Stock Market V10

okk
post Feb 27 2008, 07:51 PM

689 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Feb 27 2008, 06:25 PM)
my office connection was down in the afternoon...

SAPCRES is down, surprisingly ohmy.gif
volume increase, price down, does it mean ppl are selling than buying?
Every sell is a buy smile.gif
Actually the more accurate of saying it is more sellers want to throw the stock rather than more buyers want to buy the stock.
okk
post Feb 27 2008, 09:29 PM

689 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Feb 27 2008, 09:09 PM)
okk, i am kind of paranoid when i see you here...

reason : you only show up in the discussion when the market is plunging
when i see you, i always think of CI = 1350 laugh.gif
Haha, looks like I am a bad omen biggrin.gif
Anyway my advice here is not to trade now unless u know wat u r doing, stocks might look cheap now but cheap doesn't mean it's worth, we are seeing them as cheap because we compare the price now with what the price were 2 months ago, which is not a good practice. Think carefully before investing!
okk
post Feb 27 2008, 10:34 PM

689 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Feb 27 2008, 09:31 PM)
okk, just wondering, are you holding any defensive / dividend stocks (which you have bought years/months ago) now?

or there is zero stock in your portfolio?
Zero except REIT
okk
post Feb 29 2008, 10:38 AM

689 posts

KLCI approaching 1350 soon, analyst said strong support is at 1340, and if it breaches that, it can be quite bad, but I will put it at 1350...
okk
post Feb 29 2008, 10:45 AM

689 posts

I strongly recommend u guys to read this book, written in year 1930.

http://www.amazon.com/Reading-Market-Tacti...04253052&sr=8-1

okk
post Feb 29 2008, 10:49 AM

689 posts

QUOTE(sharesa @ Feb 29 2008, 10:46 AM)
can you summarize? tongue.gif
This is a book about tape reading, which means the only 2 trustable items in your stock judgement is price and volume, coz these are the only 2 things that happen in the market. Ignore whatever news and just focus on price and volume. It also tells you in great detail how stock market is manipulated. Believe it or not, this book was written in 1930 and it's still published today, and it's one of the best tape reading book ever. Strongly recommend to you. I am still reading it...
okk
post Feb 29 2008, 10:55 AM

689 posts

QUOTE(sharesa @ Feb 29 2008, 10:53 AM)
will check out that book at MPH tongue.gif
Only sold at Kinnokuniya, I tried to find in MPH last time, dun haf...
okk
post Feb 29 2008, 11:10 AM

689 posts

QUOTE(aretla @ Feb 29 2008, 11:06 AM)
wat does it means by "tape reading""???
Last time in New York market, all market activity is recorded in a tape, this include the transacted price, and the volume. So people will go and read the tape.
For current world, the tape is equivalent to our time-sales table, which means how much volume is transacted at what price at what time.

Tape reading means you analyze that in detail, trying to project the next market movement based on price and volume movement.

Added on February 29, 2008, 11:11 am
QUOTE(cherroy @ Feb 29 2008, 11:06 AM)
Yes, analysts are 'cari makan' one also. Mostly, they don't dare to be contrarian or against the market wind.
It is your hard-earned money, you decide how you want to do with it, don't need to follow exactly as analysts said. Take it as reference but decide your own. If analysts are right everytime then they already become like Warren Buffet, don't need to work as analysts anymore. No offence to those analysts, instead professional analysts do give good advice and recommendation, just to remind people don't follow blindly, but takes it as good reference.

Just not far away (few months old) when Google share is surging strongly from 400 -> 600+, most analysts put a buy call and set the target price of 700-800 some even 900. Now after some mini-plunge of Google share now become 400+ then a lot of analysts slash their target price become 500-600. It all happens just in few month old time only.
Read the book that I recommend and you will realize you can't trust a single analyst.

This post has been edited by okk: Feb 29 2008, 11:11 AM
okk
post Feb 29 2008, 11:38 AM

689 posts

QUOTE(sharesa @ Feb 29 2008, 11:25 AM)
the book suggests that analysts fake a news to induce people to buy/sell?  tongue.gif Sorry... in order to get that book, have to drive all the way to KLCC, unless working around that area, might as well get some instant tips from you... rolleyes.gif
The author sees stock market as a market, what it means is we are consumers, stocks are the goods, and those professional traders pool and syndicates are the seller. They will always purchase stock with low price and try to get us to buy with higher price, so we are not a partner to them, we are their customers. If you look at this relationship, you will have a completely different view on stock market. He gave a completely detail scenario on how this is manipulated with news, earning reports, etc...

He also brought up a good point. A stock direction by default is GOING DOWN. Unless there is someone actively playing or supporting it, it won't go up. And I totally agree with that. For example, GENTING might be a good company but if the big players are not playing it, do you think GENTING stock will rise?
Vice versa to those unknown stocks, if the big players play it, they will go up, regardless what the company is doing or it is making loss...

3 reasons when the pro are called in to manipulate the stocks:
1. When the big shareholder want to liquidate their share to get cash, they will ask the pro to help them jack up the price so they can sell at better profit.
2. When the company want to release new IPO or new shares, they will engage pro to publish news that this company is a very good company, so more ppl will rush in to buy the stock after IPO or new shares release.
3. When the company want to takeover or purchase company XYZ. They will engage pro to suppress company XYZ stock price so that they can buy with cheap price.

