how long does it take? for this result?, ^_^ just curious

TSlightonokira
post Feb 14 2008, 02:14 PM, updated 18y ago

788 posts

Y the video doesnt come up?????????

swt i wud love to play im alright by neil zaza if i train hard how long does it take till i can play dat song!?

EDIT: Your Friendly neighborhood mod made the changes. You're welcome.

oo mod thanx ^^ like dat arr easy mer

This post has been edited by lightonokira: Feb 14 2008, 05:17 PM
jejari7
post Feb 14 2008, 02:26 PM

385 posts

try your very hard first then u'll know.. we dont know wat's ur level so cant conclude anything..
TSlightonokira
post Feb 14 2008, 02:29 PM

788 posts

oO? usually for u guys how long? ( im not comparing happy.gif )

Added on February 14, 2008, 2:30 pmor any tips on where to learn those tabs? rite now im just using guitar pro 5 for self learning

This post has been edited by lightonokira: Feb 14 2008, 02:30 PM
blacktrix
post Feb 14 2008, 02:57 PM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

How long have you been already playing?
How long do you practice a-day?
How long do you actually INTEND to keep practicing that way?

You can play like that in less a month if you practice 8 hours aday, 7 times a week. Break only to eat and sleep. Don't even go to the bathroom. Poop and peep in your pants. And sleep for 4 hours..... and you'll be playing like a pro in no time!!!!!!
TSlightonokira
post Feb 14 2008, 03:16 PM

788 posts

oo what a nice advice T_T...
any other advice ?? like where do i self learning? reccommended programs or wat ever as long as it is self learning
rogerwee
post Feb 14 2008, 04:35 PM

312 posts

wah! isnt that jerry c playing canon rock??

i really like mattrach version on canon rock on you tube.

This post has been edited by rogerwee: Feb 14 2008, 04:50 PM
Vyers
post Feb 14 2008, 04:51 PM

30 posts

Actually...jerryc's version of I'm Alright isn't that hard.
What I did to learn it was get his guitar pro tab and also the mp3 backing track. And then break down the song into sections and practice those sections individually.
TSlightonokira
post Feb 14 2008, 05:15 PM

788 posts

Vyers mind telling me where to get the backing track?
Vyers
post Feb 14 2008, 05:22 PM

30 posts

I got it from http://www.guitarbt.com/index.php?page=dl_...cat=Neil%20Zaza

I think it's the first one...but I'm not sure. Btw, this site has a lot of other backing tracks you might be interested in.

TSlightonokira
post Feb 14 2008, 05:26 PM

788 posts

Thanx dude thank u!!!
wreckens15
post Feb 14 2008, 08:08 PM

874 posts

QUOTE(rogerwee @ Feb 14 2008, 04:35 PM)
wah! isnt that jerry c playing canon rock??

i really like mattrach version on canon rock on you tube.

godamnit that guy play guitar highhhhhhhhh
it looks damn retro
and this version pwns

lol i played 2 years still cant manage to do the arpegious and a.harmonics part to lazy to practice damn
vmad.gif vmad.gif

SUSbman
post Feb 14 2008, 08:51 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(wreckens15 @ Feb 14 2008, 08:08 PM)
godamnit that guy play guitar highhhhhhhhh
it looks damn retro
and this version pwns

lol i played 2 years still cant manage to do the arpegious and a.harmonics part to lazy to practice damn
vmad.gif  vmad.gif
mattrach version has a nice tone, but the melody doesn't match the original.

The flow is not as good as the original. If not for the backing track you wouldn't know what song he is playing.

His version is more of a technical display to the point he raped and killed the original song.

I still prefer the original jerryc version.

rogerwee
post Feb 14 2008, 09:57 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(bman @ Feb 14 2008, 08:51 PM)

The flow is not as good as the original. If not for the backing track you wouldn't know what song he is playing.

His version is more of a technical display to the point he raped and killed the original song.

actually matrach got three version of canon rock on youtube...
mochamania
post Feb 14 2008, 10:23 PM

268 posts

i'm alright is an intermediate song.not that hard..just keep practicing your string skipping and you should be good to go. and i second what Vyers said.
liew90kw
post Feb 15 2008, 12:36 AM

239 posts

i'm alright is also on my long (and GROWING. fast.) list of songs to learn.
problem is i don't think I can do the sweep picking parts for say......another year or two.
TSlightonokira
post Feb 15 2008, 12:46 AM

788 posts

Ohh another year or two??!!! btw what is palm muting??... can i do it with accoustic guitar??

