128 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Bottom

Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, PLEASE POST IT HERE !!! V3

mofonyx
post May 20 2008, 07:25 AM

Squatting is the solution to life's problems
2,394 posts

I'm looking for a sturdy reliable laptop.

Dell sucks ass. I'm on an Inspiron 6400 and it's starting to slow down tremendously. When I turn it up and push it to the max, it slows down and loads the CPU. However, when I use NHC to control the speed at 1GHz it works fine because the temperature is low. I believe the thermal paste is toast.

I need something reliable. More importantly silent operation.

I was looking at a MacBook, Lenovo T61, Fujitsu S or N series and finally Alienware.

I deviated away from a MacBook because there is no ExpressCard/PCMCIA slot because I would like eSATA connectivity.

Recommend me the best brand among those mentioned that can give me the best bang for buck. Also, if there are other brands that work silently, please mention it to me.

Budget perhaps below 7,000. I can push it a little, but 7,000 is ideal.

This post has been edited by mofonyx: May 20 2008, 07:27 AM
weiwen
post May 20 2008, 11:31 AM

237 posts

QUOTE(shymx @ May 19 2008, 06:07 PM)
Recommendation for a gaming laptop ,

15 inch , external graphics

Budget not more than 3.4k thanks
inspiron 1520 or wait insipron new series...
better dont buy xps m1530 now
kaiserreich
post May 20 2008, 11:32 AM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(mofonyx @ May 20 2008, 07:25 AM)

Dell sucks ass. I'm on an Inspiron 6400 and it's starting to slow down tremendously. When I turn it up and push it to the max, it slows down and loads the CPU. However, when I use NHC to control the speed at 1GHz it works fine because the temperature is low. I believe the thermal paste is toast.

I was looking at a MacBook, Lenovo T61, Fujitsu S or N series and finally Alienware.

I deviated away from a MacBook because there is no ExpressCard/PCMCIA slot because I would like eSATA connectivity.

Recommend me the best brand among those mentioned that can give me the best bang for buck. Also, if there are other brands that work silently, please mention it to me.

Turn up and push to the max? What do you mean by that? And Running on 1Ghz? The processor.

You say it sucks, but any laptop will eventually have some problems. Heck, even HPs business model have squeaky hinges and stuff like that.

Well, if you want to save some money, open it up, change the thermal paste and see if it works.

Otherwise, you want reliability, get the T61, extend the warranty, so that when problems like your current laptop comes by, you can get it fixed instead of spending on a new laptop.
weiwen
post May 20 2008, 11:34 AM

237 posts

QUOTE(mofonyx @ May 20 2008, 07:25 AM)

your budget already can go until 7k.. just forget about dell go for SONY / Fujishu or macbook
tdw
post May 20 2008, 12:13 PM

217 posts

hi guys
looking for a lap top

prefer Dell
spec: well i want good graphics and durability. also speed maybe t7500

i have several options in my mind
dell xps m1530 or dell inspiron 1750
i am not a serious gamer but i can watch movies for whole day
many say m1530 got design problem
please advise
Faith+1
post May 20 2008, 01:43 PM

1,420 posts

QUOTE(tdw @ May 20 2008, 12:13 PM)
hi guys
looking for a lap top

prefer Dell
spec: well i want good graphics and durability. also speed maybe t7500

i have several options in my mind
dell xps m1530 or dell inspiron 1750
i am not a serious gamer but i can watch movies for whole day
many say m1530 got design problem
please advise
I'll go for XPS M1530. The design is way way way much better than Inspiron. Trust me. biggrin.gif
serez
post May 20 2008, 02:50 PM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

erk... i have a question. how about acer 4920g
the specs can be view here
it cost about rm2999 - 1

so is this a good value for money and performance or not?

This post has been edited by serez: May 20 2008, 03:02 PM
hella
post May 20 2008, 04:50 PM

guys need some help here..

what's the best laptop i can get for around RM2000-2500? it will be used mainly for study/work.
aermy
post May 20 2008, 05:08 PM

hi all,

i,m very confuse here. im looking for a reliable laptop urgently.if someone can help me, below are the details that i'm looking for:

1. Brand.
Compaq or Acer (travelmate series only)

2. Specs (this is the must have items)
Core 2 duo
at least 2gb ram
160gb or 250 gb harddisk
12'' or 14'' widescreen
wifi,bluetooth
webcam
dvd burner
graphic card (optional)

3. Budget.
between rm3000 to rm3500

4. Size.
12'' or 14'' widescreen

I really need a laptop urgently (this week actually). any help from you guys are much appreciated.

thank you.

This post has been edited by aermy: May 20 2008, 05:13 PM
Faith+1
post May 20 2008, 07:09 PM

1,420 posts

QUOTE(aermy @ May 20 2008, 05:08 PM)
hi all,

i,m very confuse here. im looking for a reliable laptop urgently.if someone can help me, below are the details that i'm looking for:

1. Brand.
Compaq or Acer (travelmate series only)

2. Specs (this is the must have items)
Core 2 duo
at least 2gb ram
160gb or 250 gb harddisk
12'' or 14'' widescreen
wifi,bluetooth
webcam
dvd burner
graphic card (optional)

3. Budget.
between rm3000 to rm3500

4. Size.
12'' or 14'' widescreen
I really need a laptop urgently (this week actually). any help from you guys are much appreciated.

