AMDŽ Socket-AM2/AM2+ Overclocking thread (V6), Will AMD alive??

@meno
post Feb 17 2008, 09:49 PM

It's "A Meh Noh" not Meno!!!
2,386 posts

QUOTE(joe_star @ Feb 17 2008, 04:04 AM)
Wow sweat.gif

May i know what voltage u use. Either way mine seems to die at arnd 900mhz cry.gif
Replying to joe_star's question in V5.
My Team Values were set to run at 2v.
This batch which i got have been recorded doing 1200Mhz@2.1v 5-5-5-15 before, so might try to see if mine could more or less do the same.
I highly suspect they are relabelled D9s, judging from the pictures dblooi posted, yes it does have all the criterias in the pictures.
It pretty much depends on luck when you buy value rams. If you get relabelled chips which are good, then you're lucky.

V6 already... laugh.gif
Looks like we still have a stable AMD fanbase/usebase in LYN.
Tats a good thing to see.
@meno
post Feb 18 2008, 10:32 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(Amedion @ Feb 18 2008, 08:41 PM)
Aiyo... Just bought Team Elite DDR667 1Gb x 2pcs.. Damn disappointed .. 950MHz already system hang.. So many people say can go 1Gig..
It very much depends on luck for the elites as most of them nowadays comes with relabelled chips.
If you're lucky, you might end up getting one of those which manage to clock quite decently.
And do like wat dblooi said, loosen the trfc.
Mine now running on 127.5ns...Not sure if i need to further loosen them when i try to hit for 1200mhz.

QUOTE(dblooi @ Feb 18 2008, 09:01 PM)
try to loose the sub timings trfc before?  hmm.gif
QUOTE(dblooi @ Feb 18 2008, 09:36 PM)
haha ic  laugh.gif
actually i mean trfc, not trc
you can check the bios, trfc's value is something like 75ns , 105ns, 127.5ns... and so on  icon_rolleyes.gif
most of the ram oc stucked bcoz of trfc and MAL sub timings  icon_rolleyes.gif
Bro, 1 question which i guess had been asked before.
How far does the trfc effect the performance of the rig?
I mean when running 75ns and 195ns, do we really see major difference say in superpi 1m?
@meno
post Feb 19 2008, 10:48 AM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(Amedion @ Feb 18 2008, 11:26 PM)
Oh.. Will try that later..

I don't know what is wrong but this RAM really sux... When navigating dekstop.. Very laggy..
Not like my Mushkin.. Smoooooooooooooooooooth....  smile.gif

I use DDR800 to try on the RAM... 3003/6 = 500 x 2 = 1,000MHz.. Cannot start.. Maybe I wrong about the ram.. Could me my mobo memory controller not good.. Only run best at DDR667 Divider..

Now running damn rojak timing ... 5-4-4-10-12-2T 195ns 195ns ..

Tomorrow I will try to benchmark see the Ns thingy got performance different or not..
Amedion,
Your elites, are they the heatspreader version or the non heat spreader version.
The non heat spreader ones i've seen and tested where actually most of them will hit 1000Mhz on 5-5-5-15 >2.0V.

dblooi,
There's one thing i would like to find out.
Previously when i was still on 939, i realised one thing called drive strength which could be set to strong or weak.
I do not find that on my AN9. Does it still apply to AM2 overclocking and if yes, will it be possible that it comes in a different form?
@meno
post Feb 19 2008, 01:19 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(cracksys @ Feb 19 2008, 10:44 AM)
[attachmentid=400523]

can i have comment on this ?? i assume this is stable as i ran prime95 for 22hours

i cant seem to put it beyond 2.900Ghz whatever setting I tried ...

afraid to increase vcore sumore  sweat.gif

** Info **

Cooler : XP-90

Idle : 46c
Full load : 49c (crap ??)
XP-90 should be able to cool down the proc properly.
Even at 2.9Ghz, should still be sufficient.

QUOTE(cracksys @ Feb 19 2008, 10:52 AM)
really ha ??

scare woo ... coz d Biostar hardware monitoring keep "weong!weong!" sometime  shocking.gif . i dont know whats wrong.

how bout its temp ?? can be trust ??
Is it a mobo alarm sound or what?
Check if your proc is overheating.
Btw, u using Brisbane right? Brisbanes has a temp probe problem, it tends to report a false temperature reading.
Many motherboards uses alarm for Proc overheat, the wrong reading might actually trigger the alarm hence resulting in the Ambulance Alarm sound.

QUOTE(Amedion @ Feb 19 2008, 10:57 AM)
laugh.gif  Their challenge is 3.6Ghz... Our challenge is 3Ghz..  doh.gif  sweat.gif
Mine is without .. I run 2.1v can't over 960Mhz .. Maybe I got gem here.. The gem that cannot OC..  sweat.gif
Just use to test whether my processor reached its limit or my mobo dun wan go over 290HTT..
Still no answer.. Suspect my mobo causing the problem..
1.4v shud be ok lar.. Don't be afraid.. Can auto shut down 1..

Temp better dun over 50c idle.. load 70c also can .. more than that i dunno ..
Hmm, if it's already at the max on stock voltage, then maybe it's time to up the voltage.
But try to max out your Ram, Proc one by one before concluding that voltage is the limiting factor.

QUOTE(digswell @ Feb 19 2008, 11:04 AM)
For quad normally good for converting video and .....
For Dual normally good for moderate gaming and...software app and etc

if between dual and quad.....trible core is the best choice

Addition ...who say amd cannot oc over 4ghz???

