Who is in Comptel?, Anyone know about the company?

TSikanez
post Feb 27 2008, 02:34 AM, updated 18y ago

292 posts

I just went for an interview at Comptel the other day during my uni career fair. Does anyone here have any idea what the place is like and whether its a great company or not to work at?

Is anyone here from Comptel and can share their experience?

Anyone here know what their salary range is?

Basically please share any info on Comptel that you guys have. would appreciate it a lot and can even discuss about it here.
naleh33
post Feb 27 2008, 09:43 AM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(ikanez @ Feb 27 2008, 02:34 AM)
I just went for an interview at Comptel the other day during my uni career fair. Does anyone here have any idea what the place is like and whether its a great company or not to work at?

Is anyone here from Comptel and can share their experience?

Anyone here know what their salary range is?

Basically please share any info on Comptel that you guys have. would appreciate it a lot and can even discuss about it here.
I believe you are from Unitar right? Who interview you? Elsie?

What do you want to know about Comptel? Salary range is actually based on your experience.
vysysdes
post Feb 27 2008, 11:20 AM

263 posts

It is located at TPM, Bukit Jalil, kinda flexible office hour according to my auntie, thats all I have
TSikanez
post Feb 27 2008, 12:42 PM

292 posts

im from uniten. our career fair was on the 25 n 26.

elsie didn't interview. but i did have a chat with her tho later on at their booth.

um fresh grad. and the guy said for people like me the range is 2k-3k.
dunno whether in RM or USD or perhaps finnish currency. Nebody know? vysysdes, wat about ur auntie? is she paid in RM?

@naleh33: saw ur post several years back about comptel. i assume ur now working at comptel. whats it like?

naleh33
post Feb 27 2008, 01:27 PM

1,021 posts

I am not sure how much Comptel will offer for a fresh grad. I was not a fresh grad anymore when I joined them.

If they really offer you 3K, it is very high for a fresh grad. Haha of course is in Ringgit, if you want to earn in Euro, you have to apply to work at the Finland branch.

As what vysysdes said, the working hours are flexible. TPM is a nice place to work for me because I am staying nearby. However, the food here is limited. In terms of working environment, it depends on what product you are working on.

vysysdes,

Is your auntie still working at CompTel?

TSikanez
post Feb 27 2008, 06:08 PM

292 posts

how many products are available there in Comptel? I believe that if i got accepted into comptel i'll be working under Martin. what's he like? how's his team?

could you explain more on the flexible working hours? i've dun hav any exp in working with flex hours before. sad.gif

limited food aa?..not even a mamak stall?

M|cRo
post Feb 27 2008, 06:21 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(ikanez @ Feb 27 2008, 06:08 PM)
how many products are available there in Comptel? I believe that if i got accepted into comptel i'll be working under Martin. what's he like? how's his team?

could you explain more on the flexible working hours? i've dun hav any exp in working with flex hours before. sad.gif

I'm just wondering, how many interviews u have been to with Comptel?
Coz I believe, u should at least pass 2 stages of their interviews...

Regarding the salary, if u r fresh grad, and u get first class honors, than u can demand ur salary (of coz depend on ur performance during interviews also) which at least u can managed to get 2.6k. Other than that, u might get below that amount. This is applicable in most foreign based company... Dont know whether comptel apply this or not. dont quote me on this.. icon_rolleyes.gif

In term of working team, if u r fresh grad, u will most probably working in the interface team. There are also another team such as solution team..

By the way, which position did u applied for?

This post has been edited by M|cRo: Feb 27 2008, 09:26 PM
naleh33
post Feb 27 2008, 08:50 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(ikanez @ Feb 27 2008, 06:08 PM)

Oh you will be working under Martin. He is a nice guy. Then you will be placed under our network element interface R&D team. It is a new team.

Flexible hours meaning you do not need to come to office sharp at 9am. You can come in at 9.30 or even 10.30. However, you have to compensate for the lost hours. Of course, if you come early, then you can go back early. As long as you work 8 hours per day, you are fine.

