Ampang Look out point

TSNicJolin
post Feb 27 2008, 06:04 PM, updated 18y ago

Stop monitoring =)
1,053 posts

I need someone who knows how to get to Lookout point restaurant from puchong help me ~
I've found the following direction through google :
Look Out Point Restaurant and Cafe, Kompleks Pelancongan Menara Tinjau.
1.Exit the MRR2 at Pandan Indah Interchange.
2.Go straight until the T-Junction. Esso will be on your left. Turn right at the traffic light.
3.Take a left at the next traffic light
4.Take another left at the traffic light beside Puteri Plaza.
5.Turn right at the traffic light junction to Ulu Langat/Kajang. (Please take note on this, you might missed this.)
6.From this traffic light the road is winding for about 3 km.
7.Look out for the sign board "Menara Tinjau".
8.Will come across a food court on the right with carpark. Turn in and drive up the hill to the LookOut Point Restaurant
Well i nvr been to MRR2 b4 so i really had no idea at all +_+
Well how about getting back from there? rclxub.gif
Thanks for any help notworthy.gif
EDIT : BTW wat's the suitable time to take MRR2? I heard it suffers uberly heavy congestion around 5 - 7pm daily
How about after 7?

This post has been edited by NicJolin: Feb 27 2008, 06:29 PM
stimix
post Feb 27 2008, 08:35 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

I tot I hv posted this b4 somewhere in kopitiam hmm.gif hmm.gif

Maps courtesy of malsingmaps:

SUSSeLrAhC
post Feb 27 2008, 10:04 PM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

use googlemap...
TSNicJolin
post Feb 28 2008, 10:16 PM

Stop monitoring =)
1,053 posts

Ah i found the place after gathering and searching the whole lowyat forum
Juz back from there
Wonderful spot rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by NicJolin: Feb 28 2008, 10:16 PM
goldfries
post Feb 28 2008, 10:19 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

you went for which restaurant? the middle-eastern food?
fumi
post Apr 15 2008, 10:41 AM

156 posts

The direction that provided is very useful, me n my gf spent a nice evening over there. thanks
Putraskyline
post Apr 15 2008, 04:39 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

What food served there? Hows the food quality?
SUSsharkteef
post Apr 15 2008, 05:02 PM

Not Godlike
2,504 posts

is this wat they call little genting ?

if it is i've not been there yet and its on wikimapia.
fumi
post Apr 15 2008, 05:04 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Apr 15 2008, 04:39 PM)
What food served there? Hows the food quality?
I was not eating there, got western food n d price is reasonable. somehow i read a forum bout the food is not that nice, but it smells nice

I order Mango milkshake, RM8.90 while my gf ordered ice lemon tea, RM5, drink quite ok la
asiahost
post Apr 16 2008, 01:20 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Feb 28 2008, 10:19 PM)
you went for which restaurant? the middle-eastern food?
is it the bread and olive restaurant?
gasoline sucksssssss haha
cyclone9
post Apr 16 2008, 12:59 PM

War Kills Love , Love Save War
2,949 posts

gasoline service sux man
we order drinks but 30 min later also no come...reason: too many ppl

at last we cancel order go upstairs thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by cyclone9: Apr 16 2008, 12:59 PM
luvjim
post Apr 17 2008, 11:23 AM

to the moon and back
1,036 posts

QUOTE(cyclone9 @ Apr 16 2008, 12:59 PM)
gasoline service sux man
we order drinks but 30 min later also no come...reason: too many ppl

at last we cancel order go upstairs thumbup.gif
service sux?
i tot the restaurant full of smells....socks smell.... doh.gif
my bf n i went in...looking for seats...
not even sit down...not even 3mins....we came out from there...rclxub.gif
ohho_poon
post Apr 22 2008, 10:55 PM

324 posts

the decoration of the restaurant too "la la".
food also so so, drink also so so only.

dont seems good.....
putramon
post Apr 23 2008, 04:11 PM

361 posts

so packed with ppl now compared to last year...hehe...last year only 2 active cafes at the top there...now around 3-4 cafes already..haven't count gasoline summore..
yrh0413
post Apr 23 2008, 06:23 PM

