Yamaha AVR Discussion Thread

s6xs9x
post Jul 27 2008, 11:09 PM

My Stars Not Growing?
904 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Jul 3 2008, 07:09 AM)
Yes, you can use the existing 5 speakers, later on when you have more budget you can upgrade to higher range speakers. On the 663 you MUST set it as 6 ohm. Any speakers lower than 4 ohm will give the receiver a hard time, and may overheat.

For the sub, you'll need a separate amp, as most AV receivers only has pre-out (sending out the signal non-amplified). My advice is to get a new active subwoofer.

You'll always get to hear the 5.1 audio codecs, and with 663 even the HD lossless tracks, for this part, it's the receiver that's important. But to get the best sound, you'll need good speakers.

Not sure about 663, but my 1800 can upscale analogue sources (S-video/RCA, not digital sources like HDMI) to up to 1080p. But I can only see little improvements, because Astro quality sucks to begin with. Like people always say, rubbish in rubbish out.

I don't have any experience with the Pioneer receiver though. wink.gif
Aiman,
I'm having the same question too, will the 663 be able to drive all center/front(L+R) and the Sur(L+R) of my left over speakers from pioneer HTZ252DVD which rated 100W4Ohms? I've been troubled for a week now and haven't really got the time to go outdoors and ask. what happened was that my player+blabla of the set got stolen leaving back those 5speakers and passive sub.
s6xs9x
post Aug 4 2008, 03:16 PM

My Stars Not Growing?
904 posts

wait september for new stocks, anyway desa lowyat has one and HNPavi has a demo too.
s6xs9x
post Aug 10 2008, 09:12 PM

My Stars Not Growing?
904 posts

Acctually, the 663 can drive 4ohms all round. the Total PO is 945W distributing 7chs.
In your case if you wish to drive 4ohms speakers you'll be drawing 195W max if you were to run them 5ch then it's just slightly on the limits.
But for sure you wont have a SUB.

Aiman, Correct me if i'm wrong. But i've considered about taking the Onkyo 606, it's claimed to drive 4ohms/6/8/16. I guess it should be fine.

althosmk,
But this is no way to go for stretch period. electronics tends to degrade throughout time. so I bet you'll need to upgrade your speakers asap. PSB LCR are real good for a start and many ways sound better than the HTiB, I saw in MidValley today going for 1350 before discount .. i think can get 10~20% .. so if you wish to upgrade I guess around 4.5K should be good. Any Active subs are better than the HTiBs. you can still use your fronts then get center + surround .. & sub.

s6xs9x
post Aug 10 2008, 09:40 PM

My Stars Not Growing?
904 posts

Aiman,
then I might be wrong on my theories.
sorry bout that.
Anyway, how does your BR2 sound with your yammy? strong hard bass or subtle?

s6xs9x
post Aug 10 2008, 09:51 PM

My Stars Not Growing?
904 posts

what are yout 661 driving?
s6xs9x
post Aug 13 2008, 12:13 PM

My Stars Not Growing?
904 posts

This might sound stupid, but I really wish to know.
What acctually happens if you Run DTSMA on a 7.1 and 5.1 will you miss out some of the sound? if the source is recorded in 7chs.

And if you run 7.1 speaker on just 5.1 source .. ?
Sigh .. me noob leh.
s6xs9x
post Aug 14 2008, 03:57 PM

My Stars Not Growing?
904 posts

would they acctually reduce price for current models?
s6xs9x
post Aug 14 2008, 04:11 PM

My Stars Not Growing?
904 posts

they only reduce 30% from retail rite? but it's worth the go and look see. esp those display units
s6xs9x
post Aug 15 2008, 01:43 PM

My Stars Not Growing?
904 posts

dun la kacau him .. poison enough liao la .. hehe
s6xs9x
post Aug 15 2008, 02:51 PM

My Stars Not Growing?
904 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 15 2008, 02:00 PM)
err.... u ar?
don't want me to speak .. then i keep quiet.

This post has been edited by s6xs9x: Aug 15 2008, 02:51 PM
s6xs9x
post Aug 16 2008, 12:03 AM

My Stars Not Growing?
904 posts

if we're here we're mostly yammy kaki lo ... opppss almost got converted today.. i know aiman will be a happy in 2 weeks time ... Congrats bro!

rx .. aiyaaaa we kewl rite?? kudos

cheers,

oh yea arremie my guru .. he even tot me how to use msn with yahho id .. doh.gif
s6xs9x
post Aug 16 2008, 10:12 AM

My Stars Not Growing?
904 posts

Did not .. sigh .. couldn't commit on time and I had ordered from yamaha before the thing came up ..
Nevermind I know I'll be happy.
s6xs9x
post Aug 16 2008, 10:40 AM

My Stars Not Growing?
904 posts

QUOTE(callmevil @ Aug 16 2008, 10:26 AM)
r u sure? which yammy u go for? i am NOT satisfied with my 663.. waaaaa cry.gif
going for the 663, if you can sell yours to me i'll take up your offer.

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 16 2008, 10:33 AM)
Why? 663 not enuf power?
maybe he's got huge speakers to drive leh, diffrent league diffrent satisfaction.
for me .. it's good enough
s6xs9x
post Aug 16 2008, 01:19 PM

My Stars Not Growing?
904 posts

onky vs yammy huh .....
no one wins la dude, it's a personal pref.

rx,
tak ngam then i cannot do anything lo .... we wait till new firmware and see fire & water mix or not la ...
s6xs9x
post Aug 17 2008, 10:31 PM

My Stars Not Growing?
904 posts

what about tilting the center speakers down? if placed above your screen. I might end up that way or else find another rack ..
s6xs9x
post Aug 17 2008, 10:52 PM

My Stars Not Growing?
904 posts

i've got a 3 row x 3 collum cabinet. the middle colloum couldn't fit the center. Anyway I'm still cheap *using 29" TV.

Anyway my stuffs are still not here waiting for my amp and will get my BR's early Sept.

I need a coffee table in between my sofa and the tv. so options to put my center on a diffrent stand might be bad as will be blocked by the table.

Will it be wrong to put the center not in the middle of my screen? *might sound stupid.

Best for the moment it to have it sit above my TV.

Else ... buy another rack lo .. sigh!
s6xs9x
post Aug 17 2008, 11:14 PM

My Stars Not Growing?
904 posts

will try when my stuffs are here ..
but it'll not reach perfection compared to chest level position right?
will try it out. thanks guys ....

by the way any 1800 sellers here? I just missed out a great deal.
s6xs9x
post Aug 17 2008, 11:28 PM

My Stars Not Growing?
904 posts

nope I'm going to stick to yammy.

now waiting for my 663 to reach, or maybe another 1800 seller.
s6xs9x
post Aug 18 2008, 10:29 AM

My Stars Not Growing?
904 posts

mpyw! go for shams 3800 ..!
s6xs9x
post Aug 18 2008, 12:01 PM

My Stars Not Growing?
904 posts

we're loosing yammy fans by day ....

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top