Do i over-insured, anyone?

TSg00glesYYl
post Feb 14 2008, 05:41 PM, updated 18y ago

Prince Onboard
1,056 posts

ok. i am 25 yr old.

my friend apporach me to invest in ING investment link plan. This plan include the insurance plus the investment.

She say, pay RM150 per month, you will have the coverage of
100,000 - life insurance,
100,000 - pa,
100,000 - diagnosis major illnesses.
10,000 - total & permanent disability.

then some investment income.

the first 7 yr will be partial insurance and investment, the 8th yr, all you money will go to investment. then, u can get back more money after 7 yrs, of course the investment is perform good at the first place.

They offer min 2-9% of return.

what to yo think?

my case is, if accept the offer, rm150 + rm50 (medical card). Do i over-insured?
TSg00glesYYl
post Feb 14 2008, 06:09 PM

Prince Onboard
1,056 posts

QUOTE(Naota-kun @ Feb 14 2008, 06:48 PM)
insurance policies with "investment benefits" are most of the time, bullshit.

when the time comes u wanna get the money, they will tell u all sorts of cock n bull stories.
yes, it is true. But currently, i will having the medical card only. should not be enough.

I ask her that, if i wan the PA only, one yr is about RM700.

then i add RM1100 more, then i have more coverage and some return.
TSg00glesYYl
post Feb 15 2008, 12:18 PM

Prince Onboard
1,056 posts

1. my salary is about 2400 - 2700 (after deduct the epf + part time allowance). Hopefully will be increase after march.

My monthly saving is like +-200 (if i pay RM200 for the insurance)

2. of course, i have parent and they are the only person that need my financial help.

3. i am doing programming and company actually but the term life and group pa for me. But i can depend on this.

4. my worries is, i have no money to buy house.
TSg00glesYYl
post Feb 28 2008, 09:31 AM

Prince Onboard
1,056 posts

QUOTE(yewkhuay @ Feb 28 2008, 07:39 AM)
gosh, i hope u haven't signed anything, ur plan is Under-explained. where the hell in this world on 8th yr all ur money go to investment only. and at ur age u can get more protection with 150/m in similiar plan WITH medical card.

and the return is not OFFERED , is PROJECTED.
1-7 yrs, the money to cover the insurance plus investment.

most money got to insurance, so, the money i can get back is very less. After 7 yrs, then u can see the return is more.

i am very lazy to make any comparison liao. So, i think i will take this offer.
TSg00glesYYl
post Feb 28 2008, 10:16 AM

Prince Onboard
1,056 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Feb 28 2008, 10:43 AM)
g00glesYYl,

<<i am very lazy to make any comparison liao. So, i think i will take this offer.>>

1)  You WORK so hard for your money.  But, you are TOO LAZY to make sure that you do not WASTE your money.  Where is the logic here?? This is a HUGE commitment across many years.

2) Insurance is NOT savings.  If you cannot save at least 10% to 15% of your gross income after paying insurance, you are buying TOO MUCH insurance.

Dreamer
haha. correct. u have the point and i understand.

but human is like this. sad.gif
TSg00glesYYl
post May 9 2008, 10:55 PM

Prince Onboard
1,056 posts

i already having the plan.

i think, most of the people know, insurance is for protection.

RM200 is about my 7% of nett income. So, i think i am still afford especially when i am single as now.

investment is bomnus for it. Investment link does not gurantee the return, and this is the risk. Yet, it can create more return than Life insurance.

When there is a risk, there is a chance.

With this amount, i can have the protection and may be the return. Why not?

The only risk i forseen is, i lost my return. And just like unit trust. i need force to cancel it. So, i need to take an eye on it always... And, i told my agent to alert me on this.

TSg00glesYYl
post May 10 2008, 08:07 AM

Prince Onboard
1,056 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ May 10 2008, 12:34 AM)
g00glesYYl,

<<RM200 is about my 7% of nett income. So, i think i am still afford especially when i am single as now.>>

If you are saving 10% to 15% of your GROSS INCOME on top of that, you can afford IT.  If not, you CANNOT.  In ALL your posts so far, you DID not mention what is your saving level.  If you SAVE NOTHING, you are SPENDING TOO MUCH.  End of discussion.

Dreamer
smile.gif haha. ya, i nvr mention how is my saving level. To be honest, last time, when i have no credit card in my hand. i am still able to keep track how much i really save from my income, using simple excel form. Now, i does not able to do so. Yes, i am lazy. I know i am. But, i believe that, i am able to save 15% from my income.

Since one of my FD is mature and i do not plan to renew it. As, i plan to put the cash in bank -> RM10k to public bank foreign currency FD very soon. And, i have no unit trust and other investment.

I will clear the credit card debt in every statement. i never kena interest before. smile.gif

The major expenses is my car, installment RM500 and the petrol. also some dating fee.

