iPhone upgrade to official 1.1.4 using iTunes, Simple guide, no headaches :)

TSianho
post Feb 12 2008, 01:58 PM, updated 18y ago

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

OK. Here's the summary for u guys who wanna update V1.02, V1.1.1, V1.1.2, V1.1.3 to the latest V1.1.4 from iTunes itself. This is for OTB 1.02, 1.1.1, 1.1.2 and 1.1.3 iPhones. So many questions about this in iPhone thread n my answer keeps getting buried so this is for u guys to refer back. This is by far the easiest n safest way to get to 1.1.4. All this will take only about 10 minutes. Time taken will depend on how fast your internet connection is, while downloading V1.1.4 update in iTunes.

1. Plug in the 1.02, 1.1.1, 1.1.2 OR 1.1.3 iPhone to iTunes.

2. Click on upgrade to 1.1.4. The phone will be upgraded to Official 1.1.4 from iTunes after this.

3. Now just use the latest ZiPhone to Activate, Jailbreak n Unlock. U can see the complete pictorial guide on ZiPhone method in iClarified.com.

4. Remember to reboot the phone after everything is done. U must turn it off n do a reboot. Reason is, in my case, I lost all ringtones after I did the succesful activation, jailbreak n unlock. After I did a proper reboot everything works perfectly.

5. Congratulations! U now have a proper V1.1.4 from Apple iTunes itself. Enjoy!

Known issues so far

1. Caller ID is perfect but SMS comes in n ID by number instead of name. Just do the AppSupport patch to sort this out.

This post has been edited by ianho: Mar 19 2008, 11:20 AM
TSianho
post Feb 12 2008, 02:01 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

Those of u who have played around with upgrade, downgrade with all kinds of Apps n all that. All u need to do is plug it into iTunes n click Restore. It will wipe everything out n make it like a new V1.1.3 locked. Then u just use Ziphone after that.

This post has been edited by ianho: Feb 19 2008, 08:39 PM
kiasunkiasi
post Feb 12 2008, 02:25 PM

597 posts

I can't download apps using Installer, any solution? Will be checking the Hackint0sh web later...

I'm on BL3.9
TSianho
post Feb 12 2008, 02:26 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(kiasunkiasi @ Feb 12 2008, 02:25 PM)
I can't download apps using Installer, any solution? Will be checking the Hackint0sh web later...

I'm on BL3.9
???????? Installer is already installed inside by ZiPhone.

Edit: laugh.gif Now i get what u mean. I have no issues with that. Mebe ur internet line no good at the moment?

This post has been edited by ianho: Feb 12 2008, 02:27 PM
lordsharingan
post Feb 12 2008, 02:29 PM

やった!!
656 posts

does this method require wifi? for jailbreaking or anything? can i do it for 1.0.2?
TSianho
post Feb 12 2008, 02:32 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(lordsharingan @ Feb 12 2008, 02:29 PM)
does this method require wifi? for jailbreaking or anything? can i do it for 1.0.2?
U oni need the wifi for the final step of AnySIM coz u need to use Installer to install AnySIM 1.3. The 1.1.3 upgrade, ZiPhone Activate n Jailbreak oni requires the iPhone to be connected to ur PC.
lordsharingan
post Feb 12 2008, 02:41 PM

やった!!
656 posts

http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=655

what about this method? do i need wifi for this method?
TSianho
post Feb 12 2008, 02:48 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(lordsharingan @ Feb 12 2008, 02:41 PM)
http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=655

what about this method? do i need wifi for this method?
U cannot do that. That method using ZiPhone to do complete A, J n U is for BL4.6 phones only.
kiasunkiasi
post Feb 12 2008, 03:02 PM

597 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Feb 12 2008, 02:26 PM)
???????? Installer is already installed inside by ZiPhone.

Edit: laugh.gif Now i get what u mean. I have no issues with that. Mebe ur internet line no good at the moment?
I think the root of my problem is I'm unable to install BSD thru Installer, still searching for solution... cry.gif
TSianho
post Feb 12 2008, 03:06 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(kiasunkiasi @ Feb 12 2008, 03:02 PM)
I think the root of my problem is I'm unable to install BSD thru Installer, still searching for solution...  cry.gif
Plug into iTunes n do a complete 1.1.3 restore again lor. Coz it ran perfectly on the unit I'm playing with. I also installed BSD n after u mentioned cant install apps, I even checked for updates n updated to latest BSD2.1.
Balok
post Feb 12 2008, 04:00 PM

Truly Malaysian
1,666 posts

can use this method on IPod Touch?
jetkiat
post Feb 12 2008, 04:10 PM

367 posts

uncle..
any idea how to downgrade back....
when i try restore on itunes...it will giv us error 1....zzzZZzzzz

restore to 1.1.3 ok...but try restore to 1.1.1 or 1.1..2 totaly cant lah...

This post has been edited by jetkiat: Feb 12 2008, 04:17 PM
lordsharingan
post Feb 12 2008, 04:29 PM

やった!!
656 posts

i thought if i upgrade via itunes my bl will be upgraded also?
jetkiat
post Feb 12 2008, 04:36 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(lordsharingan @ Feb 12 2008, 04:29 PM)
i thought if i upgrade via itunes my bl will be upgraded also?
no leh...mine 1 still 0402...zzz
any idea ah..
MattJ
post Feb 12 2008, 04:45 PM

769 posts

Ianho,

I have a 1.1.3 iphone with modem firmware 04.02.13_G. I presumed this is 4.6 bootloader rite? If this is the case I can do A, J and U using ziphone for windows directly by plugging in my iphone to my lappie.
Any thing to look out for?
LaskarCinta
post Feb 12 2008, 05:35 PM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(jetkiat @ Feb 12 2008, 04:10 PM)
any idea how to downgrade back....
when i try restore on itunes...it will giv us error 1....zzzZZzzzz

restore to 1.1.3 ok...but try restore to 1.1.1 or 1.1..2 totaly cant lah...
if u restore in iTunes and get error 1xxx message it's ok. Boot the uPhone using iBrickr 0.91 and then u r ready to go.

remember though that when u downgrade, the baseband will not downgraded alongside its software counterpart. for 3.9 BL iPhones, they can easily downgrade bb using some software or by using installer.app.

but for the case of using ZiPhone, no need to do downgrade or update then. just install firmware 1.1.2 or 1.1.3 n u r ready to go. Also remember though that ZiPhone on BL 4.6 will downgrade bb fw to 4.02G so even if u r doing restore from 1.1.3 to 1.1.2 and then using iBrickr to boot it, finally u will get your baseband to 4.02 which is originally from 1.1.2
frozzbyte
post Feb 12 2008, 05:38 PM

Feeling butthurt lately? Like I care
3,657 posts

QUOTE(MattJ @ Feb 12 2008, 04:45 PM)
Ianho,

I have a 1.1.3 iphone with modem firmware 04.02.13_G. I presumed this is 4.6 bootloader rite? If this is the case I can do A, J and U using ziphone for windows directly by plugging in my iphone to my lappie.
u can't directly assume its BL4.6 as ur phone can be BL3.9 with soft upgrade 1.1.3 but with 04.02 BB. Try installing bbinfo or hwinfo to get ur BL version.
OmniAtlas
post Feb 12 2008, 06:49 PM

946 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Feb 12 2008, 01:58 PM)
1. Caller ID is perfect but SMS comes in n ID by number instead of name.
Anyone have a fix for this?

jetkiat
post Feb 12 2008, 07:01 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(LaskarCinta @ Feb 12 2008, 05:35 PM)
if u restore in iTunes and get error 1xxx message it's ok. Boot the uPhone using iBrickr 0.91 and then u r ready to go.

remember though that when u downgrade, the baseband will not downgraded alongside its software counterpart. for 3.9 BL iPhones, they can easily downgrade bb using some software or by using installer.app.

but for the case of using ZiPhone, no need to do downgrade or update then. just install firmware 1.1.2 or 1.1.3 n u r ready to go. Also remember though that ZiPhone on BL 4.6 will downgrade bb fw to 4.02G so even if u r doing restore from 1.1.3 to 1.1.2 and then using iBrickr to boot it, finally u will get your baseband to 4.02 which is originally from 1.1.2
em...not the error like last time we follow 1.1.2 > 1.1.1 error 1050..
now the error totaly cant restore back to lowest firmware...zzz

btw, why i dun hav summerboard sources in ins app..
but the summerboard find at unistall loc...i try to unistall it cant...
try to find it on sources dun hav just hav the summerboard(old) only..
any 1 can giv the the sources for new summerboard..?
kiasunkiasi
post Feb 12 2008, 07:34 PM

597 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Feb 12 2008, 03:06 PM)
Plug into iTunes n do a complete 1.1.3 restore again lor. Coz it ran perfectly on the unit I'm playing with. I also installed BSD n after u mentioned cant install apps, I even checked for updates n updated to latest BSD2.1.
Damn, did a complete 113 restore but now ZiPhone can't JB my phone... cry.gif Saw from iClarified website that ZiPhone -a -j alone might not work on some phones... Why can't I strike lottery? vmad.gif

I dunno why I managed to JB my phone once using the same software this morning?????????? However, there's signal in my phone and can call out but not call in under Emergency mode...
TSianho
post Feb 12 2008, 07:38 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(jetkiat @ Feb 12 2008, 07:01 PM)

btw, why i dun hav summerboard sources in ins app..
but the summerboard find at unistall loc...i try to unistall it cant...
try to find it on sources dun hav just hav the summerboard(old) only..
any 1 can giv the the sources for new summerboard..?
ya I know what u mean. After u upgrade to 1.1.3 using iTunes, if u wanna Shift+Restore back to 1.1.1 or 1.1.2 it will restore for a while then come out with a message saying "error 1". I think it's because the BB has been upgraded to 4.03.13G and wont allow u to restore back to 1.1.1 or 1.1.2 like laskarcinta said. With OTB 1.1.1 it shud b easy, we can use BB downgrader n downgrade back to 4.01. With OTB 1.1.2 I dunno if there's a BB downgrader.

Why u wanna restore back? The 1.1.3 works perfectly wat. Oni sms no sender name.

