TStasriri
post Feb 19 2008, 10:54 PM, updated 18y ago

133 posts

I'm a noob here, need u all guidance on choosing amp with reasonable price

I am looking for at least a 4ch amp and here is my current setup

- Alpine 9870E - 1 preout
- Rogers RG-P65 (claimed 500 watt max?) - for front component
- Boschmann 6.5" 350Watt Loudspeaker - for rear (just happened to know that this is just a cap ayam brand, still otw, havent install)

what i am looking for is an amp for my front and future maybe to install sub. so 5ch would be a wise choice i guess. preamp maybe later when budget allow

btw, I have heard this Rogers amp, but the one demo to me is selling at RM1.2k (cant remember the specs, but it support 2 subwoofer out). If I remember correctly it has 80 RMS

got this offer for Rogers amp, 5 ch (front, rear, sub) selling at RM600. wondering if i should consider other brand at this price range (RM500 - 700) - cant remember the RMS for this model

really like rogers stuff but hard to look for review or info on their product in the internet.. any comment on rogers? and any recommendation besides rogers?

This post has been edited by tasriri: Feb 19 2008, 10:56 PM
mnkh27
post Feb 20 2008, 12:18 AM

212 posts

My version of a good beginners setup would be as follows. I rather stay away from very cheap entry level equipment to avoid constant upgrades along the way. The trick is to add and not change (as changing means losing money).

Phase 1:
Zapco I-Force I2100 2ch amplifier + Diamond Audio D362 or Focal Access 165A1 components - RM2000
A good 100w x 2 + entry level tested & performance approved branded speakers
* regular cables + installation will set you back about $300.

Phase 2:
Zapco I-Force I600 monoblock + Diamond Audio D112 12" D4 Subwoofer - RM2200
A good 600w x 1 @ 2 ohms + extremely good subwoofer for the money
* regular cables + subwoofer enclosure + installation with set you back about $400. A short RCA is only required from your existing amp to the mono since Zapco amps allow daisy chain connection, saves cost.

Phase 3:
Power management and better signal transfer
* when we get here, I'll explain further (gets too technical)

Phase 4:
Custom crossover and tweaks to maximize the potential of your existing equipment
* when we get here, I'll explain further (gets too technical but the results shows it all)

Cheers. rclxm9.gif

jernloong
post Feb 20 2008, 03:24 PM

bro mnkh27, mind to share wat are the brand for SQ amp available in Malaysia? and possible to provide the price range? thanks.
bafukie
post Feb 21 2008, 12:59 AM

1,406 posts

good sq amplifier cost u 2.5k and above. Below that i can think of alpine, zapco, audio system, audison, diamond audio.... eh tats all for now... couldnt think anymore lol..
loon1031
post Feb 21 2008, 11:53 AM

Photography, ICE, Die Cast & Gundam Crazy
1,105 posts

Maybe you can search for 2nd hand good amp.
TStasriri
post Feb 23 2008, 12:20 AM

133 posts

aiyo.. sifu2 all main above 2k punya barang hehe
baik punya racun..

entry level amp sub 1k ada? sub 500? or are u saying that no such thing as SQ at this price range? hehe

just wanna update what i have done today.. my cap ayam boschmann 6.5 loudspeaker woofer have been installed and moved my cikai rogers to the front.. bought a fibre panel to fit the rogers (replacing wira stock door panel)

the rogers sound a bit weak i think, is it because i have added a set of rear speaker? the rogers should be able to play a bit harder bass than before..

does this mean that i need to add an amp? hehe
i tought to trade in my 9870E for an alpine with 2 preout.. to add a lil' more control.. dont wanna use preamp.. i heard its olskool

btw, bass from that boschmann unit is nice enough to me. i think it can be tune if i have an amp with x-over. no need box, just mount it at the rear speaker. just what i am looking for, bcoz cant afford dls open air woofer maa..

i think the bass can be sharper if i put a small enclosure (copy jl audio hehe)

this cikai2 pun dah spent exceed 1k aiya.. nvmd.. trade in that 9870e and get a 4chp amp. and im done hehe

This post has been edited by tasriri: Feb 23 2008, 12:22 AM
jernloong
post Feb 23 2008, 03:37 PM

so anyone selling 2nd hand SQ amp here? smile.gif
TStasriri
post Feb 23 2008, 09:08 PM

133 posts

hehe.. yeah.. thanks jernloong.. anybody selling?

btw.. is getting at least 2 preout is important ? will using preamp reduce SQ?

and.. last but not least, need advise on these specs from all the sifu, what is the different and what are the differences the following specs; currently here is my player specs and comparing with higher end of another 2 alpine model having 3 preout in the following order:

[CDA9886] / [CDA9884] / [CDE9870E]
Crossover:
[High Pass Filter Adjustment] / [High Pass Filter Adjustment] / [Built-In High-Pass Crossover]

DAC:
[24-Bit DSP with integrated DAC] / [24-Bit DSP with integrated DAC] / [1 Bit]

Bass Level Control Range
[±14dB at 100Hz] / [±14dB at 100Hz] / [+/-14dB at 60Hz]

question: meaning to say when i (+) or (-) the level it will be at the mid bass (100hz?) for the upper two model?

