Yamaha AVR Discussion Thread

Poadster
post Jul 31 2009, 07:18 PM

inspiRED: Fast and Furious
647 posts

QUOTE(Exarkun @ Jul 31 2009, 06:54 PM)
The Rm1673 price is for the open unit of 565 not 665. The 665 open unit was around RM2042 or something.

When I left there at around 1045am, only one 665 open unit (bought by wkang few minutes later), no more 565 (cause I bought the only open unit for RM1673), and two 465 (open unit) and one 365 (open unit).

The rest you see there are new ones with 20% off.
Strange, i dont recall any other persons viewing the AVR when i was watching them. Too bad i missed you or else we could have said hi.... hahahah

I bought the opened Black 465 (the only one), did u see any black opened 465 when u were there?

This post has been edited by Poadster: Jul 31 2009, 07:19 PM
versey
post Jul 31 2009, 07:21 PM

I Love Huawei ^_^
948 posts

Did u guys see yamaha subwoofer for sale? budget around RM 800.
Poadster
post Jul 31 2009, 07:34 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(versey @ Jul 31 2009, 07:21 PM)
Did u guys see yamaha subwoofer for sale?  budget around RM 800.
Yes, there were quite a few models there, mostly 30% off.

For less than RM700 (RM693 i think) there is one down firing sub (cant recall the model, there was an uncle looking for down firing sub under 700, the sales guy showed him this.). I think there is a 215 model there too.

Sorry, had no interest in subs, so cant be exact on the model.
wkang
post Jul 31 2009, 08:09 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(Poadster @ Jul 31 2009, 07:18 PM)
Strange, i dont recall any other persons viewing the AVR when i was watching them. Too bad i missed you or else we could have said hi.... hahahah

I bought the opened Black 465 (the only one), did u see any black opened 465 when u were there?
Yeah, would have been cool to meet!
Poadster
post Jul 31 2009, 09:56 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(wkang @ Jul 31 2009, 08:09 PM)
Yeah, would have been cool to meet!
Yeah.... anyway, great to join the Yammy club.....

Cant wait to setup the 465, but can only do it tomorrow evening.
Exarkun
post Jul 31 2009, 10:41 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(Poadster @ Jul 31 2009, 07:18 PM)

I saw a guy in striped t-shirt looking at the amps when i was there. When i left carrying my 565 i saw him talking on the phone outside the building. Was that you or was that wkang?
wkang
post Aug 1 2009, 01:04 AM

190 posts

Nope wasnt me. I was in office attire..haha... wink.gif
tbcheese
post Aug 1 2009, 08:20 PM

313 posts

Hi there, anyone here got any experience pairing the Yamaha V465 with the PSB Alpha B1 and C1 speakers?

I'm looking to set up a 3.0 system first and then add a subwoofer later if necessary. Maybe go surround if I manage to get rid of some of the clutter at home. In the meantime I'm shackled by budget constraints. =(

Appreciate any advice from all of you. Thanks.

Bummer I go around helping wkang survey and ended up joining the HT bandwagon myself.
moomoos
post Aug 1 2009, 10:43 PM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(tbcheese @ Aug 1 2009, 08:20 PM)
Hi there, anyone here got any experience pairing the Yamaha V465 with the PSB Alpha B1 and C1 speakers?

I'm looking to set up a 3.0 system first and then add a subwoofer later if necessary. Maybe go surround if I manage to get rid of some of the clutter at home. In the meantime I'm shackled by budget constraints. =(

Bummer I go around helping wkang survey and ended up joining the HT bandwagon myself.
How does RM1900.00 on 1 LCR, 2 rears and one 8"sub sound to you Attached Image

Later, add a pair or Mains, and convert the whole LCR to center

This post has been edited by moomoos: Aug 1 2009, 11:08 PM
tbcheese
post Aug 1 2009, 11:07 PM

313 posts

That looks very interesting. What make and model is that? I'd still prefer to buy in stages and avoid adding the subwoofer for as long as I can. Less painful that way =)

Thanks for the advice.
moomoos
post Aug 1 2009, 11:21 PM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(tbcheese @ Aug 1 2009, 11:07 PM)
That looks very interesting. What make and model is that? I'd still prefer to buy in stages and avoid adding the subwoofer for as long as I can. Less painful that way =)

Thanks for the advice.
You still can do w/o the sub... but no bass la bro,....These are satellites/sub combo

http://www.audica.co.uk/cssystem1.html
http://www.techradar.com/reviews/audio-vis...eview?artc_pg=2
http://www.soundandvisionmag.com/speakers/...3-speakers.html
http://www.audica.co.nz/site/reviews

my CS3 series, with LCR as center and additional pair of rear is arriving tomorrow rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by moomoos: Aug 1 2009, 11:25 PM
Poadster
post Aug 2 2009, 02:36 AM

647 posts

QUOTE(Exarkun @ Jul 31 2009, 10:41 PM)
I saw a guy in striped t-shirt looking at the amps when i was there. When i left carrying my 565 i saw him talking on the phone outside the building. Was that you or was that wkang?
That would be me, i was in a beige T-Shirt with black strips on the arms and collar.... was busy on the phone that i missed a fellow yammy owner carrying a new AVR. Would have spoken to you if i had noticed you carrying the AVR....

