Forex Trading Corner V2

Quincy
post Feb 4 2008, 06:18 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(normeck @ Feb 4 2008, 06:02 PM)
yes...but my method to risky...
i want to share..but afraid, cannot suit ur trading style...

@lowyat
i still dont under stand la....give me example la....
It means that you buy/sell particular currency today, and tomorrow, or day after tomorrow, or more than that, then you take profit (tapau if you prefer biggrin.gif ).
Quincy
post Feb 4 2008, 10:20 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Feb 4 2008, 10:04 PM)
Go for fxtrade.com
can deposit using paypal
min is $1
Im waiting for my Oanda acc to be confirmed, then i can start deposit and trading. biggrin.gif

Edited: Just received my confirmation email from Oanda rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by Quincy: Feb 5 2008, 08:06 AM
Quincy
post Feb 13 2008, 02:44 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(firedauz @ Feb 13 2008, 01:55 PM)
I wish LYN have a live-chatroom function - I would've posted it in the first post so that we can have live discussions whenever we do our trading at different opening market and news updates.

Good/bad idea?
That probably will eat a lot of LYN server resource if everyone use the chatroom. sweat.gif

Theres plenty chatroom we can use, YM conference, skype, ventrilo (need a server), teamspeak( need a server), gotomeeting, etc.

But will you guys participate in the live discussion? Yes? No? hmm.gif

For me, I already change to daily timeframe trader(medium term trader?). Dont have the time to monitor the market every hours. So as for discussion, i dont think i can discuss anything except for higher timeframe. Or we can discuss strategy or learn something from each other. (But i wont teach my main strategy. tongue.gif )

Edited: well if most of you really want a discussion, just head to ForexFactory malaysia thread instead. Theres plenty of discussion there.

Added on February 13, 2008, 2:48 pm
QUOTE(billytong @ Feb 13 2008, 02:42 PM)
Your best indicator is finance.yahoo.com = Watch the stocks.
Might as well be a stock trader then if always watch the stock but dont know what stock affect the forex market sweat.gif . I still blur on this fundamental thingy.

Theres other method by analyzing the COT report. Do you know how to read it?

This post has been edited by Quincy: Feb 13 2008, 02:51 PM
Quincy
post Feb 13 2008, 11:41 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(normeck @ Feb 13 2008, 10:42 PM)
GJ is killing me right now....will it go up to 213??...please dont...enough is enough!!!
IF it go to 214.00 , Then my daily term analysis say it is uptrend. And if look at the PA, theres Pin bar and hammer showing reversal to uptrend as well. But we just have to wait what the market gonna tell us. It still possible that right now is ranging in daily, who knows.

This post has been edited by Quincy: Feb 13 2008, 11:43 PM
Quincy
post Feb 29 2008, 06:03 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(small-jeff @ Feb 29 2008, 03:19 PM)
just set your Weighted Moving Average with 5, 20, 100 (or that suits you best) and apply to your candlesticks (or what ever chart you're using).

Basically, WMA 20 is the slower MA, while WMA 5 is the faster MA. Crosses of WMA5-WMA20 indicates a trigger point. However, sometimes there are rebounce that occur, that is, a short period after crossing (say going bull), it rebounce and cross again (turing bear). So, WMA100 is to show the area of high possibility of rebounce. Usually, when the price is about 10pips to WMA100, both WMA5 and WMA20 would be heading towards WMA100, which usually seen as being bullish/bearish. However, pullback often occur at this point, where the price rebounce back.

Try using this and compare with EMA. Some might prefer using EMA, but i prefer using WMA.
I think what normeck mean is that apply to close/open/high/low? of candlestick.
Quincy
post Mar 2 2008, 03:36 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(Nadia_1510 @ Mar 2 2008, 01:29 PM)
im 2 lazy 2 trade nowdays and i let my forex guru trade 4 me and monthly i get 10% profit from it... im 2 lazy 2 stay up at night lor... then my face turn in2 panda owedy ... not enough zzz liaw... if leng chai stay up all night its ok la... as 4 me its been omost 6mth i stop my forex trading and just let my guru 2 trade for me and yeah.. im loving it .. lol...