12,214 posts

the food is friggin' expensive up there!
faerieC
post Apr 26 2008, 07:15 PM

148 posts

last yr celebrate my bday at there. place quite nice. food not as tasty as i tot... and a bit hard to find parking.
stormyz
post Apr 26 2008, 10:16 PM

Thread Killer
595 posts

i always go to the cafe next to gasoline..

they got the best view of kl tower and klcc.. and the food although pricey a bit but is a little bit different in taste as in it is more on arabic type of food..

really nice..

go up there at night , order a drinks and a bulj-a-rab pizza ..

love it..
daruma
post Apr 28 2008, 04:45 PM

7,559 posts

QUOTE(stormyz @ Apr 26 2008, 10:16 PM)

they got the best view of kl tower and klcc.. and the food although pricey a bit but is a little bit different in taste as in it is more on arabic type of food..

really nice..

love it..
olive & bread.. not much choice.. more expensive..

look out point restarant (above gasoline) cheapest thumbup.gif
luvjim
post Apr 28 2008, 07:16 PM

to the moon and back
1,036 posts

QUOTE(stormyz @ Apr 26 2008, 10:16 PM)

really nice..

love it..
nod.gif
from bread & olive menu wink.gif
grilled lamb chop RM18

creamy chicken pasta RM20

fish n chips RM17 or Rm18 like that..

food portion can fill ur stomache full full...and the taste not bad! icon_rolleyes.gif
sposh
post Apr 30 2008, 05:20 PM

67 posts

i'm planing to go there.. but im from pj and kinda stupid with KL road... which way is the best to go there?

and is the place quiet place or crowded with ppl? if quiet scared get rob tongue.gif

thanks for the help biggrin.gif i will appreciate it alot notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by sposh: Apr 30 2008, 05:22 PM
blackburry
post May 2 2008, 09:13 AM

104 posts

I been there before. Very nice view... thumbup.gif
I nvr tried Olive & gasoline thou, I ate at the restaurant next to Olive... the 1 at the corner right... Try thier burger, self made... nice thumbup.gif
And cheap too. Good to celebrate birthday there cos ... they will give u a suprise innocent.gif
sposh
post May 6 2008, 03:56 PM

67 posts

so which is the best restaurant up there?
Chrisky
post May 6 2008, 06:31 PM

Romanista
4,567 posts

QUOTE(sposh @ Apr 30 2008, 05:20 PM)
i'm planing to go there.. but im from pj and kinda stupid with KL road... which way is the best to go there?

and is the place quiet place or crowded with ppl? if quiet scared get rob tongue.gif

thanks for the help biggrin.gif i will appreciate it alot  notworthy.gif
its incredible crowded during friday n weekends.

QUOTE(sposh @ May 6 2008, 03:56 PM)
so which is the best restaurant up there?
juz make sure dont go the upper lvl steakhouse there. laz i try their steak n chop suck big ass. biggrin.gif
1a2b3c
post Jul 19 2008, 06:08 PM

im planning to have my 18th bday celebration there.. any good restaurant for suggestion over there? i'll invite around 20 ppl, so do i have to make a reservation 1st?
eyeball
post Jul 21 2008, 08:11 PM

481 posts

I think you better to do reservation first.
1a2b3c
post Jul 21 2008, 08:49 PM

yea.. btw, can u recommend me a nice restaurant with reasonable price?
DikkieD
post Aug 8 2008, 06:49 PM

296 posts

As I am a tourist (without a car in KL) I was wondering how easy it is to reach this location by taxi (or perhaps public transport?). What to tell a taxi driver when I want to go there with my gf? And are there any taxi's up there to take me back to the Bukit Bintang area? (What would be a reasonable price, since these taxi drivers often do not use the meter?)...

Cheers
SUSsharkteef
post Aug 8 2008, 06:58 PM

Not Godlike
2,504 posts

QUOTE(DikkieD @ Aug 8 2008, 06:49 PM)
As I am a tourist (without a car in KL) I was wondering how easy it is to reach this location by taxi (or perhaps public transport?). What to tell a taxi driver when I want to go there with my gf? And are there any taxi's up there to take me back to the Bukit Bintang area? (What would be a reasonable price, since these taxi drivers often do not use the meter?)...

