TScouleur
post Feb 28 2008, 07:44 PM, updated 18y ago

188 posts

The Curve, Kota Damansara, Selangor, Malaysia

Canon EF 17-40mm f/4 L USM

I always wanted to try something like this and I did. It wasn't easy. But first, I would like to thank all the people who helped me out on this project. I'd like to thank my friends, and that crazy driver that nearly killed me during this shoot and my colleague whom helped me out on the digital imaging section.

I was supposedly to meet up with my friends during lunch time, but coincidently I was busy setting up my art piece at an exhibition and couldn't go no where. I was pretty disappointed that day. Not because I couldn;t hang out with my friends, but it was the only day that I could shoot this car. The Volvo belongs to a friend of mine who studies in another state, and only comes home once in a while. And so far off, she told me this was the last time she could drive this car, since she crashed the other S40, same model in brown. Her entire family loves Volvo, they have all the series. It's amazing, I've never came across anyone who loves Volvo so much.

So by the time I could meet up with them, it was about 6-7 plus at the evening and the light really failed my camera and I have no choice but to try something ground breaking. So I suggested to them about a night scene and soon I got an idea to shoot it at a bright car park near the place we all hanged out.

The shoot was pretty kicky, and we didnt ride as smooth as the BMW shoot. It was very difficult as the tunnels aren't as far as roads could be and there were humps and bumps every 50 meters. We drove around for about 15-20 minutes, since everyone was so inpatient. Hmm...

But anyways, I can't ask for more since I am asking for a good favour from them.

What really upsets me about this shot is that, the reflection is terrible and I forget to cover it up, I kind of hated the flare created by the beams. Will take note during my next shot. nod.gif
goldfries
post Feb 28 2008, 07:47 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

love the shot! nice as usual.

same comment like your BMW shot - why don't you hide the number plate la?
KTCY
post Feb 28 2008, 07:54 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

How you snap this shoot ?
8second exposure and the car is moving ? unsure.gif
raymannlucas
post Feb 28 2008, 07:59 PM

One Life, One Chance, One Try, No Retry
2,080 posts

u r freaking good man.....
kuih_tiow
post Feb 28 2008, 08:03 PM

431 posts

gila nice pic dude...
later invite me oso lar...
then u can teach me...so nice...
SUSTheVoIP
post Feb 28 2008, 08:08 PM

Super General
5,793 posts

Fantastic! notworthy.gif

Must be a combination of a number of hardworks..... thumbup.gif
TScouleur
post Feb 28 2008, 08:10 PM

188 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Feb 28 2008, 07:47 PM)
why don't you hide the number plate la?
Loco Stylo

This post has been edited by couleur: Feb 28 2008, 08:10 PM
weileongz
post Feb 28 2008, 08:44 PM

Gaijin
947 posts

nice picture !
allornothing
post Feb 28 2008, 08:51 PM

Melancholic //
926 posts

This is freaking good quality stuff. You should like, work for a car magazine smile.gif
razuryza
post Feb 28 2008, 09:04 PM

\('o')/~fewwwiitttt~\("0")/
5,515 posts

this type of shot must use two cars ler.. one for to shoot of... and another one.. u ride to shoot la...this technique i think easier than panning... i think laaa..huhu.. tongue.gif

by the way.. the car was sharp.. and the PP was marvelous!..hah..this part i also wanna learn..huhu nod.gif

This post has been edited by razuryza: Feb 28 2008, 09:06 PM
goldfries
post Feb 28 2008, 09:16 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

i still prefer his BMW shot though.

QUOTE(KTCY @ Feb 28 2008, 07:54 PM)
How you snap this shoot ?
8second exposure and the car is moving ? unsure.gif
why do you need 8 seconds la, even less than 1 second also enough to get this effect already.

btw he was using

# Shutter Speed (Exposure Time) = 1/0.13 second
# Aperture = F16
calvin_swk
post Feb 28 2008, 09:29 PM

307 posts

wa... nice shot.
nairud
post Feb 28 2008, 10:00 PM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

this is a good pic!!
btw, you didnt shoot the car and the parking lot at the same time rite? i noticed the lights at the parking lot is zigzaggy... takkan the car can be that sharp

enlight me pls
SUSdgrebel
post Feb 28 2008, 10:11 PM

Oldfag
2,475 posts

wah... then lens is really that good mah? colour so vibrant. what PP software u use? lightroom?
i tried this kind of shot too.. but i am the driver and the photographer, so kindda hard to get smooth panning.

anyway your PP skills kick ass man! kudos bravos!

btw, did u use the crystal filter for this?

This post has been edited by dgrebel: Feb 28 2008, 10:14 PM
travis_ckf
post Feb 28 2008, 10:49 PM

ambitious but rubbish......
6,413 posts

I believe there alot of PP involved but nevertheless its superb! Hope the TS can become my sifu, i love taking pics of cars too! notworthy.gif
KTCY
post Feb 29 2008, 01:06 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Feb 28 2008, 09:16 PM)
i still prefer his BMW shot though.
why do you need 8 seconds la, even less than 1 second also enough to get this effect already.

btw he was using

# Shutter Speed (Exposure Time) = 1/0.13 second
# Aperture = F16
This is what I saw at the EXIF hmm.gif

Camera Make: Canon
Camera Model: Canon EOS 20D
Image Date: 2008:02:16 10:57:15
CCD Width: 6.85mm
Exposure Time: 7.9999 s
Aperture: f/16
Exposure Bias: 2.00
White Balance: Manual
Exposure: Manual
Exposure Mode: Auto Bracketing

This post has been edited by KTCY: Feb 29 2008, 01:09 AM
goldfries
post Feb 29 2008, 01:11 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

never knows yours is correct. smile.gif

my EXIF reader sez otherwise (the View EXIF extension on firefox).

i look at the trails in the pictures, doesn't look like 8 seconds lor, based on the P on the left and the ventilation shaft on the ceiling.
KTCY
post Feb 29 2008, 01:19 AM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Feb 29 2008, 01:11 AM)
never knows yours is correct. smile.gif

my EXIF reader sez otherwise (the View EXIF extension on firefox).

i look at the trails in the pictures, doesn't look like 8 seconds lor, based on the P on the left and the ventilation shaft on the ceiling.
That's why I also wondering. Panning with 8 seconds unsure.gif
Maybe the photographer can explain this biggrin.gif
matt2001
post Feb 29 2008, 02:18 AM

298 posts

nice!!!
can make it into a calender edi...
kelvinyam
post Feb 29 2008, 08:35 AM

May beauty be everywhere around me
1,766 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Feb 29 2008, 01:19 AM)
That's why I also wondering. Panning with 8 seconds unsure.gif
Maybe the photographer can explain this biggrin.gif
I'm also wondering. Even both car was cruising at the same speed, it's hard to believe such sharpness can be achieved with 8 sec exposure.
Btw, the flare didn't bother me at all. Nice shot!

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0186sec    0.57    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 12:46 PM