What is your name btw? I can help to find out from Elsie on your application status if you want. Drop me a PM anytime.

There is no mamak stall in TPM. You have only food court at Enterprise 4. Besides that, the nearest food court will be APIIT.
incognito
post Feb 27 2008, 09:35 PM

i've got a hunger, twisting my stomach into knots
2,402 posts

elsie is a really nice lady. their benefits are quite good, very competitive with subsidised basement parking as well as handphone allowance. plus if you work overtime or standby you get paid extra as well.

i applied for their support engineer post previously but had to decline them in the end. but i would agree its a good company to work in.
TSikanez
post Feb 28 2008, 02:16 AM

292 posts

Flexible hours meaning you do not need to come to office sharp at 9am. You can come in at 9.30 or even 10.30. However, you have to compensate for the lost hours. Of course, if you come early, then you can go back early. As long as you work 8 hours per day, you are fine.

Sounds neat!!

I'm just wondering, how many interviews u have been to with Comptel?
Coz I believe, u should at least pass 2 stages of their interviews...

um not sure whether mine was 2 stage or not. but i did went thru 2 person. one from HR (i think), n the other a finland guy.

By the way, which position did u applied for?

i applied for analyst programmer/trainee, as was posted in the ad. but not sure i'll be doing tht or not based on my 2nd stage interview - we talked about my interest and later i think he mentioned some other position (cant remember exactly, too overwhelmed at tht moment smile.gif )

I've talked to several guys about Comptel already, here and other forums..and all of them gave positive and encouraging reviews. Huhu..hope i got the job!
MoneyChaser
post Mar 3 2008, 08:50 AM

386 posts

Izzit related to TELCO?
TSikanez
post Mar 3 2008, 07:23 PM

292 posts

yes it is.

for more info can check out their website, www.comptel.com
alexleong_2002
post Oct 6 2009, 06:38 PM

45 posts

hi guys,
How's the comptel interview process? is it tough?
joycelsq
post May 20 2010, 09:33 AM

246 posts

hi,

anyone that can share the benefits of Comptel?

Added on May 28, 2010, 7:22 pmanyone??

This post has been edited by joycelsq: May 28 2010, 07:22 PM
erictioh
post May 28 2010, 11:50 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(joycelsq @ May 20 2010, 09:33 AM)
hi,

anyone that can share the benefits of Comptel?

Added on May 28, 2010, 7:22 pmanyone??
u plan to interview at comptel?

spartacvs
post May 29 2010, 11:45 AM

I thought my jokes were bad!
1,281 posts

Indeed. Personally, I would suggest for you to pack your own meal for the day as it’s not worth it to purchase it from the stalls available, in terms of variety & price. What’s status of your interview? Have they got back to you on it, mate?
joycelsq
post May 29 2010, 12:40 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(erictioh @ May 28 2010, 11:50 PM)
u plan to interview at comptel?
just want to know the benefits that this company is offering...
pingu56
post Jul 4 2011, 03:34 PM

64 posts

not really worth
tailangong
post Jul 13 2011, 06:10 PM

470 posts

QUOTE(pingu56 @ Jul 4 2011, 03:34 PM)
not really worth
mind to elaborate?

Added on August 10, 2011, 10:57 amanyone can provide some tips for interview?
what will they ask?
going for interview tomorrow

This post has been edited by tailangong: Aug 10 2011, 10:57 AM
abc111
post Jan 17 2012, 03:09 PM

29 posts

Anyone working in Comptel as SA?
bornd
post Jan 24 2012, 12:28 PM

322 posts

Comptel is a nice place to work.

