AIRASIA, Services, Complains, & Q&A

stimix
post Sep 24 2009, 06:03 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Hehe..If u check my past postings..esp on page 1, U will see I'm a true supporter of AA as they do bring budget flights to Malaysian & to Asian overall..but for the past 1yr..abit disappointed wth the following changes:

1) Keep on consolidating flights & changes to the tiome tables...I kena 3 times already starting from Dec'08, My Jul & Aug flights!

2) My favourite 1901 hotdog suddenly change to Air Asia branded hotdogs!!

3) The splitting of family (I think probably I ask them to combine & they purposely split!! If I hv keep mmy mouth shut..probably they will not split us!! - But the check-in counter guy really horrible! - imargine asking me to goto ticketing counter although I'm willing to top up!! - Does not make sense!!)

Other than above, they have done well by the better/expanded LCCT

This post has been edited by stimix: Sep 24 2009, 06:05 PM
Tony C
post Sep 24 2009, 07:01 PM

258 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Sep 24 2009, 09:03 PM)
Hehe..If u check my past postings..esp on page 1, U will see I'm a true supporter of AA as they do bring budget flights to Malaysian & to Asian overall..but for the past 1yr..abit disappointed wth the following changes:

1) Keep on consolidating flights & changes to the tiome tables...I kena 3 times already starting from Dec'08, My Jul & Aug flights!

2) My favourite 1901 hotdog suddenly change to Air Asia branded hotdogs!!

3) The splitting of family (I think probably I ask them to combine & they purposely split!! If I hv keep mmy mouth shut..probably they will not split us!! - But the check-in counter guy really horrible! - imargine asking me to goto ticketing counter although I'm willing to top up!! - Does not make sense!!)

Other than above, they have done well by the better/expanded LCCT
Ok, I apologize for not reading through the run down of your post history. But here's a few possible justifications for your thoughts:

1) Save fuel

2) Save $$$

3) The functions of check in and ticketing are different. Seat assignments may be managed separately (with ticketing perhaps, but I don't know). And here's a word of advice, never underestimate what check in agents can or cannot do. They can make your flight a pleasant one, or a really "memorable" one, in which case you got the "memorable" one.
Cas
post Sep 24 2009, 07:08 PM

262 posts

Hehe I have to say the ad is damn cute biggrin.gif I never knew one could pay RM5 to pre-book seats, was only aware of the hot seat. When I came back from Vietnam on Tuesday, we managed to get the hot seats (row 2) without even paying for it, guess no one booked it so we were lucky to get it smile.gif

Btw off topic but they now serve fried eggs and hotdog for b'fast and you can buy krispy kreme donuts on board, lol.
Ami Tsun
post Sep 24 2009, 07:37 PM

The worst attitude I kena from AA re seating arrangement is:

I pre booked the RM5, seat no 6C (one row after the hot seat). Then there are two big man seated at 6A and 6B, and the first 5 rows completely vacant. So, "naturally" I mah moved to the seat in front of me lor..

One "PR not so good" air stewardess "shoo" me away. Insisting that "you can not sit here, you need to pay RM25 to sit here!"

Hey, I asked her back if this flight can take a total 180 pax and if all tickets are sold out without anyone paying for the seat, then the RM25 seats can be all left vacant ah? I told her I've also witnessed passenger who did not pre book but got assigned to the "hot seat" by the computer system.

She just insisted and stressed that need to pay for those seats, making the issue become so MONEY orientated.

It was later then I found out that on the previous flight, some one moved over to the "hot seat" and one unhappy passenger who has paid for his "hot seat" questioned the air stewardess why allowed the other person to sit there..

So, nowadays I don't bother to pre book any seats liao.

I was told by the check in staff that NORMALLY they ("they" - don't know meaning who or what?) will allocate the same group of people under the same itinerary to be seated near each other. So far, (touchwood), it's true for me and my family travelling together...

@stimix
maybe you really kena coz you asked
ivanau88
post Sep 24 2009, 08:57 PM

3,777 posts

I am just gonna book AA. I am going Langkawi with my friends. I initially wanted mas but my friends wanted aa because of the price. Regarding to the seats, how do you know if the seats were booked when you first enter the plane? Do we have to que in front of the gate fighting for the seats if we wanna sit together? Cases you guys mentioned here are like very serious huh? my first time with aa.

Added on September 24, 2009, 11:39 pmguys, I need help here.
Air Asia
I am going to Langkawi within these few weeks.I am aiming for a cheaper fare, but it says that the booking period end on the 27th of Sept while it does not mentioned Langkawi in the page. If I booked after 27th, will I get a cheaper fare?
If I book now, my fare will be RM111( RM57 + RM54) per person including tax excluding food, insurance seats and etc. I still find it expensive but could I get a better price from this?

This post has been edited by ivanau88: Sep 24 2009, 11:39 PM
moody5
post Sep 25 2009, 08:46 AM

296 posts

AA u can prebook ur seat so that you can sit with your friend but prebook come with extra charges, check in luggage also charge u extra, meal off course will charge u and no free drinking water. Or do a web check in 48hrs prior to ur departure and get the seat (bet on ur luck without prebook).

but the flight to Langkawi is short..so i guess maybe u will buy minimum water to drink

after cost in all these, do a comparison with MAS flight, if it is more or less the same, I prefer MAS. hahaha

This post has been edited by moody5: Sep 25 2009, 08:47 AM
Cas
post Sep 25 2009, 08:54 AM

262 posts

QUOTE(ivanau88 @ Sep 24 2009, 08:57 PM)
I am just gonna book AA. I am going Langkawi with my friends. I initially wanted mas but my friends wanted aa because of the price. Regarding to the seats, how do you know if the seats were booked when you first enter the plane? Do we have to que in front of the gate fighting for the seats if we wanna sit together? Cases you guys mentioned here are like very serious huh? my first time with aa.

