Media Player plays H264 & matroska on your TV, Popcorn Hour NMT A-100

Seaedge
post Feb 25 2008, 12:12 PM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

anyone bought this item? i have the feeling i should try buying it...
Seaedge
post Feb 25 2008, 01:35 PM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

QUOTE(kianwee @ Feb 25 2008, 01:20 PM)
Did you see any price in RM? Tell me...
i sent an email to them. if i dun get my reply, i will call them tmr. i want to know the price and availability. but from the looks of it, this will definitely cost near to Rm800, still i think its worth it for what it offers.
Seaedge
post Feb 26 2008, 08:51 AM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

QUOTE(kianwee @ Feb 25 2008, 10:49 PM)
But with that price, we can build a low end HTPC which can run on windows too. ATI chipset mobo comes with HDMI output IIANM. That is why I'm still deciding between these two options.  blush.gif
the only thing i would matter is how the warranty going to be? Since i dont see any dealer for this product yet, meaning Palvision is the sole distributor for this item.
and about HTPC, i wouldnt mind taking this popcorn for a change, maybe because i am lazy for it. but if price exceeding RM1k, i will hardly consider..

QUOTE(junkieG @ Feb 26 2008, 04:51 AM)
okie lets chill out about the price and conversion for a while shall we gentlement?

imho, if u need a pc to act as HTPC with less then 800 buxx budget, i wouldnt suggest that simply because,

its aint kewl and portable as this popcorn!...just look at the size of the popcorn versus icute casing...but ermmm if ur talking bout buying sum shuttle pc then thats another story la kan? hehehe

okok, maybe abit mod to da popcorn casing would be nice. on the second thought the popcorn does look cheap especially when u put aside with PS3 for example. Perhaps cut the casing on top and put some plexi glass with UV ccfl inside will do some justice...LOL sorry off topic

C'mon slaxe, do give em a call for us tomorrow. I would if um in m'sia right now. I just love watching anything with MKV format which is worth downloading.

imho of course....

cheers!
consider popcorn as one stop solution while for pc enthusiast, they would rather build from scratch.
i cant even get a retail price from the Palvision sweat.gif
Seaedge
post Feb 26 2008, 11:25 AM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

the sad part of it... none of them reads rmvb... aihhh... my TVB Dramaaaaaa

Seaedge
post Feb 26 2008, 01:28 PM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

moogle... the one available in malaysia doesnt have the model that support MKV. however if you see what kianwee stated previously, they have that model 6500. and ideatools.com.my is malaysian company that is bring in the media player.

no doubt rmvb is sucky format, but all tvb drama are using that format... and i hate converting it. some tvb is in avi, but malas la.. file so big...
Seaedge
post Feb 26 2008, 04:12 PM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

rm1.8k? i get better pc spec that whatever it can offers sweat.gif i hope popcorn is cheaper by half..
Seaedge
post Feb 27 2008, 08:57 AM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

sadly.. it doesnt go rm600... the palvision just emailed me and stating that they will give me the price AFTER custom clearance. meaning they dont have stock as well.. sigh*
Seaedge
post Feb 28 2008, 08:34 AM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

QUOTE(junkieG @ Feb 28 2008, 04:07 AM)
okie, maximum for me would be not more then 800...so far ive read the review everyone dun really have major issue with it. so um quite confident to spend dat much. Else,

better diy htpc wink.gif

hope to hear sum good news...

thanx for sharing the info slaxe! cheers! hidup SNC.my!
that is another reason why i looking at this popcorn. all we can do is wait. i did ask for a normal retail price and a bulk price, waiting for that fella to reply is... sweat.gif slow...

junkieG: bila u come to TT pulak? batang hidung pun tak pernah nampak
Seaedge
post Feb 28 2008, 03:56 PM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

QUOTE(rendude @ Feb 28 2008, 10:28 AM)
IMO someone should try at least to ask LYN forumers about possible bulk...if got support...sure can get around USD200 for this model.
the problem is... the price is not known yet... at least pun know the price before initiate a bulk purchase? at least there is rough idea of how much the price can be reduce...
Seaedge
post Feb 29 2008, 10:40 AM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

lol... all becoz of u la moogle... kakakakkaka
Seaedge
post Feb 29 2008, 03:15 PM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

okay.. i didnt get any firm price from palvision but he told me the price will not exceed 1k. most probably at rm900-999.
i shall wait for a confirm pricing and see if bulk purchases can do anything to reduct the price.
Seaedge
post Feb 29 2008, 04:45 PM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

no prob for me emailing to them...
Seaedge
post Feb 29 2008, 06:51 PM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

not in the meantime yet. i think next week i should get my reply.

Seaedge
post Mar 3 2008, 08:42 AM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

QUOTE(squall_12 @ Mar 1 2008, 10:05 AM)
anyone doing bulk for this device???
waiting for answers from the distributor... hope they sell directly to end users... if not... sighhh
Seaedge
post Mar 4 2008, 09:14 AM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Mar 3 2008, 07:45 PM)
biggrin.gif i am ordering now !!
that is good news... no wonder i cant get any firm answer from them. they dont have SIRIM AP too doh.gif

moogle, post here total cost. i bet its lower?
Seaedge
post Mar 5 2008, 04:11 PM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Mar 4 2008, 10:34 AM)
Bullsh1t....
why bullsh1t? care to elaborate?

i have the feeling that we should wait longer. the person in charge asked me to place an order as well, but have to wait till end of March. hmmm

Moogle, what price he gave you?
Seaedge
post Mar 6 2008, 12:41 AM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

QUOTE(andyz @ Mar 6 2008, 12:28 AM)
i have setup and sold  a lot of 4100 and 5100 dvico units with latest firmware to play mkv support ... (with 750gb to 1tb harddrives installed)
so i have a lot of experience with this player (even the sarotech and older dvico 4000 series)
and all i can tell u guys the 4100 and 5100 series is  wow man .....

played
matrix 1080p (12gb download)
transformers 720p
300 720p
predator 1080p (8gb download)
Sports illustrated 720p
no country for no men 720p

the player does not even slow down at all when displaying these picture in all its glory ....

the beauty is i am also enjoying lost current season 4 at highest quality mkv format .... and other shows...

i can't wait to get my hands on the dvico 6500 .. that will be totally perfect ...
but the price also wow rite? dvico has better options compare with popcornhour, hences justify the pricetag. Popcornhour is mainly for streaming purpose instead.

Seaedge
post Mar 7 2008, 09:45 AM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

ii went to c-zone yesterday and check. 4100 and 5100 is priced at RM1.5k and RM1.8k respectively. While there is some old ones priced lesser (RM599-899) and support PATA. i somehow still looking into this popcorn, as i think its quality is on par with Dvico except some limited function.

0.0160sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:32 AM