Cheers
please call for cabs. that way they wont simply charge you and abide by rules by running on their meters.
if a taxi does not use the meter, please dont get on it.

so far none of the cabs i've called at the hotline charges by word of mouth. almost all run by meters. Supercab does ... give em a call.
~Battousai~
post Feb 5 2009, 02:27 PM

4,477 posts

Can anyone provide me with the contact number ?

I know there's bread and olive middle eastern food
or western
plus another restaurant

i've google and went to blogs but the numbers they give can't be called in

0173202931, 0132506119 mr omar
01422943337 bread n olive number as well

so what's their real contact number for the restaurants ?

Many thanks
shahzad86
post Feb 6 2009, 01:51 AM

171 posts

-i went to the western food restaurants, and the food sucks mad.gif

-dunno bout bread&olive though but the place looks nice and relaxing

This post has been edited by shahzad86: Feb 6 2009, 02:02 AM
juichuan
post Feb 6 2009, 05:12 PM

LA-Little Angel
1,635 posts

QUOTE(shahzad86 @ Feb 6 2009, 01:51 AM)
-i went to the western food restaurants, and the food sucks  mad.gif 

-dunno bout bread&olive though but the place looks nice and relaxing
bread and olive not much choice... i prefer the restaurant beside it.. something like kim gary style..
speedy3210
post Feb 17 2009, 06:01 PM

518 posts

been there last week 13/2/09, when reach the entrance..i was like WTF !!! .. u gotta pay rm 2 juz to get in the lookout point area.. if not, u gonna park at the road side and walk up to the restaurant uphill!!! fine .. pay off rm2 ..then went up ... it's more f*ck up... after 7pm all parking lots uphill were occupied by those those valet parking.. need to pay extra again ... kanasai !!!
what the heck happen this place huh ? damn money sucking .. !!!
damn disagree about the way they running this place !!! tulan !!!
honkit
post Feb 22 2009, 03:06 AM

Airbus-er.
1,048 posts

yeah. agree with that. parking area was a problem. no parking.. so dark! dangerous
accutane
post Feb 22 2009, 12:14 PM

171 posts

just went there yesterady. reached abt 8pm, still got parking. we tried gasoline as other resaturant is so full. gasoline price is consider cheap. food is ok lo. we sat outside. view is nice. n the service is quite fast in gasoline.
nicklaus
post Jun 21 2009, 12:53 AM

273 posts

QUOTE(accutane @ Feb 22 2009, 12:14 PM)
just went there yesterady. reached abt 8pm, still got parking. we tried gasoline as other resaturant is so full. gasoline price is consider cheap. food is ok lo. we sat outside. view is nice.  n the service is quite fast in gasoline.
can u provide me with the directions to got there?

kueks
post Jun 21 2009, 01:48 PM

Playstation
6,437 posts

assuming u coming from mrr2 take the exit to taman kencana

go all the way straight till u can no longer go forward... turn left..... and u will see junction .. turn right.... go straight... traffic light turn right.... on ur left is a big white buildling... turn left after the building....go straight.... second traffic light.... turn right..... go uphill ..... it is on ur right hand side

and please don eat the food at gasoline
sucks to the max

their drinks are the only thing worth buying

and go to the tower to have better view of kl... 3 storey high if not mistaken

This post has been edited by kueks: Jun 21 2009, 01:50 PM
DikkieD
post Jul 7 2009, 05:04 AM

296 posts

Is it safe to say that you have a better chance of a less crowded experience when you go there during weekdays? Or does it really not matter at all when you visit the lookout point?
houlierr
post Sep 18 2009, 10:19 PM

139 posts

Anyone knows of any other place in Klang Valley similar to Look Out point?
SUSashcrimson
post Oct 22 2009, 09:32 AM

146 posts

hmm... no one dare to answer brows.gif
viviane90
post Oct 23 2009, 03:23 AM

30 posts

Somewhere in cheras also got some place like look out point, a mamak on road side but can also see the view of KL.. but of coz not as nice as look out point =)
jam_lennon
post Oct 23 2009, 04:13 PM

4,156 posts

if u wan to eat by 8pm then you gotta reach there and order by 7pm
Kai Wen
post Oct 25 2009, 06:44 PM