Added on March 2, 2008, 1:30 pmpips pips hurayyyy 2 all traders ... wink.gif
Learn swing trading then. Trade on daily timeframe like me biggrin.gif . Only need to monitor once a day.

Quincy
post Mar 5 2008, 02:51 AM

372 posts

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Mar 5 2008, 12:01 AM)
hai yor... chit chat must pro then can meh? jus chit chat maa... exchange each other opinion ma...

@kurtkob78,
normal chit chat n exchange idea can lar.. if u wan expert, better go forexfactory lor...huuhuh
Normal chit chat can with me, but since Im trading daily theres practically nothing to chat everyday sweat.gif

But since you play stock also, can ask you about opening acc, setting, and trade the stock tongue.gif
Quincy
post Mar 5 2008, 11:39 AM

372 posts

QUOTE(small-jeff @ Mar 5 2008, 10:06 AM)
yesterday's was bout 10 pips over the limit, the other times, reached over 20 pips still not closed.. rclxub.gif i think maybe my connection not that good, sometimes i lost connection, maybe that's why it wouldnt close the position when limit is reached.

summary: try not to use weak streamyx!!
What do you mean for limit?

Is it Pending Order Buy/Sell limit?

or

Take Profit?

If take profit, it does not matter about your connection, since once you put the take profit value, it already been input into the server.

But for trailing stoploss is a diffrent story, since the input is in your metatrader client, so your client have to be connected to the internet for the trailing stoploss to work.
Quincy
post Mar 5 2008, 01:56 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Mar 5 2008, 12:30 PM)
actually i wanna chit chat more ab FA... coz my FA really shit...
stock r? now didnt monitor much.. coz too many counter.. moreover stock in malaysia is handicap match.. cannot short..  doh.gif  now onli lookin 2-3 counter...
settin r? more or less same wit d system i use for forex... jus need to trial n error to find d best MA as support n resistance...
Yeah my FA also sucks....

Quincy
post Mar 7 2008, 10:14 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(small-jeff @ Mar 7 2008, 09:15 PM)
seeing on how my friends trades, which often losses, it seems that they might have something in common.

1) due to stop loss (inappropriate SL for inappropriate time frame)
2) chasing market too closely
3) unable to identify price bounce and crosses
4) unable to define trend and know/trade its direction

Add point no 4 there smile.gif
Quincy
post Mar 11 2008, 02:02 AM

372 posts

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Mar 10 2008, 11:54 PM)
dunno much ab FA tongue.gif sorry bro... btw, wats NFP??

but, it seems like d data r unexpected due to total opposite from forecast... so,i think its a bearish thingy..
jus close 1 short position for GJ... still got another 1...  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
NFP = Non Farm Payroll, happens on friday of first week every month.
Quincy
post Mar 23 2008, 07:46 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(small-jeff @ Mar 23 2008, 07:33 PM)
hmm..just a personal note. $2k is only good for a hourly or 30mins trade. Going for a daily trade or a longer swing is rather...not really enough..Ofcourse...you need to do anything just to avoid margin call..
Nope you wrong, with 250usd I trade on the daily with no problem some more already reach 20% ROI. It depends on your Money Management(how much are you willing to risk) and the broker account type. Newbies with low capital should open a broker with micro account first. Dont be to greedy la tongue.gif .
Quincy
post Mar 26 2008, 01:32 AM

372 posts

QUOTE(DaBestOne @ Mar 26 2008, 12:52 AM)
hey bro, newbie here.. just a kind question.. i read through babypips and got that MICRO accounts are providing 10'000 units per lot, whilst MINI account provide 100'000 units per lot....

so in this case, the least units we can get per lot is 10'000? any brokers providing less than that?

please correct me if i m wrong..thanks a whole bunch  smile.gif
I think babypips is wrong la.

1 standard lot = 100,000 , 1 mini lot = 10,000 , 1 micro lot = 1000.

Less than micro lot so far I know only Oanda and Marketiva provide that acc.

