Vote and tell us why .
Which is your Favourite Episode ?, In The Star Wars Sixlogy .
Mar 3 2008, 06:49 PM, updated 18y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
1,188 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
Vote and tell us why .
Mar 3 2008, 06:53 PM
370 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia |
POD Racer!!
Mar 3 2008, 07:13 PM
5,355 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Cera |
For me it was between 4 and 6.
The first 3 episodes which was filmed in recent years definitely wins in terms of aesthetics and CGI, yet the storyline was rather rushed and awkward. The first episode was relatively enjoyable, but I felt that the 2nd and 3rd episodes were rushed through far too quick, as if a lot of parts were cut off in the editing process. And the overusage of CGI in the 2nd (the robot factory part and the final clone trooper battles) and the 3rd (Obiwan and Anakin's duel in the lava pit) were too much to be palatable. It was as if I'm watching a video game more than a movie. Back to the older episodes. 4th was the beginning of the Star Wars movie phenomenon, and despite its relatively cartoonish special effects in today's age, it was a revolution back in the old days. 5th had a very dark theme as the empire totally crushed the rebels, but somehow I didn't like the fact that the ending was abrupt and left hanging. Yes, it was a deliberate gimmick to prepare viewers for the final episode, but it just wasn't exactly my cup of tea. That's not to say I didn't enjoy it though. I picked 6th episode as my favourite because it had better looking CGIs compared to the 4th episode, and most importantly it showed the character development and maturation of Luke Skywalker, as he grew from a naive kid into a noble hero who not only saved his people, but most importantly released his father from eternal damnation. The final part where the Sith Lord tried to corrupt Luke was well done, as viewers could feel how sadistic the Sith Lord could be; while at the same time feel the inner struggle of Luke as he fought to resist the temptation of the dark side. And of course I liked the symbolisation of an entire new dawn to civilisation as the empire was brought down. Old characters (Anakin, Sith Lord, Yoda) who played a role in the dark past either died or was defeated, leaving the new generation to build a better tomorrow. My only complaints about the 6th episode was the weird inclusion of the Ewoks.... They were there just to add some comedy |
Mar 3 2008, 07:21 PM
6,486 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
The Empire Strikes Back is easily the best. No doubt. There shouldn't even be any need to explain why.
This post has been edited by BurgaFlippinMan: Mar 3 2008, 07:22 PM |
Mar 3 2008, 07:55 PM
310 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
Empire Strikes Back > Star Wars > Return Of The Jedi
Mar 3 2008, 08:33 PM
10,783 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
actually i kinda like the episode 1 to 3...i like especially episode 3 coz its the first time i really watched it in cinema...and the only movie 1 watched more than once... the final epic fight is so amazing and so heartbreaking at the same time...
Mar 3 2008, 08:33 PM
373 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
Empire. Because the bad guys kicked ass. Yippee!!
And also a couple of things - no Ewoks/Gungans/younglings - Yoda's grand entrance (wrinkled old midget in a swamp lol) - the sexual tension (brother & sister kissed but sister got the hots for the space pirate. saucy!) - the revelation (Luke. I am your fatha!) - and did i mention no Ewoks/Gungans/younglings? and yes i denounce ALL the prequels. except Clone Wars (animation). that was awesome! |
Mar 3 2008, 09:38 PM
plus, ESB has Ford's best performance as Han and John Williams' best Star Wars score
Burga - who considers ROTS to be as good as ROTJ at least. |
Mar 3 2008, 10:06 PM
73 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: Tempat orang Kite |
For me it is from Episode 3 to 5.
A New Hope is the first Star Wars film that I watch from start to finish. A simple story of good versus evil. Learn the stuff like The Force, The Dark Side, witness the character like Luke, Han Solo, old Ben, Leia and Darth Vader. Kinda sad when Obi-Wan sacrifice himself. After watching this film, I realize why this film was such a hit back in 1977. Then it is The Empire Strikes Back. A total different atmosphere from A New Hope. The rebel had their butt kicked by the Galactic Empire. Luke received training from Yoda in Dagobah, but we see that he cannot control his fear and anger. And the duel between Luke Skywalker and Darth Vader. After Vader cut off Luke's hand, one of the most shocking moment in cinema history proceed...... In Return of the Jedi, I am most displeased by the little Ewoks tribe. How can they defeat the Galactic Empire with their stone age weapon? George Lucas should think a much better story. Then back to Episode 1 and 2. I hate that Jar Jar Binks. The duel between Qui-Gon Jinn and Obi-Wan against Darth Maul is my favourite in Episode 1. Episode 2, hmm, in my opinion on the same level as Episode 1. Revenge of the Sith is the best in the prequel trilogy, no doubt. George Lucas redeems himself. This movie saw how Anakin seduced by the dark side of the Force. The duel between Mace Windu and Palpatine, Yoda against Palpatine and Obi-Wan Kenobi vs Darth Vader, they are really, really good. And the sequence where the Jedi Knights are being killed under Order 66, Revenge of the Sith is a very enjoyable yet emotional film. So my vote goes to Star Wars Episode III: Revenge of the Sith. Good........(In the Emperor's voice) ![]() This post has been edited by HITMAN316: Mar 3 2008, 10:14 PM |
Mar 3 2008, 10:17 PM
Dude, resize ur picture lah.