Mayb next time, or any future TT session....

Added on August 2, 2009, 2:59 am
QUOTE(tbcheese @ Aug 1 2009, 08:20 PM)

You can manually set it up the 465 to determine that the Sub and the surrounds as "None", thus making it a 3.0 system driver. I dont think the auto setup YPAO works without the other 2.1, but you can try.

I dont quite trust the YPAO, as the sound is not as to my liking. Had to manually tweak all the speaker settings to get them right. But setup was easy and with all 4 inputs and output is via HDMI, the rear cluster is really lessened now.

Also, i would put priorities on the Subs first, effectively building a 2.1 system as opposed to a 3.0. Notice most other systems are built 2.1 instead of 3.0, as the Subs will vastly improve the movie and music experience while the LR speakers can share the load of the Center. But this is my preference.

Did u get the 465 yet?

This post has been edited by Poadster: Aug 2 2009, 03:01 AM
tbcheese
post Aug 2 2009, 11:14 AM

313 posts

QUOTE(moomoos @ Aug 1 2009, 11:21 PM)
You still can do w/o the sub... but no bass la bro,....These are satellites/sub combo

http://www.audica.co.uk/cssystem1.html
http://www.techradar.com/reviews/audio-vis...eview?artc_pg=2
http://www.soundandvisionmag.com/speakers/...3-speakers.html
http://www.audica.co.nz/site/reviews

my CS3 series, with LCR as center and additional pair of rear is arriving tomorrow rclxm9.gif
Ahh neodynium magnet speakers. I'm always in awe of the capability of the tiny speakers. Although my last experience with such speakers were a little bit disappointing. My friend bought a set of Altec Lansing PC speakers which used neodynium magnets. Looked nice and sleek and put out some good sounds too but ultimately relied too much on the subwoofer for the low and even mid-range. Paired with a good Sub it should be good. Just a matter of personal preference. Congrats on completing your system (for the time being until the itch sets in again tongue.gif )

QUOTE(Poadster @ Aug 2 2009, 02:36 AM)

You can manually set it up the 465 to determine that the Sub and the surrounds as "None", thus making it a 3.0 system driver. I dont think the auto setup YPAO works without the other 2.1, but you can try.

I dont quite trust the YPAO, as the sound is not as to my liking. Had to manually tweak all the speaker settings to get them right. But setup was easy and with all 4 inputs and output is via HDMI, the rear cluster is really lessened now.

Also, i would put priorities on the Subs first, effectively building a 2.1 system as opposed to a 3.0. Notice most other systems are built 2.1 instead of 3.0, as the Subs will vastly improve the movie and music experience while the LR speakers can share the load of the Center. But this is my preference.

Did u get the 465 yet?
I got the 465 already at Yamaha yesterday biggrin.gif Drats and I was thinking of using the easy way out and use the YPAO too. No pain no gain

I was weighing between 2.1 and 3.0 but ultimately went with 3.0 as i figured the Center would be cheaper than the Sub. It's an unplanned purchase so gotta be careful with the spending. It doesn't help that my sudden purchase has necessitated the purchase of a new TV shelf hehehe. I'll reconsider about the 2.1 since you're the 2nd guy to recommend me this.

Got any suggestions for a budget of 1.2-1.5k? I know it's a bit tight but what can I do sweat.gif
Poadster
post Aug 2 2009, 05:20 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(tbcheese @ Aug 2 2009, 11:14 AM)
Ahh neodynium magnet speakers. I'm always in awe of the capability of the tiny speakers. Although my last experience with such speakers were a little bit disappointing. My friend bought a set of Altec Lansing PC speakers which used neodynium magnets. Looked nice and sleek and put out some good sounds too but ultimately relied too much on the subwoofer for the low and even mid-range. Paired with a good Sub it should be good. Just a matter of personal preference. Congrats on completing your system (for the time being until the itch sets in again  tongue.gif )
I got the 465 already at Yamaha yesterday  biggrin.gif  Drats and I was thinking of using the easy way out and use the YPAO too. No pain no gain

I was weighing between 2.1 and 3.0 but ultimately went with 3.0 as i figured the Center would be cheaper than the Sub. It's an unplanned purchase so gotta be careful with the spending. It doesn't help that my sudden purchase has necessitated the purchase of a new TV shelf hehehe. I'll reconsider about the 2.1 since you're the 2nd guy to recommend me this.

