No battery power, Boot no manual lock / unlock function

TSjasondotcom
post Feb 11 2008, 12:08 AM, updated 18y ago

F**K RACISM
1,630 posts

Ok this applies only to myvi cars.
As some of u guys and girls know, myvi (gen2 also) the rear boot does not have any manual locks for you to activate or deactivate.

Ok....so if one day there is no battery power at all... the locks to all doors of cos wont function. Now, so happen that the rear boot door is unlocked. And ur stuck in the middle or ur in some parking area where u just need to secure ur car when ur away.

So how to lock and secure the rear boot when no battery? Since u need to go get help. Anyone have similar experiences please share.

No rubbish postings please. icon_rolleyes.gif
rcracer
post Feb 11 2008, 06:11 AM

?????
3,772 posts

Well gen2's don't have remote unlock feature for the boot, the boot release is cable driven by a lever beside the driver seat as how it has been since forever. Unless the cable snapped then you have a problem. Also doors locks still operate by key if there is no remote to open it........

How did you get this idea of battery powered boot release?

Ok on fancy cars like volvo or other marques that have electric tailgates but even then i'm sure you can close and open with the batteries dead.

This post has been edited by rcracer: Feb 11 2008, 06:12 AM
fatality
post Feb 11 2008, 07:12 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ Feb 11 2008, 06:11 AM)
Well gen2's don't have remote unlock feature for the boot, the boot release is cable driven by a lever beside the driver seat as how it has been since forever. Unless the cable snapped then you have a problem. Also doors locks still operate by key if there is no remote to open it........

How did you get this idea of battery powered boot release?

Ok on fancy cars like volvo or other marques that have electric tailgates but even then i'm sure you can close and open with the batteries dead.
no im talking about the boot lock only with a totally dead battery. cuz myvi do not have any boot lock release driven by any sort of cable.

This post has been edited by fatality: Feb 11 2008, 07:12 AM
babylabbit
post Feb 11 2008, 08:52 AM

4,339 posts

dont think u will get that flat battery condition...the most u will get first is unable to start your car first. it still have enuff juicy to alarm/disarm
gkl83
post Feb 11 2008, 09:03 AM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(babylabbit @ Feb 11 2008, 08:52 AM)
dont think u will get that flat battery condition...the most u will get first is unable to start your car first. it still have enuff juicy to alarm/disarm

if involved accident which banged directed to engine bay, it may effected wiring and battery... door lock may malfunction that time and driver/passengers locked inside...

but i think the door lock still work as mechanic right? even though battery kong also can release the door by pushing the door knob, just the central lock wont functioning... correct me if wrong
fatality
post Feb 11 2008, 09:48 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Feb 11 2008, 09:03 AM)
if involved accident which banged directed to engine bay, it may effected wiring and battery... door lock may malfunction that time and driver/passengers locked inside...

but i think the door lock still work as mechanic right? even though battery kong also can release the door by pushing the door knob, just the central lock wont functioning... correct me if wrong
myvi rear boot door mana ada door knob or keyhole or even cable control lever to unlock / lock.
LanEvo7
post Feb 11 2008, 10:11 AM

Hmmm... what to put for title?
1,838 posts

QUOTE(fatality @ Feb 11 2008, 09:48 AM)
myvi rear boot door mana ada door knob or keyhole or even cable control lever to unlock / lock.
Bro, ok lar I don't drive a Myvi .. but u sure about this ? Car boots have keyhole and cable connected to a lever at the side of the driver's seat since before even I was born .. for god's sake even my 22 year old Nissan Sunny 130Y has this, how come Myvi dun have ah? Whose brilliant idea to remove such basic necessity?
kevinlim001
post Feb 11 2008, 12:25 PM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

no mechanical way to open it?

This post has been edited by kevinlim001: Feb 11 2008, 12:26 PM
Aggronax
post Feb 11 2008, 12:30 PM

I'm bored !
6,339 posts

I think TS mean the remote batt, I also confuse with his statement.
all boots open manually in car are mechanical for myvi and gen2.

unless they mod it to eletronic boots.

simply, TS just open the car door and pull the back boots open.
gkl83
post Feb 11 2008, 12:33 PM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(fatality @ Feb 11 2008, 09:48 AM)

bro, i means the driver/passenger DOOR... will anyone do emergency exit thru rear bonnet?
driver/passenger door should work as mechanical by pushing the door knob to exit if battery kong...

