43 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Movies LOTR & Hobbit Movies Thread, NOW: THE BATTLE OF THE FIVE ARMIES

chibi_tenko
post Apr 26 2008, 08:10 AM

I see. I pinch. I squeeze
1,250 posts

Omg, why would Elijah Wood be in The Hobbit? He's not even born yet...

Anyway, as much as I really enjoy The Hobbit, Silmarillion pawns 'em all. PJ can simply pluck any of the chapters in there and it'll make a good movie.

I would dearly wish to see them make a movie out of Quenta Silmarillion - the war between Melkor and Elves but I think that alone might take another 2-3 movies. laugh.gif

Anyway, Beren and Luthien's arc might make a very good romantic movie. laugh.gif Wonder who will they find to portray Luthien if they really ever gonna make a movie out of the arc. She's the fairest of all the elves
Ninja
post Apr 29 2008, 04:43 PM

[PBMY]â„¢ Supreme Commander
1,764 posts

Ian McKellen & Andy Serkis basically confirmed, in discussion with Alan Lee & Howard Shore

In an exclusive interview with TheOneRing.net, Guillermo del Toro talks about Ian McKellen, Andy Serkis, Howard Shore, Animatronics vs CGI, the ‘tone’ of the upcoming ‘Hobbit’ films and much more!

How did this whole process get started?

GDT: I met Peter (Jackson) a long time ago when we were planning on doing ‘Halo’ together, I really love how they have that setup in New Zealand, I call it ‘Hollywood the way God intended it’. New Zealand has all the technical advantages when doing a big movie and you are shooting it in paradise, both in terms of artistic freedom and commitment.

When ‘Halo’ didn’t happen, Peter and I stayed in contact on a regular basis, and last winter I started getting inklings that ‘The Hobbit’ may come this way, mainly from the studio. The first thing I said was that I would only be interested if Peter was involved and the (New Line Lawsuit) problem gets resolved. When that issue was resolved I got a call from Peter and we chatted, and it started from then, it was my Christmas gift!

Fans are all abuzz about ‘The Second Film’, can you tell some of your plans for it?

GDT: You know, I traveled to New Zealand just a little while ago, and one of the main reasons for going was to sit down and talk about the second film. ‘The Hobbit’, the book, is really one self-contained film, so for the second movie we sat down and worked it out. When we did this we got really excited because this second film is not a ‘tag on’, it’s not ‘filler’, it’s an integral part of telling the story of those 50 years of history lost in the narrative. There will be certain things that we will see from the first movie but from a different point of view, but it will feel like a volume, in the 5 volumes of the entire story. It will not feel like a bridge, I’ve been hearing it called ‘a bridge film’, it’s not, it’s an integral chapter of the story, and I think we’re all on the same page.

You will be moving down to New Zealand for 4 years, is that right?

GDT: Approximately, my whole family, but the first stages of design and R&D will be done with me going back and fourth from LA and New Zealand because there are a lot of things I need to put to bed before I finally move to New Zealand. I’m going much sooner than my relatives would like!

We will officially be doing a lot of prep on ‘The Hobbit’ this summer, there is so much to do, its amazing. Just the reforestation of The Shire, re planting all those trees and plants will take months, and we’re going to be as exact as possible.

Films like ‘Pan’s Labyrinth’ used a few studio sets to simulate outdoors, will you be doing the same for ‘The Hobbit’ or will you be making use of New Zealand’s wilderness like Peter did?

GDT: I think green screen photography is exactly like CGI, it is a tool, I don’t think it should be overused. Things like ‘Pan’s Labyrinth’ and ‘The Devil’s Backbone’ are incredibly dependent on location, we shot on location for more than half the time. Those locations can be enhanced by technology however, both digital and physical. What I would like to avoid is the recreation of the natural environments in CG, I don’t like doing that. The movie is essentially a journey movie, I think you need to use locations as much as possible.

You’ll be using WETA Digital for the effects?

GDT: Yes, the essential elements for keeping continuity are on track, in the last few weeks I’ve been chatting with a ton of people via email, phone, and in person from the previous films. People like Andy Serkis, Sir Ian McKellen, Howard Shore, John Howe, Gino Acevedo, Richard Taylor next week I’m meeting Alan Lee. I’m doing this to ensure that whatever we do we keep continuity with the other films, yes it’s a world that is slightly more golden at the beginning, a very innocent environment.