Added on February 12, 2008, 7:44 pm
QUOTE(MattJ @ Feb 12 2008, 04:45 PM)
Ianho,

It's actually really simple. U just need to find out ur BL version. If u haf BL4.6 then u can do A, J n U with ZiPhone.
If u haf BL3.9 then u can do A n J with Ziphone then AnySIM1.3. Simple as 1,2,3.

Those with OTB 1.1.1 phones will end up with firmware 1.1.3 n BB4.03 and those with OTB 1.1.2 will end up with firmware 1.1.3 n BB4.02.

QUOTE(OmniAtlas @ Feb 12 2008, 06:49 PM)
Anyone have a fix for this?
I suppose we just hafta wait for a new version of iPhoneBrowser that will read the phone. Any1 knows of an alternative that will read teh phone besides iPhoneBrowser?

Added on February 12, 2008, 7:49 pm
QUOTE(kiasunkiasi @ Feb 12 2008, 07:34 PM)
Damn, did a complete 113 restore but now ZiPhone can't JB my phone...  cry.gif Saw from iClarified website that ZiPhone -a -j alone might not work on some phones... Why can't I strike lottery?  vmad.gif

I dunno why I managed to JB my phone once using the same software this morning?????????? However, there's signal in my phone and can call out but not call in under Emergency mode...
Were u using iTunes 7.6? Keep trying lor. Coz the iPhone is quite temperamental based on all our experiences with the Nate n Devteam JB too. But at least this ZiPhone method takes only like 10 minutes all in. The other JBs take hours n then sumtimes at teh very last step find out got corruption sumwhere really bang ballz. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by ianho: Feb 12 2008, 07:49 PM
LaskarCinta
post Feb 12 2008, 08:21 PM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(jetkiat @ Feb 12 2008, 07:01 PM)
sorry dude, i forgot. silly me. mmm...i have uploaded this tool before, forgot where i found it. Anyway this is your answer:

http://rapidshare.com/files/89151030/1.1.3_downgrade.zip

what it does is enabling DFU mode (not the normal restore mode) and enables the restoration to earlier firmware. But remember though that the baseband firmware is not downgraded.

just execute these commands :

enterrecovery

filecopytophone WTF.s5l8900xall.RELEASE.dfu

cmd go

owww...btw if u have just received the Error 1 and the phone is still in recovery mode, u don't have to proceed the 1st command (enterrecovery). good luck dude!

p.s. : don't worry i put it under direct download.

Added on February 12, 2008, 8:26 pmoww...btw u don't need to worry about the baseband version if u wanna restore to 1.1.2 as GUnlock will downgrade that baseband to 4.02G, fully compatible with fw1.1.2. it's as same as the zibri's ZiPhone, they can't really use 4.03G on BL 4.6 yet.

This post has been edited by LaskarCinta: Feb 12 2008, 08:27 PM
ioriamd
post Feb 12 2008, 08:26 PM

Tok Bali RC Club
672 posts

NOTE*: After completion its probably a good idea to install BSD Subsystem first then OpenSSH from Installer.app

want to ask, bsd and openssh is already in installer or need to download separately?
kiasunkiasi
post Feb 12 2008, 08:33 PM

597 posts

Yes, finally managed to JB my BL3.9 using ZiPhone... Apparently I didn't let ZiPhone to detect and ask me to put phone into recovery mode [I put the phone in recovery mode before launching ZiPhone]...

Now gonna try install BSD...
c_calvin
post Feb 12 2008, 09:04 PM

¯\(º_o)/¯
1,346 posts

Connect a brand new phone to the dock.
Run the program smile.gif

Well, you can also use a restored phone...
Or a normal in use phone...
Well... whatever !

tis is from the read me file in the ziphone zip file
does that mean that we dun hav the put the phone in recovery mode if the phone is brand new?
hust_noon
post Feb 12 2008, 09:15 PM

111 posts

I've succesfully update my iPhone OTB 1.1.2 BL 4.6 to firmware 1.1.3 with iTunes 7.6.

Caller ID - Works

Googlemap - locate not working (but i use Navizon instead)

SMS - works (but iSMS and SMSD seems not working, perhaps not campatible with 1.1.3 yet)

Sync - works

some other apps not working, because of compatibility issue with firmware 1.1.3 (i guess)
LaskarCinta
post Feb 12 2008, 09:16 PM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(c_calvin @ Feb 12 2008, 09:04 PM)
tis is from the read me file in the ziphone zip file
does that mean that we dun hav the put the phone in recovery mode if the phone is brand new?
he doesn't mean anything about putting it into recovery mode on that phrase. he means that if u make a full restore to the phone, u can use this method. also can be used in a phone in use, or maybe a fresh brand new phone. as long as it is an iPhone.

mmm...ok about the restore mode, if u haven't put it into restore mode, ZiPhone will ask about proceeding the restore mode (by turning off iPhone, hold the home button and reconnect it to the USB cable). So either way, u need to put it into restore mode afterall. It is not that "Restore" button in iTunes, it is the mode when the iPhone is going to.
lordsharingan
post Feb 12 2008, 10:28 PM

やった!!
656 posts

so if i just upgrade my phone via itunes it will still be bl3.9? must i virginize it? or i just run it? will it brick the phone?lol
LaskarCinta
post Feb 12 2008, 10:34 PM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(lordsharingan @ Feb 12 2008, 10:28 PM)
so if i just upgrade my phone via itunes it will still be bl3.9? must i virginize it? or i just run it? will it brick the phone?lol
don't worry iTunes will not upgrade your bootloader. it will only update firmware and baseband firmware (modem fw).
lordsharingan
post Feb 12 2008, 10:49 PM

やった!!
656 posts

oh.. so i need to revirginize it ????????and for the activation and unlocking do i need the ori at&t sim card ? cause i lost mine .. D:
c_calvin
post Feb 12 2008, 11:04 PM

¯\(º_o)/¯
1,346 posts

QUOTE(LaskarCinta @ Feb 12 2008, 09:16 PM)
he doesn't mean anything about putting it into recovery mode on that phrase. he means that if u make a full restore to the phone, u can use this method. also can be used in a phone in use, or maybe a fresh brand new phone. as long as it is an iPhone.

mmm...ok about the restore mode, if u haven't put it into restore mode, ZiPhone will ask about proceeding the restore mode (by turning off iPhone, hold the home button and reconnect it to the USB cable). So either way, u need to put it into restore mode afterall. It is not that "Restore" button in iTunes, it is the mode when the iPhone is going to.
oh...
now i understand
thanks for the explanation
jetkiat
post Feb 12 2008, 11:16 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(LaskarCinta @ Feb 12 2008, 08:21 PM)
sorry dude, i forgot. silly me. mmm...i have uploaded this tool before, forgot where i found it. Anyway this is your answer:

http://rapidshare.com/files/89151030/1.1.3_downgrade.zip

what it does is enabling DFU mode (not the normal restore mode) and enables the restoration to earlier firmware. But remember though that the baseband firmware is not downgraded.

just execute these commands :

enterrecovery

filecopytophone WTF.s5l8900xall.RELEASE.dfu

cmd go

owww...btw if u have just received the Error 1 and the phone is still in recovery mode, u don't have to proceed the 1st command (enterrecovery). good luck dude!

p.s. : don't worry i put it under direct download.

Added on February 12, 2008, 8:26 pmoww...btw u don't need to worry about the baseband version if u wanna restore to 1.1.2 as GUnlock will downgrade that baseband to 4.02G, fully compatible with fw1.1.2. it's as same as the zibri's ZiPhone, they can't really use 4.03G on BL 4.6 yet.
filecopytophone
cant work leh..
when i type help...no this command show there lahh

btw...no sure how...the iphone reconnect to my pc..i assume ok lia..
now try to restore to 1.1.2 but come out error 1603...
try ziphone methor...

thx boss...
btw...the command enter 1 by 1 right..?

This post has been edited by jetkiat: Feb 12 2008, 11:58 PM
LaskarCinta
post Feb 13 2008, 12:00 AM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(jetkiat @ Feb 12 2008, 11:16 PM)
btw...the command enter 1 by 1 right..?
yup, just type one by one, wait for the feedback (#0). and then type next command. When it is done u can see again iPhone comes into DFU mode under iTunes (some popup on the System Tray on device detection DFU). after finished downgrading firmware, it will still show error 1xxx as the baseband is still on the latest version. but worry not as i've stated before that if u r deciding to go to 1.1.2, the unlock will bring back the baseband to 4.02G. owww...actually if u r on BL 4.6 u r actually on 4.02G by the zibri's ziphone method.
jetkiat
post Feb 13 2008, 12:13 AM

367 posts

1604 now....zzzz

finally back to 1.1.2 rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

long story....

This post has been edited by jetkiat: Feb 13 2008, 01:10 AM
TSianho
post Feb 13 2008, 01:32 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(jetkiat @ Feb 13 2008, 12:13 AM)
1604 now....zzzz
finally back to 1.1.2 rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif

long story....
Y u wanna go back to 1.1.2? The features in 1.1.3 r so nice. I cant live without webclips n the ability to move my icons around.
jetkiat
post Feb 13 2008, 01:35 AM

367 posts

hahaha....no sure lah..just stick with 1.1.2 1st...
baretta
post Feb 13 2008, 03:10 AM

1,853 posts

already restore to 1.1.3 than run ziphone -a -j , than download bsd subsystem and install, run anysim 1.1.3. than reboot, uninstall anysim 1.1.3. connect itunes than sync. done

Added on February 13, 2008, 3:31 amweather : ok
youtube : ok
SMS : ok
call : ok
itunes : ok
google : ok but show diff area (note use 019)
safari : ok

This post has been edited by baretta: Feb 13 2008, 03:31 AM
TSianho
post Feb 13 2008, 03:35 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(baretta @ Feb 13 2008, 03:10 AM)
already restore to 1.1.3 than run ziphone -a -j , than download bsd subsystem and install, run anysim 1.1.3. than reboot, uninstall anysim 1.1.3. connect itunes than sync. done

Added on February 13, 2008, 3:31 amweather : ok
youtube : ok
SMS : ok
call : ok
itunes : ok
google : ok but show diff area (note use 019)
safari : ok
That was about the easiest thing u ever did right? Simple as 1,2,3. Less than 10 minutes n BAM u now haf V1.1.3 without all the hassles like Nate n Devteam JB last time. Those 2 JBs really bang ballz 1. Go n go n go for hours then find out sumthin wrong right at the last few steps n hafta redo everything all over again from 1.1.1.
baretta
post Feb 13 2008, 03:42 AM

1,853 posts

When sync , it will ask u to restore backup or as new iphone. I just select to backup. And all my setting including mail, phone num etc will restore back.

