Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, PLEASE POST IT HERE !!! V3

ChloeP
post Apr 8 2008, 01:01 AM

23 posts

-new user-

Hey guys..I've been looking through this forum for quite some time....
I'm been looking for a new laptop as well as I'll be going off to USA sometime next year...
I'm looking for a laptop that's light, with at least 14" screen size and 2.0GHz...
I need a laptop that has long-lasting battery and tech support in the Sates....
Oh yeah, a laptop that can support games like HighStreet5 and SuperDanceOnline would be good too...
And I have a budget of RM3,000...to the max of RM3,500...

Any suggestions?? I'm currently looking at Compaq's V3758TU...Bt I'm not too sure yet...
And preferably not Dell nor Acer...
ChloeP
post Apr 9 2008, 05:38 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(wlp9185 @ Apr 8 2008, 07:11 AM)
go for hp dv or tx series lor..............
but isn't those abit over my budget?? I checked out some of them and most of them are well over RM3,500 for those 14'
ChloeP
post Apr 10 2008, 06:50 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(wlp9185 @ Apr 10 2008, 09:37 AM)
i just bought for my friend HP DV2000 series amd turionx2, 1gb ram, 120gb hdd, nvidia 6150, 1.3 m/pixel webcam, 14", vista home premium rm2999 only.
really? at where?
i'm planning to get a laptop during the pc fair sometime on sat or sunday...
would laptops be cheaper during PC Fair? Or it's the same price but they offer more goodies??
I like the HP design but to me their touch pad a bit rough....

ChloeP
post Apr 10 2008, 11:43 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Apr 10 2008, 06:54 PM)
bcareful while getting notebook at pc fair .... dont accidentally buy a refurbished notebook

but anyway , it would be cheaper coz technology is more advanced at that time
then, is there a way to identify whether it's refurbished or not leh?? hee...
cause i was thinking of going with my dad to look around for the laptop cause during PC Fair it's easier to test and have a look at everything at the same time...since all the shops and all is already there with things on display mar...

Btw, comparing HP COMPAQ V3758 and V3754AU...which one is better leh?
and is there any similar HP model, specifically, within the budget of RM3,000-RM3,500 leh??

I'm going to look around at PC FAIR tml afternoon before buying on Sunday, so yeah...need to get an idea of what I should get...

This post has been edited by ChloeP: Apr 11 2008, 03:54 AM
ChloeP
post Apr 11 2008, 11:22 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(wlp9185 @ Apr 11 2008, 04:46 AM)
notes: normally dell xps 1330 is rm3899 but if the price there is below rm3500, i think u should grab it. btw, compac rm2499 u can get c2d with OS oredi n hp dv maybe around rm3399 c2d with OS. i think..............
So, would you recommend dell over compaq/hp based on my purposes??
And does dell have international warranty...
Cause I'll be bringing it to US for studies wor...

ChloeP
post Apr 11 2008, 11:57 AM

23 posts

haha...ok...i'll find it out later...
my preferences are still more to compaq/hp though...
bt the xps 1330 only 13.3"....I prefer it to be at least 14"...heee...

btw..i just realized that the abbreviation my name is exactly the opposite of urs...random i noe..lols.
ChloeP
post Apr 12 2008, 02:32 PM

23 posts

After surveying the PC Fair brochures I've gotten from ytd...
Finally narrowed down laptops that I might get tml...
They are...

Please give suggestion as to which I should get tomorrow...
It's really urgent...
And my purposes it for college work, some online gaming, videos, online, music...thx!! =)

Ps : DELL doesn't offer international warranty, which I would prefer to have and my budget is actually RM3,000...but +/- RM500 would be ok... =)
thinking of buying a laptop skin for RM29 too...

This post has been edited by ChloeP: Apr 12 2008, 02:35 PM
ChloeP
post Apr 12 2008, 08:52 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(ChloeP @ Apr 12 2008, 02:32 PM)
After surveying the PC Fair brochures I've gotten from ytd...
Finally narrowed down laptops that I might get tml...
They are...

