Fun with CF sticker - Transparent Casing, Inverted ATX Style.

TSvaleron009
post Feb 11 2008, 11:35 AM, updated 18y ago

317 posts

This is the transparent casing i bought in 2006 but stop using a year after that since it ugly with all the cables exposed. Anyway, this casing is really bad on cable managment. Dont have the back side to hide the cables. The only way is, behind the mobo, but that will increase the temp of my mobo to 50-60c.

Original look, standard ATX

Striped down all parts to be washed and clean.

3m CF sticker to do the job of skinning the transparent casing

Skinning the side panel. The masking tape is used for the layout of the side panel.

Side panel done

View of my top panel surface

Top panel done
user posted imageu

Front panel without the cd rom and floppy bezels.

Rear panel. Kinda ugly in this pic, but already redone. forgot to take picture.

After 6 hours...

This post has been edited by valeron009: Feb 11 2008, 11:54 AM
karthyhu
post Feb 11 2008, 12:01 PM

1,165 posts

looks nice.

fast fast install all ur hardware + bling bling
TSvaleron009
post Feb 11 2008, 12:11 PM

317 posts

Decide to cover some of the dvd rom bezel with the CF sticker to match the front bezels.

The look of the bezel

I've decide to put the control of the CCFL into the case and hidden it.

Cable managment, not very neat but this is the best i can do with this case. No back side is very bad.

Front with all the hardware inside

Top side. Now i can see my 3850's fan spinning. rclxms.gif

Side view with side panel

Top view with exhaust fan and a glimpse of 3850.
cekutz
post Feb 11 2008, 01:03 PM

291 posts

nice and simple mod..no power tools used rite?
TSvaleron009
post Feb 11 2008, 01:14 PM

317 posts

No power tool used. Im using ruler, knife and scissor only. Last time i mod my previous case, very tiring and time consuming.
jimmydotnet
post Feb 11 2008, 01:23 PM

Jimbo da Riverian
766 posts

wow that's very nice...planning to do it to my transparent also...hmmm....can u post pic when the ccfl is turned on ??
TSvaleron009
post Feb 11 2008, 01:33 PM

317 posts

Completed

CCFL in action

Not really visible....i'll try to take another shot tonight.

This post has been edited by valeron009: Feb 11 2008, 01:34 PM
jimmydotnet
post Feb 11 2008, 03:01 PM

Jimbo da Riverian
766 posts

that's nice....my case is uv reactive...i think it should lighten up the whole pc inside...damn that's nice!!!...IM DROOLING ..... drool.gif drool.gif
tzywen
post Feb 11 2008, 05:42 PM

149 posts

looks great with the lights off biggrin.gif

planning to go into watercooling with green glowing fluid flowing through the hoses? laugh.gif
arjuna_mfna
post Feb 11 2008, 06:12 PM

**Towards Justice World**
1,496 posts

nice and easy mod.... thumb up for u bro....
ocz
post Feb 11 2008, 11:27 PM

Cinematographer
2,827 posts

A very good finish for a six hours work.Well done mate. smile.gif
Keep up.

If possible,no bling2. smile.gif
Bigblock
post Feb 12 2008, 12:09 AM

|| F(R)έǎжy ||
2,275 posts

woahh bro u made all ure modd without any major tools..very easy uh to make the windows..very nice mod indeed bro..really nice..
I am CF-ing my gay-gaybyte aurora after my BTX mod also.. nod.gif

This post has been edited by Bigblock: Feb 12 2008, 12:12 AM
peaceofluck
post Feb 12 2008, 03:44 AM

357 posts

yupe very nice indeed...
good transform from trsnparent to carbon fiber casing...
between tat how much the cost?... seem like all the casing internal
n external wrap with the cf sticker...
mfcm
post Feb 12 2008, 10:35 AM

2,765 posts

erm bro..jus wondering izzit possible to curve the sticker for the curve angle ?or u dont have any curve angle?hehe coz lastime mod i think hard abit to shirnk to curve angle if didnt use proper tool like heatgun or hair dryer..the sticker oso wont fix properly sweat.gif btw u still did great job bro thumbup.gif
TSvaleron009
post Feb 12 2008, 04:40 PM

317 posts

QUOTE(jimmydotnet @ Feb 11 2008, 04:01 PM)
that's nice....my case is uv reactive...i think it should lighten up the whole pc inside...damn that's nice!!!...IM DROOLING ..... drool.gif  drool.gif
Go fast and CF-ing your case. laugh.gif

QUOTE(tzywen @ Feb 11 2008, 06:42 PM)
looks great with the lights off biggrin.gif

planning to go into watercooling with green glowing fluid flowing through the hoses? laugh.gif
This case sure cannot fit WC setup. Even now, i have so much trouble with the cable managment. I cant imagine what happened if i put WC setup in there. Currently using GeminII which helps to hide some of the cables underneath. WC = change casing for me.