For micro lot, Interbankfx.
Quincy
post Mar 26 2008, 08:33 AM

372 posts

QUOTE(DaBestOne @ Mar 26 2008, 01:56 AM)
so in this case bro? what's the advantage of owning a micro account? what's need to be taken into consideration when looking for a account type?
Your capital and money management style.

Taken from forex factory (forgot what thread is it)

The capital:
1000usd = micro acc
10000usd = mini acc
100000usd = standard acc

But still it depend on how much you are willing to risk (Money Management). Im trading live on Daily timeframe with starting 250usd with no problem since using micro lot and less (Oanda). Else if using mini acc with that kind of capital sure will get margin call. Imagine with more than 300pips stoploss, 1 pip = 1 usd, i will get margin call easily if hit stoploss.

Quincy
post Mar 27 2008, 05:09 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(woopypooky @ Mar 27 2008, 03:52 PM)
gbp/us
i never seem to make money with this 2 pairs.

kuskus indicator, now where did i heard it before? lol tongue.gif  forexfactory maybe, old thread, maybe got something to do with MACD....
kuskus system is in forex-tsd forum, not in forexfactory smile.gif
Quincy
post Mar 29 2008, 12:41 AM

372 posts

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Mar 28 2008, 08:39 PM)
@hitokiri_maniac

thanks man!!!!

btw, d declaration i choose d 4th one...  sweat.gif  anyway effect?
n d transaction descreption i put my name tongue.gif
waaaa!!!! maybank n ODL damn fast transfer money!!! i wiretransfer around 5pm now alrady got d.. thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

kanasai... been charged by d oversea bank usd 21.. now onli got 1979..  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  now askin d customer support whether i can trade or not or need to bank in at least minimum capital 2k...  doh.gif
Even manual TT at bank also fast already now.

Last time do the TT a CIMB bank to my broker, Morning transfer, in evening got already in my acc.
Quincy
post Mar 29 2008, 10:15 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Mar 29 2008, 08:53 PM)

IMHO, hold strategy does not work in forex if u got small capital account... so b extra carefull... jus my 2 cents..

What hold strategy? Swing trading?

Ive been holding Eur/Usd and Usd/Chf for a week now, and have no problem with it.

If want to use hold strategy, have to make sure you are with the trend and of course use proper MM icon_rolleyes.gif

I agree on the small capital part, but if using broker with micro lot and less, shouldn't be any problem.
Quincy
post Mar 31 2008, 03:04 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Mar 31 2008, 01:38 PM)
any1 lookin at EU? im still wait it to BO... uhuhuh...

Added on March 31, 2008, 1:40 pmshortin GU... 30pips already.. take profit from table? no way... no reason to close position... tongue.gif unless it hit my TP
Im holding on EU. Expecting it to go up but there is a sign of reversal on daily (double top?). So if it goes above previous high on daily, can say still uptrend.

Quincy
post Mar 31 2008, 05:26 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Mar 31 2008, 04:07 PM)
nice swing u got there... huhuhu  thumbup.gif

mayb will join u after it BO.. hmm.gif
well, jus close 2 trade... profit usd100+ .time to wait for nice pattern..
What is BO? BE I know break even.

nice profit you have there. Hope you will be getting profit consistently.

Added on March 31, 2008, 5:28 pm
QUOTE(Gaara92 @ Mar 31 2008, 05:17 PM)
hei, nice profit u got there...
Perghh muda lagi dah trade forex ye dik? Baru 15 tahun kan? (taken from your blog, sorry if im wrong)

This post has been edited by Quincy: Mar 31 2008, 05:28 PM
Quincy
post Mar 31 2008, 05:30 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(hitokiri_maniac @ Mar 31 2008, 05:28 PM)
everyday usd 100 =.. by the end of month(20 days of coz) u got 2k usd...RM6k..woot.. thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif ...even u work hard for 5 year u hardly get salary as much as that.. whistling.gif  whistling.gif
I too can get every day 5 to 15%(max that i can risk) from my capital if I daytrading. But the main problem is consistency. Tried and failed due to lazyness to monitor the market sweat.gif (hey i got a life you know such as playing games laugh.gif )

0.0460sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:38 AM