@abc111 - you are working there?
abc111
post Jan 26 2012, 04:43 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(bornd @ Jan 24 2012, 12:28 PM)

Nope. Just applied thru recruitment agency and waiting for feedback.
bornd
post Jan 27 2012, 10:43 PM

322 posts

what position you apply for?
naleh33
post Jan 28 2012, 04:57 PM

1,021 posts

QUOTE(bornd @ Jan 24 2012, 12:28 PM)

Are you a comptelian as well? tongue.gif
ilovestitch
post Apr 15 2014, 11:29 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(naleh33 @ Jan 28 2012, 04:57 PM)
Are you a comptelian as well? tongue.gif
Anyone can give me hint if this is a good place to work? Thx
m.radzi
post Nov 10 2014, 06:48 PM

I was offered a job here. But I'm not too sure whether to accept it or not. They're offering me a System Analyst position
Can anyone comment on the working environment in Comptel.
anangryorc
post Dec 6 2014, 08:45 PM

597 posts

Edited. Pending future update.

This post has been edited by anangryorc: Apr 27 2015, 07:05 PM
anyme
post May 22 2015, 11:43 AM

:ketawaguling2:
1,392 posts

hi, im received invitation for interview next week for software engineer role. any tips??
bornd
post May 22 2015, 03:32 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(anyme @ May 22 2015, 11:43 AM)
hi, im received invitation for interview next week for software engineer role. any tips??
It is just normal interview..
1) technical test - programming, db etc, telco knowledge
2) interview with managers and/or with senior technical guy
3) interview with hr

anyme
post May 22 2015, 04:10 PM

:ketawaguling2:
1,392 posts

QUOTE(bornd @ May 22 2015, 03:32 PM)
It is just normal interview..
1) technical test - programming, db etc, telco knowledge
2) interview with managers and/or with senior technical guy
3) interview with hr
thanks bro.. is there any assessment? written test?
bornd
post May 22 2015, 04:14 PM

322 posts

yup... technical test is for your written assessment..
SUSarclynmen
post Jun 29 2015, 01:01 AM

60 posts

Hey, is this a good company to work in?
Heard some bad rumours regarding the management and environment.

This post has been edited by arclynmen: Nov 8 2015, 01:38 PM
satanicangel
post Jul 27 2015, 12:58 PM

18 posts

Hi, I have received an offer under Graduate Trainee Program. Any comments/suggestions to provide? Is the environment/working culture there okay? Thanks!
mariado
post Sep 26 2015, 02:00 PM

21 posts

May I know the email address of the HR? I want to apply as java software engineer. Thanks.
mariado
post Sep 28 2015, 11:05 AM

21 posts

Hello! Could someone please refer me as java software engineer or give me the email address of the HR? Thanks.
boo82
post Jan 19 2016, 02:21 PM

232 posts

I heard comptel now have moved to Bangsar South. Can anyone tell me how's the working environment there?

dessert_leo2015
post Apr 21 2016, 10:36 PM

Hi, was approached by several recruitment firm with comptel position as software engineer. Anyone are able to share with me how is it like in comptel currently?
Thanks smile.gif
SUSarclynmen
post May 16 2016, 11:04 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(dessert_leo2015 @ Apr 21 2016, 10:36 PM)
Hi, was approached by several recruitment firm with comptel position as software engineer. Anyone are able to share with me how is it like in comptel currently?
Thanks smile.gif
Benefits wise not bad but depending on which team you will join. Some team tend to have politics where your colleagues backstab you.
Worse, one of the managers blamed everything on an employee just because he/she had resign and serving notice period, causing more misunderstanding.
And if you can bootlick your boss well, promotion is just ahead waiting for you.
Well, typical local chinese management despite being an MNC.

