2 sub...
DigitalKL
post Apr 17 2008, 05:38 PM

1,360 posts

QUOTE(sham73 @ Apr 17 2008, 05:19 PM)
go for 3800 la
1800 and 3800 is almost the same spec.

anyway i think sunauto makes a good point - the Burr Brown DAC use in the yamahas are ....lower end than lets say Onkyos

here -

The PCM1792 chip is preferrable because it has a dynamic range of 132dB.
The PCM1796 has a dynamic range of 123 dB.
The PCM1791A has a dynamic range of only 113 dB.

Denon 4308CI and Yammy RX-V3800 have the PCM1791A.
Onkyo 805/875/905 have the PCM1796.
Yamaha RX-Z11 has the DSD1792.

and i dun understand what this means =
rxv1800 = Burr-Brown 192 kHz/24-bit DACs for front channels and 192 kHz/24-bit ADC for Main Zone
rxv663/863 = Burr-Brown 192kHz/24-bit DACs used in all channels

so what is 1800 using for the other channels? 663 is even better? rclxub.gif
welwitchia
post Apr 17 2008, 05:39 PM

1,219 posts

Thanks to all the poisoning here, esp from rx330, I just couldn't contain myself and went ahead to grab myself a V663 from Legend. Now time to set it up.. Argh..didn't even have lunch today..
ar188
post Apr 17 2008, 07:19 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(Reix @ Apr 17 2008, 05:21 PM)
It is 7.2, there are 2 input jacks for Subwoofer 1 & 2.
You will get deeper bass sound if you use both.
izzit? I tot deeper bass is dependent on the type of sub woofer?... not every sub can go 16-18Hz with even if you tambah 5 budget sub units to the sound system..
. while for some using just one REL can already settle that deep bass biggrin.gif
aiman04
post Apr 17 2008, 07:20 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(DigitalKL @ Apr 17 2008, 05:38 PM)

I suggest you go for a demo and compare yourself bro. Whatever junk they put in that heavy box, it all comes back to your own listening taste.

Beauty is in the eyes (or ears) of the beholder. tongue.gif
ar188
post Apr 17 2008, 07:20 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Apr 17 2008, 05:39 PM)
Thanks to all the poisoning here, esp from rx330, I just couldn't contain myself and went ahead to grab myself a V663 from Legend. Now time to set it up.. Argh..didn't even have lunch today..
hahaha! ... 663!! support!

how much did you manage to get the price down?
aiman04
post Apr 17 2008, 07:24 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Congrats!!! Lunch? Who needs lunch when you have a spanking brand-new Yammy receiver?

Please don't forget to take your dinner though. whistling.gif
welwitchia
post Apr 17 2008, 07:53 PM

1,219 posts

Didn't managed to get the price down..LOL. Dunno what made me buy it.. I guess I was bored sick while installing those damn software in UMMC Server room.

Anyway, please tell me if I doing this correctly.

In my PS3, I go into BD settings and set it to Linear PCM.

While playing the movie, the amp says PCM but the Dolby TrueHD and DTS HD indicators do not lit up. If I look at the info on the PS3, it does show Dolby True HD..

Thanks!!

BTW, the remote control is so butt ugly. Its so FAT!!

This post has been edited by welwitchia: Apr 17 2008, 08:03 PM
Reix
post Apr 17 2008, 08:14 PM

468 posts

This is correct.
Since your ps3 already decode the Dolby True HD and pass as PCM to your receiver, hence your receiver PCM indicator lit.
welwitchia
post Apr 17 2008, 08:34 PM

1,219 posts

^ Hmm.. ok thanks.. so I guess with the PS3, we'll never get to see the Dolby TrueHD and DTS HD indicators light up on the amp itself. tongue.gif
arj
post Apr 17 2008, 08:52 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

Nice! biggrin.gif

Wel, what speakers are you pairing it with?
welwitchia
post Apr 17 2008, 08:58 PM

1,219 posts

^ That's the bad part. My speaker sucks donkey A$$
Oh well, if u wanna know, Its the JBL SCS200.5
Bought it last year and was never happy with it. Somehow with this Yammy 663, the bass is severely lacking.
Please don't ask me to upgrade my speakers for now. That'll have to wait much longer.
arremie
post Apr 17 2008, 09:27 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Apr 17 2008, 07:53 PM)
Didn't managed to get the price down..LOL. Dunno what made me buy it.. I guess I was bored sick while installing those damn software in UMMC Server room.

Anyway, please tell me if I doing this correctly.

In my PS3, I go into BD settings and set it to Linear PCM.

While playing the movie, the amp says PCM but the Dolby TrueHD and DTS HD indicators do not lit up. If I look at the info on the PS3, it does show Dolby True HD..

Thanks!!

BTW, the remote control is so butt ugly. Its so FAT!!
Dude what version your PS3? I want to get the 40G one but the salesperson can't answer my question whether can update to latest firmware or not doh.gif
welwitchia
post Apr 17 2008, 09:30 PM

1,219 posts

^ Huh? Of course u can update the PS3 firmware. Mine's the 80Gb one..bought it many moons ago.
I suggest u don't buy from that retailer. I hate it when ppl try to beat around the bush.
arremie
post Apr 17 2008, 09:56 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Apr 17 2008, 09:30 PM)
^ Huh? Of course u can update the PS3 firmware. Mine's the 80Gb one..bought it many moons ago.
I suggest u don't buy from that retailer. I hate it when ppl try to beat around the bush.
Yeah I know what you meant but his price of RM1300 is so tempting drool.gif
Can PS3 pass through HD stream and let external HD decoder do the job?
asciii
post Apr 17 2008, 09:59 PM

Why So Serious?
858 posts

which dealer are you buying the ps3 from?

welwitchia

hows your new yammy?
welwitchia
post Apr 17 2008, 10:09 PM

1,219 posts

bought it from Legend. Err... All I can say is that it sounds 'brighter' than my previous
amp. The manual is so ridiculously thick its not even funny.

Edit: oops didn't realize u meant the ps3. Bought it @ Midvalley Megamall

This post has been edited by welwitchia: Apr 17 2008, 10:11 PM
asciii
post Apr 17 2008, 10:10 PM

Why So Serious?
858 posts

the truth..satisfied?
welwitchia
post Apr 17 2008, 10:14 PM

1,219 posts

I'll answer that when I sit down and watch a full movie.
apisgogo
post Apr 17 2008, 10:27 PM

Audiofreakosauros 6.1
925 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Apr 17 2008, 08:58 PM)
^ That's the bad part. My speaker sucks donkey A$$
Oh well, if u wanna know, Its the JBL SCS200.5
Bought it last year and was never happy with it. Somehow with this Yammy 663, the bass is severely lacking.
Please don't ask me to upgrade my speakers for now. That'll have to wait much longer.
Yammy hav quite a learning curve. the LFE/Bass channel in ur yammy is fine. all u need to do is calibration and some settings tweak. do YPAO calibration. Just plug in the supplied microphone, and run the auto test.. your speaker will outputting sounds and get calibrated. and u are done.

also, u could manually increase the LFE level in your sound menu.

i know the manual is thick and not funny, but if u digest it, you could have calibrate your new avr precisely and u will hav a spankin-kickin-butt sound. trust me

This post has been edited by apisgogo: Apr 17 2008, 10:28 PM

125 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0257sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:04 AM