Bump Topic Topic Closed RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> Beware of Imposter & Dirty Tricks, Especially at Mudah.com.my & Ebay.com.my

Austin
post Feb 21 2008, 05:23 PM, updated 18y ago

Sole Loser
1,476 posts

DISCLAIMER

I am selling my goodies under nickname "Austin" at forum.lowyat.net & lelong.com.my (under gky84) only.

I NEVER sell computer & electronics products at www.mudah.com.my & www.ebay.com.my using nicknames same or similar to "Austin"

Recently got low-ballers / jokers / conmen abused my nick name, email address, contact number & photos to create fake advertisements at the above mentioned website.

I also received numerous calls from Sarawak and Terengganu to ask me bank in $$$ to buy their notebooks which agreed via email confirmations (And the email addresses do not belong to me).

If someone approached you, claimed themselves to be Mr. Austin and trying to sell or buy laptop from you, please beware.

I am contactable at the following methods only for business purpose:

Mobile: 013-2906688
Email: austin.goh@gmail.com
MSN: antily1383@hotmail.com
YM: austinpowered51

I ONLY use MAYBANK (full account details not to be announced here for safety, but my surname is Goh, account number is 101209064x27 and I am a Chinese) for buysell transactions purpose, and as buyer of mine, they always need to send me proof of transactions including transaction code to verify that they are the actual buyer.

For face to face COD deals, I will not ask full amount to be banked in first. Mostly I will request RM100 to RM300 max deposit only.

I WILL NOT BE RESPONSIBLE IF YOU ARE GETTING CONNED BY OTHER "AUSTIN" AT OTHER WEBSITES. Always remember to deal with Austin at forum.lowyat.net only.

Below is 1 of the example I found at www.mudah.com.my
(Avoid dealing at ebay.com.my & mudah.com.my, their system implementation sux, anyone can abused any nickname to cheat, can put advertisement directly without registration, very BIG LOOPHOLE. Every details (nick, photos, phone number) are real but email address can be fake, so whoever email this guy will kena con most probably)

The smart conman left a message to this seller of Fujitsu U1010 at mudah.com.my, and the reply email he put my GMAIL address~ So I got replied from the seller lolz......

How to Identify The advertisement is genuine and posted by me?

- Under Austin from forum.lowyat.net only
- My photos signature = a polo watch or the tortoise in my avatar, but priority is under Austin from forum.lowyat.net
- From Now Onwards my sales photos will have watermark of my Nick & Contact number.
- Only contactable at the above mentioned method, not others.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Another Important Announcement

Recently there is a trend that my competitor is trying to duplicate my advertisement and put a stupid lower that cost price.
Their motive is to bring down my sales.

Whenever you trying to order from them, they will tell you that my price is more expensive than them because I take stock from them, and then when you made order from them, they will ask you to bank in a large amount of deposit and at the end tell you, NO STOCK but to refund you the deposit.

Alternatively they will also courier you the thing which is different from what they advertised, for example if you ordered a brand new product but they delivered REFURBISHED product to you.

Worst come worst, THEY ADVERTISED FOR FUN.

For example, when I was selling ThinkPad X61 & MacBook Pro, they also put the same thing for sale.
Only difference is "lower price, better spec", but specification format & photos all copied from my advertisements.

From now onwards, my photos will have watermark with my nick and contact number like this:

Take note that usually I will put my watch and iPhone beside the stock to double confirm that I am the owner of the stock.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This post has been edited by Austin: Apr 11 2008, 06:56 PM
wei
post Feb 21 2008, 05:27 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

Lucky you put your gold Rolex as identity tongue.gif Should have rompak your Rolex last time you came to my house tongue.gif
davidletterboyz
post Feb 21 2008, 05:29 PM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

Wow.....people these day. vmad.gif mad.gif Even the pic also copy! Did u inform mudah.com.my?

This post has been edited by davidletterboyz: Feb 21 2008, 06:30 PM
yangxi
post Feb 22 2008, 11:05 AM

Violinist ^.^ 囧 囧
4,189 posts

doh.gif same with me.

Someone also abused my Nick & Avatar . (selling underwear sweat.gif )

CODE

http://www.freetradezone.com.my/showthread.php?t=209
http://www.confirm.com.my/mytorrent/index.php?showtopic=10895

Suspect person "super mxxgyvex" or "Ken" . shakehead.gif
http://www.confirm.com.my/mytorrent/index....showtopic=10895
http://www.free...?searchid=19043
http://www.confirm.com.my/mytorrent/index.php?showuser=4392
http://www.confirm.com.my/mytorrent/index....sult_type=posts

http://planet.time.net.my/KLCC/yangxi/idiot.JPG
http://planet.time.net.my/KLCC/yangxi/idiot2.JPG

This post has been edited by yangxi: Feb 22 2008, 11:06 AM
vikingw2k
post Feb 22 2008, 12:41 PM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

Thread Moved from Trade Zone Helpdesk & Dispute Resolution Corner
addedworth
post Mar 1 2008, 11:07 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Feb 22 2008, 12:41 PM)
Thread Moved from  Trade Zone Helpdesk & Dispute Resolution Corner
Hello,
I'm one of the first developers from Mudah.com.my, and I can assure you that every advertiser has to do an email confirmation prior to their ads being approved. Every single Ad is approved manually by our internal staff, and if users respond to an advertisement through Mudah's online form, then you can be sure that the enquiry will only be sent to the original email being used to place that ad.