Mar 3 2008, 11:22 PM
433 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
The best is of course Empire Strikes Back. How many cool things about Star Wars were introduced in Empire Strikes Back. Let me count. Snow speeder, Yoda, AT-AT, Boba Fett, Lando, Cloud City, Taun Taun, Yoda, Space asteroid chase, Superstar Destroyer, Planet Hoth, Imperial Probs, the Soundtrack (the best among all Star Wars movie), Han Solo carbonize, this is the movie that makes the Millennium Falcon cool, etc. etc. etc. Too many to count. Of course A New Hope were good too since it started the whole thing. As for Return of the Jedi, a good end to the series. The only complain were Ewoks but after seing Jar Jar, give me an Ewoks anytime. At least they are not irritating.
I don't really hate the prequels but they just did not give me the sense of adventure and awe the original did. Among the prequels, Revenge of the Sith is the best. If only George Lucas filmed the first and second prequel like Revenge of the Sith, I am sure alot of people will like them better. Why? Less kiddy friendly. The best thing about the prequels were the Clone Wars cartoons which I heard were remade into a CGI movie and will be release in cinema this year. Cannot wait. |
Mar 3 2008, 11:42 PM
2,084 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
Episode 4, 5 & 6 is the best. I love all 3 the same. Groundbreaking at the time and its still a joy to watch the special edition. these 3 episode can survive repeated viewing for the story.
Episode 1, 2 and 3 is a shame. these 3 episodes are showcase of effect. the story is downright awful. The love story between Anakin and Padme is about the worst love story ever made. I still enjoy for the effect and sound but not repeated viewing. |
Mar 4 2008, 01:37 AM
373 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
things that left me either scratching my head or gasped in disbelief in Episode III:
- Mace Windu screaming like a punk b**** b4 meeting his midichlorians - Obi to Ani - you can't win. i have the higher ground. lol wut? - Darth's famous NOOOOOOOO... - Padme died. ( but didn't Leia remember mommie in EP. VI? things that rocked the movie: - awesome battles including lightsaber fights - Yoda v Emperor. - Wookies gone wild (which are cooler than Ewoks. it's how they braid their fur see?) - Darth's surgery operation Problem was Lucas did it all by himself. He got the plot points alright enough but he should've gotten someone proper to do the dialogue. ![]() anyone remember Ani ur breakin my heart? boo hoo |
Mar 4 2008, 02:11 AM
1,807 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
ESB.
- best musical score - best lines (Leia: I love you. Solo: I know) - best surprise (Vader: No. I am your father) - introduction of Yoda + Palpatine - best ending - more things that i forgot(its 2am now) |
Mar 4 2008, 08:56 AM
QUOTE(mukhlisz @ Mar 4 2008, 01:37 AM) Yoda once said in ESB, "Through the Force you will see, other places, the past, the future, old friends long gone..."Post ROTJ EU also fleshes out on the differences in Force sensitivities between Luke and Leia. |
Mar 4 2008, 09:08 AM
798 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Equine Park, Seri Kembangan |
For the prequels, the best for me is the Cartoon Network's Clone Wars. The Jedi were all bad ass in this one with their force powers, even the baddies were really frightening.
Back in Ep 3...aiyoh...Mace Windu got kick assed so easily when fighting anakin...why??? why??? I was expecting something great for the mace vs anakin fight!! For ep 4, 5, 6...my fav is ep 5...because that is where we learn about the force n darth vader |
Mar 4 2008, 09:52 AM
I rmbr this poll being done before here, with ROTJ and the prequels garnering a shockingly high number of votes.
Mar 4 2008, 12:13 PM
5,355 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Cera |
QUOTE(BurgaFlippinMan @ Mar 4 2008, 09:52 AM) I rmbr this poll being done before here, with ROTJ and the prequels garnering a shockingly high number of votes. Results of the poll are not important, the main thing is that people who voted post their opinions about all the episodes so we can know the pros and cons of each movie. Seems like almost everyone hates the Ewoks |
Mar 4 2008, 03:37 PM
QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Mar 4 2008, 12:13 PM) Results of the poll are not important, the main thing is that people who voted post their opinions about all the episodes so we can know the pros and cons of each movie. Am I the only one who likes them? They're so darn adorable.Seems like almost everyone hates the Ewoks |
| Change to: | 0.0645sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:07 AM |