How to become a millionaire before 30?, Anyone experienced before? Share please!

wheimeng
post Mar 31 2008, 01:35 AM

792 posts

c'mon, i think this thread is BS.

it's nothing interesting and strongly agree with dreamer with bill gates / buffets being taken as an example.

the convention way to be millionaire is bulk up yourself with knowledge. you vision opportunities way earlier than the rest, grab it and boom you go.

asking for suggestions in being a millionaire before 30 sounds stupid cos my strength isn't necessarily yours and vise versa. but conventionally, you can earn save and invest. or if your income is good enough, earn and invest without having the need to save. when you earn 100k/mo, spending 10% on your lifestyle is pretty good already biggrin.gif

with that said, you can be millionaire in no time with that income.

other than finance, i doubt there's any job that allows you to be millionaire before 30s. why finance? well, if you can bring lotsa profit to investment banking, you will be paid handsomely with great bonuses. hmm, well MLM probably, insurance probably, in sales line, PROBABLY. anything else, it's hard.

earning 20-30k/mo in msia is like harder than climbing, just mount kinabalu as an employee given that fact that you do not have 10-20 yrs of exp that ppl can harness you with.

so only you know how you can be a millionaire. anyway, it's not too hard to be millionaire nowadays...

wheimeng
post Apr 1 2008, 12:17 PM

792 posts

QUOTE(Pai @ Mar 31 2008, 02:47 PM)
If you believe that you CANT be a milionaire by 30 years old, then you are definitely RIGHT.

However, just bcoz u cant do it, try not to generalize and thinking that everyone is just as weak or clueless as you. Quoting the great Theodore Roosevelt :

Far better it is to dare mighty things, to win glorious triumphs even though checkered by failure, than to rank with those poor spirits who neither enjoy nor suffer much because they live in the gray twilight that knows neither victory nor defeat.
i wouldn't make a statement if i dont think i can be one by 30. and you prob wont know that i'm already one. being millionaire is not something hard but requires hard work and intellectual or a specific talent that you excel from one another.

i do agree that posting here might yield you good feedback but how many of them are really willingly to help you? there are agencies out there to help you, govt dept, PROFESSIONAL suggestions. but while many ppl dream to be millionaire, do you have what it takes to be one?

are you intellectually good? or do you equip yourself with unique talent? i wanna be millionair i wanna be millionaire, who doesnt want to? but often chances just pass by you, you can't harness the opportunity. so before thinking of being a millionaire, equip yourself with knowledge of a millionaire / billionaire. or unless if you are doing the grayish business, then you need to be extreme courage coupled with great prudent. or if you are talented person, maximize your talent and build up the weakness.

great ppl's roadmap to richness isn't coming to ask for suggestion. they find out themselves, and now writing books to tell you HOW they became millionaire. why would you bother coming here to ASK when the one at top have already revealed their path to success. learn from the best.

i wouldn't say LYN members are sub par, but why learn from someone unknown than the top ones? stop thinking, get some books, learn from them AND change it if necessary. what they manage to do might not work now but it's the essence of the story that you need to learn frm.

Added on April 1, 2008, 12:24 pmbased on what i've read over this thread, it's nothing but jokes.

some ppl stated to have 10mil fd to earn 1 mil interest. do you even consider that as a concrete suggestion?

you are in the wrong forum. this is not a place of riches, it's full of middle class. like it or not, it's a blunt statement but i'd like to hear from you if you claim that LYN is full of riches.

they say riches mingle around riches because riches creates richer. and if you wanna be rich, you should start learning from the rich, social with the rich, then you know how would they think.

i know there are few intellectuals one over here and i personally admire them, they've been posting a lot of CONCRETE suggestion but always backfired.

Pai, if you learnt something from this thread, let me know and i shall consider if this is worth discussing. you are not getting the point of my reply. if i HAD to tell you exactly why this thread is bullshit, then apparently you aren't any of my thing.

