Do i over-insured, anyone?

bbjslee
post May 9 2008, 10:00 PM

Benkyo benkyo benkyo
2,247 posts

QUOTE(b00n @ May 9 2008, 12:02 PM)
Why we term savings as savings is not because you do not need to use that money so you pack it up and saves. Savings is needed in case of emergency. Thus liquidity is not there in Insurance or it's not flexible enough to be termed as "savings". In hard times, we would rely on our savings to live. Thus save less or next to nothing and constantly withdraw from our savings. Insurance plan cannot provide that unless you already have sufficient "cash value" which take years to build. So in a way, one looses both his protection and "savings" because he cannot afford to pay for it; as combination of this "all for 1 package" usually is not cheap.
"Savings is needed in case of emergency". Now... think, what is emergency?

- Is going to Karaoke emergency?
- Buying handphone?
- Buying gift for gf/bf?
or...
- Had an accident warded to hospital require surgery?
- Diagnosed with cancer, requires treatment?
- Husband passed away (bread winner of family), how much can you survive with the saving in the bank?

RM150 / month, you get RM100k death benefit, how many months do you need to save to reach RM100k if you save RM150 per month?

Majority traditional Life Insurance plan will break even about 15 - 20 years, which means Surrender Value is more than total premium you paid.
So if you bought an Insurance plan at the age of 22, and when you reach say.... age 65 you feel that you are old enough... die die la, don't need the insurance anymore, no more dependent... etc. You can surrender the policy and a very high chances are the cash you got back is more than the premiums you paid.

Yes. I'm an Insurance Agent (GE). What I'm trained in giving a quotation to client is...
1. Annual premium should be around monthly salary to maintain affordability. You're only putting about 8% of your monthly salary into insurance.
- Salary RM2400/monthly, pay about RM200 per month for your insurance lor.

2. Sum assured should be around 3 times your yearly expenses. So that your dependent can survive on your insurance for at least 3 years or more.
- Monthly expenses about RM2000, 3 years is RM72000. Sum assured is RM72000.

**Don't treat Insurance as the only form of saving or investment. As we all know, higher risk, higher return. Insurance product is considered risk free, so the return.... whistling.gif . BUT Insurance policy is a saving account you must have, and discipline yourself to save into it. Can understand ah? tongue.gif**

This post has been edited by bbjslee: May 9 2008, 10:09 PM
bbjslee
post May 9 2008, 10:42 PM

Benkyo benkyo benkyo
2,247 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ May 9 2008, 10:12 PM)
bbjslee,

So, if someone is lay off, they can come to you for money.  Since you told them that they ONLY need insurance, they do not need EMERGENCY FUND.

<< Yes. I'm an Insurance Agent (GE). What I'm trained in giving a quotation to client is...
1. Annual premium should be around monthly salary to maintain affordability. You're only putting about 8% of your monthly salary into insurance.
- Salary RM2400/monthly, pay about RM200 per month for your insurance lor.

2. Sum assured should be around 3 times your yearly expenses. So that your dependent can survive on your insurance for at least 3 years or more.
- Monthly expenses about RM2000, 3 years is RM72000. Sum assured is RM72000.>>

B.S.  It is VERY SIMPLE.  If a person is NOT saving 10% to 15% of their GROSS INCOME, they are spending TOO MUCH.  So, a person SHOULD NOT pay 8% to insurance and if they cannot SAVE 10% to 15% of their GROSS INCOME on top of that.

<<Majority traditional Life Insurance plan will break even about 15 - 20 years, which means Surrender Value is more than total premium you paid.>>

How likely for a person to continue employment/income uninterrupted for 15 to 20 years?

<<which means Surrender Value is more than total premium you paid.>>

If a person buy term life insurance and save the additional premium into FD, the person will make MORE MOENY.

Dreamer
I understand your point of view, and I agree to a certain extend.

1. Maybe you replied before I added the footnote.
Don't treat Insurance as the only form of saving or investment.

2. Does your saving in bank account provides any coverage?
3. How many people are disciplined enough to save into bank (saving/FD) monthly/yearly? If most of us are financially disciplined enough, there won't be so many credit card slaves in Malaysia.
4. How likely is a person to be unemployed for 3 months in Malaysia? (Not even a cashier / waitress job?)
5. Do you know you can apply for loan on your whole life plan? I know some business man applied for the loan before without much hassle when their business are in dire need of some cash.