QUOTE(arjuna_mfna @ Feb 11 2008, 07:12 PM)
nice and easy mod.... thumb up for u bro....
thanks smile.gif

QUOTE(ocz @ Feb 12 2008, 12:27 AM)
A very good finish for a six hours work.Well done mate. smile.gif
Keep up.

If possible,no bling2. smile.gif
I keep it minimize now. Replace the G-Power cooler with GeminII with black CM fan. The 80mm fans, i cant change for now since dont have enough budget to buy a new one. laugh.gif

QUOTE(peaceofluck @ Feb 12 2008, 04:44 AM)
yupe very nice indeed...
good transform from trsnparent to carbon fiber casing...
between tat how much the cost?... seem like all the casing internal
n external wrap with the cf sticker...
i bought 3meter CF sticker from rezz's bulk. But only using around 2.5m. I wrapped all the interior except the back of the mobo and some part of the 5.25 bay. The back one. I covered which is visible only.

QUOTE(mfcm @ Feb 12 2008, 11:35 AM)
erm bro..jus wondering izzit possible to curve the sticker for the curve angle ?or u dont have any curve angle?hehe coz lastime mod i think hard abit to shirnk to curve angle if didnt use proper tool like heatgun or hair dryer..the sticker oso wont fix properly sweat.gif btw u still did great job bro thumbup.gif
got some curve too. But i only pull them. didnt use any hairdryer. i think the sticker is quite flexible too. Bout the sticker dont stick properly, i dont have that problem. The sticker is very sticky. Even i have problem taking one out during the side panel process. btw, thanks.

Added on February 12, 2008, 4:53 pmMade some changes last night. Replace my CPU cooler from Gigabyte G-Power Pro to GeminII with 2 black CM fans.

The new CPU cooler

Not that shiny. But im ok with that.

Covered the DVD rom tray with CF sticker to match the front panel look.

I love this part the most.

Do some cable managment and i think better than the last one thanks to the huge GeminII

Latest look with CCFL off

With CCFL on

This post has been edited by valeron009: Feb 12 2008, 04:53 PM
ryudox
post Feb 12 2008, 06:39 PM

~~ ConVict ~~
732 posts

One of my student of " Decarbonized " project...hahahaha... gud job bro..
TSvaleron009
post Feb 12 2008, 07:29 PM

317 posts

QUOTE(ryudox @ Feb 12 2008, 07:39 PM)
One of my student of " Decarbonized " project...hahahaha... gud job bro..
lol. yeah. im still learning from you. haha. thanks.
mars
post Feb 13 2008, 01:29 PM

294 posts

Cool man.... dude.... where can get the carbon sticker and how much?
TSvaleron009
post Feb 13 2008, 02:08 PM

317 posts

QUOTE(mars @ Feb 13 2008, 02:29 PM)
I bought from rezz's bulk. He's opening 2nd bulk now. Last time i bought RM18 for 1 meter. Now i think he's selling RM20 for 1 meter.
owh, here the link http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/609321

This post has been edited by valeron009: Feb 13 2008, 02:08 PM
Catherine5388
post Feb 19 2008, 12:14 AM

38 posts

Nice..
i love transparent stuffs!!!!!
David900924
post Feb 19 2008, 12:22 AM

Crypto Master
1,269 posts

thres tutorial for this in youtube, quite amaze but they call tat paper sticker as vinyl paper ryt?
area61
post Feb 20 2008, 12:27 AM

615 posts

cool n cheap mod!!! hands up man!!!!!!! notworthy.gif
silrave
post Feb 25 2008, 03:21 PM

5,893 posts

wah
this casing how much u used ?
jimmydotnet
post Feb 27 2008, 11:44 AM

Jimbo da Riverian
766 posts

QUOTE(¤~¤DaViD¤~¤ @ Feb 19 2008, 12:22 AM)
thres tutorial for this in youtube, quite amaze but they call tat paper sticker as  vinyl paper ryt?
care to provide the link?? or perhaps the keyword? thanks.... smile.gif
super_evil_alien
post Mar 1 2008, 05:24 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

Do anyone know where I can buy this kind of casing and how much?
KenDiriwan
post Mar 2 2008, 12:03 AM

2,277 posts

wah bro, nice job ah hehehehe
TSvaleron009
post Mar 5 2008, 10:18 AM

317 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Feb 25 2008, 04:21 PM)
wah
this casing how much u used ?
You mean how much i bought or how many years im using it? Bought at rm350 2 years ago, used around 1 years since got another casing before this

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Mar 1 2008, 06:24 PM)
Do anyone know where I can buy this kind of casing and how much?
you can ask forummer here in garage sale. i think below rm300.
ahseng84
post Mar 5 2008, 12:25 PM

alvin gan
786 posts

where can i get d transparent casing?

melaka any pc shop gt selling?
lohwenli
post Mar 7 2008, 10:13 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(valeron009 @ Mar 5 2008, 10:18 AM)
you can ask forummer here in garage sale. i think below rm300.
Vcool sells it, RM220 only
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=359256&hl=
rexoxo
post Mar 8 2008, 04:53 PM

426 posts

wah..
cool..

