Toyota Vios (2nd Hand) or Proton Persona, Dilemma

blinky
post Feb 24 2008, 01:24 PM

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Feb 24 2008, 12:31 PM)
u r stupid for not reading properly doh.gif
she is stating a statement that perodua is better than proton
i am stating my oppinion that the vios is overrated  shakehead.gif
that is what u heard.. please understand how much u have paid for a low end car..
persona is same class as vios but see the pricegap, 89k vs 56k
but in persona, u get bigger engine, bigger cabin, bigger car etc..
those complaint on proton or bragging on toyota reliability is a joke coz i bet most of them doesnt own proton/toyota/honda but they heard from aunty, uncle, friend, whatever ~ pss: i personally own these 3 brands in my house
put out that mentality aside, go compare urself vios vs persona quality
most people who bought vios for such expensive price and see critics sure dont like lor haha
i did the comparison last time n end up with honda city coz after calculation made, city has better price vs value than vios
with the VTEC, CVT, slightly spacious than vios, great black interior, nice door panel quality (not too plastic like vios)

but in the end, it is all depend on u thumbup.gif
Same class? Based on?

You were contradicting yourself. You said "89k vs 56k", that itself proves that they are from a different class altogether.

What else? 1.5 vs 1.6? And you call that same class? Just because Proton "claims" that they are?

And your previous statement about a 9 year old Vios could carry RM20k is flawed. A 9 year old Toyota will never ever fetch RM20k. Take a look at Motor Trader and try looking for a 1999 Toyota that is worth RM20k.

Sometimes, it's better to think before you speak.

For TS, I'd say go for the Vios. I got a Proton as my first car as well and it was hell. Each 10,000km service I spent more than RM2k, with that amount, I could've been driving a BMW already.

I just bought the new Vios, and the biggest problem is, I couldn't even sell off my Proton because the price offered was so low, I could lose RM14k on cash. Hence, I'm force to keep both the cars now.

Bypass the usual Proton crap, start with a Japanese then upgrade from then on to continental or whatever. It's a blessing in disguise to not choose a Proton.
blinky
post Feb 24 2008, 01:30 PM

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

QUOTE(LanEvo7 @ Feb 24 2008, 01:28 PM)
Bro, did u look into loan and interests ? 2nd hand car loan interests usually higher than new cars .. so although selling price is the same, u might end up paying more for an older car.

My personal vote for Persona

disclaimer: I have never driven the old gen Vios before, just to make clear.
I think the scenario is more to "paying more for a better car" rather than "older car".

For me, it's the quality and reliability that makes a car, not its age.
blinky
post Feb 24 2008, 01:45 PM

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Feb 24 2008, 01:37 PM)
IMHO, Persona and Vios should be in same class as both priced at 50+k (before tax)
http://www.edmunds.com/bmw/3series/review.html

Yeah, and the BMW 3 series is in the same class with a Proton Waja Chancellor tool, before tax.
blinky
post Feb 24 2008, 11:16 PM

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

QUOTE(albirri @ Feb 24 2008, 11:12 PM)
Toyota is developed by a community and people who are full with spirit...every people know the hardworking of Japanese...Malaysia is really differ to Japan. the attitude of the people also differ...

I like japanese car...my dad's driving a Sentra, my mum a CRV, my GF a City...me...a Proton only...anyway, i believe that one day Proton will be able to be at par as others
Not going to happen as long as the government is in the picture, sorry to say.
blinky
post Feb 25 2008, 09:45 AM

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

One setback though, you're now officially in imperialrealcs's hate list because you did not choose his beloved Proton. sad.gif sad.gif

HAHAHAHAHAHA.

0.0191sec    1.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:09 AM