It seems that you're more towards Term Insurance instead of whole life / ILP.
That's your personal view, but do you know what are the disadvantages of it?
- There is no return when the policy expires
- Premium starts off low when you're young and increases as you get older
- Limited riders/supp. benefit
bbjslee
post May 10 2008, 12:04 AM

Benkyo benkyo benkyo
2,247 posts

QUOTE(b00n @ May 9 2008, 11:28 PM)
Did you read. I never say no insurance. Insurance is for protection which is for the cases whereby you mentioned above.
Savings is for emergency....when you hit recession, when you're layed off, when someone in your family needs money, when you need money, when you want to buy house, when you need to get married, when you plan for oversea trips etc...
(btw, I haven't even go long winded about the utmost importance of emergency fund)
Tell me what can insurance do in this condition.
Thus I disagree with treating insurance as savings, and especially despise when the word "force savings" is being used! End of story. You may do an own survey by asking CFP's opinion.
Thus I did mention there's a lot of hot debate on this definition.

Btw, while you quoted my statement:
"Why we term savings as savings is not because you do not need to use that money so you pack it up and saves. Savings is needed in case of emergency. Thus liquidity is not there in Insurance or it's not flexible enough to be termed as "savings". In hard times, we would rely on our savings to live. Thus save less or next to nothing and constantly withdraw from our savings. Insurance plan cannot provide that unless you already have sufficient "cash value" which take years to build. So in a way, one looses both his protection and "savings" because he cannot afford to pay for it; as combination of this "all for 1 package" usually is not cheap."
You never talk about the liquidity part and the chance of both losing his protection and "savings" portion which I mentioned.
So any insights on that?

And if possible, I guess you may correct me also in my last statement which was not in your quote:
"Anyway, back to the topic of over insured.
If a large portion of one earning goes to insurance and left nothing for "savings" than that's over insured.
Or when sometimes one felt burdened by paying their insurance than that's a very clear sign of over insured!
I've seen many ppl who are burdened by their insurance premium. Especially those that pay through credit cards. And It's because of paying via cards that I disagree that it's savings. Investment and protection yes....but never in my terms I would recognised insurance as "savings"
"
Since you talked about credit card debts and bad financial discipline. So if the guy doesn't have any discipline to save in banks and are card slaves, insurance "forced savings" would help him?!
Sorry maybe have misinterpreted your POV. I sincerely apologize for it.

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ May 9 2008, 11:34 PM)
g00glesYYl,

<<RM200 is about my 7% of nett income. So, i think i am still afford especially when i am single as now.>>

If you are saving 10% to 15% of your GROSS INCOME on top of that, you can afford IT.  If not, you CANNOT.  In ALL your posts so far, you DID not mention what is your saving level.  If you SAVE NOTHING, you are SPENDING TOO MUCH.  End of discussion.

Dreamer

Added on May 9, 2008, 11:37 pm

bbjslee,

1) How many recessions have you experienced in your life??

2) You can be under-employed too.  Aka, used to be manager but now work as casher.  With reduced income, you need savings to supplement your income to survive for a while.

Dreamer
1. We do agree on certain things.
- SAVING IS A MUST.
- Certain protection should be in place. (Dreamer seems to be more supportive of term insurance than whole life)

2. What we couldn't really agree on is what is EMERGENCY.
- We have different personal definition on it.
- For me, any events regarding health or accident is more emergency because we could never foresee it coming.
- Besides, when you are unemployed, the last thing you want is being involved in an accident or have some serious health problem.

3. I'm a strong believer in forced saving. I set my saving account (salary) into Scheduled Inter Giro into my another bank account which I do not have ATM card or CC. And I do set aside about 20% of my salary for saving. Anyway just in case some of you got confused, I'm a part time insurance agent working towards fulltime now.

Anyway, the thread is about "Over-insured". That could never be a clear guideline on that. There are people who buy insurance policy with premium 20% of their income. It has to be reviewed case by case basis.

Added on May 10, 2008, 12:07 am
QUOTE(lwb @ May 10 2008, 12:01 AM)
hi bbjslee,

for this, i really have to say.. you probably haven't been through any recession before.. you're probably young and naive (tending towards ignorance).
I grad in 2002 almost into 30s now. I've never been out of job for a week. Perhaps I was lucky laugh.gif

Anyway, the way you put it, is almost like personal attack. cool2.gif

We're here to share our POV on the subject "over-insured".

This post has been edited by bbjslee: May 10 2008, 12:07 AM
bbjslee
post May 10 2008, 07:31 AM

Benkyo benkyo benkyo
2,247 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ May 10 2008, 04:21 AM)
bbjslee,

1) You did not say in your post.

2) From financial standpoint, Emergency is anything that requirement MORE MONEY than your usual expenses.