What I’m trying to do is keep the elements in place but allow you to feel a progression from ‘The Hobbit’ until ‘The Return of the King’. I believe ‘The Hobbit’ is a very crucial volume in The Lord of the Rings, it is a narrative that starts out very much in an innocent and golden way. It is permeated from England going through World War One, so there is a loss of innocence and a darker tone as the book and the film progresses. We’ll be doing that in the first film, taking you from a time of more purity to a darker reality throughout the film, but I think that is in the spirit of the book. All these guys, Alan Lee, John Howe, these guys are integral for us to map out that progress in the two movies, and allow you to completely blend in to the universe that is already in place. But this will be a progression, it should not feel at the start of the film that this is the same time (as the beginning of ‘Fellowship’). 50 years in Shire time, is not the same as 50 years in human time, if you think about how our world has changed in only 7 or 8 years, you can think of it as decades of turmoil, those 50 years in Middle-earth.

Do you have any roles cast?

GDT: Well, I had the most charming meeting with Sir Ian, and all bureaucracy pending, he’s on board, as is Andy Serkis. We will continue giving you progress reports as the occur. It is our intention that we will not lose any of the key elements.

What will differ from your films versus Peter’s?

The only thing I will be pushing for more in these films that the other three are full animatronics and animatronic creatures enhanced with CGI, as opposed to CGI creatures themselves. We really want to take the state-of-the-art animatronics and take a leap ten years into the future with the technology we will develop for the creatures in the movie. We have every intention to do for animatronics and special effects what the other films did for virtual reality.

Another thing people will notice, at the beginning of the film will be the palette, that will be slightly different, the world will be the same but it will be a more ‘golden’ world, a more wide-eyed world. But by no means will we depart from the canon, we will take the three previous films as canon. When I become part of a world that I love, such as this, I really come with a lot of enthusiasm and hard work, and we know we are recreating and creating a world that is part of the mythos of millions of people and we will approach it as passionately and respectfully as it needs to be taken.

Source: http://www.theonering.net/torwp/2008/04/25...e-hobbit-films/
maranello55
post May 5 2008, 02:01 AM

Accelera Ayrton!!
3,385 posts

Yes....Silmarillion is a HUGEEEEEE ask.
peinsama
post May 5 2008, 02:41 AM

Au fait
725 posts

QUOTE(chibi_tenko @ Apr 26 2008, 08:10 AM)
Omg, why would Elijah Wood be in The Hobbit? He's not even born yet...

Anyway, as much as I really enjoy The Hobbit, Silmarillion pawns 'em all. PJ can simply pluck any of the chapters in there and it'll make a good movie.

I would dearly wish to see them make a movie out of Quenta Silmarillion - the war between Melkor and Elves but I think that alone might take another 2-3 movies. laugh.gif

Anyway, Beren and Luthien's arc might make a very good romantic movie. laugh.gif Wonder who will they find to portray Luthien if they really ever gonna make a movie out of the arc. She's the fairest of all the elves
Hey im quite interested with the upcoming movie the hobbit. But can i know what is 'silmarillion'?
Baronic
post May 5 2008, 06:51 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

silmarillion is part of the three books, about the story of the founding of middle earth, and how evil came to be, how man and elves and dwarves were born, how orcs were created, how Sauron was just a kuci kuci evil lieutenant for a much more powerful evil bugger.

not many can read it, cuz its written in shakespearean style. thee thou prithee nay

but i love it. lol

This post has been edited by Baronic: May 5 2008, 06:51 AM
chibi_tenko
post May 5 2008, 07:07 AM

1,250 posts

QUOTE(peinsama @ May 5 2008, 02:41 AM)
Hey im quite interested with the upcoming movie the hobbit. But can i know what is 'silmarillion'?
The Silmarillion is the prequel to The Hobbit and LOTR. It contains several arcs -

Of Ainulindale and Valaquenta :
The 'birth' of Elves, the creation of Middle-Earth, and the 'betrayal' of Melkor who turned his back to Iluvatar (the creator of all things) and turned to darkness - bringing along with him the Balrogs and his trustred aide, Sauron.

Quenta Silmarillion - The First Age of Middle-Earth
This arc is mostly centered on the Silmarils and explains in details how Elves made their way to Middle-Earth. Also depicted in this arc is the awesome battles between Melkor and the Elves and the love between a Man and Elf, Beren and Luthien.

Akallabeth
This arc depicts the creation and fall of the Numenors (Aragorn's ancestors - Men gifted with the Elves' long lives). Sauron plays a bigger part here.

The Rings of Power and the Third Age
Mainly depicts the Second and Third Age of Middle-Earth. It explains in detail the creation of the Rings of Power and how he secretly forged the "One Who Will Rule Them All" ring.