Added on February 15, 2008, 12:53 am
QUOTE(bman @ Feb 14 2008, 08:51 PM)

i agree jerry c's version sounds original.. not like the other canon rock

This post has been edited by lightonokira: Feb 15 2008, 12:53 AM
SUSbman
post Feb 15 2008, 02:02 AM

503 posts

QUOTE(easlynich @ Feb 15 2008, 01:45 AM)
say, any1 can tell me what the use of learning the scales? as in... now i can do major and minor pentanoid. so, what can i do with them?
1. You can move your fingers faster, more independence, and if you do it right, your pinky also useful, you become a 4 fingers player, like me. Nyuk nyuk nyuk.

2. Many songs are based on some sort of scales. You will be able to learn new songs and solos much faster.

3. You can improvise, write better songs based on certain scale progression theories. This is for the advanced players already, I am not there yet.

4. Improves your hearing and able to recognise notes better, helps you to learn songs by the ear. When you hear a bluesy music you know for sure it must be based on a blues pattern so you can find your notes easily after you found the root/key. If you hear a Chinese/eastern music, straight away think of the pentatonic minors from there.

But so far I think the immediate benefits would be faster/accurate fingers and easier to learn new songs. This applies to songs with leads/solos only. Chord strumming is not very related, that's where arpeggios comes but later lah, when you come to sweep picking.

The improvisation and composing part is later.

Many newbies make a mistake of learning to play songs first, and developed very bad techniques.

Many ended up a 3 finger player and completely neglected the pinky. I've seen those gwailos, good guitar players but always use 3 fingers only and stretch apart on areas that requires 4 fingers, 1 fret each finger.

If i told you I played nothing but scales for 1 whole year, not sure you believe or not. I am one who dont find playing scales to be boring... since I am quite obsessed with it and have developed some sort of OCD towards getting the perfect no-mistake scales.

But this damn helped me a lot, so my first song is saber rider and the star sheriffs.... Almost finished learning the song already, can play the solo/lead faster than the default 157 bpm.

Scales also helps you to be a shredder, if you wanna play like yngwie malmsteen you definitely gotta learn even more and practice them regularly and understand the theory behind it and scale progression.

This mostly apply to electric guitar players.

If you're an acoustic strummer, it wont be so useful unless you wanna play something like Paul Gilbert's acoustic 'Be With You' from Mr Big.

wreckens15
post Feb 15 2008, 08:57 AM

874 posts

QUOTE(bman @ Feb 15 2008, 02:02 AM)

Many newbies make a mistake of learning to play songs first, and developed very bad techniques.

Many ended up a 3 finger player and completely neglected the pinky. I've seen those gwailos, good guitar players but always use 3 fingers only and stretch apart on areas that requires 4 fingers, 1 fret each finger.
If i told you I played nothing but scales for 1 whole year, not sure you believe or not. I am one who dont find playing scales to be boring... since I am quite obsessed with it and have developed some sort of OCD towards getting the perfect no-mistake scales.

i absolutely agree with u bman! ive train very had to use my pinky and i can do my arpeggio very well with it!
pinky is totally usefull though it can stretch longer and it shows u r good if people see u play rather than keeping the pinky below the neck

SUSbman
post Feb 15 2008, 04:41 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(easlynich @ Feb 15 2008, 04:03 PM)
bman, can u gimme some tips on how to train scale? as in, how to practise with them. just keep repeat the pattern?
http://www.cyberfret.com/scales/basic/page2.php

If you want to be fairly nimble, practice the blues scale, don't cheat and skip the pinky.

It trains overall finger dexterity and independence, start from the 5th fret.

Then move down to 6th and so on, repeat back forth with alternate picking.

This pattern is universal, so I guess you can solo on any key since all relative notes within the blues scale are 'relative', just as with other scales I guess.

Then the next, go for the major scale, this one trains the ring and the pinky finger, quite torture to be able to play fast on this scale. I am faster on the blues than the major scale. Basically major scales focuses on the last 3 fingers, especially the ring and pinky.

Now I am reworking my major scales, I am not so good compared to the blues scale. You can really feel the weakness/blurness of your tendon strength on major scales.

Currently in my opinion, these 2 are the important scales for finger independence and dexterity. The rest you can practice later I guess, once you're good with both the blues and major scale. The minor pentatonic is just basically blues with some missing notes. I think if you're already good with the blues, the minor pentatonic is a non-issue, that's why I suggest just go straight for the blues instead first.

The other scales trains your wrist shifting, so don't forget to learn them also.

Just practice these 5 basic ones, all you need for fast fingers/dexterity for a beginner.

If you're free ah, try shredding them back/forth in under 5 seconds, then 3, then 2.

It's fun to get clear/clean shredded scales, you will get addicted!

Then once you're ready, learning solo/leads would be a BREEZE.