Added on February 13, 2008, 3:46 am
QUOTE(ianho @ Feb 13 2008, 03:35 AM)
That was about the easiest thing u ever did right? Simple as 1,2,3.  Less than 10 minutes n BAM u now haf V1.1.3 without all the hassles like Nate n Devteam JB last time. Those 2 JBs really bang ballz 1. Go n go n go for hours then find out sumthin wrong right at the last few steps n hafta redo everything all over again from 1.1.1.
Yepp, that is why i still wait for this method. Actually, i just got hint after Nate and DEV JB. Thaty is why, i always told u all not to update 1.1.3 yet.

So, for 3.9 BL, follow as ianho guideline. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by baretta: Feb 13 2008, 03:46 AM
darkimp
post Feb 13 2008, 04:00 AM

363 posts

now the mac version is out.... Here
lokgotz
post Feb 13 2008, 12:20 PM

hehehe
2,657 posts

Did my OTB 1.1.2 using this method...took me less than 3 minutes...used the A-J-U method...now it's on 1.1.3!!

a few problems though:
1. Google's locate doesn't work. I googled around and found a few people saying that running LocateMe once and it should work, but mine doesnt work

2. CallerID not recognize in calls and SMS....googled around and found a supposedly fix...but cannot download...it seems that the source server is down...

that's about it....every other thing works...

P.S. Anyone has a fix for my problems?? I dont mind google map not locating me, but callerID is a must for me..

thanks in advance

gstoh
post Feb 13 2008, 01:03 PM

INTJ
1,282 posts

now we can unlock iPhone using sotfware and dont need to use craked simcard?
kiasunkiasi
post Feb 13 2008, 02:25 PM

597 posts

QUOTE(gstoh @ Feb 13 2008, 01:03 PM)
now we can unlock iPhone using sotfware and dont need to use craked simcard?
Yes, tried and tested, can unlock virtually all iPhones unless it's physically damaged...
darkimp
post Feb 13 2008, 02:43 PM

363 posts

yupe. you can do it on your own with some simple guide line provided in the first post.
LaskarCinta
post Feb 13 2008, 03:52 PM

?
1,651 posts

strange that i still got problem in downloading from installer.app. hohoho...dun have problem when surfing on safari. also have no prob when listing new sources repositories. but always got prob on downloading app. so still haven't installed AnySIM. oww great my iPhone is still an iPod Touch.

mmm...time to find another wifi spot then. hope it works. or maybe i need to restore my iPhone then. here we go again.

This post has been edited by LaskarCinta: Feb 13 2008, 03:54 PM
TSianho
post Feb 13 2008, 05:39 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

I've been trying to ZiPhone a OTB V1.02 for the past hour. It doesn't work. After selecting ZiPhone A+J Cmds it does the 45 second thing n when it reboots, the screen just stays on the Apple n doesnt boot. Any1 else tried a V1.02 n worked?

This post has been edited by ianho: Feb 13 2008, 05:40 PM
kiasunkiasi
post Feb 13 2008, 07:05 PM

597 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Feb 13 2008, 05:39 PM)
I've been trying to ZiPhone a OTB V1.02 for the past hour. It doesn't work. After selecting ZiPhone A+J Cmds it does the 45 second thing n when it reboots, the screen just stays on the Apple n doesnt boot.  Any1 else tried a V1.02 n worked?
Have you tried my way, i.e. let ZiPhone ask you to put phone into recovery mode?
TSianho
post Feb 13 2008, 07:30 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(kiasunkiasi @ Feb 13 2008, 07:05 PM)
Have you tried my way, i.e. let ZiPhone ask you to put phone into recovery mode?
how did u do that?

Hmmmmm ur probably right. Coz ziphone GUI says looking for iPhone the whole time the apple stays on the screen. But how to make ziphone ask to put dfu?

This post has been edited by ianho: Feb 13 2008, 07:37 PM
kiasunkiasi
post Feb 13 2008, 07:44 PM

597 posts

When you restore to 1.1.3, your phone will be showing the emergency call only screen, right? Launch ZiPhone and key in the Activate+JB command [ziphone -a -j], ZiPhone will check and ask you to put your phone into recovery mode... Just do so...

It worked for me, I was putting the phone in recovery mode before running the [ziphone -a -j] command for countless times before I use my way... Can't xplain why lah...
TSianho
post Feb 13 2008, 07:56 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(kiasunkiasi @ Feb 13 2008, 07:44 PM)
When you restore to 1.1.3, your phone will be showing the emergency call only screen, right? Launch ZiPhone and key in the Activate+JB command [ziphone -a -j], ZiPhone will check and ask you to put your phone into recovery mode... Just do so...

It worked for me, I was putting the phone in recovery mode before running the [ziphone -a -j] command for countless times before I use my way... Can't xplain why lah...
Wokeh, thanks for teh tip. Will try it when I get home.
nonama
post Feb 13 2008, 08:05 PM

87 posts

Just a silly question...

When u say update 1.1.3 using itunes, do u press SHIFT update or just click update?
TSianho
post Feb 13 2008, 08:54 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

Ok. I finally managed a successful unlock of the OTB 1.02. The problem was I bekside itchy n tried the latest Windows GUI version of ZiPhone. laugh.gif I wud recommend that everybody just follow the original CMD method I posted in post #1. After I reverted back to the CMD method, everything went as usual n I got a nicely unlocked phone in 45 seconds.

@nonama, just use Upgrade if ur not in DFU mode. If ur in DFU mode then use Restore.
lokgotz
post Feb 13 2008, 09:07 PM

hehehe
2,657 posts

Solved most of the problems in my OTB 1.1.2

The only problem right now is that Google Map's Locate feature doesn't work.
Everytime it's either "Your position can not be determined" or the thing just spins around forever.

I got it to work once, using only my EDGE connection. It said I was located at Kansas in US while I was in Kuala Lumpur.

Any idea what happened?
TSianho
post Feb 13 2008, 10:44 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(lokgotz @ Feb 13 2008, 09:07 PM)
Solved most of the problems in my OTB 1.1.2

The only problem right now is that Google Map's Locate feature doesn't work.
Everytime it's either "Your position can not be determined" or the thing just spins around forever.

I got it to work once, using only my EDGE connection.  It said I was located at Kansas in US while I was in Kuala Lumpur.

Any idea what happened?
From what I've read, if u want the map locator to work natively, u must have BB 4.03 which is why the 1.0.2 n 1.1.1 phones that go tru this ZiPhone method get to use the locator natively without Navizon n all that. Ur's is 4.02 so it wont work.
OmniAtlas
post Feb 13 2008, 11:10 PM

946 posts

QUOTE(lokgotz @ Feb 13 2008, 12:20 PM)
Did my OTB 1.1.2 using this method...took me less than 3 minutes...used the A-J-U method...now it's on 1.1.3!!

a few problems though:
1. Google's locate doesn't work.  I googled around and found a few people saying that running LocateMe once and it should work, but mine doesnt work

2. CallerID not recognize in calls and SMS....googled around and found a supposedly fix...but cannot download...it seems that the source server is down...

that's about it....every other thing works...

P.S. Anyone has a fix for my problems?? I dont mind google map not locating me, but callerID is a must for me..

thanks in advance
Until these issues are fixed I don't think I'll be upgrading (again). Caller ID for SMS is the most important thing; really annoying when I get messages and I have no idea who they are from.

I think I'll wait until the SDK is released.

welwitchia
post Feb 13 2008, 11:18 PM

1,219 posts

^ I don't get it, when u say caller ID, u're referring to the name of the person that just send u the SMS right? Mine works but maybe because i store all my number in the +60xxxxxxx format.
lokgotz
post Feb 13 2008, 11:28 PM

hehehe
2,657 posts

QUOTE(OmniAtlas @ Feb 13 2008, 11:10 PM)
Until these issues are fixed I don't think I'll be upgrading (again). Caller ID for SMS is the most important thing; really annoying when I get messages and I have no idea who they are from.

I think I'll wait until the SDK is released.
callerID worked for me...just need to copy some files and it's good...

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Feb 13 2008, 11:18 PM)
^ I don't get it, when u say caller ID, u're referring to the name of the person that just send u the SMS right? Mine works but maybe because i store all my number in the +60xxxxxxx format.
hhmm....mine just showed the number....maybe i didnt store it in the +60 format lah....hehe
kiasunkiasi
post Feb 13 2008, 11:31 PM

597 posts

I used the solution in this Hackint0sh thread
http://hackint0sh.org/forum/showthread.php?t=25530

Everything's OK, calls and messages coming in showing correct ID.

Edit : BTW, it's my habit to key in all my contacts with intenational dialling code +60xxxxxxxxx

This post has been edited by kiasunkiasi: Feb 13 2008, 11:32 PM
lordsharingan
post Feb 13 2008, 11:41 PM

やった!!
656 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Feb 13 2008, 05:39 PM)
I've been trying to ZiPhone a OTB V1.02 for the past hour. It doesn't work. After selecting ZiPhone A+J Cmds it does the 45 second thing n when it reboots, the screen just stays on the Apple n doesnt boot.  Any1 else tried a V1.02 n worked?
i have the same prob.. now my phone is stuck on the apple logo screen.. my itunes cant detect my phone.. so i cant restore it or anyhow.. how to do? can i jailbreak and activate without at&t simcard?

Added on February 14, 2008, 12:01 amomg .. wtf.. i just hold the home button and power button until the cable conenct to itunes came out.. then the phone restarted and im on 1.1.3 already.. wee.. so happy XD

This post has been edited by lordsharingan: Feb 14 2008, 12:01 AM
TSianho
post Feb 14 2008, 12:59 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(lordsharingan @ Feb 13 2008, 11:41 PM)
i have the same prob.. now my phone is stuck on the apple logo screen.. my itunes cant detect my phone.. so i cant restore it or anyhow.. how to do? can i jailbreak and activate without at&t simcard?

