Sony BD player profile 2.0 now $299 nia, RM1,370 NETT to Malaysia :p

aiman04
post Jul 21 2008, 11:36 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

When you bitstream DTS core, the DTS-HD MA logo WILL NOT light up on your AVR. Instead you'll only see the normal DTS logo.

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jul 21 2008, 09:41 AM)
universal uses dts hdma? i tot it was fox who uses it?
Yes, in their first BD releases ever, The Mummy, The Mummy Returns and The Scorpion King.

Other than Fox, Lionsgate (except for old titles, which used PCM) and New Line also use DTS-HD MA.
aiman04
post Jul 21 2008, 12:04 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Jul 21 2008, 11:41 AM)
How do I know if that particular movie got DTS-MA? Can I see it written on the back cover? Any list for movies with DTS-MA so far?
Yup, that's one way. The best way is just by checking out blu-ray.com.

Basically all BDs from Fox and New Line uses DTS-HD MA, Lionsgate for new releases, and probably most of the coming Universal titles.

If you have PS3 and any multi-channel PCM capabled HDMI AVR, you'll get to hear this already, as the PS3 decodes the track internally.
aiman04
post Jul 21 2008, 01:39 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Good luck getting a standalone. By right bitstreaming (can't decode internally) players should be cheaper. Honestly I also want a standalone player and see the DTS-HD MA logo lights up on my AVR. But if only I can get it at RM1.3k.

Anyway, can you hear and tell the difference between bitstream and PCM? This has been discussed the millionth times.

This post has been edited by aiman04: Jul 21 2008, 01:40 PM
aiman04
post Jul 21 2008, 01:42 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

That is correct sir. biggrin.gif
aiman04
post Jul 21 2008, 01:52 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Like I said, by right it should be cheaper. But only cheaper than internally decoding standalone players.

Bitstreaming standalone, like Panasonic BD30, retails at RM2999. That's more than twice the price of a PS3 which can decode internally. doh.gif

This post has been edited by aiman04: Jul 21 2008, 01:52 PM
aiman04
post Jul 21 2008, 03:09 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

My 1800 also can decode lossless audio ma...

That's the most important, at least your AVR is prepared for it. I just can't afford standalone BD player, PS3 will do for now.

So in future when standalone prices are reasonable, with faster disc loading time, I can buy without worrying about the AVR. And at that time I can still keep my PS3 as an HD entertainment centre, my MKV and mp3 file collection are already growing again now. thumbup.gif And oh, my kid can still play the games in HD with surround audio. thumbup.gif
aiman04
post Jul 23 2008, 07:01 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

The advantage of 550 is the ability to both bitstream and decode DTS-HD MA internally/onboard. The 350 can't, only bitstream. Like I said earlier, internally decoding players will be more expensive (with exception with the PS3).

I think the confusion over this 350 is when they set the player to decode internally, but it just can't. So, instead it only decodes the core track and send it as PCM.

The exact same thing happened with PS3 prior to the 2.35 firmware update. When you set the PS3 to decode internally, it will only decode the core because at that time the PS3 can't decode DTS-HD MA internally yet (though we got no choice because the PS3 can't bitsream HBR audio either).

Now if they set the 350 to send out bitstream (instead of trying to decode the DTS-HD MA internally), they will see that the lights on the AVR will light up.

Just my 3 cents.
aiman04
post Jul 23 2008, 12:39 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Region 3 is only for DVDs. The BDs are the same as US, region A, so no worries there. I'm sure you already have a dedicated HDMI DVD player, Arremie. biggrin.gif
aiman04
post Jul 23 2008, 02:19 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Blu-ray Disc Region Coding:

aiman04
post Jul 23 2008, 02:38 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

No problem bro. Always glad to share. biggrin.gif
aiman04
post Jul 24 2008, 09:25 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

RX, I think he still misunderstood what PCM and bitstream is all about.