TSfiredauz
post May 15 2008, 02:34 PM

Kopitiam Official Astronaut
876 posts

Sauce: http://www.wetanz.com/holics/
Jackson & Del Toro to Hold Online Hobbit Chat!

We'll let Weta do the talking for the hottest party invite yet this year...

An Unexpected Party

Peter Jackson and Guillermo del Toro invite you to a live internet chat about The Hobbit.

Peter and Guillermo would love to answer your questions and hear your comments about our new adventure into Middle-Earth. Please register to make sure you don't miss out on the Unexpected Party and get regular updates on the movies.

Weta are excited to be hosting this one-hour live online chat on our website. Please check the start time for your time zone below:

Los Angeles (Pacific) - Saturday, May 24 at 1pm
New York (Eastern) - Saturday, May 24 at 4pm
London - Saturday, May 24 at 9pm
Paris, Berlin, Rome - Saturday, May 24 at 10pm
Sydney - Sunday, May 25 at 6am
Wellington, Auckland - Sunday, May 25 at 8am

Before you register, you can read Peter's personal invitation here!

Now, to register and submit your question in advance, go here!

The Hobbit is expected to hit theaters in 2010 followed by its sequel in 2011.

TSfiredauz
post May 21 2008, 02:24 PM

876 posts

Sauce: http://www.variety.com/article/VR111798620...egoryid=13&cs=1
Mortensen, McKellen & Serkis Returning for Hobbit?

Pre-production is about to get under way on The Hobbit and its sequel, says Variety.

Fran Walsh and Philippa Boyens are expected to write the scripts under the direction of Peter Jackson and Guillermo del Toro. Preliminary contact has already been made with at least three actors whose "Lord of the Rings" characters also appear in the "Hobbit" storyline: Viggo Mortensen (Aragorn), Ian McKellen (Gandalf) and Andy Serkis (Gollum).

"We will all be involved in the script in some fashion but the exact definition is about a week away, " said del Toro. "I am all for keeping the actors who originated the parts, as much as availability and their willingness will allow."

norazwan79
post May 21 2008, 04:00 PM

i love fullHD
1,414 posts

out of topic.
bila lotr trilogy nak ada dalam bluray?
Ninja
post May 21 2008, 11:38 PM

1,764 posts

Liv Tyler Talks The Hobbit
Will Arwen make an appearance in the new films?

IGN caught up with actress Liv Tyler yesterday in New York City to discuss her new horror film The Strangers, but while we had her pointy Elven ear we just had to ask her about whether or not she'll be returning to the Lord of the Rings universe as Arwen for the upcoming pair of recently announced Hobbit films.

"Somebody just said to me, 'Has your agent called Peter Jackson yet?'" says the actress with a laugh. "And I was like, 'Whoa. What are you talking about?' [The reporter] was so aggressive. It's so funny the way people think and see [these things]. Someone just told me now that [director] Guillermo del Toro was doing it and that they're going to split it into two films, which will be The Hobbit plus some sort of a bridge to The Lord of the Rings. As far as I know, Arwen and Aragorn are not in The Hobbit, or definitely aren't in it. But I don't know yet."

While Tyler points out that Arwen does not show up in the book version of The Hobbit, the so-called bridge film could be another matter altogether.

"It's very interesting and I guess I should try to find out," she says. "I'm curious because there were all those other books like The Silmarillion. And the appendix, that's where they got the whole idea for my part, just from the appendix. There's so much other amazing stuff."

She says she is definitely onboard for a return appearance if del Toro and producer Peter Jackson invite her.

"Oh, are you kidding?" she says when asked. "In a heartbeat! I'll buy my own ticket and be on the plane in a second. I mean, that was a magical experience and it was just a once in a lifetime, amazing [thing]. Because it was so like… we knew and we didn't know that it was sort of something that had never been done before, and there was this feeling that was really gung-ho. Like, 'O.K., let's go off together!' And we just rolled our sleeves up. It really was this amazing, crazy, special thing."

Source: http://movies.ign.com/articles/875/875397p1.html
mukhlisz
post May 22 2008, 12:11 AM

373 posts

i only remember Bilbo, Gandalf, the dwarves, Smeagol, Smaug & Beorn from the book. but from the look of things it looks more like a reunion to me...

chibi_tenko
post May 22 2008, 07:01 AM

1,250 posts

QUOTE(mukhlisz @ May 22 2008, 12:11 AM)
i only remember Bilbo, Gandalf, the dwarves, Smeagol, Smaug & Beorn from the book. but from the look of things it looks more like a reunion to me...