Added on February 14, 2008, 12:01 amomg .. wtf.. i just hold the home button and power button until the cable conenct to itunes came out.. then the phone restarted and im on 1.1.3 already.. wee.. so happy XD
At last! laugh.gif Congratz n welkamb to the V1.1.3 family.

Added on February 14, 2008, 1:17 amWhooooooooooooo. Now even got hack to downgrade BL4.6 to BL3.9 so all the 1.1.2 fellas can upgrade to 1.1.3 n also haf BB4.03. Who dares to try? Very risky, it seems can really brick the phone!

This post has been edited by ianho: Feb 14 2008, 01:17 AM
lokgotz
post Feb 14 2008, 01:26 AM

hehehe
2,657 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Feb 14 2008, 12:59 AM)
At last! laugh.gif    Congratz n welkamb to the V1.1.3 family.

Added on February 14, 2008, 1:17 amWhooooooooooooo.  Now even got hack to downgrade BL4.6 to BL3.9 so all the 1.1.2 fellas can upgrade to 1.1.3 n also haf BB4.03. Who dares to try? Very risky, it seems can really brick the phone!
i will try it...when i'm free...

but till then, i guess there will be some dare devil trying it before me....hehe
lordsharingan
post Feb 14 2008, 07:31 AM

やった!!
656 posts

LOL ..another problem came up..I jailbroken and activated my phone..everything is working but I can't seem to install anysim1.3 ..they came out with the masage fail to extract file.. D: sad
atrash
post Feb 14 2008, 08:53 AM

351 posts

i'm on mac..
after update my phone, there's no emergency call..already like activated..but not unlock n no installer.app either..

try to use mac version of ziphone..but the program can't even find my iphone..

what to do now? please help
i-zonda
post Feb 14 2008, 11:44 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(frozzbyte @ Feb 12 2008, 05:38 PM)
u can't directly assume its BL4.6 as ur phone can be BL3.9 with soft upgrade 1.1.3 but with 04.02 BB. Try installing bbinfo or hwinfo to get ur BL version.
Hi, where can i find bbinfo/hwinfo? which sources do offer these app.? im not sure mine is BL4.6 not, since im going to use the Mac method to unlock, im pretty scare to screw things up...
I really want to be in the 1.1.3 'family' since my iphone is giving sms problem ( sometimes cant send out sms by giving 'sending msg failure' n straight away cant locate my SIM card and disconnect from Maxis.. very frustrated vmad.gif ). icon_question.gif

lordsharingan
post Feb 14 2008, 02:21 PM

やった!!
656 posts

omg.. i did the ziphone jail break and unlock .. the cmd command stucks at wait 45 sec.. its been already 5 mins and still nothing happens...
dan2020
post Feb 14 2008, 04:48 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(lordsharingan @ Feb 13 2008, 11:41 PM)

I've been having the problem for a while.

I was from 1.1.2 OTB to 1.1.3 OTB. The Ziphone will stop after the 2min 30 second sign comes out.

The problem: once i started the process, the PLUG logo will switch into the Apple logo. And i suspect this was the problem.

So, what i did was i used the Ziphone GUI. And instead of checking the unlock, activate and jailbreak, i also checked the Verbose boot (debug).

And it worked for me!

lokgotz
post Feb 14 2008, 04:57 PM

hehehe
2,657 posts

I used the older command line version of ziphone and my 1.1.2 OTB was unlocked, activated and jailbroken in less than 3 minutes.

I think the GUI versio is still buggy. Just use the old version, a lot more stable.
hussain
post Feb 14 2008, 11:49 PM

2,012 posts

Hi guys. Have been reading but a bit lost. Ok now I have a 1.1.2 OTB j,a,u. Using ziphone gui version 2.0.in I clarified its the former link as the latter link got apple logo hang problem. However I still can't use my phone as my keypad crashes and I can't seem to also install I world as it says package download failed. Can someone advice me please. I don't mind upgrading to 1.1 3. What is the best and safest way to do that without having baseband problems and not being able to downgrade back. All sifus out there please advice
nokia2003
post Feb 14 2008, 11:56 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(i-zonda @ Feb 14 2008, 11:44 AM)
Hi, where can i find bbinfo/hwinfo? which sources do offer these app.? im not sure mine is BL4.6 not, since im going to use the Mac method to unlock, im pretty scare to screw things up...
  I really want to be in the 1.1.3 'family' since my iphone is giving sms problem ( sometimes cant send out sms by giving 'sending msg failure' n straight away cant locate my SIM card and disconnect from Maxis.. very frustrated  vmad.gif ).  icon_question.gif

hey there you go!

add this to your sources: http"//www.trejan.com/irepo

find under utilities and voila!
TSianho
post Feb 16 2008, 09:26 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

any1 tried the new ZiPhone that downgrades the OTB 1.1.2 phones to BL3.9?
=Hanxz=
post Feb 17 2008, 12:42 AM

l33t!
1,903 posts

saw the warning it might brick your phone..who dares to try laugh.gif
TSianho
post Feb 17 2008, 12:55 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(=Hanxz= @ Feb 17 2008, 12:42 AM)
saw the warning it might brick your phone..who dares to try laugh.gif
I'm very sure got 1. Perhaps sum1 totally desperate to get Maps Locator working natively. :lol;
lokgotz
post Feb 17 2008, 02:14 AM

hehehe
2,657 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Feb 17 2008, 12:55 AM)
I'm very sure got 1. Perhaps sum1 totally desperate to get Maps Locator working natively. :lol;
that's me....

will try it next week.......kinda busy during the weekends....hehe
jonest
post Feb 17 2008, 03:07 AM

472 posts

ziphone 2.3 is already out, any1 tried it yet??
wklim78
post Feb 17 2008, 03:23 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Feb 12 2008, 02:01 PM)
Those of u on V1.1.2 with BL4.6. It's even simpler. Just update to V1.1.3 through iTunes. After that go to the ZiPhone method n use A, J and U command to Activate, Jailbreak n Unlock. There's no need for AnySIM 1.3.    2 minutes n 45 seconds later u will have a completely unlocked V1.1.3.  rclxms.gif
Those of u who have played around with upgrade, downgrade with all kinds of Apps n all that. All u need to do is plug it into iTunes n click Restore. It will wipe everything out n make it like a new V1.1.3 locked. Then u just use Ziphone after that. Whether u use A+J n then AnySIM or A+J+U  commands depends on whether u haf BL39 or BL4.6.
wat do u mean by A+J or AnySIM or A+J+U ?????????
don get it
LaskarCinta
post Feb 17 2008, 03:41 AM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(wklim78 @ Feb 17 2008, 03:23 AM)
wat do u mean by A+J or AnySIM or A+J+U  ?????????
don get it
oww...it's the command that need to be input dude.

-a = activate
-j = jailbreak
-u = unlock
-v = verbose boot

so it will be ziphone -a -j -u

maybe the iClarified link stated at the 1st page or maybe i.unlock.no will be a good start. mmm...btw now no need to deal with AnySIM anymore, so u don't need it. godd luck dude!
capultion
post Feb 17 2008, 05:00 AM

63 posts

QUOTE(darkimp @ Feb 13 2008, 04:00 AM)
now the mac version is out.... Here
I think this one the best for MAC. One click to Jailbreak & Unlock for all BL. rclxms.gif
Programs and phone work flawlessly with maxis. 5 mins everything done.

takanor1
post Feb 17 2008, 06:02 AM

224 posts

oh no i'm stuck in 45 secs.... cant see the done! word!!

Added on February 17, 2008, 6:02 amhoww? pls help!?

This post has been edited by takanor1: Feb 17 2008, 06:02 AM
LaskarCinta
post Feb 17 2008, 06:49 AM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(takanor1 @ Feb 17 2008, 06:02 AM)
oh no i'm stuck in 45 secs.... cant see the done! word!!

Added on February 17, 2008, 6:02 amhoww? pls help!?
r u stuck with apple logo on screen?
takanor1
post Feb 17 2008, 07:31 AM

224 posts

manage to jailbreak and unlock at last... scaryy.... did a ziphone -v and everything works well after that
futobuta
post Feb 17 2008, 07:39 AM

1,519 posts

My iPhone is 1.1.2 OTB.... activated, jailbroken n unlocked.
Is it wise to upgrade to 1.1.3 now? If so, after upgrading to
1.1.3 with iTunes, do i have to reactivate, jailbreak n unlock
once again? wat are the steps i should take if i would like to
return my iPhone to the original state before the upgrade
(eg. remove everything i;ve ever added, just like Nokia's
*#7370#). thanks.
LaskarCinta
post Feb 17 2008, 08:34 AM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(futobuta @ Feb 17 2008, 07:39 AM)
My iPhone is 1.1.2 OTB.... activated, jailbroken n unlocked.
Is it wise to upgrade to 1.1.3 now? If so, after upgrading to
1.1.3 with iTunes, do i have to reactivate, jailbreak n unlock
once again? wat are the steps i should take if i would like to
return my iPhone to the original state before the upgrade
(eg. remove everything i;ve ever added, just like Nokia's
*#7370#). thanks.
mmm...about choosing 1.1.2 or 1.1.3, it depends on your preference. if u'd like to avoid facing the risk of some incompatible 3rd party apps then better stick with 1.1.2 (check the app compatibility first on its page before deciding).
but if u r looking for new features added on the firmware 1.1.3, then y not go for upgrade.

ok about doing the upgrade, u can do it by either upgrade or restore to 1.1.3 in iTunes, and then just run ziphone. after 2.5 minutes of ziphone-ing u'll already get a jailbroken unlocked iPhone. it's the easiest method ever. it's so simple.

about erasing everything, just need to do a Shift + Restore again. but if u wanna restore to an earlier version of firmware, just follow the steps on downgrading written before before (i think it's on page 2).
megatron007
post Feb 17 2008, 09:53 AM

4,000 posts

yes well said...

tested ziphone method and 2.2ver is almost bug free.......... smile.gif
uncleberg
post Feb 17 2008, 12:27 PM

