Yamaha AVR Discussion Thread

jackwelch
post Jul 18 2008, 06:02 AM

Hi. I am a total newbie in this and has been interested to get a new AVR. I am now down to comparing between rx-v863 and pioneer vsx-1018AHK. hmm.gif Been reading all your postings and other pioneer related postings. Frankly the more I read, the tougher it gets. rclxub.gif To all the sifus, can you help this poor guy out? Both looks equally good.

Also I am being recommended AAD M Series speaker set comprising M-5T, M-5C, M-10S, M-5X. Anybody has any experience with these? icon_question.gif

Thanks in advance!
jackwelch
post Jul 23 2008, 08:10 AM

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jul 18 2008, 07:16 AM)
by all means, go for 863. Most of the Pioneer AVR's AQ seems bright to me and it lacks the solid authority of Yammy.

How much for the AAD? Cant comment on it since no chance to audition yet
HTKaki, thanks for the recommendation for 863.

The AAD 5.1 set is quoted at RM3,500.
jackwelch
post Jul 24 2008, 10:57 PM

QUOTE(hsiengloong @ Jul 24 2008, 10:33 PM)
IC, now i understand, thanks so much..

Another question is, if my player does not have an upscaler function, therefore even with the 863, my pics wont be upscaled to a higher quality?
863 has upscale function. It will upscale even if your DVD does not.

0.0391sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:16 PM