6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

A skinny ba$tard's log, Unilateral 5x5 to 5x10

TSiamyuanwu
post Jul 7 2008, 04:07 PM

2,425 posts

It's Fitness First! Bl00dy 175 per month!
And there's very little space to move around the place. I don't mind if that's the case in a ghetto gym.

And I was tulan that day because i was too lethargic to lift. So, little things can piss me off.

Added on July 9, 2008, 12:48 amWeek 3 day 1 of hundredpushups.com -- PHAILED11!1
Getting more and more difficult.
To be repeated on Thursday.

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Jul 9 2008, 12:48 AM
TSiamyuanwu
post Jul 11 2008, 10:57 PM

2,425 posts

observation:
- Strength turun due to missed workout for 1 week++, and tak cukup tidur
- deadlift form a bit out due to lack of strength. Next time don't try to be hero.
- pundi kencing can hold up to 0.5kg of urine. Weight before peeing= 54.1; wt after peeing=53.6kg. Oi Raindrops, 0.5kg of difference doesn't mean muscle gain, it might simply be water you just drank. X^D
- body fat = 15.5%. Don't know the machine reliable or not -- I ain't feelin' no difference pun. If it's accurate, then I'm happy... on the way to 10%

squat
65.0 x5
65.0 x5
57.5 x10
57.5 x10

overhead press
30.0 x5
30.0 x5
25.0 x10
25.0 x9
25.0 x6 + 22.5 x4

deadlift
75.0 x5
67.5 x10

pull up

around the world
15 x10
15 x10

calf raise smith machine
20 x10
20 x10
20 x10
TSiamyuanwu
post Jul 13 2008, 02:51 AM

2,425 posts

Off day home workouts. All based on hundredpushups.com's regime.

pull ups: 2nd column,week 1, day 3
push ups: 3rd column, week 3, day 2
squats: follow push ups, but add 50% more reps

I'm hypothesizing that the crazy amount of push ups can be a good way to reduce body fat... considering that I dropped from 17% to 15.5% (but i suspect this is not accurate)
TSiamyuanwu
post Jul 13 2008, 07:39 PM

2,425 posts

Yeah, I gotta eat like you, gunnerboy. That's a large diet!
------
If humans have been eating something for ages and ages and no one dies from it, then you know it's safe.

No one has died from eating butter for centuries, or eggs with yolks for that matter. You could attribute it to their labour-heavy lifesytle... but since we workout and exercise, it's basically the same. 2 yolks per week? You're throwing away all vitamins+minerals and 1/2 of protein.
TSiamyuanwu
post Jul 30 2008, 07:16 PM

2,425 posts

Final assessment is this Saturday 3-5pm in Fitness First The Curve.
This is it! 6 exercises to determine who's the DUDE, and who's the DUD.

2km in 10min, squat-kick, push up, knee up then lunge, boxing with dumbbells, abs.
The first assessment: 1.5km, 100, 20, 40, 30, 40.
This coming final assessment: 2.2km, 150, 50, 100, 100, 100 (do you think I can achieve this? rclxub.gif)

If you are around The Curve this Saturday, give me a call & lets meet up.

---
Jones...
Yup, 4-6 yolks won't kill you,
but 4-6 sticks of ciggies definitely will. Just quit it. Just bl00dy h3ll QUIT IT.

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Jul 30 2008, 07:32 PM
TSiamyuanwu
post Jul 31 2008, 12:40 AM

2,425 posts

sp00ky...
It's the Refine & Define contest.
Assessment to determine who improved the most and thus will win that module. I'm sure I'll get something out of it.

Shanecross...
That day, I was in a particularly sial mood. =P
You're not the first person to say that... my ex-boss noticed it too. I scolded some clients on the phone and she over heard (but the clients needed some tough love so my boss buat tak tau. X^D)
TSiamyuanwu
post Aug 7 2008, 05:00 PM

2,425 posts

Habis liao. Losing motivation to go to the gym...

kick squat 122
push up 45
split lunge 100+
punch with dumbbells 150
legs up - toe touch (abs exercise) 100+
1.7km in 10 minutes
TSiamyuanwu
post Aug 19 2008, 07:37 PM

2,425 posts

Hah hah!
Oh yeah. Legs straight on the air, and touch the toes. It's actually not that hard. But sit up will make me pancit faster.