Anyway, still, it depends on which team and who is your manager.
And yes, I rejected their offer after being told this from reliable sources. tongue.gif
kamilnu
post May 16 2016, 11:16 PM

1,170 posts

Assume its a chinaman company first...if itcomes out good then good for u
[revolution]
post Jun 20 2016, 02:16 PM

>> Revolution Yourself : Engage and Transform <<
1,321 posts

anyone can share about system analyst position in comptel would be appreciated. THX
[revolution]
post Jul 4 2016, 04:59 PM

1,321 posts

Comptel no ppl willing to share any info??
diy03
post Mar 9 2017, 04:56 PM

worst interview experience ever...the interviewer is damn arrogant and yet they thought they technical skills very advance. Wont recommend ppl join this company
yusri1426
post Mar 10 2017, 07:16 AM

402 posts

QUOTE(diy03 @ Mar 9 2017, 04:56 PM)
worst interview experience ever...the interviewer is damn arrogant and yet they thought they technical skills very advance. Wont recommend ppl join this company
How did the interviewer behave?
otai_g
post Mar 10 2017, 10:44 AM

623 posts

very frequent seen this company adv job at jobstreet.

i think if turn over rate is very high, of course *something* in that company.

maybe just suitable for temporary work, before find any good company.
diy03
post Mar 10 2017, 10:57 AM

QUOTE(yusri1426 @ Mar 10 2017, 07:16 AM)
How did the interviewer behave?
During interview, they like to ask definition of terms which we can easily retrieve from google. As a proper technical interview, you should test candidate logic thinking not their memory. Besides that, their HR even arrange the same day interview for people who are from same company. Imagine how awkward when you meet your colleague in other company for interview.
yusri1426
post Mar 10 2017, 02:53 PM

402 posts

QUOTE(diy03 @ Mar 10 2017, 10:57 AM)
During interview, they like to ask definition of terms which we can easily retrieve from google. As a proper technical interview, you should test candidate logic thinking not their memory. Besides that, their HR even arrange the same day interview for people who are from same company. Imagine how awkward when you meet your colleague in other company for interview.
Darn! I hated that.
diy03
post Mar 10 2017, 04:48 PM

QUOTE(yusri1426 @ Mar 10 2017, 02:53 PM)
Darn! I hated that.
yea HR unprofessional, interviewer rude...do consider if u guys plan to join smile.gif
yusri1426
post Mar 11 2017, 12:06 PM

402 posts

QUOTE(diy03 @ Mar 10 2017, 04:48 PM)
yea HR unprofessional, interviewer rude...do consider if u guys plan to join smile.gif
The interviewer being synical etc.?
[revolution]
post Mar 15 2017, 02:31 PM

1,321 posts

Comptel APAC is hiring!! if you are interested in any of these positions, please pm or drop me your resume, I can help to past it to HR directly.
Comptel Corporation is a Finland-based MNC international software company specialising in telecommunications and currently listed on NASDAQ OMX.

Job title/Location(s):
- Solution Architect, KL - Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
- New Technologies Lead - Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
- UI Developer - Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
- Software Test Engineer - Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
- Software Engineer - Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
- Lead Architect - Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
- System Analyst - Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Working Perks:
- 13th-month salary
- smartphone purchase allowances
- telco plan allowances
- parking allowances
- flexible office working hours
- and more...

This post has been edited by [revolution]: Mar 15 2017, 02:32 PM
skycrawler
post Nov 21 2017, 02:54 PM

New World ^^
2,227 posts

QUOTE(revolution @ Mar 15 2017, 02:31 PM)
Comptel APAC is hiring!! if you are interested in any of these positions, please pm or drop me your resume, I can help to past it to HR directly.
Comptel Corporation is a Finland-based MNC international software company specialising in telecommunications and currently listed on NASDAQ OMX.
Job title/Location(s):
- Solution Architect, KL - Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
- New Technologies Lead - Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
- UI Developer - Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
- Software Test Engineer - Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
- Software Engineer - Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
- Lead Architect - Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
- System Analyst - Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Working Perks:
- 13th-month salary
- smartphone purchase allowances
- telco plan allowances
- parking allowances
- flexible office working hours
- and more...
Got into comptel already mate? tongue.gif
otai_g
post Nov 22 2017, 09:32 AM

623 posts

i notice the requirements from this company is very tough.

request many thing and only super developer able to meet that requirements.

0.0395sec    1.13    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 10:32 PM