When i read thru the post, my concern is that, i buy wrong insurance as investment link is not the one for me.

TSg00glesYYl
post May 11 2008, 08:28 PM

Prince Onboard
1,056 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ May 10 2008, 10:04 AM)
g00glesYYl,

Let's do some simple math.

<<1. my salary is about 2400 - 2700 (after deduct the epf + part time allowance)>>

That means your gross income (aka + EPF)  ~ 3K

10% of gross income = $300

15% of gross income = $450

So, you should save $300 to $450 per month

<<My monthly saving is like +-200 (if i pay RM200 for the insurance)>>

Your monthly saving after insurance is ONLY $200 = 6.7% of your gross income.  Aka, it is less than $300 per month.

In summary, you CANNOT afford the insurance.

<<Since one of my FD is mature and i do not plan to renew it. As, i plan to put the cash in bank -> RM10k to public bank foreign currency FD very soon>>

How wise is that?? If you have an emergency and that foreign currency crash at that week, you will be toasted.

Your EMERGENCY FUND should NEVER exposed to ANY risk.

Dreamer
Sorry, i does not update my income. Well, this yr start, i have my increment. Now, basic is 3k and 4~500 allowance. And plus the bonus and travel/project allowance when i can travel oversea. But, not every month i can travel. this make me have less money... smile.gif

oohh. the 10k is not my emergency fund. i have nvr say that. i still have 10k more located in normal FD.

Hi lwb
Foreign FD is very hot recently. It is better than the normal FD. The risk should be lower than the unit trust as the foreign currency like aus and nz is stable compare to malaysia. So you know how this foreign FD working?

Well, i really feel thank you to your bcoz you all give such a lot of experience and opinion to me. Yes, we need to think a lot before do something. Yes, i am lazy, but i too study the plan b4, just may be not to detail.

This is year 2008, the old thing sometime cant work. If you really wan to argue, there will be a lot of things.

Dun make the life suffer. And, most of the people become rich not because how good they save the money but it is how good they use their saving make money for them. How many of you become very rich because just your saving?

build the foundation and then ... fly~~ If you fail, just mean that, you are not good enough.

This post has been edited by g00glesYYl: May 11 2008, 08:30 PM
TSg00glesYYl
post May 12 2008, 09:16 AM

Prince Onboard
1,056 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ May 12 2008, 12:30 AM)
g00glesYYl,

<<orry, i does not update my income. Well, this yr start, i have my increment. Now, basic is 3k and 4~500 allowance.>>

Do you know SIMPLE MATHS?? That means with HIGHER INCOME, your saving level of 10% to 15% of your GROSS INCOME is even higher.  After insurance, you are STILL not saving 10% to 15%.  So, you CANNOT AFFORD the insurance.

<<Dun make the life suffer. And, MOST of the people become rich not because how good they save the money but it is how good they use their saving make money for them. How many of you become very rich because just your saving?>>

How do you know?? How MANY millionaires that you KNOW personally??

I know plenty of people that become rich just from their savings.

Earn, save, invest.

If your earning is SO MUCH that you only need savings and invest a little bit is ENOUGH.

Don't assume SOMETHING that you know NOTHING about.

From your POSTS, we know that you know VERY LITTLE about personal finance.  So, how dare you to assume ANYTHING??  Isn't it foolish??

Dreamer
Based on what, you claim that, after insurance, i still not able to save 10 - 15%? i already mention i have the increment and of course i will have more saving as my increment is over 20-30%.

Yes, i know very little about the personal finance and i never assume anything as what you say.

Earn, save, invest. -> this is everyone know's fact. Like chinese say, "who do not know your mother is a ladies? biggrin.gif " Work hard is a must to gain better income. I am talking about the thing over the scope.

Your post is different from what i learn from the personal financial advisor. hey dreamer, why i cant listen to who is professional.

i might be foolish... but thank, i will remember you when i have more money.

QUOTE(VeeGie @ May 12 2008, 01:18 AM)
They offer u the min return is 2-9%, izzit guaranteed 1  ?
the min is guaranteed. However, the max is not. Why? Because it is a livestment link, it can gove you more return compare to Life insurance(fixed 4~5%). U wan more, then u need to take the risk.

TSg00glesYYl
post May 12 2008, 01:48 PM

Prince Onboard
1,056 posts

Well, seem like we are having the different point of view.

Nothing to be argue.

wish you all the best in your life.

hi dreamer, my advise to you, dun understand the statement in sentences but read in overall. It is very dangerous as it will cause the missunderstanding. If you are christian. Consult your pastor on how to read bible.

This post has been edited by g00glesYYl: May 12 2008, 01:57 PM
TSg00glesYYl
post May 12 2008, 03:35 PM

Prince Onboard
1,056 posts

Ok boon. i got you. thank you

0.0264sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:55 AM