me DESPITE redeye being sarcastic and all and pulling the 00 fanboi gun on me?
- was the word oldschool gundam or old school fanboy EVEN being MENTIONED in my post before redeye ran in gung-ho against me?
- to take offense on the word old school, arent you being a TOO sensitive?

you keep mentioning live with the criticisms, but the sight on your beloved gundam series being critisized and you yourself start flaming/defending/retaliating back is REALLY hypocritical if you ask me.
rolleyes.gif

I didn't say your minimalistic gundam claims are being defensive of 00, in fact I refrained from further proving my point about GAT-Xs since I'm not going to change your mind and you ain't gonna change mine. But your reply to redeye with the LOL pic is pretty unnecessary, even though his was a bit jabbing too to start with.

This will go on and on forever if I retaliate to you. Just to let you know I have no intentions of defending redeye or anything like that, you guys can go ahead and spar each other; but do it via PM and not clog up our gundam thread with verbal melee.

I'll keep on commenting on 00 or any other gundam, be it praises or criticisms. If 00 comes out with brilliant designs like the Tieren or Astraea, I'll hail it. And I won't stop slamming ugly crap like the armless Macross wannabe.

wolfx: No worries... What a pity that you got caught up as a bystander when you barely mentioned anything at all. sweat.gif I don't regard you as a fanboy; in fact I understand and respect your views about various gundams even though I disagree about 00 being the best AU and V/F91 being the worst UCs.

Bah, let us just enjoy gundam the way we love it. Let the melee rest... I rest my case.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Jun 27 2008, 09:17 AM

14 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0495sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:02 AM