Agree. smile.gif Anyway it is worth to wait. Last time I went with my bf and the place is so nice smile.gif
weeloong81
post Oct 27 2009, 12:28 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(Kai Wen @ Oct 25 2009, 06:44 PM)
Agree. smile.gif Anyway it is worth to wait. Last time I went with my bf and the place is so nice smile.gif
the food is so SUCK... food overcook, bad service... only the view, other not reach my expectation... tis is my opinion.
mybiebie
post Oct 28 2009, 12:27 AM

1,419 posts

go for food...better not...a very nice location for KLCC view and photoshoot...

some of my amatuer shots...

http://mybiebie.blogspot.com/2009/01/ampan...night-view.html
SUSvkeong
post Oct 28 2009, 12:45 AM

47 yr old unker
2,614 posts

^ nice biggrin.gif

here's mine

http://www.vkeong.com/2009/food-drink/brea...ng-hulu-langat/

P.I.M.P
post Oct 29 2009, 10:38 PM

Jai Ho
719 posts

don't go there....food sucks...serve cold food...service is bad...
BrotherHoe
post Oct 29 2009, 10:41 PM

1,302 posts

agree with that

been there once and it was my last

SUSvkeong
post Oct 29 2009, 10:52 PM

47 yr old unker
2,614 posts

guys, go there is for the view and atmosphere la, food is secondary as quality is expected to be sucky lol
rubbermilk
post Feb 7 2012, 09:38 AM

388 posts

I heard from a friend the road to look out point sudah tutup ? yawn.gif I heard got other look out point as well. got steak summore and good food. drool.gif
etigge
post Feb 7 2012, 11:30 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(rubbermilk @ Feb 7 2012, 09:38 AM)
I heard from a friend the road to look out point sudah tutup ? yawn.gif I heard got other look out point as well. got steak summore and good food.  drool.gif
The road (which link Hulu Langat 14th mile to Cheras/Ampang) is not closed. Only the lookout point (where the 'makan place') is. Licence was not allowed to be renewed, the excuse being the operators did illegal renovations which is deemed dangerous. Probable it is true but I think the Municipality has intentions to take over the place for themself. icon_rolleyes.gif
ccslink
post Feb 7 2012, 11:59 AM

401 posts

I heard from a friend the road to look out point sudah tutup ? yawn.gif I heard got other look out point as well. got steak summore and good food.  drool.gif
What "other" Lookout Point?
secretagent2
post Mar 14 2012, 05:21 PM

Road not closed. Only restaurant closed. The other place is located at Taman Saga. There is a row of makan stall beside the road on the side of the cliff opposite the shoplot. You won't miss it when you reached there. Western food, malay food and mamak all got but be prepared for the crowd. Price wise is reasonable and food is ok.

nicodemus88
post Jul 11 2013, 08:01 AM

202 posts

Hi forumers... Does anyone know whether Ampang Lookout Point and the restaurants around that area are open now or still closed? Could not find any info about them on the Net...

Thanks!
stimix
post Jul 11 2013, 08:39 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(nicodemus88 @ Jul 11 2013, 08:01 AM)
Hi forumers... Does anyone know whether Ampang Lookout Point and the restaurants around that area are open now or still closed? Could not find any info about them on the Net...

Thanks!
U did not read the news last year about the landslide there? ~2 yrs ago, due to the soil distability, the restaurants were the 1st to close. Thereafter.. last year everything gone after the landslide:

http://www.nst.com.my/nation/general/soil-...dslide-1.172396

ragean24
post Nov 10 2013, 03:01 AM

49 posts

Anyone knows what happened to the Lookout Point in Ampang, is it still in operation?
I heard it got closed down a year back then? hmm.gif
Such a waste for such place to be closed down.. sad.gif
stimix
post Nov 10 2013, 08:23 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(ragean24 @ Nov 10 2013, 03:01 AM)
Anyone knows what happened to the Lookout Point in Ampang, is it still in operation?
I heard it got closed down a year back then? hmm.gif
Such a waste for such place to be closed down..  sad.gif
Topic merged. Last status posted earlier
Vervain
post Jul 29 2019, 08:18 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

Is the place still shutdown
upcars
post Aug 2 2019, 03:18 PM

95 posts