112 posts

2.2 ZiPhone used to jailbreak and activate a 1.1.3 reflashed iphone under 5 mins. The unlocking process by using anySim 1.3 took the longest; about 10 mins. All together 15 mins.
TSianho
post Feb 17 2008, 02:27 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(uncleberg @ Feb 17 2008, 12:27 PM)
2.2 ZiPhone used to jailbreak and activate a 1.1.3 reflashed iphone under 5 mins. The unlocking process by using anySim 1.3 took the longest; about 10 mins. All together 15 mins.
When we think back about the 3-6 hours we spent on the previous JBs, makes us all look like fools. laugh.gif
MattJ
post Feb 17 2008, 02:29 PM

769 posts

LAskar/Uncleberg

Meaning to say if I have a 1.1.3 iphone, all I need is :-
1) Restore to 1.1.3 using Itunes
2) Do Ziphone 2.2 -a -j -u
Any step after this?
Where does Anysim comes in?
Sorry for noobie questions
TSianho
post Feb 17 2008, 02:45 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(MattJ @ Feb 17 2008, 02:29 PM)
LAskar/Uncleberg

Meaning to say if I have a 1.1.3 iphone, all I need is :-
1) Restore to 1.1.3 using Itunes
2) Do Ziphone 2.2 -a -j -u
Any step after this?
Where does Anysim comes in?
Sorry for noobie questions
Just use the latest ZiPhone n u wont need to bother with AnySIM now. AnySIM was used with older version of ZiPhone on BL3.9 phones meaning the 1.1.1 n 1.02. Now all can just use A,J,U n everything will be done.
friends
post Feb 17 2008, 03:48 PM

Benjiro Kujo
1,291 posts

noobie here.
means, now with v1.1.3 unlocking method, we don't actually need to use AnySim, PSSIM or other similar "Sim Card Adapter" in order to use unlocked iPhone ?

baretta
post Feb 17 2008, 05:23 PM

1,853 posts

Ver 2.3 released.
LaskarCinta
post Feb 17 2008, 05:29 PM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(friends @ Feb 17 2008, 03:48 PM)
noobie here.
means, now with v1.1.3 unlocking method, we don't actually need to use AnySim, PSSIM or other similar "Sim Card Adapter" in order to use unlocked iPhone ?
Yup, no need to use xxxxxSIM simcard adapter method anymore. And if u use earlier version of ZiPhone (1.0 and 1.1), u still need to resort to the software-based AnySIM if u r on bootloader 3.9. But with the latest version, ZiPhone will handle everything by itself. Happy unlocking!
futobuta
post Feb 17 2008, 10:26 PM

1,519 posts

Came back from my day trip to KL with my brand new
black Capsule... nice...... in ipoh, tarak boleh dapat
iphone accessory... very satisfied.. now trying to build
up enough courage to update my 1.1.2 to 1.1.3.
in 1.1.3, we can only see the number of the sender n
not their names as in our contacts?
TSianho
post Feb 18 2008, 02:52 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(futobuta @ Feb 17 2008, 10:26 PM)
Came back from my day trip to KL with my brand new
black Capsule... nice...... in ipoh, tarak boleh dapat
iphone accessory... very satisfied.. now trying to build
up enough courage to update my 1.1.2 to 1.1.3.
in 1.1.3, we can only see the number of the sender n
not their names as in our contacts?
All u need to do is the AppSupport patch n u'll be fine.
jonest
post Feb 19 2008, 03:43 AM

472 posts

YES!!! I managed to upgrade 112 - 113 with itunes then a, j & u with ziphone 2.3 today successfully!!! yippeee

Encountered some problem during the resetting phone to dfu mode.... pressed the home button but no response.

then somehow, pressed here n there, the screen became white.... then had to restore with itunes.... all my files are lost!!!

upon restore, the phone went into dfu mode with the itunes logo appeared... then quickly used ziphone to a, j & u....the phone is now 113 activated!!! later on, sync with itunes.... all my files were restored from backup.... YIPPEEEE

One minor issue that the alarm ring is little bit soft... any1 encountered this??
treason
post Feb 19 2008, 07:35 PM

190 posts

hey guys..stuck on the apple logo....wat do i do??? thanks!
LaskarCinta
post Feb 19 2008, 07:50 PM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(treason @ Feb 19 2008, 07:35 PM)
hey guys..stuck on the apple logo....wat do i do??? thanks!
the usual remedy = ziphone -v

good luck dude!
treason
post Feb 19 2008, 09:16 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(LaskarCinta @ Feb 19 2008, 07:50 PM)
the usual remedy = ziphone -v

good luck dude!
thanks for that dude...appreciate it...using anysim 1.3 now since im from 1.1.1...hopefully all goes well!!! tongue.gif
futobuta
post Feb 19 2008, 09:16 PM

1,519 posts

Now attempting my 1.1.3 restore n update. Wow... the
download sure is taking a long long time.....

Added on February 19, 2008, 11:36 pmwhere am i supposed to find the AppSupport patch?

Added on February 20, 2008, 12:21 amYeah.... everything done.... restore, update, activate, jailbreak
n unlock...... fuh..... and all in time for bedtime. Great!

This post has been edited by futobuta: Feb 20 2008, 12:21 AM
kasmankk
post Feb 20 2008, 12:50 AM

27 posts

after update to 1.1.3 and use ziphone to frre my iphone , the sms is sure very very slow ..anyone have the same problem?
about 8 sec to show up
about 3 sec to display the conversation
about 6 sec to go back to text list

any remedy for this?? rclxub.gif
lokgotz
post Feb 20 2008, 01:57 AM

hehehe
2,657 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Feb 13 2008, 10:44 PM)
From what I've read, if u want the map locator to work natively, u must have BB 4.03 which is why the 1.0.2 n 1.1.1 phones that go tru this ZiPhone method get to use the locator natively without Navizon n all that. Ur's is 4.02 so it wont work.
hhmm....funny thing....

When i was using maxis, google locator wouldn't work....

i put in my digi sim card and it worked flawlessly.....so i dont think it's the baseband issue....

i just found out that it works on my digi.....was using LocateMe all these while....

anyway, this is just a small update from me....

so my conclusion, ziphone method can kao tim everything!

BTW, i used the older ziphone command line version....heard too many stories about the gui version

This post has been edited by lokgotz: Feb 20 2008, 01:58 AM
TSianho
post Feb 20 2008, 07:05 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(lokgotz @ Feb 20 2008, 01:57 AM)
hhmm....funny thing....

When i was using maxis, google locator wouldn't work....

i put in my digi sim card and it worked flawlessly.....so i dont think it's the baseband issue....

i just found out that it works on my digi.....was using LocateMe all these while....

anyway, this is just a small update from me....

so my conclusion, ziphone method can kao tim everything!

BTW, i used the older ziphone command line version....heard too many stories about the gui version
I have tried BB4.02 n BB403 units with Digi and the 4.02 units never worked with the map locator. Only the 4.03 units worked. Anyway, map locator only appeared with the introduction of 4.03. I think what u tried was actually the Axel Bauer Locate Me n not G Maps locator.

This post has been edited by ianho: Feb 20 2008, 07:10 AM
futobuta
post Feb 20 2008, 09:18 AM

1,519 posts

After installing BSD Subsystem, do we need
to install OpenSSH? wat is its function anyway?
lokgotz
post Feb 20 2008, 11:06 AM

hehehe
2,657 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Feb 20 2008, 07:05 AM)
I have tried BB4.02 n BB403 units with Digi and the 4.02 units never worked with the map locator. Only the 4.03 units worked. Anyway, map locator only appeared with the introduction of 4.03. I think what u tried was actually the Axel Bauer Locate Me n not G Maps locator.
it doesn't work today...dunno why...

what is the Axel Bauer Locate Me?

i pressed the bottom left bottom button that looks like a crossfire, and it detected my location.....that's G Maps Locator or Axel??
TSianho
post Feb 20 2008, 11:31 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(lokgotz @ Feb 20 2008, 11:06 AM)
it doesn't work today...dunno why...

what is the Axel Bauer Locate Me?

i pressed the bottom left bottom button that looks like a crossfire, and it detected my location.....that's G Maps Locator or Axel??
Bottom left button is Gmaps. LocateMe by Axel Bauer is that 3rd party app. Sum fellas on 4.02 use that 1st then after that Gmaps works.
vassalle
post Feb 20 2008, 11:42 AM

610 posts

Ianho, thanks for the easy to follow guide. I haven't tried it personally coz quite busy lately. Anyway, one of my friends asked me whether he can upgrade using this method if he is using turbosim? I've never used turbosim or any xxxsim method before so i'm not too sure. Would appreciate you if you could clarify on things. Cheers!
futobuta
post Feb 20 2008, 12:44 PM

1,519 posts

Any idea on how to make the G Map work without installing other applications....
trying to keep the iPhone as stock as possible.
TSianho
post Feb 20 2008, 02:41 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(vassalle @ Feb 20 2008, 11:42 AM)
Ianho, thanks for the easy to follow guide. I haven't tried it personally coz quite busy lately. Anyway, one of my friends asked me whether he can upgrade using this method if he is using turbosim? I've never used turbosim or any xxxsim method before so i'm not too sure. Would appreciate you if you could clarify on things. Cheers!
All 1.0.2, 1.1.1, 1.1.2 phones can be done. After doing the ZiPhone A,J,U there's no more need for all the different types of "turbosims". All can be retired to the iPhone museum oredi. laugh.gif

QUOTE(futobuta @ Feb 20 2008, 12:44 PM)
Any idea on how to make the G Map work without installing other applications....
trying to keep the iPhone as stock as possible.
If ur phone is a BL3.9 version, after the ZiPhone A,J,U, the BB will become 4.03 n ur Gmap locator shud work by itself. Mostly it's the fellas on BL4.6 that haf probs coz their BB is only 4.02.
futobuta
post Feb 20 2008, 03:02 PM

1,519 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Feb 20 2008, 02:41 PM)
All 1.0.2,  1.1.1, 1.1.2 phones can be done. After doing the ZiPhone A,J,U there's no more need for all the different types of "turbosims". All can be retired to the iPhone museum oredi. laugh.gif
If ur phone is a BL3.9 version, after the ZiPhone A,J,U, the BB will become 4.03 n ur Gmap locator shud work by itself. Mostly it's the fellas on BL4.6 that haf probs coz their BB is only 4.02.
So, say my bb is 4.02... what should i do?
TSianho
post Feb 20 2008, 03:20 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(futobuta @ Feb 20 2008, 03:02 PM)
So, say my bb is 4.02... what should i do?
Easiest way for u is to just use LocateMe. If u wanna run Gmaps Locator natively, it's a very big risk to flash ur BL down to 3.9 so u can then have BB4.03.
futobuta
post Feb 20 2008, 03:43 PM