Quite a few dudes managed close to 200. Crazy right?
TSiamyuanwu
post Aug 20 2008, 07:28 PM

2,425 posts

I totally neglected my journal liao. Haven't been to gym for weeks already.

After the competition... all motivation went down the drain. XD
TSiamyuanwu
post Sep 10 2008, 01:34 AM

2,425 posts

Modified Simplefit level 6 day 2

5 sets of:
6 pull ups
19 push ups
32 pistols (16 each leg)
Rest not timed, approx 4-5min rest after each set.

5 sets = 20 min 33 sec

Tough like heck! The last time I did it at level 5, I almost puked. rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Jan 25 2009, 01:48 AM
TSiamyuanwu
post Jan 25 2009, 01:49 AM

2,425 posts

I'm back with a vengence!
Due to neglect, strength went kaput. Had to restart Stronglift 5x5 3-4 week ago. Now getting close to previous strength level.

Squat 62.5kg
Bench press 47.5
Barbell row 30
overhead press 27.5 (stalled, cis!)
deadlift 65
dips 20, 9, 9
pull ups 10, 6, 6

And since it's CNY and gyms are closed (and I'm also lazy to go to gym)
Will use the hundred-push-ups Week 4 to keep some strength.
See if I can progress to week 5 next week.
TSiamyuanwu
post Feb 18 2009, 09:36 PM

2,425 posts

Stuck in China with no nearby ghetto gyms.
Doing push ups as often as I can.

Today's number: 150 (50 each time)
Target: >250 per day.
TSiamyuanwu
post Feb 19 2009, 02:38 PM

2,425 posts

Yeah. Posted here for some work.
Things are not as cheap in China as many people believed.

I miss my chin up bar. =(
TSiamyuanwu
post Feb 19 2009, 02:59 PM

2,425 posts

Nope. Staying in the attic of the company apartment.
Well, they converted the attic into a nice room, so it's OK. =)

I read somewhere that a ghetto gym would cost about 40rmb per entry. That's like RM20 for 1 session. Wah lau!
TSiamyuanwu
post Feb 19 2009, 10:42 PM

2,425 posts

RMB40 is what I managed to find online. I've yet to check out those around my area.

The Fitness-First-type of gym cost rmb 4000 (approx 2000, not yet nego and various discounts) a year. They don't offer monthly contract.
And it's not as slick and polished as Fitness First or California Fitness. Still a bit ah beng. X^D
-----
I'm just a junior executive lah, posted in China. Low level position only. The company is something similar to the Melium group in Msia.

Added on February 19, 2009, 10:42 pm260 push ups throughout the day.

Added on February 19, 2009, 10:43 pm20 pistols

Added on February 23, 2009, 12:08 amWeee! Found a gym. It's actually the clubhouse/community centre in my apartment. Ghetto style gym run by YMCA. Continued with my Stronglifts 5x5 today. After a month of strength-less training... sudah kaput a bit. But still it cost rmb25 (~RM13) per entry.

The person running the place is a middle aged lady. And she's also a bodybuilding coach for guys! A number of the PT working around the area used be coached under her! FULAMAK!!!

And PTs in China are huge, and real bodybuilders themselves! I've yet to meet PTs in KL like that before!

And there are FEMALE BODYBUILDERS in China! Fuiyo! And there are contests for them too. I thought only the US have female bodybuilders.
Malaysian girls are too weak! (disclaimer: except for syd G. Thou shall not accidentally flame Syd in case she makes some farney sarcastics comments about me. X^D )

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Feb 23 2009, 12:08 AM
TSiamyuanwu
post Feb 25 2009, 11:39 PM

2,425 posts

YMCA gyms is nice, but limited free weights. And working out at 15 deg celcius is not so nice. No sweat one, and the bar is so cold, my fingers become numb.
But it's so darn near my place it's only 2 minutes walk away. X^D

The lady running the place is damn pro wei! She actually knows her stuff and the proper forms of various lifts.
She thought I was too thin until she saw me lift. Heh heh!
CAn lift heavy also no use... no physique to show off. GOMAD!!!