The author mentions it's NOT POSSIBLE for us to guess who is buying or selling. The most we can do is see how mcuh volume going and wats the quickness of the volume being transacted. All these pros will disguise themselves in their operations.
One more thing, when all ppl are heading to the same direction, that means something is wrong...

This post has been edited by okk: Feb 29 2008, 11:50 AM
okk
post Feb 29 2008, 11:59 AM

689 posts

QUOTE(sharesa @ Feb 29 2008, 11:46 AM)
ah-ha....the author does sound convincing, seems like ordinary people shouldn't play stocks & shares. More like a game than an investment, especially when price is expensive.
The author gave a very sound statement.
He said if you are not willing to study tape reading in detail, by reading the volume and price movement, it's better that just buy a stock and hold, coz you can never outmanouvre these big players if you don't put in effort.
okk
post Mar 3 2008, 05:08 PM

689 posts

OK, market closed at 1330, a very strong breach of the support level of 1350, and even beat 1340. Let's see tomorrow, if this continues. One more bad news from Dow Jones tonite, I am very sure KLCI will head to 1300.
okk
post Mar 3 2008, 05:20 PM

689 posts

QUOTE(chinkw1 @ Mar 3 2008, 05:16 PM)
This is quite normal in the week b4 GE, as foreign fund are uncertain on GE result.
Next week after GE, the doubt is cleared from the air, and they will pour in $ like Niagara FALL.

I think CPO will hit 4500 by next week.

Next week also, petrol will increase price, cooking gas, cooking oil, sabun, shampoo, cosmetics etc....up price.
If our investment gain in klse is higher than price hike, its OK no problem.

CPO now +405, higher than half hour ago
I doubt GE is the only factor here....just do not HOPE that things will really get better after GE, it's this mindset that has cause a lot of investment losses to investors, just my 2 cents..
okk
post Mar 3 2008, 05:28 PM

689 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Mar 3 2008, 05:21 PM)
Hi OkK,

The market sentiment reminds me of Asia Currency Crisis.

One bad news after another. More are coming out sooner or later.

I see no reason why CI should head towards 1500pts.

Unless foreign funds pump in money heavily after the election, quite unlikely. Correct me if i am wrong.
My opinion is look at what is happening now and analyze based on that. Looking forward to something which might or might not happen is baseless speculation. For example, hoping that foreign fund will come in after GE, this is a baseless hope (well, it might be true in the end though) because there is no data supporting it. We as retail investors, should only invest based on what you see now, because we do not have the chance to be the 'insider'. Instead of guessing around, we should stop to guess.
People might said with this style, I might miss the boat if the market really go up after election, well, for me, if the market is on the run, it will last more than 1 day or 2 days, there is no point to risk so much just trying to catch a bottom, which you might not even know....

Just my 2 cents again.

This post has been edited by okk: Mar 3 2008, 05:29 PM
okk
post Mar 3 2008, 05:39 PM

689 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Mar 3 2008, 05:30 PM)
I read a report that many plantations might not benefit from the high current prices bcos they odeli locked in 80% profit at CPO price RM 3,000++.  Could be wrong anyway.
On top of that, a lot of palm oil processing companies have already closed shops or almost dying because the raw material price is too high now, their profit margin becomes so small that they can't sustain their business.
So when the CPO is too high as of now, it won't last because all the processing companies will die off, which means there is no one taking the raw materials from palm oil companies like IOI, ASIATIC, etc....so based on my opinion, CPO price will not last long because it's aredi at critical level...
okk
post Mar 3 2008, 10:26 PM

689 posts

QUOTE(chinkw1 @ Mar 3 2008, 08:53 PM)
A month ago, analyst says klci will up till 1600 and CPO will undergo correction back to 2500. Today a month later, klci is down to 1330 and CPO is rocketing to 4330. If we flip the analysts comments by 180degrees, we will be super rich.
Never trust analyst, even once...
okk
post Mar 4 2008, 02:35 PM

689 posts

QUOTE(dreams_achiever @ Mar 4 2008, 02:09 PM)
If im understand correctly, is that means:
If volume transacted in red color -> seller sold their shares to those buyer that currently queing/waiting to buy.
If volume transacted in green color -> Buyer bought shares from those seller that currently queing/waiting to sell.

Pls correct me if im wrong.  Thanks. smile.gif
That's correct.

okk
post Mar 5 2008, 10:17 AM

689 posts

Guys, it has now breached 1,300 and whole Asia region now is UP except Malaysia. Only fei fu dui dares to invest now smile.gif
okk
post Mar 10 2008, 10:47 AM

689 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Mar 10 2008, 10:18 AM)
busy shopping laugh.gif
I am sticking to my style, never catch a falling dagger, got to have discipline...
okk
post Mar 18 2008, 11:05 AM

689 posts

QUOTE(markchan @ Mar 18 2008, 10:59 AM)
Ok. Sorry pana and everyone here.

Market rebounding?
Nope, to qualify for a rebound, the volume must be substantial.
If you see the index go back up but with minimal volume, that is not rebound, that is just some 'brave' ppl daring to go into the market...

Btw, if you are not owning any index-linked stock, don't even bother to look at the index...it doesn't show anything there...better just look at your stock. For example, nowadays selling is so heavy on main board stocks, but if u see mesdaq stocks, they r pretty stable coz not many foreign funds in mesdaq.

This post has been edited by okk: Mar 18 2008, 11:06 AM

0.0446sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 09:57 PM