How to become a millionaire before 30?, Anyone experienced before? Share please!

jchong
post May 2 2008, 09:07 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Apr 21 2008, 09:42 PM)

5) My family has been living on 2K per month for at least the last 6 years.  It hasn't change for us.  And, we are not consider as FRUGAL by our neighbors since we bought a lot of fruits, meats, and fishes.

Dreamer, living on 2k/month for a family of 4 is quite an achievement. Mind sharing the breakdown of your expenses?

I know you excluded house & car loan (I think you've paid those off already) but even so, 2k/month is very low.

If I add up my essentials (excl house loan, car loan, insurance) the total would be:

Utilities - RM200
Groceries / sundries - RM900
Petrol - RM250
Maid - RM500
Eating out - RM1,000

That's already RM2,620. This is for a family of 4 (2 young kids).
jchong
post May 2 2008, 09:22 PM

5,989 posts

Going off tangent for a moment...

Much has been written in this thread about the frugal lifestyle of millionaires. Indeed, while many millionaires live humbly there also those who splash a lot thus giving rise to the high roller lifestyle - flying first class, staying at luxury hotels, buying fancy cars, owning a big house, etc.

Which comes back to the point of why do people then strive to be rich? Most youngsters would reply "so that we can afford all the nice luxuries of life". And yes, part of being rich is to be able to afford to indulge (at least a little). After all, many of the wealthy have more income than the essential expenses. So they have lots of savings. What do they do then with these savings?

Is it kept aside for retirement? For the next generation? For philanthropic purposes?

Where does a person balance between living frugally and indulging a bit more?

Is it any use to have lived frugally and died with millions in the bank (which you can't take with you)?
jchong
post May 2 2008, 10:51 PM

5,989 posts

Freedom and security.  You are NO LONGER in the rat race.  You can choose live in what ever way that you want.

I understand your point about freedom and security. However, it's not true that "you can choose live in what ever way that you want". Depending on your savings you'd still need to be conscious of your budget to make sure you have enough to last (for whatever time frame you planned for). For example would you say you have sufficient freedom to live a very indulgent lifestyle for the next 30 years if you chose to? Absolute freedom is a rare dream, freedom within certain ceilings is quite attainable.

There is a BIG recession coming.  Guess how you would feel like if it does not matter to you since you have enough savings and asset that you do not care.  In fact, you are looking to shop for bargains.  Meanwhile, people around you panic and worry sick about what is going to happen to them.

Go through a few of those recessions, then, ask yourself, how much of this kind of FREEDOM, SECURITY, SERENITY worth to you?? You can sleep soundly at night.

You may or may not spend the money.  But, you will have a more peaceful life.  And, that worths a lot.
Yes, I too predict a big recession coming.

From your tone, I suppose one of your goals in accumulating wealth is to weather rainy days. Which is a wise thing to do. Again, I agree that having peace of mind in troubling times is good to have. How much you need again depends on what kind of lifestyle you want to maintain during times of recession.

I have 2 to 5 years of savings in addition to my investment prepared for this recession.

The "years of savings", is it calculated by amount of savings divided by yearly expenses? Is there any recommendation as to how many years of savings a person should maintain?

How many recessions had you went through??

Only 2.
jchong
post May 2 2008, 10:57 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ May 2 2008, 09:24 PM)
It is about life style, not an achievement.
QUOTE(dreamer101 @ May 2 2008, 09:37 PM)
It is NOT an achievement.  It is how we choose to live.
It is an achievement because it takes discipline and the right mindset to live below your means or to live frugally in this materialistic world. How many people, especially the younger ones, can do that? It takes effort to refrain from overspending, it takes effort to live a more frugal lifestyle, and when you do succeed I think it's an achievement.

This post has been edited by jchong: May 2 2008, 11:00 PM
jchong
post May 3 2008, 07:49 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ May 3 2008, 02:18 AM)
You are defining life on how you spend your money.  I am defining my life on how I spend my time.  Why is that??

IMHO, time with friend and family is MORE PRECIOUS than anything else.

Just ask your self a simple question.  Among the best found memory of yours, is it define by HOW MUCH money that you spend?
I would say that through your experiences you've found that time is more precious than money so that is what you strive for. The money is just a way to attain the time you want.
jchong
post May 3 2008, 12:51 PM

5,989 posts

Any business field can be lucrative. Depends on your potential to make it succeed.

That said, some business fields have more potential than others.
jchong
post May 8 2008, 10:02 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(KooHei @ May 8 2008, 07:08 PM)
i find this statement only apply on minority group of people only...  business owner is hard to keep away from getting known as "rich" group... because everyone knows he is the owner of that company...  hmm.gif
Business owner is known only to those who know him. There are many business owners out there whom I'm sure you don't know. Bump into them on the street also you cannot imagine who they are.
jchong
post May 9 2008, 09:36 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(ah_suknat @ May 9 2008, 09:15 PM)
bookie? ah long? are you from sarawak?lol

Added on May 9, 2008, 9:17 pmah....after do some profile checking, you are indeed a sarawakian lol... and that explain a lot.
I dun get it. What is different about sarawakian?
jchong
post May 10 2008, 08:12 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(Jean72 @ May 10 2008, 12:57 AM)
Oh, one thing to note though, to achieve financial freedom, we need to create stream of passive income. UT provide us the passive income, but insurance ind does not.
Thanks for sharing Jean72.

How does UT provide passive income? I thought if got sale then only get commission. If you don't have new sales then no new income. Whereas isn't passive income supposed to mean the income will come in even if you don't work (e.g. property rental).
jchong
post May 26 2008, 10:46 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(KooHei @ May 26 2008, 10:15 AM)
does that mean you are a millionaire by now and you have a helluva credential..?  hmm.gif
Check his past posts and decide for yourself.
jchong
post May 27 2008, 06:28 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(lil`pumpkinz @ May 27 2008, 03:54 PM)
Life has never been that good to me.
Ur still young what! So maybe something better is in store for your future!

0.0269sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 05:05 AM