Added on September 24, 2009, 11:39 pmguys, I need help here.
Air Asia
I am going to Langkawi within these few weeks.I am aiming for a cheaper fare, but it says that the booking period end on the 27th of Sept while it does not mentioned Langkawi in the page. If I booked after 27th, will I get a cheaper fare?
If I book now, my fare will be RM111( RM57 + RM54) per person including tax excluding food, insurance seats and etc. I still find it expensive but could I get a better price from this?
Dude, to answer your first question, there are numbers assigned already (just like MAS) so there's no fighting needed. It was quite bad previously when they didn't assign seats, man - you could see the ugly side of Malaysians shoving and pushing.

Anyawys, if you ask me I think those prices are quite cheap already. The cheapest I've seen to Langkawi is RM80, which I did purchase. If you feel its a fare price (cheaper than MAS), then just get it la, coz the more you wait the price of the tickets will go up. It can go up to about RM300 or so to langkawi on AA.
MyP2PCafe
post Sep 25 2009, 08:54 PM

119 posts

Guys, i wanted to purchase a ticket from KL to JB but i am not able to pay via direct debit. All i see for the payment option is the credit card one and the evoucher. I didn't choose any seats (randomly assigned) . So what is wrong? Anyone i could call now to make my booking?
jackolantern
post Sep 25 2009, 10:26 PM

495 posts

anyone got same problem with me? clik button search but cannot go through what i looking for
MyP2PCafe
post Sep 25 2009, 10:30 PM

119 posts

Yes, the search button is not working. But you can sign in into an account , if you have one and use the search button there since it works .

Anyway, anyone have any idea , why the direct debit tab for payment is missing?
jackolantern
post Sep 25 2009, 11:08 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(MyP2PCafe @ Sep 25 2009, 10:30 PM)
Yes, the search button is not working. But you can sign in into an account , if you have one and use the search button there since it works .

Anyway, anyone have any idea , why the direct debit tab for payment is missing?
thx mate... for direct debit sometimes appear sometimes not
MyP2PCafe
post Sep 25 2009, 11:19 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(jackolantern @ Sep 25 2009, 11:08 PM)
thx mate... for direct debit sometimes appear sometimes not
So it's like a cat and mouse game?

Can i do my booking over the phone , if i were to pay via maybank2u?
Ami Tsun
post Sep 25 2009, 11:30 PM

I think you need to go to the Air Asia office to buy ticket..
MyP2PCafe
post Sep 26 2009, 12:09 AM

119 posts

Yes, that looks like the only possible way for now.

I'll be going tomorrow morning then to book the ticket.
ivanau88
post Sep 28 2009, 12:39 AM

3,777 posts

air asia is having a 20% sales in all destination. As I said I wanna go to Langkawi but why my fares did not get the 20%? Is it only available for normal price not economy promo?
eXTaTine
post Sep 28 2009, 09:53 AM

To Tongsan we bow!!
820 posts

Anyone notice Airasia check-in luggage charges increased? Previously RM5 for 15kg, now RM10.

This post has been edited by eXTaTine: Sep 28 2009, 09:53 AM
Ami Tsun
post Sep 28 2009, 10:08 AM

Yup, it has been mentioned a few posts back.

However, I baru realised now that the 15kg is for accummulated pieces of check in baggage, has since replaced the baggage handling fee which limit to only one piece of 15kg max.

Took away the admin fee, and increased the baggage fee, the pre ordered meals also more expensive liao..

I wonder what's next to increase or to pay for? "pay to use the toilet on board"?? Or introducing cheaper without seat - "standing fare"??
eXTaTine
post Sep 28 2009, 10:59 AM

To Tongsan we bow!!
820 posts

QUOTE(Ami Tsun @ Sep 28 2009, 10:08 AM)
Yup,  it has been mentioned a few posts back.

However, I baru realised now that the 15kg is for accummulated pieces of check in baggage, has since replaced the baggage handling fee which limit to only one piece of 15kg max.

Took away the admin fee, and increased the baggage fee, the pre ordered meals also more expensive liao.. 

I wonder what's next to increase or to pay for?  "pay to use the toilet on board"??  Or introducing cheaper without seat - "standing fare"??
One piece of 15kg max was removed long long time ago...it was there for only a short time, if I'm not mistaken, they removed it when they removed the fuel surcharge.

Regarding the admin fee, ever noticed since the admin fee removed, hardly any "Free" flights now? They "remove" the admin fee but now include it in the fare. Its just giving another name for the same charge. LOL.

To be fair to them they have the lowest meals and extras charges among all the budget airlines I've sat with. In fact their meals are so cheap, its probably cheaper to eat in the plane than in the airport! Also, they are the most flexible with online check-in and mobile check-in.

However, their fares can be quite expensive though if you're not getting the promo tickets...

hihihehe
post Sep 28 2009, 11:49 AM

13,783 posts

any1 got their airfare 20% off?
i checked n still the same cost doh.gif
Ami Tsun
post Sep 28 2009, 02:40 PM

maybe u need to select and book, then at the final page baru shows the discount?

126 Pages « < 62 63 64 65 66 > » Top

0.0265sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:50 PM