Goliath764
post Mar 8 2008, 05:43 PM

The Lone Wolf
698 posts

Cool casing mod you got there.
justin78
post Mar 12 2008, 05:10 PM

179 posts

Bro, if u cover your case with the CF stickers then u already defeat the main purpose of buying a transparent casing from the beginning.
Ryoga
post Mar 12 2008, 08:32 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(Goliath764 @ Mar 8 2008, 05:43 PM)
Cool casing mod you got there.
i guess hes ok with it since he said that its getting ugly for him blink.gif
TSvaleron009
post Mar 14 2008, 09:57 AM

317 posts

QUOTE(justin78 @ Mar 12 2008, 06:10 PM)
Bro, if u cover your case with the CF stickers then u already defeat the main purpose of buying a transparent casing from the beginning.
I bought it 2 years ago. That time i think the case is super nice. But only used for 6 months, adn i dont like it 'casue the cables are everywhere and very hard to hide it. Its kinda ugly though. I left it unused until i've applied the CF sticker. The reason i applied the sticker is to hide all the cables and moving to a bigger case since my previous case are too small to fit in all my hardware.
justin78
post Mar 14 2008, 10:15 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(valeron009 @ Mar 14 2008, 09:57 AM)
I bought it 2 years ago. That time i think the case is super nice. But only used for 6 months, adn i dont like it 'casue the cables are everywhere and very hard to hide it. Its kinda ugly though. I left it unused until i've applied the CF sticker. The reason i applied the sticker is to hide all the cables and moving to a bigger case since my previous case are too small to fit in all my hardware.
If that's the story then u have indeed done a GOOD job modding it with the CF stickers. Keep up the good work man!
likito
post Mar 14 2008, 05:14 PM

1,468 posts

bro , i like ur casing moded !!! well done
ThinWai
post Apr 23 2008, 05:31 AM

474 posts

QUOTE(mars @ Feb 13 2008, 01:29 PM)
I bought at GIANT!
hagiwara
post Apr 23 2008, 05:51 AM

- YUI -
777 posts

awesome job .. simply awesome ..
snoopyguy
post Apr 23 2008, 09:35 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(lohwenli @ Mar 7 2008, 10:13 AM)
too bad.. this link has been removed..
sad.gif
yuktsi14
post Apr 26 2008, 02:29 PM

Gloomy Sunday
2,585 posts

ei
where u got ur transparent case...
so cool man
ThinWai
post Apr 27 2008, 08:56 AM

474 posts

U made to BTX izit?
m2n-e
post Apr 27 2008, 09:17 AM

-Retired From Modding-
1,269 posts

QUOTE(ThinWai @ Apr 27 2008, 08:56 AM)
U made to BTX izit?
inverted atx = btx lar.. sleep.gif
rainingzero
post Apr 27 2008, 11:28 AM

I miss my student life~
2,497 posts

QUOTE(m2n-e @ Apr 27 2008, 09:17 AM)
inverted atx = btx lar.. sleep.gif
u got it wrong...BTX is the total opposite of the ATX. not just only flip down the mobo tray, the mobo layout and the placement of the IO panels also totally diff. some said its same, but for me its diff..Invertex ATX is invertex ATX...correct me if i'm wrong blush.gif
m2n-e
post Apr 27 2008, 12:21 PM

-Retired From Modding-
1,269 posts

QUOTE(rainingzero @ Apr 27 2008, 11:28 AM)
u got it wrong...BTX is the total opposite of the ATX. not just only flip down the mobo tray, the mobo layout and the placement of the IO panels also totally diff. some said its same, but for me its diff..Invertex ATX is invertex ATX...correct me if i'm wrong blush.gif
ah.. i get it, u mean by the rear alignment is still same as atx, but the psu was shift and transfer to the lower part. rite?? hmm.gif hmm.gif
melvyn
post Apr 28 2008, 02:31 AM

395 posts

i din know tat casing looks nice after carbonized.....
Braynumb
post Aug 2 2008, 12:37 AM

Yea, Still Broke
1,409 posts

looks real nice... best part is, no cutting to make holes for fans, or cutting out the side panels to make way for acrylic panes... nice, simple and cool... hehehe...
TSvaleron009
post Aug 2 2008, 12:45 AM

317 posts

lol. yeah. because everything is already acrylic. Except for the screws.
Braynumb
post Aug 2 2008, 12:50 AM

Yea, Still Broke
1,409 posts

bro, why not find some black screws also?? use the shiny black ones... waaaa... sure would give a cool effect to the case... huhu...

0.0284sec    0.34    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 02:54 AM