1,519 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Feb 20 2008, 03:20 PM)
Easiest way for u is to just use LocateMe. If u wanna run Gmaps Locator natively, it's a very big risk to flash ur BL down to 3.9 so u can then have BB4.03.
Wat's Locate Me? A 3rd party app? Is it good?
lokgotz
post Feb 20 2008, 03:55 PM

hehehe
2,657 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Feb 20 2008, 11:31 AM)
Bottom left button is Gmaps. LocateMe by Axel Bauer is that 3rd party app. Sum fellas on 4.02 use that 1st then after that Gmaps works.
yeah...then it works on 4.03...

i use both axel and Gmaps....both workable...

but Gmaps doesnt work anymore..dunno y.....maybe it;s my area?
TSianho
post Feb 21 2008, 08:09 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(lokgotz @ Feb 20 2008, 03:55 PM)
yeah...then it works on 4.03...

i use both axel and Gmaps....both workable...

but Gmaps doesnt work anymore..dunno y.....maybe it;s my area?
When I 1st upgraded my 1.1.1 phone to Nate's 1.1.3(BB stayed at 4.01), my Gmaps didnt work, Axel didn't work either. After I upgraded my BB to 4.03 then it works perfectly everytime. It must be an issue with the BB.
LaskarCinta
post Feb 21 2008, 05:20 PM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(futobuta @ Feb 20 2008, 03:43 PM)
Wat's Locate Me? A 3rd party app? Is it good?
add diz on your source
http://www.soneso.com/iphone
and then install locateme

p.s: but i think that the source is already included into community source. correct me if i'm wrong.
futobuta
post Feb 21 2008, 06:03 PM

1,519 posts

QUOTE(LaskarCinta @ Feb 21 2008, 05:20 PM)
add diz on your source
http://www.soneso.com/iphone
and then install locateme

p.s: but i think that the source is already included into community source. correct me if i'm wrong.
What does Locate Me do? Just pinpointing my location in Malaysia?
how are the maps of malaysia? good?
LaskarCinta
post Feb 21 2008, 09:18 PM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(futobuta @ Feb 21 2008, 06:03 PM)
What does Locate Me do? Just pinpointing my location in Malaysia?
how are the maps of malaysia? good?
it picks up the beacon via cellular triangulation just like on the revamped Google Maps on 1.1.3. after it gets the signals needed, it will pinpoint the location on the Maps application. mmm...early version of it will open Safari and then pointing the location on the web GoogleMaps. the latest one will show the location inside GoogleMap application.

so it just use the google's map. try it and u'll know. also if u'r still on baseband 4.02 u still need to use LocateMe to activate the location function in Maps application, otherwise it will not work (Map's location function needs modem firmware 4.03 that originally came with firmware 1.1.3)

Added on February 21, 2008, 9:25 pmthe latest version of ZiPhone GUI is great, it also serves u a cup of coffee! of course after it's brewed u need to go to his house, hehehe...

oww...btw the latest version is really idiot-proof too. u can activate Restore Mode or DFU Mode directly on the interface. so no need any other tools then. and it is fun too! (yeah u can make coffee while unlocking)

This post has been edited by LaskarCinta: Feb 21 2008, 09:26 PM
ioriamd
post Feb 22 2008, 04:20 PM

Tok Bali RC Club
672 posts

sorry is this had been ask b4..
is it true ziphone auto downgrade our baseband to 3.9?
supafreak
post Feb 23 2008, 01:42 PM

188 posts

ianho,

I'm gonna try to upgrade my OOB 1.1.1 (A,J,U) to 1.1.3 later today... but b4 i do so, juz wanna quickly confirm with ya that i only need to follow the upgrade steps on page 1 of this post... run the ziphone (mac ver)... and select the 3 options, then it's all done?
TSianho
post Feb 23 2008, 11:39 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(supafreak @ Feb 23 2008, 01:42 PM)
ianho,

I'm gonna try to upgrade my OOB 1.1.1 (A,J,U) to 1.1.3 later today... but b4 i do so, juz wanna quickly confirm with ya that i only need to follow the upgrade steps on page 1 of this post... run the ziphone (mac ver)... and select the 3 options, then it's all done?
Yup. That's all u need to do.
LaskarCinta
post Feb 24 2008, 07:47 PM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(ioriamd @ Feb 22 2008, 04:20 PM)
sorry is this had been ask b4..
is it true ziphone auto downgrade our baseband to 3.9?
If u use the latest ziphone and unlocking from the GUI using Full Unlock button, yes it will.

But u can avoid it in GUI by selecting Advanced and just ticking the Activate, Jailbreak, and Unlock. Don't tick on Downgrade Bootloader.
primuslim
post Feb 25 2008, 02:56 AM

36 posts

Hello iphone experts!

i was about to purchase an iphone recently but i have recently wandered into a blog website *i fogot the link* that warned that apple can release updates in the future that will lock the iphones us m'sians will be using. I was under the impression that if we just don't download the new versions and use the current unlocked ones that it will be ok.

What i'm worried is, that can apple forcefully update the iphones in the future and lock all the "hacked" iphones?

i'm sorry i'm really new to all these and bad at technology. Hope you guys can help me out here, as im just abit worried about that scenario happening.

i mean just for example i hope they cant make itunes incompatible to all old versions or something unless we use a new unhackable version... i dunno im just guessing.

Anyway if anyone knows what the hell i'm talking about (regarding apple being not able to forcefully update the phones) notworthy.gif your help is GREATLY appreciated thanks! notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by primuslim: Feb 25 2008, 04:01 AM
primuslim
post Feb 25 2008, 02:57 AM

36 posts

-deleted-

double post

This post has been edited by primuslim: Feb 25 2008, 03:39 AM
primuslim
post Feb 25 2008, 02:59 AM

36 posts

Hello iphone experts!

i was about to purchase an iphone recently but i have recently wandered into a blog website *i fogot the link* that warned that apple can release updates in the future that will lock the iphones us m'sians will be using. I was under the impression that if we just don't download the new versions and use the current unlocked ones that it will be ok.

What i'm worried is, that can apple forcefully update the iphones in the future and lock all the "hacked" iphones?

i'm sorry i'm really new to all these and bad at technology. Hope you guys can help me out here, as im just abit worried they can make itunes incompatible to all old versions or something unless we use a new unhackable version...

er.. i'm really confusing myself now. Anyway if anyone knows what the hell i'm talking about notworthy.gif your help is GREATLY appreciated thanks! notworthy.gif
LaskarCinta
post Feb 25 2008, 04:16 AM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(primuslim @ Feb 25 2008, 02:56 AM)

i mean just for example i hope they cant make itunes incompatible to all old versions or something unless we use a new unhackable version... i dunno im just guessing.
as for current version your impression is right. if u don't update it will be no harm. and still no sign of force updating issue, only some minor modification of disabling DFU mode in iTunes 7.6 (haven't tested 7.6.1). but remember though that the update button is just one click away, so u don't know maybe one day u accidentally press that button. but so far it is no harm with it for now.

but what will afraid us all is that maybe Apple wanna try to push us into force update via iTunes. but in the meantime we dunno yet whether this will happen or not in future.

also keep hold of yourself from being lured by the flashy Update button appeared when the new update is available, without knowing the consequences. just consult with any sources upon availability of new firmware release. most probably it will keep coming with another protection system, so beware.

the safe way is to use the official iPhone version. but then comes again the million dollar question : when will iPhone arrives at our shores?

so it's better to say that if u have the unlocked iPhone, u r ready for more challenges then. it is more like a hobby then with adventures ahead. so if u doesn't seem like can handle this situation, then maybe u need another phone or wait for the official iPhone.
hussain
post Feb 25 2008, 10:56 AM

2,012 posts

Guys i have another issue now.My customer have OTB 1.1.2 with pss sim.I unlocked it for him with Ziphone 2.4 GUI version.Only unlock.I went to advance features and only choose unlock and pressed perform action.The phone unlocked beautifully.Can make calls and receive but sms crashes.
Also when click on recent calls also crash and goes back to springboard.Anyone got similar problems.?

Please advice

Added on February 25, 2008, 11:02 am
QUOTE(hussain @ Feb 25 2008, 10:56 AM)
Guys i have another issue now.My customer have OTB 1.1.2 with pss sim.I unlocked it for him with Ziphone 2.4 GUI version.Only unlock.I went to advance features and only choose unlock and pressed perform action.The phone unlocked beautifully.Can make calls and receive but sms crashes.
Also when click on recent calls also crash and goes back to springboard.Anyone got similar problems.?

