QUOTE(allvin @ Feb 12 2008, 06:43 PM)
dude, don't simply give info la

TS, the only EDGE is only Digi. Maxis and Celcom got 3G but not EDGE, whereas Digi is EDGE. In conclusion, you can't use EDGE on your iphone, you need Digi

Maxis has EDGE.
Celcom does not have EDGE but the iPhone still can do mobile data via GPRS (this Celcom has).
EDGE devices are all backward compatible with GPRS services (since EDGE is an enhanced version of GPRS).
Much like 802.11g Wi-Fi devices are backwards compatible with 802.11b Wi-Fi devices.
Of course, EDGE service coverage is not 100% either . There are also some places in which DiGi (or Maxis) has GPRS but not EDGE due to older cell tower equipment.
Worse still, there are some even more ulu-ulu kampung place that LANGSUNG don't have packet data services. Usually these are sites that are being linked via VSAT.
Added on February 12, 2008, 10:02 pmQUOTE(LaskarCinta @ Feb 12 2008, 08:59 PM)
if u already registered (activated) using GPRS on Maxis, u can have the EDGE already (provided the area has EDGE coverage). actually EDGE is a modification to the normal GPRS and making it times faster and more reliable, while using the existing method. So if u r using GPRS settings, u can already got EDGE as well as it use the same settings (correct me if i'm wrong). Yup unless the area only got GPRS-only coverage. And as long as the device supports EDGE, u can use EDGE. yeah, iPhone has EDGE in it.
ok just put the maxis simcard inside iPhone, and u will see the E logo (yup again, provided that the area has EDGE coverage).
mmm...but it is advisable to activate 3G first so then u can use the simcard on 3G phones. the access point for maxis differs from 3G activated or unactivated ones (unet and net) eventhough the place have 3G coverage or not. for the settings, just check on the website.
but remember though that Digi's EDGE coverage is more wider than other operators (still dunno whether Celcom has it). But in most towns and cities, Maxis EDGE penetration is also great.
(hoho...i'm not promoting any operator, just choose on whom it is available at your area)
Yes. Just to add some clarity...... if you are a Maxis user with a Maxis 3G sim card ... then the APN is not "net" but "unet".
user: maxis
pass: wap
If you're on the older SIMs (like this friend of mine to until recently, was still using the old 16K-SIM card)... then the APN needs to be set as net. Either way.. its easy enough to try both settings .

Added on February 12, 2008, 10:04 pmQUOTE(allvin @ Feb 12 2008, 06:50 PM)
Since when?

nvm la.. ok la. my bad lo. But as i know (maybe i had a pretty bad memory), only Digi got EDGE. Well, if maxis really got, then you have to apply the EDGE then baru can use EDGE connectivity on your iphone
And make sure you are on the EDGE coverage spot. I still prefer Digi if into EDGE.

err... you don't apply to use "EDGE". You just apply to use Maxis punya "data services" .. and then u can use GPRS/EDGE/UMTS/HSDPA/ABCDEFG ..... and if you apply now, your APN will most certainly be "unet".
This post has been edited by mugenfoo: Feb 12 2008, 10:04 PM