Added on April 1, 2008, 12:29 pmone more thing, if you have a terrific business idea, i'm ready to discuss it with you and help you to realize it if it's commercially viable.

convention way to be millionaire is no longer easy since industries are full of big guns that can crush you easily. i dont und why msia has just begun talking about the world is flat / blue ocean strategy a yr ago. i was reading that 2 1/2 yrs ago. yet ppl are like so hype about it.. telling me.. wa this book is an eye opener, blablabla, c'mon. msia market is so uncreative.. then our PM, DPM talk about blue ocean for their dept too.. -.- if you can accommodate foreign business model to msia market, you can just be one. airasia isn't new if you ask me. and airasia didn't have too much of capital given the fact that airline is a big capital game. just 1 mil for start up, but they got it working.

when you read, you get tallied to the US ever changing market. your insight has to be parallel, at least with the States or emerging market that has pushed for innovation in order to keep your business relevant.

conventionally by working? no way to be millionaires before 30 except you get jobs that get lotsa commission, which in the end, you are considered half self employed.

the pay rise is expectable, your lifestyle is expectable and what you could do by 30 is definitely expectable.

This post has been edited by wheimeng: Apr 1 2008, 12:33 PM
wheimeng
post Apr 1 2008, 03:38 PM

792 posts

How far can one go will be very much determined by their thinking cap and attitude. I dont think anyone here thinks its peanuts to amass 1mil b4 we are 30. Its a daunting task. Therefore, what is so wrong about anyone trying to look for answers here? Can you safely guarantee that out of >10k LYF members, there is not one fella who have managed to achieve this b4 they are 30?
like i said, you dont und my point. so how many of the respondents are millionaire now? and how many actually provided you a good way to be millionaire? this is like a yam char session where ppl bring up a random topic, or rather intriguing topic but carries no substance. so lil PRACTICAL suggestion. if you are asking THIS topic in a forum full of riches, i think TS might get solid feedback instead of subpar quality opinions.
Its the importance of goal-setting and thinking big. If one needs to be thinking anyway, one might as well think big. I've almost achieved my b4 "30 years old target", and this thread (as impossible as it may sound) actually help me to set the bar higher. Its also quite funny to see some "interesting" suggestions and also how negative can one be.

setting a target is GOOD and i applause you for having a target. but setting a target is DIFF from setting a mirage! you might have set yourself a good achievable target and ACTUALLY work hard towards the target BUT there are many out there who DOESN'T work towards it despite having target. those are mirage, daydreaming. you need a plan for your target, plan your work; work your plan. asking for suggestion without a clear vision, you ended up with nothing. TS has provided nothing but his dream to be 30. i can tell him to join MLM today and be millionaire by then. (btw i'm in no way in MLM) but i think that's a very possible way.

to materialize that, you need to layout few things:
1. a target, a millionaire by 30
2. how old you are now, how many yrs left to be millionaire, how much you need a year, roughly to achieve it.
3. what are the means for you to achieve that annual income
4. if your curren job doesnt make that much for you, what are the alternatives?
5. found one? plan it with great details, plan B and plan C.
6. execute it and be observant to the surrounding, wind of change, change your plan to accommodate the latest trend.
7. refine and reexecute.
8. you cant meet your annual salary for yr 1, go back to 3. else proceed and you get your 1st 1 million by 30.

this is a commonsense, but how many have did this? the TS has not even thought of HOW, then put into the pool by asking for opinions. that's not even a question.

Quoting u -> " i wouldn't make a statement if i dont think i can be one by 30."

Exactly my point. Your thinking cap says its impossible to be a milionaire by 30 and guess what, u r 100% correct. Your attitude says u cant, and guess what, u r 100% right, again.
my my, i have made a statement in this thread havent i? hence i think i can be one by 30. again, in fact, i might already one, please refer my last post.

Quoting u -> "the pay rise is expectable, your lifestyle is expectable and what you could do by 30 is definitely expectable"

U r dead wrong. Fren, that is the reason why u wont be a millionaire by 30, not until u change ur mindset, that is.
again, i'm going to be a millionaire by 30. definitely. asset and cash wise.

wheimeng
post Apr 2 2008, 01:24 AM

792 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Apr 2 2008, 01:08 AM)
10 million out of 400 billion ppl in the world it's not really a lot. Furthermore as our purchasing power gets less and less, 1 million is really not a lot now. In fact you can't even get an apartment in KLCC with 1 million nowadays.
i think dreamer has dealt with the population error. but yes, 1 million is pretty 'cheap' nowadays. the high end condos would suck up your entire million and leave you with nothing. hence i claimed that million is easy nowadays but again, convention way, it's hard.

the most pragmatic approach to be millionaire, stop asking, get down to work out a plan and execute it as planned.

