Games Alone in the Dark (360), Where being techy kills the game itself

TS-= Virgil =-
post Jun 26 2008, 07:05 PM

G.O.A.T. | Jordan 23
2,693 posts

Finally i get to have a try at this game.
And i just played for the first 10 minutes and all i can say is the graphics is fantastic and the story just adds to the excitement.

However, the game is too buggy and despite having such nice graphics, there can be texture misappropriation (not sure if this is the correct term, IT noob). You know when a surface is flat and spikes of graphics just spawn out of it, this is what happens in the game.
Sometimes this just throws the whole mood away.

Then there is the game interaction.
The controls were pretty alright for myself, just that the game is trying to put too much into giving players a good experience of the game.
There is 2 view inside the game which is a first person view and a third person view, so it is actually pretty cool to have a good look at things on the first person and the 3rd person on the surrounding.
However sometimes the controls arent responsive.
Let's just say you are to climb a rope and climb through a broken piece. However, while you are climbing up the rope, you accidentally fell down and you will not be able to climb the rope again no matter how many millions time you press the action button.

This game has a good storyline and it really has most of what players would want, but sometimes satisfying all of it will just make the game worst.

Truth to be told, yes overall this game sucks, big time. But i think it deserves at least a 6/10. Oh by the way, i just played 10 minutes into the game, dont own it and doesnt intend to.
eismeal
post Jun 26 2008, 10:26 PM

Owh man .. this game is so suck ATARI wished it wasn't so HYPED UP ALREADY!!!!!!

This post has been edited by eismeal: Jun 26 2008, 10:26 PM
GamersFamilia
post Jun 27 2008, 12:48 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,812 posts

well may be i wont pick up this game...i will buy guitar hero aerosmith...much worth it
kwangwey
post Jun 27 2008, 03:49 PM

20 posts

The game is a bit slow when it comes to movement of the character and the camera angle is no good when u are playing the games.
One word, too slow response if you want to compare to other survival horror.Sometimes the puzzle is hard to understand as well. No clear indication on what we are going to do next.
Quite disappointed lor.
GamersFamilia
post Jun 27 2008, 07:47 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,812 posts

i think this game wont have 2nd value to sell at pasar malam 360 or garage sale......
zio
post Jun 27 2008, 08:52 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

Not with so many bad feedbacks tongue.gif

Well, if someone sold it for RM50, i wouldnt mind giving it a go tongue.gif
GamersFamilia
post Jun 27 2008, 09:06 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,812 posts

QUOTE(zio @ Jun 27 2008, 08:52 PM)
Not with so many bad feedbacks tongue.gif

Well, if someone sold it for RM50, i wouldnt mind giving it a go tongue.gif
i think if rm50 , i will think twice bout this game....rent it la better

Breaktru
post Jun 28 2008, 01:22 AM

== The World ==
1,769 posts

Lol now only i notice , where being techy kills the game itself . lolololol
Jon Dough
post Jul 2 2008, 12:02 AM

Admitedly I am only on the 4th episode of the game, but so far I've had no problems either with the controls, or with game stability. Sure Carnby isn't the fastest game hero out there, but then again he isn't meant to be Solid Snake or Ryu Hayabusa. The storyline is decent, the combat workable (alot better than that found in similar survival horrors like RE and Silent Hill) and the puzzles are fun and logical. It may not be the best game around but definitely worth checking out. It's a lot less buggy than Ninja Gaiden 2 is anyway.

This post has been edited by Jon Dough: Jul 2 2008, 12:02 AM
Aura
post Jul 2 2008, 10:15 AM

OVERKILL is my GAME!!!
1,937 posts

What I remembered from the past few games of AITD was the movements are slow since the 1st game was released until the 4th coz I've played it all.... The onli thing that keeps me playing the game is the storyline.... The features for the 5th installment is actually not that bad... But I do have to admit that the camera angles are a bit awkward and the controls are a bit irresponsive but overall it is a nice game..... Bugs do pop up in every game.... I've never seen a perfect, non-buggy game b4.....

If u guys wan my rating, I'll give this version an 8/10.... -1 for controls and -1 for camera angles..... Btw, Gametrailers gave this game a 7.3/10, which proves that it is pretty decent and worth checking out.... Also a friendly reminder, the 5th installment is meant to be played on consoles..... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Aura: Jul 2 2008, 10:17 AM
bernardyong
post Jul 23 2008, 08:23 PM

80 posts

Hmmm...sounds like the game doesn't live up to the hype. However, since I'm a big AITD fan, I'll probably get it anyway biggrin.gif How much is the game selling for btw? Anyone want to sell their used copy? smile.gif
GamersFamilia
post Jul 24 2008, 03:53 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,812 posts

QUOTE(bernardyong @ Jul 23 2008, 08:23 PM)
Hmmm...sounds like the game doesn't live up to the hype. However, since I'm a big AITD fan, I'll probably get it anyway biggrin.gif How much is the game selling for btw? Anyone want to sell their used copy? smile.gif
rm160 brand new games...so far i didnt see anyone sell it for 2nd hand...either they keep it as collection or they dont buy it cause the rating so sux..
SUSzhiyung
post Jul 24 2008, 04:48 PM

133 posts

I can't even continue play this piece of crab for an hour... The control is so crappy that it gets on my nerve... The story might be interesting, the graphics are ok, but the control beats all. Initially i wanted to finished it for the game score, but it seems like it's too much for me, i'll just put it inside my freezer...
GamersFamilia
post Jul 24 2008, 09:21 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,812 posts

QUOTE(zhiyung @ Jul 24 2008, 04:48 PM)
I can't even continue play this piece of crab for an hour... The control is so crappy that it gets on my nerve... The story might be interesting, the graphics are ok, but the control beats all. Initially i wanted to finished it for the game score, but it seems like it's too much for me, i'll just put it inside my freezer...
why not u sell it at benardyong...heheheh
TS-= Virgil =-
post Jul 24 2008, 10:13 PM

G.O.A.T. | Jordan 23
2,693 posts

QUOTE(zhiyung @ Jul 24 2008, 04:48 PM)
Yes the control is crappy and it just need a little get-used-to.
The story might be interesting, well at least it was at the beginning.
Believe me, the story sucks so bad, you wish you hadnt finish the game, oh wait, you didnt laugh.gif
Just a little blasphemy from a player who net 1000/1000 on that game.

Anyway if you are stuck in any chapter, i would be more than glad to be of help.
One thing i can really complain is the lack of clue in the puzzles.
SUSadli
post Jul 25 2008, 05:57 PM

33 posts

as long as theyre better than the movie...

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.4306sec    1.03    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 01:37 PM