Yamaha AVR Discussion Thread

Jenn77
post Mar 3 2009, 11:03 AM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,121 posts

Hi, I'm a newbie looking for Yammy AVR's. My target currently is RX-V663, but the website stated RX-V665 is gonna make a debut soon. Anybody have any idea on the pricing? The V663 is retailing at RM 1800 - 1900. Tx

RX-V665 SOURCE

This post has been edited by Jenn77: Mar 3 2009, 11:18 AM
Jenn77
post Mar 8 2009, 09:06 PM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,121 posts

QUOTE(edwintey @ Mar 8 2009, 12:03 PM)
Marantz SR6003 is a good option.
But if you prefer Yamaha, than go for RX-V663 even 863,
Since the price so reasonable now. Don't wait for new model.
When the 665/765 available will expensive in the first stage, quality also...... decide yourself.
Well IAANM, I did a comparison on 663 and 665, 665 have 2 additional HDMI slots which I would say is quite significant. Btw, whats the latest price for 863? tongue.gif
Jenn77
post Mar 9 2009, 03:17 PM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,121 posts

Well, then 863 shud be out of my budget.. I think I will stick to V663, if v665 cost a little bit more, I might stretch my funds. In the YAMAHA website it stated the same price of the V663, hopefully its not too high. tongue.gif
Jenn77
post Mar 21 2009, 03:13 PM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,121 posts

QUOTE(Hwoarang45 @ Mar 21 2009, 10:18 AM)
hmm tats... good and bad news...
Hehehe..! As for me hold all horses till d X65 comes in and see if I can get it.. wink.gif
Jenn77
post Apr 23 2009, 09:42 AM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,121 posts

QUOTE(Weelar @ Apr 22 2009, 10:27 PM)
hmm... alright... i wait little bit longer..  tongue.gif  then only decide...  wink.gif
I'm eagerly waiting for 665 as well, called A&L they said its coming in June. Patience.. tongue.gif
Jenn77
post Apr 23 2009, 11:19 AM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,121 posts

QUOTE(tongkito @ Apr 23 2009, 10:28 AM)
if you seek better sql, then you waste your time waiting for 665 biggrin.gif

my first receiver is yammy 461, then >> 463, the only difference is HDMI Audio, the sound quality is the same.

same with my yammy 1600, then >> 1800, the DD & DTS quality is almost identical.

each time yammy launch new receiver, its only minor upgrade, upscale, digital radio, bla bla, not sql.

wait for yammy 663 dropped its price....then it's a good bargain.
Will consider abt that as well. Look n see if the price range is within my budget then only decide, cuz its my first AVR. tongue.gif
Jenn77
post May 29 2009, 01:37 PM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,121 posts

Just curious, the 665 is consider as medium range or lower range AVR?
Jenn77
post May 30 2009, 11:12 PM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,121 posts

Wah lao eh.. yammy try to rip ppl off meh.. just add another 2 extra HDMI ports than can jack up the price to nearly 3k.. wow.
Jenn77
post Jun 18 2009, 10:37 PM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,121 posts

Im getting Yammy RX-665 with PSB Image T45 + C60, issit a good combination, cuz Im goin for medium range setup due to budget constraint. For sub, I might get the much talk about velodyne. Kindly advice.

This post has been edited by Jenn77: Jun 18 2009, 10:42 PM
Jenn77
post Jul 30 2009, 11:08 AM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,121 posts

QUOTE(moomoos @ Jul 30 2009, 09:39 AM)
ooh.. 1019 is considered above ..above average, recommended by ( i had it on my shopping list too b4 getting the RX-V3900 (really iresistable $$$buy) if not for the 3900, my alternative are, RX-V1900/3800, 2809,3808,(3310if available) 919,1019, LX51,52
to me the newer series of amps, have really great improvements over earlier models, everyone even dealers say Yammy cant do music, but when my 3900, in their shop (doing burning-in... testing to be exact ) it makes everyone's Drop Their Specs (tit ngan keang)my dear fren (denon retailer)admited the AQ & PQ better the denon 3808
its the same for even denon, pioneer,marantz,onkyo, its really a matter of facial taste,(which design you like) and also the sonics(like it a bit sharp, smooth, powerfull etc)

so if really have the budget or Extra $$$ go for the higher model, if really cant afford slightly higher-end, Maybe tahan a bit save more $$$ and go for the next ( from say 919 to 1019 ) you will have no regrets for at least a decade of enjoyment)

Added on July 30, 2009, 9:44 am

addon,

previously we have amps from 5.1 to 6.1 then 7.1 ( you really dont get that type of improvements ) then you have 1st generation of HDMI 1.1, then HDMI 1.3, DTS-HD/True HD, and now the second Batch of DTS-HD/True HD ( this generation really shines....)

Sorry I dont quite get you, pardon me for my noobness but is V665 not worth to invest or should we save more to get the mid range ones.. namely those 1900 series?
Jenn77
post Jul 31 2009, 12:27 AM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,121 posts

QUOTE(moomoos @ Jul 30 2009, 01:20 PM)
no hard feelings ok

for me i only budget in the range of RX-V1900, for i feel that its good enough, for i only get to play at late nights and in the hall( no sound Room ) on the contary if i really want i and COULD, would have gone for the likes of Z7, Z11, ADP 1, LX82,91

coming back to your case, what i meant is, if you have more budget, if not maybe can save more to go for the next upper level, that is 665 to 865 (if its available, for my case intially i aim for 1909, then see see, no phono, i waited a while for the 2809,that time LX series no stock then later i got 3900 at RX-V1900 price, really feel its worth the Extra 2k for
- better Video scaling anchor bay chip( Lexicon 1st BD player also uses this chip which cost US3,900.00)
- Neworking capabilities
- Better components and ccts
- software upgrade, through LAN or USB
- support front Presence Speaker for 3D sound
- and a lot of other great stuff

PS... 665 is still a very good AVR that stands out within the price category
Hey.. no offence taken.. Im just so new to this stuff I need extra time to digest it. Ive been setting my mind on 665 for some time cuz thats the only AVR I can afford. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(xrossf1re @ Jul 30 2009, 01:37 PM)
you have been asking for prices since 4-5 months ago doh.gif
you actually buying or just playing a fool? i've never seen fool survey this long
Isnt it abit harsh so say something like tat? Not all ppl have the moolah to grab what they want. I dont think its foolish to be precise. If ur talking about fool, most probably Im the biggest fool of all, cuz Ive been eyeing this AVR's stuffs for a long long time. Anyway no hard feelings yeah..

This post has been edited by Jenn77: Jul 31 2009, 12:28 AM
Jenn77
post Jul 31 2009, 11:05 AM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,121 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Jul 31 2009, 09:49 AM)
Just came back fr Yammy sales
Apparently highest end i saw is 665, kinda disappointed.
Price for 665 was like 2k. I didnt buy anything
Speakers' discount was like 30% off.
Last year the deal was much better
Wow.. the best offer I got for 665 was 2.3k.. jimat another rm 300. Too bad bought PS3.. if not can sapu the 665. Ish! SOrry.. do they offer installments? sweat.gif sweat.gif
Jenn77
post Jul 31 2009, 02:34 PM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,121 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Jul 31 2009, 11:19 AM)
AFAIK no installment pack
AArgh.. tak jadi la mcm tu.. got to buy at 2.3k.. cry.gif

0.0337sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 11:16 PM