<< For me, any events regarding health or accident is more emergency because we could never foresee it coming.
- Besides, when you are unemployed, the last thing you want is being involved in an accident or have some serious health problem.>>

You COULD NOT forecast a time where you can be unemployed for a long time.  But, does that mean you do not prepared for this??

3) You WOULD NOT BUY so much insurance that you could not save 20% of your income.  But, you WILL NOT give the same advice to others.  This is called hypocrite.  You do not believe what you are saying.

<<Anyway, the thread is about "Over-insured". That could never be a clear guideline on that. There are people who buy insurance policy with premium 20% of their income. It has to be reviewed case by case basis.>>

B.S.  You have a guideline for yourself.  But, you would not tell others because it prevents you from selling more insurance.

<<I grad in 2002 almost into 30s now. I've never been out of job for a week. Perhaps I was lucky  laugh.gif >>

It simply means that you have NEVER been through a recession.  Aka, you are YOUNG and NAIVE.

Dreamer
1. I couldn't tell you step 1 - step 100 how I sell insurance. This is not "how to sell insurance" thread. The 1 golden rule that I uphold is Be HONEST to your client. That's how I would get return clients and more referrals. Besides, I wouldn't want my client to stop his Insurance policy due to financial problem. Having less commission is better than stop of commission.

2. I agree with you. That is why I already stressed in my post. DO NOT treat insurance as your only saving. Besides the recession/employment you've been stressing all the time, you still need saving to buy cars, houses.

3. Back to my point 1.

- Have you made any insurance claim or anyone close to you made a claim before?

bbjslee
post May 10 2008, 08:14 AM

Benkyo benkyo benkyo
2,247 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ May 10 2008, 07:45 AM)
bbjslee,

The title of this thread is whether the TS is over-insured

A) I said if TS cannot save 10% to 15% of his gross income, he is over-insured.

B) You claim that is not true. 

But,

C) Personally, you save 20% of your income while buying insurance.

So, should we believe (B) aka what you say or © aka what you do??  Or, you are just a hypocrite??

Dreamer
Gosh... you never sleep? doh.gif

How did I claim that is not true? Did I mention it from one of my sentence or you summarised it from my various post?

Why not you share with us what kind of insurance policy you have and why you chose it? (If you do not have any, then why?)
- I could learn some new points of selling insurance, and product idea to sell to people who have same mindset as you. icon_idea.gif
- People who are reading the thread could benefit from your sharing, since you been through recession soooo many times.

Added on May 10, 2008, 8:18 am
QUOTE(g00glesYYl @ May 10 2008, 08:07 AM)
When i read thru the post, my concern is that, i buy wrong insurance as investment link is not the one for me.
Have your insurance agent told you
- What are the pros and cons of the product?
- What would happen if company's investment is not performing at all?
- What is the GUARANTEED coverage? is "Coverage" NOT "Return"

If missing any of the above, go back to your agent and ask him/her to explain again.

This post has been edited by bbjslee: May 10 2008, 08:18 AM
bbjslee
post Mar 10 2009, 08:51 AM

Benkyo benkyo benkyo
2,247 posts

QUOTE(lcl832002 @ Mar 10 2009, 12:55 AM)
I will not defend AIA if it is really unstable. Why? Because I am also a consumer. For your information, all the financial institutions including banks and insurance companies in Malaysia are regulated closely by Bank Negara Malaysia (BNM). So, BNM will not allow bankruptcy happening to them. If a financial institution really has to declare bankruptcy, BNM will protect our interests as consumers and policyholders.

Your agent is right. Even AIG bankrupts tomorrow, AIA Berhad is still very stable as it has been separated from AIG. Last year, AIA in Malaysia earned a pre-tax profit of around RM 200 million. The words "An AIG Company" will be deleted when AIA changes its logo again in the future. AIA is no longer called AIA. In the near future, AIA will be named as AIAG, AIA Group. So, AIA is a group by itself.

If you are still worried, please read my blog. There is a letter written by the CEO of AIA Berhad. Just click the link below...
If AIA Malaysia try to disassociate itself from AIG, meaning to say AIA Malaysia can no longer be proud of itself as one of the largest Insurance Company in the world.
And furthermore why put Manchester United team on the front page of AIA.com.my? It is AIG that sponsor it, not AIAG or AIA Group. Unless meaning to say, AIA Malaysia has not been 100% separated from AIG. Unless of course, "Separation" still in process.

OT: Please complain to your AIA IT department, www.aia.com.my MUST use IE to load.... @#$%^&

0.0215sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 04:30 PM