[attachmentid=400535]
A G2 Brisbane, interesting.
G2s are known to OC pretty well, on par with F3s i'd say.
But as usual, clock to clock, Brisbane still loses out to the Windsors.

QUOTE(Amedion @ Feb 19 2008, 12:05 PM)
Not all can go 4Ghz..

But if compare price between BE 5000+ vs E2160.. I'm in doubt.. Muahaha..
Now stressing my brisby at 2950Mhz.. NO error for 2 hours 15 minutes already... Load 54c~56c..

Based on my n00b experience ..
Processor clock too high = system freeze
GFX clock too high = artifacts all over the screen n system freeze
Ram clock too high = system restarts

Mobo HTT too high = Fail in ORthos?  laugh.gif

Shud i get a mobo that can do higher in HTT or to change processor + mobo... ?

May the force be wif me ..
Mobo HTT too high, if not that severe, it will screw ur windows.
If you really screwed it badly, it will cause damage to your harddrive.
I've had corrupted windows due to HTT which is too high while another forumer Lohwenli screwed his HDD because of the HTT as well.
@meno
post Feb 20 2008, 01:21 AM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(Amedion @ Feb 19 2008, 05:11 PM)
The best setting so far without restart or BSOD..

[attachmentid=400842]

Exhausted already.. Will stress later to see if it pass orthos and superpi....

Haiyo.. Fail in ORthos.. Not over 1 minutes also.. Guess this RAM has reached its limit..  yawn.gif

Must get performance RAM to run my 3Ghz smoothly..
I wonder why nobody commented on this.
Your trfc, it's 105, 75 again.
I think setting it at 127.5 might help to boot 1000mhz.

QUOTE(Amedion @ Feb 19 2008, 09:14 PM)
That motherboard cannot adjust vCore if not mistaken ..

My nephew using it on Sempron.. 1600MHz > 2160Mhz..  smile.gif
I managed 2.9ghz on LE-1600 F3.
But the vdimm sucks big time...
@meno
post Feb 20 2008, 11:03 AM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(Amedion @ Feb 20 2008, 10:45 AM)
At least u have x9.5 to try.. I don't have..
What divider u using?
My n00b exp tells me that AMD not good at memory controlling.. Better use default DDR667..
Been reading a lot in the net ..
Hundreds of OC guru tells that clock to clock .. Intel win ..
That is why I join the dark side ..
E2160 @ 3.2Ghz vs 5000+ BE @ 3.2Ghz .. Which one I don't know but I know the price is a lot of different..
Sorry I use transformation..
I've never see that also .. Means mine is 32bit..
I got a lot of settings i din print screen.. Tried 125ns dimm0 and dimm1 both same..
195ns, 300+ns .. All can boot la.. Fail in Orthos.. Applications all cannot open.. Navigating desktop freakin' lag..
Somehow I feel Mushkin ram is a lot smoother and can clock lot timing..
Mushkin value ram 4-4-4-12 at near 800Mhz.. Team cannot 4-4-4 .. Must 5-4-4 .. The first one don't like 4 ( in chinese is DIE )...  laugh.gif
I sell and get mushkin EM2 ..  thumbup.gif
Actually, it's not the brand that matters, but the chipset which are on your rams.
If you're lucky to get relabelled Micron D9s on your teams, trust me they fly.
And the Team Extreme series had proven itself to be one of the best rams on the market now.

Anyway, if you're looking for new pair of rams, i'd say go for the Crucial Annies. Confirm hit >1000Mhz as they are handpicked GMHs.

Btw, most windows all of us use here are 32bit windoze...

About the clock to clock, yes, Intel does have the advantage for now. But this is the way things move around in the PC Business. Remember those days when AMD was so much faster clock to clock when compared to Intel. (Anyway, it doesn't apply to all procs, try compare Barcelona and the Xeons. You'll see AMD still faster clock to clock in that segment.)
@meno
post Feb 20 2008, 11:34 AM

2,386 posts

Deneb and B3 stepping Phenoms. Interesting.

AMD is in quite deep shit now. Deneb since to be "The One" to really make a fightback on Intel's current dominance. Anyway, i reserve my comments till more information on Dened is released. All the recent release from AMD seems dissapointing to me. Especially since i switched to K6 from Intel, i've never seen AMD in such a bad state before.
Let's hope it survives this battle.

@meno
post Feb 22 2008, 10:49 AM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(ongbs @ Feb 22 2008, 01:53 AM)
i am using ACS-45.1's elder brother....ACS-295  tongue.gif
QUOTE(digswell @ Feb 22 2008, 02:03 AM)
if urs ACS 45.1 is black colour then i shold be elder bro  brows.gif  brows.gif
Suddenly become speaker thread... sweat.gif
ACS 45.1 Black reporting in...
My white one kong out d... cry.gif
If not can make ACS 45.1 Black&White 4.2... laugh.gif

@meno
post Feb 25 2008, 09:46 AM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Feb 25 2008, 08:33 AM)
Changed, yet still shows something like that, but if I insist to continue to windows even the message appear, it act normally, only everything will go back to default... means that the FSB = 200, etc etc...
I had the error before also.
Continued and it reset everything.
Then went into Cmos again, changed again and showed same message, then i continued again and this time it booted my custom settings.
Anyway, mine was on the Cpu Speed.

0.0417sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:48 PM