Crossover
[High Pass: 80/120/160Hz (Selectable)] / [High Pass: 80/120/160Hz (Selectable)] / [Off/80Hz, 120Hz, 160Hz (12dB/oct)]

question: meaning to say the HPF for the higher two models cant be turn off?

am my interpretation is correct, higher end model need a woofer to play lower freq bass? and need an amp to boost the bass due to the built in crossover

rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

need to know what else i need to invest if really2 wanna upgrade.. because currently i set my hpf to off, and set the bass (centre bass level @60hz) to full (+&) to utilize my small boschmann free-air woofer (really reluctant to have woofer box in trunk). i think if using higher end model which boost the bass at 100hz, i need a separate amp to control the lower freq

wa.. so many questions..

Added on February 24, 2008, 7:23 pmmaybe so many question.. thats y nobody want to have the headache hehe

ok.. simple one, do using preamp will reduce the SQ? if its minimal, then i should not be bothering to think of changing my player. after reading in the net, 1bit DAC and 24 DAC also is not the main factor is producing quality sound

Added on February 24, 2008, 7:26 pmpre-amp? more preout? hmm

This post has been edited by tasriri: Feb 24 2008, 07:26 PM
NelsonBoy
post Feb 28 2008, 09:41 AM

l Audio Paradise l
1,120 posts

how about monoblock amp ?
low budget then get Night Kids amp lo tongue.gif
dun flare me pse.. ~~
TStasriri
post Mar 2 2008, 11:56 PM

133 posts

thanks for your suggestion..

im still thinking... whether to spent rm250 for a pre-amp.. or spent rm500 to trade in my 9870E to 9884.. dont know if its really worth in order to improve sq.. comparing the specs, not much different between those two unless go for 9887 which has all the extra function built in
khanhfat
post Mar 3 2008, 04:45 AM

13 posts

Go with 9887 and get the Alpine F550 4 ch amp . but depends on what type of speakers u have first biggrin.gif

I had the 9886 for 1 week and i have to change the 9887 bc built in EQ biggrin.gif and 24 bit processor. The processor on 9886 is just there to make you buy it, it wont' make any difference.
ah_fong
post Mar 4 2008, 09:19 PM

540 posts

how about pegasus for SQ ?
mnkh27
post Mar 6 2008, 02:47 AM

212 posts

QUOTE(jernloong @ Feb 20 2008, 03:24 PM)
bro mnkh27, mind to share wat are the brand for SQ amp available in Malaysia? and possible to provide the price range? thanks.
Well it gets pretty subjective. If your expectation are high, SQ amps can even start from at least $4-5k. However, to those that are not too exposed, even a Focal, Steg, Audison, Diamond Audio, Helix etc. will be considered very high-end.

Well, to me very high-end SQ amps are like Brax GE, Mcintosh, Tru Technology Copper, Zapco C2K etc. while exotic ones are like Luxman, HSS Fidelity, Milbert and the list goes on.

You'll be able to find these in Malaysia if you search hard enough. Or else you can always beep me at mnkh27 (msn or ym).
TStasriri
post Mar 6 2008, 07:55 AM

133 posts

say if i plan to have component at the front and woofer at the back
is a 2ch amp (2 channel direct to component and crossover to separate the freq between the speaker and tweeter) for the front is good enough? or should i be getting a 4ch? 2 ch connect direct to component speaker and another 2 ch to tweeter? (no need to use bundle x-over come with the component)

some amp have this hi/mid/lo crossover setting, which interpretation on the connection is correct?

high - tweeter
mid - speaker (component)
lo - subwoofer

or;

high - speaker / tweeter (component)
mid - mid bass
lo - subwoofer
siauann
post Mar 20 2008, 08:11 PM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

QUOTE(jernloong @ Feb 23 2008, 03:37 PM)
so anyone selling 2nd hand SQ amp here?  smile.gif
i got 1 selling at the garage sales smile.gif
MobyDick
post Apr 5 2008, 12:04 AM

731 posts

Strictly my opinion; If wanna start SQ entry level amps go for 5 channel type as can save $$ on cables & lebih-kurang 'tweek-tuning' using built-in X-Over without buying active X-Over. Tuning 1 amp with all channels within is easier than tuning 2 amps given your limited $$. As for the type of amps, the $$ spent has 2 equation; given the budget either you can go for branded but will be short-changed by the end product sound but spend the same amount on a good class 'AB' amp than can 'tapau' the above branded one. Always remember all those marketing & promotional $$ they spend is all paid by consumer who buys the product. If class 'A' budget than no need to compare-lah.
ckmoy007
post Apr 11 2008, 03:50 AM

5 Star ICE Noob
865 posts

i recommend Helix amp for SQ. Middle ranged price.
craziechild
post Apr 11 2008, 04:07 PM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

helix... hmm.... one of my favourites...
loon1031
post Apr 11 2008, 10:01 PM

Photography, ICE, Die Cast & Gundam Crazy
1,105 posts

QUOTE(ckmoy007 @ Apr 11 2008, 03:50 AM)
i recommend Helix amp for SQ. Middle ranged price.
rclxm9.gif
Helix dark blue series and Espirit series not bad
Bliz
post Apr 12 2008, 12:54 AM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(loon1031 @ Apr 11 2008, 10:01 PM)
rclxm9.gif
Helix dark blue series  and Espirit series not bad
How much for those?