Please give suggestion as to which I should get tomorrow...
It's really urgent...
And my purposes it for college work, some online gaming, videos, online, music...thx!! =)

Ps : DELL doesn't offer international warranty, which I would prefer to have and my budget is actually RM3,000...but +/- RM500 would be ok... =)
thinking of buying a laptop skin for RM29 too...
any help?? This is quite urgent as I need to decide by tonight.
I'm sorry if it's annoying that I post so many times regarding this...but i do appreciate your help cause I'm quite noob in selecting laptops...
blush.gif
ChloeP
post Apr 12 2008, 10:04 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(wlp9185 @ Apr 12 2008, 09:50 PM)
yea.........choose xps n u wont regrated

xps is the best n highest quality product from dell n i dont think u have to worry about warranty...........
But i'll be in the Us for 2 years and I think having an international warranty would be good...
What would be the second choice besides xps?

ChloeP
post Apr 12 2008, 11:31 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(ttwy @ Apr 12 2008, 10:53 PM)
I'm actually going to the US pretty soon too and I'm buying an XPS there.  Much cheaper if you get it there because the exchange rate is RM3.1 to $1 and no problems with the warranty.  And you can also configure it with the new Penryn processors too.  I'm planning to get mine with a T9300, 3GB of RAM, 320GB harddisk, 128MB 8400GM, 4 years warranty, 6-cell batt and it came up to about $1719, or about RM5300.  If I got it from Malaysia it would be at least RM6000.
I know it would be cheaper to get the laptop there but I need it now...
And I have alot of things to be transfer into the laptop before I go...

ChloeP
post Apr 13 2008, 02:34 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Apr 13 2008, 02:15 AM)
i suggest u get inspirion 1420 now pc fair offer wit 3gb ram only rm 2499.
No point get XPS too expensive and too tiny. the 1 K u can use it for extend warranty maybe or go on your shopping spree or use it for your daily life there.
yeah..i think so too..cause 13.3" is too small for my liking...I would prefer it to be a 14" at least...
I like the inspiron because of their colors..I have a certain liking for pink...lolx...
but the international warranty thingy kinda irks me....
You may nvr know when u might need the warranty even if the pc is as good as suggested...
ChloeP
post Apr 13 2008, 02:46 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(ttwy @ Apr 13 2008, 02:43 AM)
toshiba has international warranty, i'm not sure about the other brands though
haha...i have bad impression of toshiba due to previous experiences with my aunt's laptop...
so yeah....i guess my only choice is still back to compaq...
btw, how much would a bluetooth mouse and extra ram cost?

This post has been edited by ChloeP: Apr 13 2008, 02:46 AM
ChloeP
post Apr 13 2008, 04:14 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(bleeper @ Apr 13 2008, 03:21 AM)
You can upgrade to Dell's 3 Years warranty. The 3 years warranty is International Warranty.
oh really? i asked the salesperson there and they told me that they don't have international warranty...
hmmm....
ChloeP
post Apr 13 2008, 04:34 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Apr 13 2008, 04:29 AM)
i think u can ask wether ur Dell notebook is cover by warranty if travel to other AP country ...
I did ask them but they say they only offer local warranty...which made me think twice...
since i'm not a pro-laptop user...so warranty really means alot to me...
ChloeP
post Apr 13 2008, 10:21 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Apr 13 2008, 04:38 AM)
Dell International Service Program for Portables
The Dell International Service Program(only available when 3-Year NBD is purchased) provides service and support for your Dell portable computer while you are traveling abroad. Restrictions and limitations apply.

Added on April 13, 2008, 4:39 am@ Chloep

http://www1.ap.dell.com/content/topics/top...dhs1&l=en&s=dhs
owh...hmm...the salesperson must be cheating me then...haha..thanks for sharing that information....

QUOTE(wlp9185 @ Apr 13 2008, 05:55 AM)
i think Chloep is more interested in inspiron because girls like colorful..............
haha..true true...i have a 'slight' preference to whatever that's pink in color...hee....

and btw, does the dell support online games? and does compaq have extended warranty too?

ChloeP
post Apr 13 2008, 10:35 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(eclectice @ Apr 13 2008, 10:32 AM)
Which online games: Flash-based or online game support for game titles from EA, etc? Of course, all decent laptops with a good CPU and a good GPU can play online games.

Every branded ICT items has an option for extended warranty. Just that, you need to ask and pay for it.
games like audition, highstreet5 and o2jam...i guess those are online game support rite?
hmm...i see...

0.0188sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:39 AM