Wireless Broadband iZZinet Wireless Broadband Thread, iBurst Technology !
jerrynks
Jul 29 2008, 08:30 PM

i have been using izzi recently and frankly speaking..it has been rather amusing.... some parts of it work even better than streamyx...
Yes, i agree wireless broadband arent meant for high bandwidth gaming such as those 25 man raids in World Of Warcraft as you need very high tranfer rate and constant bandwidth to achieve less latency gaming ... and izzi somehow aren't good enough for that....
but overall , games like Warcraft 3 , Leveling on world of warcraft , and other low bandwidth games do work pretty well... Streaming on certain websites prove to work fine as well.... i must say i am one of those happy customers who thinks izzi is pretty well off.... but if u are into serious gaming... Nothing beats land line...
just my 2 sens ...
jerrynks
Nov 3 2008, 02:34 AM

well... i was always very happy with izzi when i got it...till the recent 2 months... izzi have been terrible... i am using izzi pro and i have 100% signal strength.... but in the recent 2 months..they have been really really slow and unstable.... a lot of problems are arising and they are not handling it fast enough...
i already called Izzi customer service for 2 months... and only after 2 months , they came to my house...run a speed test and signal strength test and ping test . they found that its very unstable especially the ping test , having many request time outs ... They replied with ' Ini kita pun tak boleh tolong ' ... I thought they would continue to pursue the problem... sadly... they didnt and they close case... now i gotta open a new report with them again... i mean , is this what u call customer service? when ping result clearly shows the line is unstable even with their own laptop?
So , dont just see how fast ur internet is when they come over and test... i thought the line was OK... but it really arent...
ps : i gotta report in to MCMC now to handle the report... this is getting really bad
jerrynks
Apr 11 2009, 03:12 AM

you are not alone vail... i am having the same problem now =.=
jerrynks
Apr 12 2009, 04:52 PM

just called izzi , they told me that the connection will be slow till monday or tuesday because they are currently using a backup server cause the main server was down... i guess there are times as user we just gotta handle it ... at least they have a back up server
and if u are wondering why they can actually still be there.... because MCMC rules and regulations allow ISP to have 60% up time ... as long as it is 60% uptime then its consider as above average...
cheers
jerrynks
Apr 13 2009, 12:30 AM

haha... well its the same for me...i just bought a new lap top in pcfair ... using vista for the new lap top ( never liked vista much ) and i thought the vista is so screwed that my broadband became a 56k connection =.=
oh wells , at least i know its izzi and not my lap top =.=
jerrynks
Apr 13 2009, 12:06 PM

at 12 pm in the morning , the connection is still rather slow with difficulties connecting to MSN .... so i guess today is another slow day for izzi ... which is really not so easy at all
jerrynks
Apr 14 2009, 03:37 PM

tell ur parents that they are paying rm xxx and they are giving u less than 1/10 than what they should be giving...i'm sure the comparison will make them change their mind =D
izzi is really really terrible but i cant change mine coz telekom totally screwed my house over by not giving us a phone line cable in our house and because my area is a new area , the phone cables are available underground and they cant add anymore... =.=
so i am stuck with izzi or if p1 decided to move to my area that will be GREAT!
jerrynks
Apr 14 2009, 07:11 PM

and i just called them and they said it will be up in 2 working days...
man... they keep contradicting themselves ...
i wonder how they actually pull ppl to sign up during pc fair if the internet is so slow ...
jerrynks
Apr 14 2009, 08:11 PM

they will be giving back 7 days to all izzi customer to cover up their losses .
so for those of you who felt they got cheated...they have compensated to what has been one of izzi biggest slowdown
jerrynks
Apr 14 2009, 08:42 PM

xboys brought ouut a very good point... i top up for a yr so i dont get compensation? man... i thought topping up more i get bonus...instead topping up more for izzi...i cant even get compensation...
this is getting ZZZ ... will call them and demand it back
jerrynks
Apr 14 2009, 11:26 PM