An AVR with internally/onboard decoding of DTS-HD MA is required to pair with the S350, because the S350 can't send DTS-HD MA as PCM, only bitstream.
aiman04
post Jul 25 2008, 09:56 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

So the S350 can bitstream DTS-HD MA right? Problem solved. rclxms.gif

Everybody already know HDMI 1.3/a is the only way to bitstream HD audio (HBR). The question was whether the S350 can do it or not? biggrin.gif

That's why i said many times in my previous posts, that you'll need an AVR with internal/onboard HD audio decoding to pair with the S350. HDMI version is not the question anymore, because how can the AVR decode internally, if doesn't support HDMI 1.3 in the first place?
aiman04
post Jul 25 2008, 10:27 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Jul 25 2008, 10:05 AM)
u need a new interface (HDMI) to carry so much of data at 1 go
audio + video = some time peak maybe can hit 60Mbps
That's is just what our beloved PS3 is doing. Sending both 1080p video and multi-channel PCM at one go.

Bitstreaming should be easier, as the data would be smaller. The player will send the audio still "zipped", it's the AVR's job to "unzip" it.

DTS-HD MA/Dolby TrueHD files are much smaller than multi-channel PCM. But they're all from lossless studio masters.

This post has been edited by aiman04: Jul 25 2008, 10:29 AM
aiman04
post Jul 25 2008, 08:03 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Jul 25 2008, 04:39 PM)
bro aiman

sorry

DTS HD MA can go up to 20M++

but PCM @96k 7.1 max 6.9M nie if not mistaken
x:

Did you read my post? That's after it has been decoded, or in easier words, "unpacked/unzipped".

This further proves my point, PS3 sends a lot of data because it decodes by itself and send it "unzipped" instead of bitstream.

Just go to blu-ray.com forums and check the "insider" section.

BTW, posting this using my 2.0 iPhone (show off, tongue.gif)
aiman04
post Jul 26 2008, 12:39 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Jul 25 2008, 08:07 PM)
ur 3g iphone can play bd movies ?  tongue.gif
Yes!! rclxms.gif

Well, kind of. I have the digital copies from Jumper and Juno blu-rays transferred to my iPhone. tongue.gif
aiman04
post Jul 28 2008, 12:46 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Hi guys. Finally recovered (again, it's been on and off since last week) from the worst fever ever. Never hit 39.5 degrees before. sweat.gif

There are 2 formats available for the digital copies, one is WMV for portable players that support the format.

The other is Apple's m4v, which can only be trasferred to your iPhone or iPOD only using iTunes and you must have a registered account with Apple. The digital copy can be transferred to up to 5 PCs/MACs.

Other than Juno and Jumper, I think AVP-R also have digital copies. Have fun guys! biggrin.gif
aiman04
post Jul 28 2008, 12:57 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Jul 28 2008, 12:54 PM)
BJ, Hitman and The Eye also have digital copies too, rite?
Yup, all those BDs got digital copies too. biggrin.gif

Added on July 28, 2008, 12:59 pm
QUOTE(rx330 @ Jul 26 2008, 10:55 AM)
SHOW OFF!!!!!! sad.gif
Thought you already bought your iPhone? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by aiman04: Jul 28 2008, 12:59 PM
aiman04
post Jul 28 2008, 06:20 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jul 28 2008, 03:25 PM)
eh, bro, amacam transfer? its inside the BD or another different disc?

my iphone belum bili lar.... blush.gif
It's on the second disc bro, it's a DVD-ROM. For iPOD/iPhones, have to use iTunes. The PC format not sure la bro.

Get the new 3G iPhone bro, supposedly even cheaper. I think Tun Mega is getting 2 piece. biggrin.gif
aiman04
post Jul 29 2008, 11:04 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jul 29 2008, 10:10 AM)
u wait and see tun dapat or not lor, he told me as well

ala shiok wathing the didi copy in iphone?
Not bad... Just feels that the BD purchased giving you added value... biggrin.gif
aiman04
post Oct 20 2008, 12:08 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Oct 20 2008, 11:52 AM)
fuiyoh... [tb]
if secret then i dun ask anythin liao

btw, i wen to sony style semalam and check on the avialbility for the 2300, blardy fark, till now still takde
My friend has bought one last month at Sony Style KLCC. But he ordered and waited for one month prior to that. sweat.gif

Now when we jalan2 there again, the 2300 out of stock again. I think you'll need to order la bro.

This post has been edited by aiman04: Oct 20 2008, 12:10 PM

0.0251sec    0.84    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:40 PM