Please advice
By the way the phone is jailbreaked using old downgrade 1.1.1 and oktoprep and update to 1.1.2 and used iworld

This post has been edited by hussain: Feb 25 2008, 11:02 AM
futobuta
post Feb 25 2008, 12:08 PM

1,519 posts

QUOTE(LaskarCinta @ Feb 21 2008, 09:18 PM)
it picks up the beacon via cellular triangulation just like on the revamped Google Maps on 1.1.3. after it gets the signals needed, it will pinpoint the location on the Maps application. mmm...early version of it will open Safari and then pointing the location on the web GoogleMaps. the latest one will show the location inside GoogleMap application.

so it just use the google's map. try it and u'll know. also if u'r still on baseband 4.02 u still need to use LocateMe to activate the location function in Maps application, otherwise it will not work (Map's location function needs modem firmware 4.03 that originally came with firmware 1.1.3)

Added on February 21, 2008, 9:25 pmthe latest version of ZiPhone GUI is great, it also serves u a cup of coffee! of course after it's brewed u need to go to his house, hehehe...

oww...btw the latest version is really idiot-proof too. u can activate Restore Mode or DFU Mode directly on the interface. so no need any other tools then. and it is fun too! (yeah u can make coffee while unlocking)
Tried Located Me, not very accurate. I guess in small town Ipoh, that's the best it could get.
Hehehe.... Actually, ipoh is such a small town, u can hardly get lost in it.... somemore
i am ipoh chai...... hehe.
hussain
post Feb 25 2008, 05:20 PM

2,012 posts

QUOTE(hussain @ Feb 25 2008, 10:56 AM)

Please advice

Added on February 25, 2008, 11:02 am

By the way the phone is jailbreaked using old downgrade 1.1.1 and oktoprep and update to 1.1.2 and used iworld
Solved...installed App Support Patch for 1.1.2
fipoch
post Feb 25 2008, 06:31 PM

487 posts

Hello, I'm a happy 1.1.2 user, do you guys think I should update?
darkimp
post Feb 26 2008, 12:34 AM

363 posts

QUOTE(fipoch @ Feb 25 2008, 06:31 PM)
Hello, I'm a happy 1.1.2 user, do you guys think I should update?
if you happy with it and you don't feel to take the risk and pressure to update ur iphone to 1.1.3 than don't do it lo.

everything is up to your own decision. smile.gif
megatron007
post Feb 26 2008, 03:09 PM

4,000 posts

it is easy to update or upgrade

if u need hepl or got duobt

pls feel free to PM me smile.gif
TeraPox
post Feb 26 2008, 04:03 PM

961 posts

will App Support Patch for 1.1.3 solve the sms name problem?
LaskarCinta
post Feb 26 2008, 04:23 PM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(TeraPox @ Feb 26 2008, 04:03 PM)
will App Support Patch for 1.1.3 solve the sms name problem?
Yup it will. Make sure the firmware version first before patching (1.1.2 or 1.1.3), there r 2 patches available
s3ng
post Mar 1 2008, 11:17 AM

QUOTE(LaskarCinta @ Feb 24 2008, 07:47 PM)
If u use the latest ziphone and unlocking from the GUI using Full Unlock button, yes it will.

But u can avoid it in GUI by selecting Advanced and just ticking the Activate, Jailbreak, and Unlock. Don't tick on Downgrade Bootloader.
I confused with the button in ZuiPhone gui v2.4
if i would like to unlock + jailbreak + activate (without downgraded bootloder 3.9), after i uncheck the 'downgrade bootloder' in advanced features

which button should i click?

click the 'coffee' button?

i have 1.1.3 with bootloader 4.6

any idea what will happen, if i dont want to downgrade the bootloader?

btw, i also comfortable with the command line. u can tell me the command line
futobuta
post Mar 1 2008, 11:24 AM

1,519 posts

QUOTE(s3ng @ Mar 1 2008, 11:17 AM)
if i would like to unlock + jailbreak + activate (without downgraded bootloder 3.9), after i uncheck the 'downgrade bootloder' in advanced features

btw, i also comfortable with the command line. u can tell me the command line
the command should be: ziphone -a -j -u

LaskarCinta
post Mar 1 2008, 08:13 PM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(s3ng @ Mar 1 2008, 11:17 AM)

After deselect downgrade bootloader, click Perform Action.
s3ng
post Mar 2 2008, 07:51 AM

QUOTE(LaskarCinta @ Mar 1 2008, 08:13 PM)
After deselect downgrade bootloader, click Perform Action.
omg!!! the button was soooo BIG and i cant even see it.
so sorry!!

laskarcinta, what firmware n bootloader version u currently using?
soundstream
post Mar 2 2008, 02:19 PM

161 posts

Just need a quick advise from you all experts

I have bought a 1.1.3 version firmware iphone from US.
All i need to do is follow the steps to the link below ?

1) Use Ziphone v2.5 to unlock,activate and jailbrake (maintain BL or Donwgrade to 3.9L better ?)
2) Install Patch AppSupport to solve the sms issue ?

After that good to go....?

Do i need to connect to WIFI during the whole process ?

icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by soundstream: Mar 2 2008, 11:06 PM
Voonz
post Mar 7 2008, 04:39 PM

701 posts

Hi guys i'm on 1.1.2 BL3.9 04.02.13_g here
my phone is lagging pretty heavily now.
and i want to update it to 1.1.4
will resatorring my phone do the work or do i have to revirginize it?
RESTORE -->Update to 1.1.4 with Itunes --> Ziphone.
i will retain 04.02 or i will be on a new firmware?
no cons right? are there?
TSianho
post Mar 7 2008, 04:49 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(Voonz @ Mar 7 2008, 04:39 PM)
Hi guys i'm on 1.1.2 BL3.9 04.02.13_g here
my phone is lagging pretty heavily now.
and i want to update it to 1.1.4
will resatorring my phone do the work or do i have to revirginize it?
RESTORE -->Update to 1.1.4 with Itunes --> Ziphone.
i will retain 04.02 or i will be on a new firmware?
no cons right? are there?
The update wipes everything clean. U dont need to do anything else. After that just ZiPhone.
Voonz
post Mar 8 2008, 03:20 AM

701 posts

thanks! it went well. i'm on 1.1.4 now!
terencetoo
post Mar 8 2008, 02:54 PM

3,246 posts

guys i cant find any thread regarding upgrade for 1.1.4?

okie let me make some short list here hope u guys dont mind..

Step 1: i plug in my 1.1.2 + Modem Firmware 4.02.13_G into itunes 7.6.1.9
Step2: do i need to click what auto lock mode or something?
Step3: Click Upgrade to 1.1.4?
Step 4: iPhone will be lock after upgrade
Step5: Download Ziphone 2.5c and Hit "Do it All" ?
Step6: Reset the phone? (by pressing Sleep +home button for 10 seconds)?

then im done? is tat so?

BTW, Is this tutorial correct?

http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=746

When do i need to take out my Sim with XX Sim?
Before Upgrading or after upgrading?

futobuta
post Mar 8 2008, 04:52 PM

1,519 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Mar 8 2008, 02:54 PM)
guys i cant find any thread regarding upgrade for 1.1.4?

okie let me make some short list here hope u guys dont mind..

Step 1: i plug in my 1.1.2 + Modem Firmware 4.02.13_G into itunes 7.6.1.9
Step2: do i need to click what auto lock mode or something?
Step3: Click Upgrade to 1.1.4?
Step 4: iPhone will be lock after upgrade
Step5: Download Ziphone 2.5c and Hit "Do it All" ?
Step6: Reset the phone? (by pressing Sleep +home button for 10 seconds)?

then im done? is tat so?

BTW, Is this tutorial correct?

http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=746

When do i need to take out my Sim with XX Sim?
Before Upgrading or after upgrading?

Upgrading 1.1.2 to 1.1.4 is the same as upgrading 1.1.2 to 1.1.3.
Use iTunes to restore n upgrade.
Then unlock with Ziphone.
Then Install AppSupport for 1.1.4 with Installer. Then..... SET!!!

terencetoo
post Mar 8 2008, 05:32 PM

3,246 posts

QUOTE(futobuta @ Mar 8 2008, 06:52 PM)
Upgrading 1.1.2 to 1.1.4 is the same as upgrading 1.1.2 to 1.1.3.
Use iTunes to restore n upgrade.
Then unlock with Ziphone.
Then Install AppSupport for 1.1.4 with Installer. Then..... SET!!!
Hi thanks futobuto~

So i need to restore first then perform upgrading is tat so?
What about the phone i cant find the steps before upgrading the phone something related to auto lock ....
so what should i do before i upgrade? set the phone do not auto lock?

p/s: my contact will it wipe out everyhing?

Added on March 8, 2008, 5:55 pmhi there the Auto Lock should set it to never is tat so then i can preform the restore and upgrade is it.

im worry my contacts will wipe out everything save in the phone....
will restored wipe out all the details?

This post has been edited by terencetoo: Mar 8 2008, 05:55 PM
futobuta
post Mar 8 2008, 06:06 PM

1,519 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Mar 8 2008, 05:32 PM)
Hi thanks futobuto~

So i need to restore first then perform upgrading is tat so?
What about the phone i cant find the steps before upgrading the phone something related to auto lock ....
so what should i do before i upgrade? set the phone do not auto lock?

p/s: my contact will it wipe out everyhing?

Added on March 8, 2008, 5:55 pmhi there the Auto Lock should set it to never is tat so then i can preform the restore and upgrade is it.

im worry my contacts will wipe out everything save in the phone....
will restored wipe out all the details?
No need to kacau the AutoLock thing. Maybe when u r trying to
install things like BossTools, u off the autolock 1min thing lah.
For upgrade, u just restore your iphone with itunes,
then upgrade. Better restore so that u can start
off your 1.1.4 clean. So nothing bad from 1.1.2 gets
carried forward. U back up lah your contacts ..... then resync later.

terencetoo
post Mar 8 2008, 06:27 PM

3,246 posts

ohh thanks

i downloaded the Ziphone 2.5 but i unzip it, it can run the ZiphoneGUI?
the applicaiton failure to initialize properly...

I downloaded from Iclarified....
futobuta
post Mar 8 2008, 08:03 PM

1,519 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Mar 8 2008, 06:27 PM)
ohh thanks
i downloaded the Ziphone 2.5 but i unzip it, it can run the ZiphoneGUI?
the applicaiton failure to initialize properly...

I downloaded from Iclarified....
Download direct from ziphone's website lah.
Anyway, try to unzip onto your desktop.
If cannot use GUI, use command lines lor.

And you should be getting Ziphone 2.5c instead of 2.5.