as i am actually working under telcos ... i actually understand the fact that a isp need to have a backup ... which is a 1 + N back up
which means for every 1 line... there need to have another 1 line as back up...as it is not pratical to do it that way...normally isps will be using 1/2 of the 1st line and 1/2 of the 2nd line
what izzi is doing i feel that they have recruited too many ppl to the line taking up more than 1/2 of each line...and when something like this happen , and they run on back up .... the line bandwidth arent enough for users to even enter basic usage .
ISPs have been OVER suscribing ppl to a very minimum bandwidth and sad to say , MCMC are not enforcing any law to these isps leaving us customer suffer . With many neighbouring countries have very strong law and enforcer , that leaves msia as a country where customer do not get what they are paying and with just a ' best rate applies' printed at the contract , they got themself out of legal rights .
This is how the internet works in msia ... and no matter which isp we run to... is the same
i wish i am back in melb ... at least they charge u higher but the internet is more solid and consistent
jerrynks
Apr 14 2009, 11:30 PM

haha vail .... with izzi's speed...i hardly can even download more than 750 mb a day
jerrynks
Apr 15 2009, 11:22 PM

its so ironic that they say its an upgrade to serve us better
when so obviously something screwed up and the server crashed
so if the internet wasnt better than last time after the 'upgrade' then they wasted time and money on the 'upgrade'
damn... all those cover ups...
jerrynks
Apr 16 2009, 11:48 PM

its weekend! i wouldnt count on them to fix up the connection and probably hanging us screwed over during the weekend....
=.= better arrange some morning till late night outing and drink as hell just to avoid dissapointment from my isp...
=.= cant even connect to msn is just....sad
jerrynks
Apr 17 2009, 04:33 PM

i am from desa parkcity area and i can log on to msn and international sites are back to normal
a bit slower than last time but what the hell...it feels so godly compared to the week that i went through...huhu
jerrynks
Apr 18 2009, 11:14 AM

1 base station = more than 1 million...
if i was izzi...i would plant it somewhere futher away to 'extract' more from new customer with my 12 months plan
jerrynks
Apr 19 2009, 06:30 AM

Even though it has low cost building and total cost of ownership but to build a new base station require planning , engineers to spectrum sweep the area , equipment , tower it self and many others as well and they need to get permission from the government ...
everything above will slowly add up to a fortune
just my 2 cents but building an extra base station is really not cheap even though its a simple one
i've build a pretty simple one along cheras - mid valley road and it cost maxis 3-4 million ( we rented a tower space instead of building one )
This post has been edited by jerrynks: Apr 19 2009, 06:31 AM
jerrynks
Apr 19 2009, 12:29 PM

yes its different technology but is the material wise and the equipment and also the configuration wise.... a single dish and the technology and configuration that comes with it is very costly...and every single dish they build they need to have a back up line as stated by MCMC ...
jerrynks
Apr 27 2009, 12:25 PM

very bad izzi customer service
today morning , i have trouble to even connect to izzi.com.my i called izzi customer care... i was having a very jolly mood this morning and they totally ruined it
called them and ask them about it ... ( i do know there are times service will be interupted ) the customer service picked up and ask me do a few troubleshoot... and i am following his steps ... but as a phone technician , he gave me instructions and DOUBTED me as a customer
he asked am i using a router ... i told him no i am not ..i dont even own a router
then he ask am i sure? then i was like 'yes '
then he ask again... 'are u really sure? ' then i was like 'yes..i do not own a router'
then he ask 'then why u bought a izzipro package when u are not using a router?'
Is this the kind of attitude of a customer service?
Who doesnt know that ethernet line is much easier to configure than standard USB?
and opting for the best package , i hope i could have more flexibility and easier to manage my internet through my computer
and the customer service is doubting that i have a router and i am lying to them?
after that... we proceed on and he TESTED me by:
Phone Technician : Sir , whats the signal strength? me: 100% ( i stay less than 50M from the base station ) PT: u using USB or ethernet? me: Ethernet at the moment PT : u sure? Me: Yes PT: U very sure? me: yes PT: then sir , i dont think u are telling the truth , coz u cant check ur signal strength using ethernet me : O_O , i told u AT THE MOMENT means i connected USB earlier on to check my signal strength PT: are u sure sir?
goes on......
i called in their customer service to ask for help... and this is the 'help' they give to me
thx izzi... not only u give us improper internet...u give us improper customer service as well
jerrynks
Apr 28 2009, 07:57 PM

i really hope i could save it down for u to listen
and the are u sure question... is really so weird as why are they doubting the customer at all?
and after the whole entire troubleshoot thing... he told me desa parkcity base station is down and they are rectifying the problem
tell me what could i say at that time?