take time to come out with a good plan, dont rush for one.. instincts come just out of no where if you insist of challenging your brain.. but again, there's nothing you can squeeze out of your brain if you do not read much.

while i cant say i read a lot, i just started my habit of reading when i was in inti, lotsa break time and sat in the library to read mags. then i beefed up my readings when i was in UK, studying. UK was awfully boring, thus i read 2 books on average every month, subscribe to TIMES & Fortunes. no forbes in UK. so i occupy my time by reading tons of books and mags. and work out in gym room daily while working after schooling...

when i'm back to msia, i reduced my readings on books and increased mags to times fortunes forbes and newsweek. occasionally GQ for fashion and mens health blush.gif am dropping times soon as it appears to be too iraq and iran press coverage. i'm planning to take up other mags to develop other areas that i lack of.

now when you read so many diff genre of mags or specifically on biz for start, ideas will float to you all the time. even a simple idea, you can turn it to somewhat a way better business proposition. you dont need to be creative, you just have to mix and match the myriad of ideas out there and fit it in like a lego.

wheimeng
post Apr 2 2008, 02:42 AM

792 posts

QUOTE(ah_suknat @ Apr 2 2008, 02:26 AM)
reminds me of aurora97 whistling.gif

Added on April 2, 2008, 2:30 amnow if you want to include the world, it has to be calculated in USD, which mean if you want to be listed as 1 of the world millionaire you got to have RM3.3-3.4 million.

easy?
i wouldn't say it's easy, but definitely not hard. a bold statement but bold doesn't mean unattainable.

it's really not hard to grow from RM1 mil to RM3.4 mil, money begets more money my dear smile.gif

riches become richer and richer becomes richest..

money keep rolling.. and keep rolling rolling rolling, rock!

wheimeng
post Apr 3 2008, 01:36 AM

792 posts

well, oil & gas is not construction.

who knows perhaps he sub all the oil rig proj to his construction company smile.gif

wheimeng
post Apr 3 2008, 11:27 AM

792 posts

let's not go into that smile.gif
wheimeng
post Apr 3 2008, 10:40 PM

792 posts

QUOTE(map @ Apr 3 2008, 10:39 PM)
JV with some of your peers, go buy land at north port. Don't have to build anything, people will rent the space from you to store cargo.

Also pay attention to Port Klang, heard CM wants to investigate some lands there
hahaha you mean the free trade zone? uhhh you think fed govt would let them to take over?

do you wanna JV with me to buy one there then? tongue.gif

wheimeng
post Apr 3 2008, 11:03 PM

792 posts

QUOTE(map @ Apr 3 2008, 10:52 PM)
yeah! but share price is like ... kinda like gambling

because malaysians like to simply throw share

heard a rumor, then will throw share... heard a rumor then will buy share...

or are you talking about investing in overseas forex? like in blue chips?
that's gambling.

investing is to choose blue chips or company with potential vs PER, choosing the solid ones and keep it for long term.

keeping it.. contra.. all those are like gambling, NOT investment.

investment is over a certain period, disregard of its rumor.
wheimeng
post Apr 4 2008, 03:58 PM

792 posts

engineer cum businessman. engineer has great analytical skills, brush up some marketing and finance stuff, you can be a pretty risk management guy.

engineers are professionals (at least in msia), takes time to be in the professional line.
wheimeng
post Apr 5 2008, 10:43 AM

792 posts

million dollar page is renowned and creative. he deserves the recognition

wheimeng
post Apr 5 2008, 11:22 AM

792 posts

in UK, they do not consider an engineer as professional. at least that's how they call it.

professionals generally 'well perceived as one' are lawyers accountants and docs.

wheimeng
post Apr 6 2008, 01:30 AM

792 posts

QUOTE(adrian_huen @ Apr 5 2008, 08:51 PM)
except you kena toto or doing underground business, no other way u can get rich like that..
but i'm giving out a plan that can get return at least 450% on your investment(7.5% p.a. on your saving)...
this is not underground business but this is insurance..

contact me if interested..
like what? smile.gif
wheimeng
post Apr 6 2008, 01:33 AM

792 posts

QUOTE(bulkbiz @ Apr 6 2008, 12:30 AM)
I am a millionare, I am just a reseller in webhosting. I have a few thousand customers all over the world. I know what I am doing. And I understand TS:)
which company that might be? i'm not aware of any reseller in webhosting in malaysia is a millionaire smile.gif

try my knowledge in webhosting.

wheimeng
post Apr 6 2008, 10:31 AM

792 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 6 2008, 04:10 AM)
i do have a few contacts that are millionaires.