Added on February 11, 2008, 12:37 pm
QUOTE(Aggronax @ Feb 11 2008, 12:30 PM)
I think TS mean the remote batt, I also confuse with his statement.
all boots open manually in car are mechanical for myvi and gen2.

unless they mod it to eletronic boots.

simply, TS just open the car door and pull the back boots open.

duh... i think u right... maybe he means he want to lock the car but car battery kong...
we can lock manually from inside by pushing the knob and use car key the lock driver door...
but rear bonnet dont have any keyhole and door knob... so how to lock it... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by gkl83: Feb 11 2008, 12:37 PM
jimmy.soo
post Feb 11 2008, 02:13 PM

Happy Go Lucky
1,050 posts

i thought if u use ur car key to lock the car manually, all the doors included boot will be locked?
gkl83
post Feb 11 2008, 02:21 PM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(jimmy.soo @ Feb 11 2008, 02:13 PM)
i thought if u use ur car key to lock the car manually, all the doors included boot will be locked?

thought central lock powered by car battery?
if battery kong, means central lock module also kong, means have to lock one by one from inside manually ...
jimmy.soo
post Feb 11 2008, 02:28 PM

Happy Go Lucky
1,050 posts

errrrrrrrr, is that possible? so fussy lor liddat
alarm spoilt, central lock still working i know lar... battery kong, i dunno lor tongue.gif
but if battery kong, ur car wont start at all liao lor, not to mention alarm la right? biggrin.gif
SUSsharkteef
post Feb 11 2008, 02:32 PM

Not Godlike
2,504 posts

i only know if u need to open an electronic boot (even for those without the keyhole), there is an emergency latch situated near the bootlock. there's always a plastic cover on the rear panel. i have it in my alphard. saw the same in the estima as well.
checked my accord, it has it as well.

***i mean on the inside panel, outside is besi, inside is plastik yah !

This post has been edited by sharkteef: Feb 11 2008, 02:33 PM
gkl83
post Feb 11 2008, 02:36 PM

8,377 posts

the safest is take away any valuable things away from car... i had few time forgot to lock my car but nothing happened although got my working bag inside my car bcos myvi door knob not noticeable easily from outside... tongue.gif

but usually once battery kong, we will change it immediately rather than park the "unlock" car at outside and not able to start the engine later... tongue.gif maybe can ask for another car to do parallel with dead battery and start it to lock? laugh.gif

Added on February 11, 2008, 2:38 pm
QUOTE(sharkteef @ Feb 11 2008, 02:32 PM)
***i mean on the inside panel, outside is besi, inside is plastik yah !

myvi inside panel is totally flat... nothing can be lock/unlock the rear bonnet... sweat.gif
another myvi poor design... doh.gif

This post has been edited by gkl83: Feb 11 2008, 02:38 PM
PUd
post Apr 2 2009, 03:24 PM

102 posts

do you know where to get myvi remote battery replacement?

today I call one of the perodua service agent, they said cannot buy battery but have to replace the remote for RM40.
reason gave, perodua did not sell the small 12V battery seperately
ah liew
post Apr 2 2009, 05:05 PM

エンジンオイル
829 posts

QUOTE(PUd @ Apr 2 2009, 03:24 PM)
do you know where to get myvi remote battery replacement?

today I call one of the perodua service agent, they said cannot buy battery but have to replace the remote for RM40.
reason gave, perodua did not sell the small 12V battery seperately
aiyo... brother just go to any camera or watch shop to buy.
is the 12v battery flat type or tube type?
RM40 kena potong lor....
Ayri
post Sep 17 2018, 06:44 AM

How to Unplug The Battery For Myvi While Locking all Doors and Trunk?

1. Open the hood/Bonnet to expose the engine.

2. Prepare in one hand, your car keys; and in another hand, the wrench.

3. Loosen the nut at one connection for the battery.

4. Lock the doors by hitting the button on the car keys. The car will sound the alarm as the security system is triggered because the hood is opened.

5. Immediately plug out the connection to the battery, the security will disengage.

6. Shut the hood. Now your car is locked for all doors AND the trunk (which has no manual lock!). Your car can be left there while you leave for a long trip.
mushigen
post Sep 17 2018, 10:55 AM

4,954 posts

[

You necro-ed a 2009 thread but still does not answer the question posed by TS.

Rin453
post Feb 23 2019, 12:20 PM

QUOTE(babylabbit @ Feb 11 2008, 08:52 AM)
Well that's what happened to my Myvi just now. Battery flat out died. Trunk can't open, passenger doors also can't open. Luckily the hood got manual latch.

This post has been edited by Rin453: Feb 23 2019, 09:49 PM

0.0200sec    1.01    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 10:41 AM