thank you.
Go for Compaq V3700 series without a doubt. Never ever get Acer, very problematic.
zHo3
post May 20 2008, 09:06 PM

Knowledge is power, guard it well
709 posts

QUOTE(weiwen @ May 20 2008, 11:31 AM)
inspiron 1520 or wait insipron new series...
better dont buy xps m1530 now
got new one coming out? got news on when?
fiqz4ce
post May 20 2008, 09:21 PM

618 posts

QUOTE(zHo3 @ May 20 2008, 10:06 PM)
got new one coming out? got news on when?
here the news http://www.engadget.com/2008/05/08/dell-in...nd-1735-leaked/
mofonyx
post May 21 2008, 12:13 AM

Squatting is the solution to life's problems
2,394 posts

QUOTE(kaiserreich @ May 20 2008, 11:32 AM)
Turn up and push to the max? What do you mean by that? And Running on 1Ghz? The processor.

//truncated//

Otherwise, you want reliability, get the T61, extend the warranty, so that when problems like your current laptop comes by, you can get it fixed instead of spending on a new laptop.
Well I have NHC on, and when I leave it to Max. Battery it runs cool and only at 1.00GHz (processor of course). When I put it on Max. Performance it switches to 2.00GHz. I leave it for an hour or two, come back to see the temp's up to 75oC and it's slow. I have also tried rebooting, coming back and running a software (lets say some lightweight game - WCIII DoTA), it screws up, slows down and cannot load. Putting a cooler under the laptop solves all these problems.

The T61 is a great option I guess, but Lenovo.com (USA) is so much cheaper. You can get a 2.5GHz 6MB L2 Cache + 2 GB RAM for below USD 1,500. Whereas in Malaysia, you'd have to pay 6,800 for HALF the specs. What the heck is up? And am I able to configure my Lenovo specs to my requirements like the US site allows?

Also, I've mentioned why I would not prefer a Mac - because it does not have a PCMCIA or ExpressCard slot for eSATA compatibility.

I would like to know if Lenovo or Fujitsu is a better option for silent and reliable computing.

Cheers.
wlp9185
post May 21 2008, 11:12 AM

sleeping not so beauty
729 posts

QUOTE(serez @ May 20 2008, 02:50 PM)
erk... i have a question. how about acer 4920g
the specs can be view here
it cost about rm2999 - 1

so is this a good value for money and performance or not?
i todd the price was rm3499 meh?
kaiserreich
post May 21 2008, 11:19 AM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(mofonyx @ May 21 2008, 12:13 AM)
Well I have NHC on, and when I leave it to Max. Battery it runs cool and only at 1.00GHz (processor of course). When I put it on Max. Performance it switches to 2.00GHz. I leave it for an hour or two, come back to see the temp's up to 75oC and it's slow. I have also tried rebooting, coming back and running a software (lets say some lightweight game - WCIII DoTA), it screws up, slows down and cannot load. Putting a cooler under the laptop solves all these problems.

The T61 is a great option I guess, but Lenovo.com (USA) is so much cheaper. You can get a 2.5GHz 6MB L2 Cache + 2 GB RAM for below USD 1,500. Whereas in Malaysia, you'd have to pay 6,800 for HALF the specs. What the heck is up? And am I able to configure my Lenovo specs to my requirements like the US site allows?

Also, I've mentioned why I would not prefer a Mac - because it does not have a PCMCIA or ExpressCard slot for eSATA compatibility.

I would like to know if Lenovo or Fujitsu is a better option for silent and reliable computing.

Cheers.
Well, like you said it, has to be a case of overheating, maybe the thermal paste is not sticking to it anymore. I'm not sure about the thinkpad prices but maybe you can try "garage sales" or something, not that I have any experience dealing with them but at times, they come up with nice prices for the Thinkpad, I'd say US prices maybe.
weiwen
post May 21 2008, 11:30 AM

237 posts

QUOTE(Faith+1 @ May 20 2008, 07:09 PM)
Go for Compaq V3700 series without a doubt. Never ever get Acer, very problematic.
u sure used acer travelmate be4 ? my dad acer-travelmate laptop already used 3 year.. no problem at all...
serez
post May 21 2008, 02:29 PM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

QUOTE(wlp9185 @ May 21 2008, 11:12 AM)
i todd the price was rm3499 meh?
it was rm3499. but i already bought it at rm2999 + rm298 for 3yrs warranty
good value for money compare to specs that it offers thumbup.gif
wlp9185
post May 21 2008, 02:39 PM

sleeping not so beauty
729 posts

QUOTE(serez @ May 21 2008, 02:29 PM)
it was rm3499. but i already bought it at rm2999 + rm298 for 3yrs warranty
good value for money compare to specs that it offers  thumbup.gif
that mean urs come with vista premium also?
aermy
post May 21 2008, 03:28 PM

QUOTE(weiwen @ May 21 2008, 11:30 AM)
u sure used acer travelmate be4 ? my dad acer-travelmate laptop already used 3 year.. no problem at all...
casing is alloy some more....hmmmm tempting.....
serez
post May 21 2008, 03:38 PM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

QUOTE(wlp9185 @ May 21 2008, 02:39 PM)
that mean urs come with vista premium also?
definitely.. it also comes with vhp. but i downgrade it to winxp bcoz i feel comfortable by using winxp. maybe someday i`ll restore it back to vhp.

128 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Top

0.0183sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 10:54 PM