Got any suggestions for a budget of 1.2-1.5k? I know it's a bit tight but what can I do  sweat.gif
Good buy, did u get the open or new unit? Am loving the 465 after manually tweaking the unit to my liking, now need to see if the sound improves after the burn in period.

It may be too late for this advice, but there were Yammy subs at the clearance. There was a "down-firing" sub at sub 800 (pun intended... haha) and the 215 model was sub 600. Add that to you 3.0 and you get yrself a sweet 3.1, now all you need are the back speakers.

Hmmm... at 1.2 - 1.5, you could go the Yammy sub (at 800) and enuff left over to get the back speakers, and if u budget it correctly, the new TV shelf (not cabinet or tv rack, but shelf)...

Good luck.. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
tbcheese
post Aug 2 2009, 05:41 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(Poadster @ Aug 2 2009, 05:20 PM)
Good buy, did u get the open or new unit? Am loving the 465 after manually tweaking the unit to my liking, now need to see if the sound improves after the burn in period.

It may be too late for this advice, but there were Yammy subs at the clearance. There was a "down-firing" sub at sub 800 (pun intended... haha) and the 215 model was sub 600. Add that to you 3.0 and you get yrself a sweet 3.1, now all you need are the back speakers.

Hmmm... at 1.2 - 1.5, you could go the Yammy sub (at 800) and enuff left over to get the back speakers, and if u budget it correctly, the new TV shelf (not cabinet or tv rack, but shelf)...

Good luck..  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Thanks! I got the new set as my dad was thinking 200 bucks saving for an open set wasn't worth it. More peace of mind with an additional 6 months warranty. I saw the Subs at the Yammy sale but wasn't really interested at the time. On hindsight I should've spent a bit more time there hmm.gif

I was at A&L and was quoted RM1150 for a pair of Alpha B1 + a C1. I was ready to buy at that price already but gave myself a few days to be absolutely sure.

Walked into SenQ and saw a set of Jamo on display. S416HCS3 (5 speakers going for RM1349) and SUB200 (subwoofer unit going for RM669). Didn't get a thorough audition as they had issues with the Sub and were using a low quality Transformers DVD. Even without the Sub the tower speakers seem to be doing the low end pretty well. Got any opinions on this one? The price is mighty attractive. With the Jamo towers I might not need to get a new shelf too. Just rearrange the current shelf a bit.
Exarkun
post Aug 2 2009, 08:18 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(Poadster @ Aug 2 2009, 02:36 AM)
That would be me, i was in a beige T-Shirt with black strips on the arms and collar.... was busy on the phone that i missed a fellow yammy owner carrying a new AVR. Would have spoken to you if i had noticed you carrying the AVR....

Mayb next time, or any future TT session....
That was you? Heh, somehow I knew there would be lowyat.net members at the sale smile.gif Would have been nice to hang out and discuss our love for Yammy. The 565 is my second yammy receiver. My old 540 was bought 6 years ago and lacked HDMI and HD Audio decoding.

Alas, I myself could not stay cause wife bising want to quickly go back so she can go to office.

This post has been edited by Exarkun: Aug 2 2009, 08:19 PM
gchee
post Aug 3 2009, 04:55 PM

70 posts

Guys, I want to get the 1900 but have not done much price survey yet. Anyone can tell me where is the best place to get it from?

By the way, I was also there (yamaha sale) nearly bought the open unit 665 but decide to get the 1900 instead.
moomoos
post Aug 3 2009, 05:35 PM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(gchee @ Aug 3 2009, 04:55 PM)
Guys, I want to get the 1900 but have not done much price survey yet. Anyone can tell me where is the best place to get it from?

By the way, I was also there (yamaha sale) nearly bought the open unit 665 but decide to get the 1900 instead.
good choice bro...
but prepare for ammunition biggrin.gif
maskedchan
post Aug 3 2009, 05:42 PM

6,022 posts

QUOTE(gchee @ Aug 3 2009, 04:55 PM)

before you decide 1900, try to give a try on marantz 6003 smile.gif
can get in A&L
moomoos
post Aug 3 2009, 06:05 PM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Aug 3 2009, 05:42 PM)
before you decide 1900, try to give a try on marantz 6003 smile.gif
can get in A&L
yes its always healthy to compare, thats what competitors are for, if not no advancement in technology.

i'm sure you'll fall in love with the Yammy 1900 tongue.gif

125 Pages « < 115 116 117 118 119 > » Top

0.0199sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 06:38 PM