Still stronglift 5x5 :-
Squat 65kg [there's no 1.25kg plates... how the heck am I going to increase 5kg each session?! ]
BP 50kg
Row 35kg
dips 20, 10, 9.
abs wheelie thing 10, 10.
TSiamyuanwu
post Feb 26 2009, 10:18 PM

2,425 posts

Squat 65
Press 30
Deadlift 70
Pull ups 11, 5, 3.
Abd wheelie thingamajick 10, 10. WOOooooh! Tomorrow my abs sure sore kau kau!

1.5 litres of milk today! LOMAD!!!

Milk dam expensive in China. This is so WTF?!
TSiamyuanwu
post Mar 22 2009, 05:15 PM

2,425 posts

Heh heh... My postings here are so sporadic.

Of course still can drink lah. No problem one. After the previous incident... the Chinese health authority went berserk over the milk producers and their chain of supply.
-----
Have been doing Stronglift's 5x5 for close to a year liao. Not feeling the oomph & enthusiasm anymore. And the lack of cage makes it an inconvenience to squat frequently

Starting with W4SB by Joe Defranco. Maybe will move back to 5x5 again after a few months.
Rest time: 90s

Monday (repitition lifts):
- Dips 3x max in 60s
- Tricep extension (or skull crushers?) 3x10
- Pull ups 4x8 (I can't do that, end up doing negatives)
- DB shoulder press 3x10
- Hammer curl 3x10
- Ab circuit, no rest: inclined weighted sit up x10, abs wheelie x10, prone bridge 60s, wood chop x15, around the world x15.

Wednesday (Max effort upper body):
- Bench press 5x to 3RM
- Inclined DB bench press 3x10 <-- I might want to replace this with military press.
- Pendlay row 3x10
- Seated cable row 2x15
- Seated DB rear raise 3x10
- Hanging leg raise 3x12

Friday (Lower body):
- Squat 5x to 3RM
- Reverse Lunge 3x10
- Deadlift 3x10
- Jump squats 3x10
- Plate pinching 3x 1min

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Mar 22 2009, 07:11 PM
TSiamyuanwu
post Mar 24 2009, 11:45 PM

2,425 posts

Where do you get your resistance band? How much?

I can do pull ups, it's just that 4x8 is a lot! So I just pull whatever I can, then do negatives to complete the set.

My forearm is still sore after 3-4 days of the Monday routine. Nuts!

Added on March 25, 2009, 11:58 pmWed, max effort upper body

Bench press
30kg x12
35x12
40x12
45x10
50x6
55x3
55x3

Inclined DB bench press: this is tough. 17kg is too much, don't be greedy next time.
13kg x10
13kg x10
17kg x10

Pendlay row: probably too heavy for 8 reps
40kg 3x8

Seated cable row
5 plates 2x15

Bent over rear raise: can't feel much yet, lets see if there's DOMS tomorrow
3kg 3x10

Leg raise: I have no idea how to do this properly. There's too much crap in the internet.
3x12

around the world: I love this, simple but damn tough to do.
2x10

End thoughts: Doesn't feel intense enough compared to 5x5, probably because there's no squats for today. Remember to stretch before workout next time.

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Mar 25 2009, 11:58 PM
TSiamyuanwu
post Mar 28 2009, 08:30 PM

2,425 posts

Friday, max effort lower body
Time: 1 hr 15 min.

Squat
30kg x15
40x12
50x8
60x6
65x4
70x3 I could probably do heavier. But lets leave it at 70 kg first.

Reverse lunge I thought this was easy until i started doing. Nasib baik I used only 30kg.
30kg x 3 x 12

Deadlift
50kg x 10
60kg x 10
60kg x 10

Jump squats
bar x 3 x 15 Nut case. Jump until lenguh.

Plate pinch
5+5kg 40s
5+5kg 40s
5+5kg 30s

Around the world I love this exercise. Look simple but not easy. I would be better if there is a bosu ball.
15kg x 10

Cycle for 3 minutes to cool down.

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0169sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:57 AM