Of course, improvisation is another topic altogether, I haven't even really worked on those yet. Having too much fun doing covers of songs i like, mainly 80s cartoon and anime songs. tongue.gif

SweetTooth
post Feb 15 2008, 08:15 PM

2,650 posts

never neglect your pinky, ever
SUSbman
post Feb 15 2008, 08:23 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(easlynich @ Feb 15 2008, 07:45 PM)
http://www.cyberfret.com/scales/blues/page3.php

the blue scales is refering to this right?

when u say dun cheat and skip the pinky. u mean

dun cheat and(then) skip the pinky

or

dun cheat and skip the pinky?
Of course don't skip the pinky. I've seen youtube tutorials of a guy doing a minor pentatonic cum blues mix and used only his 3 fingers.. I LOL at the dude for skipping his fingers and so did everyone else, and furthermore he got the scale wrong, he was talking about minor pentatonic then demo blues/minor pent variation, and avoiding the pinky completely.

This is how NOT to do it below, but he's got it right on the improvisation, but fingering, shake head.

TSlightonokira
post Feb 15 2008, 08:58 PM

788 posts

yeahaa im glad this thread helped other ppl oso happy.gif
SweetTooth
post Feb 15 2008, 10:29 PM

2,650 posts

Of course don't skip the pinky. I've seen youtube tutorials of a guy doing a minor pentatonic cum blues mix and used only his 3 fingers.. I LOL at the dude for skipping his fingers and so did everyone else, and furthermore he got the scale wrong, he was talking about minor pentatonic then demo blues/minor pent variation, and avoiding the pinky completely.

This is how NOT to do it below, but he's got it right on the improvisation, but fingering, shake head.
can you post a video lesson on it? biggrin.gif
i really wanna learn how to play up and down a scale in 5,3 or 2 seconds thumbup.gif
echobrainproject
post Feb 15 2008, 11:32 PM

4,765 posts

at this point, your aim shouldnt be playing fast. focus on your timing. are the duration of every note ringing equally the same? are your notes flowing from one note to the other smoothly or are there sudden gaps(breaks/rests) making it sound as if its played staccato. hows your picking consistency? check by seeing if some notes louder than the other.

theres no point playing fast and sloppy.
SUSbman
post Feb 15 2008, 11:51 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Feb 15 2008, 11:32 PM)
at this point, your aim shouldnt be playing fast. focus on your timing. are the duration of every note ringing equally the same? are your notes flowing from one note to the other smoothly or are there sudden gaps(breaks/rests) making it sound as if its played staccato. hows your picking consistency? check by seeing if some notes louder than the other.

theres no point playing fast and sloppy.
Totally agree!!!!!

That's why I am still playing scales when I am free, to make sure they're clean.

For those too stingy to buy a metronome, please download this WONDERFUL free metronome utility.

It's bloody genius!

http://www.pinkandaint.com/weirdmet.shtml

Added on February 15, 2008, 11:53 pm
QUOTE(SweetTooth @ Feb 15 2008, 10:29 PM)
can you post a video lesson on it? biggrin.gif
i really wanna learn how to play up and down a scale in 5,3 or 2 seconds thumbup.gif
I got no camcorder here lah.

Anyway, it's just up and down a scale, not up and down the neck, big difference man.

When you play nothing but scales for 1 whole year, especially blues scale, anyone also will get fast and under 5 sec, of course, like echobrain said, clean and clear is another issue.

This post has been edited by bman: Feb 15 2008, 11:53 PM
TSlightonokira
post Feb 16 2008, 01:39 PM

788 posts

GUYS NEED HELP WHUT DO U CALL THIS TECHNIQUE?

look at jerryc's im alright video from 2:50 - 2:52 look at his pinky
SUSbman
post Feb 16 2008, 03:19 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(lightonokira @ Feb 16 2008, 01:39 PM)
GUYS NEED HELP WHUT DO U CALL THIS TECHNIQUE?

look at jerryc's im alright video from 2:50 - 2:52 look at his pinky
I think he's doing a hammer-on/pull-off with the pinky.

Anyway the song he's playing originally is by Neil Zaza.

Here're the tabs and original video, enjoy!

http://www.nutabs.com/tab/9296/zaza-neil/im-alright

TSlightonokira
post Feb 17 2008, 12:28 AM

788 posts

thanx bman is that hammer-n/p-off ?? so freaking fast!!
pleasuresaurus
post Feb 21 2008, 05:20 PM

spin spin sugar
2,586 posts

I suppose once the speed and clarity of play gets to a certain level, fretboard visualization is gonna come next? Heres another hurdle.
syiafuku
post Feb 29 2008, 07:36 PM

309 posts

sorry if out of topic here. i've been playing acoustic guitar for 2 years now.but i'm still not satisfied with my strumming skills.my downstrum is ok but my upstrum is still lousy.any tips or pointers to improve my upstrumming?
soulfly
post Feb 29 2008, 10:38 PM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

canon rock is overrated

for the love of god = heavenly

0.0214sec    0.61    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 06:39 AM