Exactly. Why is Aragorn gonna be in the movie? Shouldn't we have a glimpse of Gimli instead? After all, the dwarves were involved as well but not Aragorn. I do hope that they don't throw in the LOTR characters into the Hobbit for 'reunion's' sake.
TSfiredauz
post May 22 2008, 10:12 AM

876 posts

Its just like Liv Tyler had mentioned, the book contains so much more exciting things to offer, other characters that were not mentioned in the book would look like "hey what are they doing here?" laugh.gif

I guess *maybe* Del Toro will bring the old casts back, but just minor roles or cameo.

However.
If they appear only as minor roles & follow the book.
Film critics *might* not like it.
Fans will love it.

If they go make an entirely updated version from the book.
Film critics *might* like it.
Fans will definitely disagree.

Eitherway, the first 3 movies are not entirely following the books anyway, there are parts where they had to change to suit movie choreographic-style and to make it much more presentable to viewers, especially those that had never read the books.
Ninja
post May 22 2008, 11:03 AM

1,764 posts

Yeah, like what happen during Battle of Helms Deep. laugh.gif In the book, there are no other Elven archers besides Legolas present. Legolas merely wishes that they had a hundred archers of Mirkwood with them during the battle.

And, that 's what PJ did. Legolas wish has come true. laugh.gif
Vengeance_Mad
post May 22 2008, 12:28 PM

Aston-ishing
797 posts

^Ooo.. didn't know that..
Thanks for the info.. haha..
mukhlisz
post May 22 2008, 09:09 PM

373 posts

i do hope del Toro will portray the dwarves in a much better light compared to Gimli in LOTR. making fun of dwarves because of their height is getting a bit old.

with names like Thorin Oakenshield, u would expect nothing but bad-ass ninjas swinging their battle axes. biggrin.gif
TSfiredauz
post May 22 2008, 09:19 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(mukhlisz @ May 22 2008, 09:09 PM)
i do hope del Toro will portray the dwarves in a much better light compared to Gimli in LOTR. making fun of dwarves because of their height is getting a bit old.

with names like Thorin Oakenshield, u would expect nothing but bad-ass ninjas swinging their battle axes.  biggrin.gif
When I think of a little guy that is so fast, and also good with swords, one character comes to mind:

mukhlisz
post May 22 2008, 09:30 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(firedauz @ May 22 2008, 09:19 PM)
When I think of a little guy that is so fast, and also good with swords, one character comes to mind:

thank heavens dwarves are not green. it's bad enough with all the facial hair and the Scottish accents.. laugh.gif

another thing that's cool about del Toro is the creatures and makeup in his movies looks good. freaky but good.
Pale Man and the Hellboy characters were sweet! biggrin.gif

xavier7
post May 24 2008, 01:53 AM

546 posts

Silmarillion would be fine.

I would like to see what Sauron looks like, before he donned his badass armour lolz. I remembered that he shapeshifted into some gigantic wolf in the book.

and.. the lost of the Silmarils to Melkor.. and the epic duel of the Elf High King Fingolfin and Melkor.. tragic it was..

edit: oh yes, and Huan... a brave dog he is smile.gif

This post has been edited by xavier7: May 24 2008, 01:56 AM
TSfiredauz
post May 25 2008, 12:50 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(firedauz @ May 15 2008, 02:34 PM)
Sauce: http://www.wetanz.com/holics/

Jackson & Del Toro to Hold Online Hobbit Chat!

We'll let Weta do the talking for the hottest party invite yet this year...

An Unexpected Party

Peter Jackson and Guillermo del Toro invite you to a live internet chat about The Hobbit.

Peter and Guillermo would love to answer your questions and hear your comments about our new adventure into Middle-Earth. Please register to make sure you don't miss out on the Unexpected Party and get regular updates on the movies.

Weta are excited to be hosting this one-hour live online chat on our website. Please check the start time for your time zone below:

Los Angeles (Pacific) - Saturday, May 24 at 1pm
New York (Eastern) - Saturday, May 24 at 4pm
London - Saturday, May 24 at 9pm
Paris, Berlin, Rome - Saturday, May 24 at 10pm
Sydney - Sunday, May 25 at 6am
Wellington, Auckland - Sunday, May 25 at 8am

Before you register, you can read Peter's personal invitation here!

Now, to register and submit your question in advance, go here!

The Hobbit is expected to hit theaters in 2010 followed by its sequel in 2011.
Anyone went to ask questions from them online? biggrin.gif

43 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0223sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:53 PM