1. they certainly do not tell people "I am a millionare".
2. they certainly do not seek consultation for their upcoming business plans via forum, from people who they do not even know, let alone familiar with their qualifications.

*edited : oh btw. the above are just from my personal experience on how they behave. please don't take it as if it represents the general millionaire population.  icon_rolleyes.gif
spot on!

wheimeng
post Apr 16 2008, 02:31 AM

792 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Apr 16 2008, 02:21 AM)
By "live like a millionaire" I mean live like a high-maintenance lifestyle smile.gif if you want to live a very frugal lifestyle you won't even need a million smile.gif
i guess what dreamer101 wanted to imply wasn't as what you thought so.

probably let me reiterate what i think he might want to speak of:

the thread is about millionaire, hence he stated that some millionaires are self made (lottery or frugal lifestyle or earning lotsa money and spending extravagantly too)

now. you need to und, millionaire GETS to choose their lifestyle, be it frugal or extravagantly. and he was pointing out that most of the millionaires that he knows live life in a very low profile manner. hence his point of frugal lifestyle.

but i think he left out an important message is that millionaires gets to choose their lifestyle. he can be low profile today and high toned for another. they have the ability to CHOOSE what they want, whenever they want. and while everyone wish to be rich, but when they really get to the point of being rich or the dream they often wanted to, they'd react the other way, instead of posing what they've got, they'd be rather low profile because they know they can achieve more.

or some would live a posh live just because they want to show their status. either way, they can choose what they want to be. and btw, a lot ppl would rather be low profile, nowadays criminals are very clever, more clever than these smart guys.. they kidnap and get hefty ransom smile.gif

and these criminals are millionaire too.. and yes, self made too biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by wheimeng: Apr 16 2008, 02:33 AM
wheimeng
post Apr 16 2008, 02:47 AM

792 posts

mm, i think rm10mil is not sufficient if you want me to live a high maintenance lifestyle. i cant even buy a private jet with that... -.-

live within your means. if you're not there yet, you arent. no point trying so hard just to be there and left nothing with yourself. after all, you dont BUY status; status is granted.

some ppl are so crazy about priority banking / premier banking or even platinum cards. those are just .. mm lets just say branding. i think if you are a person with great wealth, these banks would lure after you to join them.

hence, buy and grant differences.

This post has been edited by wheimeng: Apr 16 2008, 02:48 AM
wheimeng
post Apr 21 2008, 09:33 AM

792 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Apr 21 2008, 06:09 AM)
small-jeff,

1) I paid 145K for my double storey linked house in Klang.

2) I paid 50K for my Proton Wira.

With my car and house paid off, my family of 4 lives on RM2K per month with upper middle income lifestyle.  And, we are not consider as FRUGAL in my neighborhood.  So, seriously, I have NO IDEA how the new generation live their life that require that much money.

IMHO, to be consider as millionaire, car and house you live in is not an asset.  It should not be counted towards the 1 million net worth.  But, the debt should be deducted from the 1 million.

Dreamer
uhh?!

2k/mo? wow

your family, any kids / education cost? i have no idea how it can be done with 4 person on 2k (500 on average), unless otherwise it's a real economical lifestyle, yet you claimed upper mid.

wheimeng
post Apr 22 2008, 10:54 AM

792 posts

QUOTE(Dyong @ Apr 22 2008, 10:37 AM)
A real deep one.
Stagflation + Agrinflation + High prices of oil + USD devaluation + Sub-prime MeltDown

Everyday when I go to the malls and see ppl spending like no tomorrow.
I wonder whether I'm the only pessimist.
You see 'where you are'. People go to shopping mall, most likely to shop (window shopping of coz), I'm not surprised if they spend over there. People go to restaurant to eat, hence youll see a lot ppl eating like no tomorrow wink.gif

You should be more worried if nobody is spending in shopping mall...
wheimeng
post Apr 22 2008, 11:15 AM

792 posts

probably i should say, those who think of going shopping are those who are not so much bothered with the stagflation..

oh well, ppl complain, they always do yet they live with it. just not too happy..

This post has been edited by wheimeng: Apr 22 2008, 11:16 AM

0.0286sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 02:57 PM