Mudah.com.my is a very safe place to sell and buy your items, despite of what you have said.

Sincerely,
Yam Chuan, Wee
Professional Web, Database & Unix Systems Developer
Austin
post Mar 2 2008, 12:43 PM

Sole Loser
1,476 posts

The problem is, what if the advertiser abused all of my contact information, posted them at the advertisement.
Except the email address he used his own one.

Imagine if there is any interested buyer didn't call my number which he posted, and email him directly, then very likely the buyer will fall into the trap and get cheated (if he banked in full in advanced and cannot COD with him)

Since your system doesn't require someone to register, anyone can advertise under the name of "austin", "alibaba", "najib" etc, duplicates my advertisement and posting up at mudah.com.my

Once victims got trouble after get cheated, who will they look for? Me? or the con man......? wub.gif

This post has been edited by Austin: Mar 2 2008, 12:46 PM
addedworth
post Mar 2 2008, 11:08 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(Austin @ Mar 2 2008, 12:43 PM)
The problem is, what if the advertiser abused all of my contact information, posted them at the advertisement.
Except the email address he used his own one.

Imagine if there is any interested buyer didn't call my number which he posted, and email him directly, then very likely the buyer will fall into the trap and get cheated (if he banked in full in advanced and cannot COD with him)

Since your system doesn't require someone to register, anyone can advertise under the name of "austin", "alibaba", "najib" etc, duplicates my advertisement and posting up at mudah.com.my

Once victims got trouble after get cheated, who will they look for? Me? or the con man......?  wub.gif
Hi Austin,
I understand clearly what you have just said. When developing Mudah, we can either make it to be:
1) Simple and straightforward, extremely fastloading so that everyone can use it easily without getting confused.
2) Put in all the advance features, make it as complicated and messy as one of the other sites you've mentioned, and have user registration, feedback, etc.

You see, easy, fast and convenient means keeping certain features away so that the majority of users who are not so technically savvy can jump into Mudah without much hassle and confusion.
To keep mudah as safe and as clean as possible, we're manually rejecting all ads that do not meet our terms and guidelines.
And if any advertiser cheats or defrauds a buyer, then we will always work hand in hand with the buyer, and also the police in tracking down the seller.

You raised a good issue regarding a permanent username and reputation status, something which we have thought of and I myself have brought up with the management on a number of occasions.
For the time being, this feature is not available, for the sole reason of keeping everything fast and convenient.

I will bring up this issue again tomorrow with the management and see how we can resolve this specific type of reputation stealing scenario.
Thank you so much for speaking your mind out.
We are always listening.

Thanks,
Yam Chuan, Wee

Austin
post Apr 11 2008, 08:31 AM

Sole Loser
1,476 posts

Another Important Announcement

Recently there is a trend that my competitor is trying to duplicate my advertisement and put a lower than cost price.
Their motive is to bring down my sales.

Whenever you trying to order from them, they will tell you that my price is more expensive than them because I take stock from them, and then when you made order from them, they will ask you to bank in a large amount of deposit and at the end tell you, NO STOCK but to refund you the deposit.

Alternatively they will also courier you the thing which is different from what they advertised, for example if you ordered a brand new product but they delivered REFURBISHED product to you.

Worst come worst, THEY ADVERTISED FOR FUN.

For example, when I was selling ThinkPad X61 & MacBook Pro, they also put the same thing for sale.
Only difference is "lower price, better spec", but specification format & photos all copied from my advertisements.

From now onwards, my photos will have watermark with my nick and contact number like this:

Take note that usually I will put my watch and iPhone beside the stock to double confirm that I am the owner of the stock.

This post has been edited by Austin: Apr 11 2008, 03:51 PM
akuadam
post Apr 11 2008, 11:23 AM

455 posts

Wah like this also got ah ? very dangerous already..I have to think something to put alongside my photos in the future...
mavie21
post Apr 11 2008, 01:47 PM

22 posts

seem like same like our MR A*** friend..
Hakkinen
post Apr 12 2008, 08:50 PM

83 posts

so lame la doing like that..

want to sell but dont have real stock and don't have a camera to take their own photos ? why must copy and paste other real seller's photo ? lame and shameful..

QUOTE(mavie21 @ Apr 11 2008, 01:47 PM)
seem like same like our MR A*** friend..

0.0179sec    0.59    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:12 AM