This post has been edited by futobuta: Mar 8 2008, 08:04 PM
terencetoo
post Mar 8 2008, 08:07 PM

3,246 posts

hi there i just downloaded Ziphone 2.5c....

welll unzip it follow the instrustion but still cannot....
Wait a min...from the Ziphone 2.5c stated there's a .Net Framewhere network? what is tat?
futobuta
post Mar 8 2008, 08:28 PM

1,519 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Mar 8 2008, 08:07 PM)
hi there i just downloaded Ziphone 2.5c....

welll unzip it follow the instrustion but still cannot....
Wait a min...from the Ziphone 2.5c stated there's a .Net Framewhere network? what is tat?
Maybe you should try to unzip to your desktop n see.
terencetoo
post Mar 8 2008, 08:54 PM

3,246 posts

thanks futobuto..

i need to download .Net Framework 2.0 now i can access to Ziphone 2.5c

thanks hope i can smooooothly upgrade to 1.1.4 biggrin.gif
komengsky
post Mar 14 2008, 03:38 PM

hi guys,

I am quite new to this, but I own an iPhone and OSX 10.5.2. Currently I am using the firmware version 1.1.1 and I am planning to upgrade to the latest or 1.1.3. I have installed bbinfo on my phone the following is the specs: BL3.9, and the modem firmware is 04.01.13_G. Last time I have updated to 1.1.3 using Nate method and somehow my edge isn't working. (btw I am using Digi with EDGE plan). Thus I revert back to 1.1.1. Please give me some advise to update my iPhone.. last time I almost brick my phone... icon_question.gif i wanted the new features in 1.1.4 biggrin.gif
LaskarCinta
post Mar 14 2008, 07:17 PM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(komengsky @ Mar 14 2008, 03:38 PM)
hi guys,

I am quite new to this, but I own an iPhone and OSX 10.5.2. Currently I am using the firmware version 1.1.1 and I am planning to upgrade to the latest or 1.1.3. I have installed bbinfo on my phone the following is the specs: BL3.9, and the modem firmware is 04.01.13_G. Last time I have updated to 1.1.3 using Nate method and somehow my edge isn't working. (btw I am using Digi with EDGE plan). Thus I revert back to 1.1.1. Please give me some advise to update my iPhone.. last time I almost brick my phone...  icon_question.gif  i wanted the new features in 1.1.4 biggrin.gif
for 1.1.4, it is advisable to do a firmware restore, not only using update. and after that u can use ZiPhone. or u can try using iPlus (like ZiPhone, but also installs BSD subsystem)
and yes, better to do Restore than doing Update, coz if u select update it will still keep the jailbreak files, apps, etc etc on the iPhone. and most of the apps can't already be used on 1.1.4. plus heard that it will be of some conflict with other version of jailbreaks (dev, Nate's).
about bricking the iPhone, no worry anymore! the step is super easy. plus in fact ZiPhone and iPlus revived some dead iPhones before (that showed "Repair Needed"). only one button and it will perform Activation, Jailbreak and Unlock. and all of that is only under 4 minutes!
and yeah, your digi EDGE will surely works. hehehe...btw if u use the Nate's jailbreak, u can select Reset Network Settings and after that u input the EDGE settings. that way it should work. but that not matters anymore, just use ZiPhone and it is compatible on 1.1.2, 1.1.3 and 1.1.4. btw if u use iPhoneBrowser application so much, u'll notice that it can't be used after using ZiPhone. but there's a workaround for the issue at the iPhone Thread v6 i think. orgot already.

This post has been edited by LaskarCinta: Mar 14 2008, 07:23 PM
komengsky
post Mar 14 2008, 07:23 PM

QUOTE(LaskarCinta @ Mar 14 2008, 07:17 PM)
for 1.1.4, it is advisable to do a firmware restore, not only using update. and after that u can use ZiPhone. or u can try using iPlus (like ZiPhone, but also installs BSD subsystem)
and yes, better to do Restore than doing Update, coz if u select update it will still keep the jailbreak files, apps, etc etc on the iPhone. and most of the apps can't already be used on 1.1.4. plus heard that it will be of some conflict with other version of jailbreaks (dev, Nate's).
about bricking the iPhone, no worry anymore! the step is super easy. plus in fact ZiPhone and iPlus revived some dead iPhones before (that showed "Repair Needed"). only one button and it will perform Activation, Jailbreak and Unlock. and all of that is only under 4 minutes!
hi i just restore my system to 1.1.3 and I choose Jailbreak + Activate, on ziphone it mentioned finished successfully but my phone still saying slide for emergency... help pls...
LaskarCinta
post Mar 14 2008, 07:25 PM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(komengsky @ Mar 14 2008, 07:23 PM)
hi i just restore my system to 1.1.3 and I choose Jailbreak + Activate, on ziphone it mentioned finished successfully but my phone still saying slide for emergency... help pls...
u need to select Do It All la.
oww...btw it's better to use 1.1.4 than 1.1.3. actually these two versions doen't have much difference (even the size of 1.1.4 is a bit smaller). but there are more bugfixes and lagging probs addressed. seriously u just need to only select either 1.1.2 or 1.1.4.

This post has been edited by LaskarCinta: Mar 14 2008, 07:28 PM
komengsky
post Mar 14 2008, 07:26 PM

QUOTE(LaskarCinta @ Mar 14 2008, 07:25 PM)
u need to select Do It All la.
have to select all? i think if BL3.9 can only activate + jailbreak... sad.gif
LaskarCinta
post Mar 14 2008, 07:30 PM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(komengsky @ Mar 14 2008, 07:26 PM)
have to select all? i think if BL3.9 can only activate + jailbreak... sad.gif
haha...i know that u have read an older guide on using ZiPhone with 1.1.3 and 1.1.4. at that time the patch is not included yet in the package, so we used to need to do it manually. but now, just select Do It All button (it is only one button on the top)
btw as i have mentioned before, 1.1.3 have more bugs (safari tends to kick back to home screen more often, not so responsive, lagging when doing typing). so better use 1.1.4. the incompatible apps also will be made to suit 1.1.4 in no time (of much of the apps have been portewd for 1.1.4 already).

This post has been edited by LaskarCinta: Mar 14 2008, 07:33 PM
komengsky
post Mar 14 2008, 07:31 PM

QUOTE(LaskarCinta @ Mar 14 2008, 07:30 PM)
haha...i know that u have read an older guide on using ZiPhone with 1.1.3 and 1.1.4. at that time the patch is not included yet in the package, so we used to need to do it manually. but now, just select Do It All button (it is only one button on the top)
hehe thanks man... the phone is working already biggrin.gif

Added on March 14, 2008, 8:14 pm
QUOTE(komengsky @ Mar 14 2008, 07:31 PM)
hehe thanks man... the phone is working already biggrin.gif
hi guys... a little more help... it seems that my SMS and PHONE show strange number... supposedly showing the name let say the number is already in contact right... is there any way to solve this? and my youtube isn't working as well sad.gif

Added on March 14, 2008, 9:48 pmhi... just to update... I installed the App Support Patch and my contact number at phone + sms is showing people's name now.. biggrin.gif, and I have a little question... i installed basebandinfo, and it seems that my boot loader is still at 3.9 is it ok? or it should update to most recent boot loader? please advise...

This post has been edited by komengsky: Mar 14 2008, 09:48 PM
mik3
post Mar 17 2008, 09:18 PM

36 posts

Now my iPhone 1.1.2 , upgrade from 1.0.2

already Unlock and use fine now

sms , weather , stock , YouTube ....etc

but heard that after upgrading to 114 or 113

with Zipphone

some of this programs will not works?

114 better or 113 ? tks

If i upgrade to 114/113 can show me how to do it ?

afraid make mistake , sometime i go to iphone.unlock.no

to check out news , tks

UnUsUaL
post Mar 17 2008, 09:23 PM

ah jek
2,064 posts

Topic merged.
limyusiong
post Mar 18 2008, 05:28 PM

2,815 posts

ianho, i think for all iphone user benefit, mayb u can edit ur 1st post to 1.1.4 version...as all de step is bout de same here...so ppl will not confuse of it.

thx
TSianho
post Mar 19 2008, 11:21 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(limyusiong @ Mar 18 2008, 05:28 PM)
ianho, i think for all iphone user benefit, mayb u can edit ur 1st post to 1.1.4 version...as all de step is bout de same here...so ppl will not confuse of it.

thx
OK. Done.
LaskarCinta
post Mar 20 2008, 03:08 AM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(komengsky @ Mar 14 2008, 9:48 pm)
hi... just to update... I installed the App Support Patch and my contact number at phone + sms is showing people's name now.. biggrin.gif, and I have a little question... i installed basebandinfo, and it seems that my boot loader is still at 3.9 is it ok? or it should update to most recent boot loader? please advise...
i believe that there's still no software method to upgrade the bootloader. btw people with latest bootloader doesn't have advantage of unlocking it with latest baseband, but there are some reason why people insisting to be on BL4.6. this version can easily downgraded to a custom BL3.9 that is targeted as a super unlock (if it is made available). if u r on 3.9 now u can't go back to 4.6 by software means.
-_-
post Mar 20 2008, 07:44 AM

178 posts

i would wanna ask to make the iphone work just need to download ziphone and app support patch only?what must i install now? does ziphone compiles everything inside?
LAzyMyth
post Mar 20 2008, 01:20 PM

QUOTE(-_- @ Mar 20 2008, 07:44 AM)
i would wanna ask to make the iphone work just need to download ziphone and app support patch only?what must i install now? does ziphone compiles everything inside?
Hi, i, new here... can let me know where to download the app support patch?? currently im using a 1.1.4 and im not able to access to my sim phone book, not able to forward message.... may b im still new... yawn.gif
c_calvin
post Mar 20 2008, 01:26 PM

¯\(º_o)/¯
1,346 posts

here the guide to install the appsupport patch
http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=741

and here is the guide to install simport so that u can copy ur sim contact to ur iphone
http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=698

for sms forwarding u'll need third party app like SMSD

This post has been edited by c_calvin: Mar 20 2008, 01:27 PM
sub
post Mar 24 2008, 12:57 AM

actually, the latest version the best? stable onot?
garoad
post Mar 24 2008, 02:07 PM

23 posts

Hi, juz wan to ask a question. Itune cant sync with my iphone. When i tried using ziphone to restore it, it said cannot find iphone. Is there a way for me to restore back my iphone?
anggana
post Apr 12 2008, 10:02 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(garoad @ Mar 24 2008, 02:07 PM)
Hi, juz wan to ask a question. Itune cant sync with my iphone. When i tried using ziphone to restore it, it said cannot find iphone. Is there a way for me to restore back my iphone?
Bro,

Try to put it on DFU mode manually, that should do the trick. You can see on youtube on how to do it if you dont know. hmm.gif
saiful31
post Apr 16 2008, 09:03 AM

hai....

just upgrade iphone 1.1.4 but i notice every time i connect to wifi with my streamyx , the wifi icon on screen only show for a while after that change back to gprs mode....(for info i'am using celcom) even disable the gprs/edge mode....the data usage still keep increasing...thank

ZhaoYun
post Apr 16 2008, 09:07 AM

A Mac Convert
1,029 posts

This thread should be moved to the iPhone subforum. The AppleByte forum had been flooded with all iPhone topic.

0.0654sec    0.31    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 06:19 AM