Movies LOTR & Hobbit Movies Thread, NOW: THE BATTLE OF THE FIVE ARMIES

TSfiredauz
post Feb 1 2008, 10:57 AM, updated 11y ago

Kopitiam Official Astronaut
876 posts

Source (IMDB) --> http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0903624/
Bilbo Baggins, a Hobbit, journeys to the Lonely Mountain accompanied by a group of dwarfs to reclaim a treasure taken from them by the dragon Smaug.

Update News --> http://film.guardian.co.uk/news/story/0,,2250245,00.html
Del Toro to take charge of The Hobbit

Guillermo del Toro has officially signed up to direct The Hobbit, according to reports leaking out from a film premiere in France. The Pan's Labyrinth creator will oversee a double-bill of films based on JRR Tolkien's fantasy adventure, which paved the way for The Lord of the Rings. Peter Jackson, director of the Oscar-winning Rings trilogy, will serve as executive producer.

The announcement was made at last night's French premiere of The Orphanage, a Spanish horror film that Del Toro helped produce. Introducing the film-maker, the host told the audience: "Today is a big day because we are announcing what everyone wanted to hear, which is that he will be directing The Hobbit." Del Toro had previously been reported to be in negotiations to take charge of the project.

Some small news:
- The Hobbit is divided into 2 movies.
- Elijah Woods is confirmed to be returning for these new movies.

This post has been edited by firedauz: Dec 20 2014, 01:10 AM
Hevrn
post Feb 1 2008, 11:00 AM

4,017 posts

At least Peter Jackson would be involved... I'm eagerly awaiting for another adaptation of a Tolkien masterpiece. Who'll play Bilbo?
Wokuman
post Feb 1 2008, 05:07 PM

203 posts

great news....

let's hope they will produce 'the silmarillion' after 'the hobbit'
SUSirkuysm
post Feb 1 2008, 11:11 PM

Hitsugi Of Nightmare
526 posts

QUOTE(Wokuman @ Feb 1 2008, 05:07 PM)
great news....

Story about the elves oso okay.
navilink
post Feb 1 2008, 11:17 PM

【ツ】
10,783 posts

QUOTE(irkuysm @ Feb 1 2008, 11:11 PM)
Story about the elves oso okay.
many girls will be looking forward to that elves movie! haha....del toro, this hobbit movie will be very artistic i think
mukhlisz
post Feb 2 2008, 01:21 AM

373 posts

Pan's Labyrinth was great! Tragic but great. Can't wait to see this one.. biggrin.gif
Ninja
post Feb 2 2008, 01:29 AM

[PBMY]™ Supreme Commander
1,764 posts

marvelous choice.. thumbup.gif i'm happy that Peter finally resolved it with New Line Cinema.. any director that could make something so powerful and exhileratingly magical as Pans' Labyrinth would do amazing things with The Hobbit.. can't wait..
TSfiredauz
post Mar 26 2008, 10:41 PM

876 posts

Source: http://www.mckellen.com/epost/lotr/080326.htm

Sir Ian McKellen on The Hobbit Films

Will Sir Ian McKellen reprise his Oscar-nominated role of Gandalf in "The Lord of the Rings" prequels The Hobbit and its sequel? McKellen says it's pretty likely on his latest official E-Post:

Q: So has it come to pass, good Sir McKellen? Shall the dreaming masses with their musty books and their blackened pipes at long last hear those immortal words issue from under that famous nose? "Yes, yes, my dear sir-and I know your name, Mr. Bilbo Baggins. And you do know my name, though you don't remember that I belong to it. I am Gandalf, and Gandalf means me! To think I should have lived to be good-morninged by Belladonna Took's son, as if I was selling buttons at the door!" Looking about, I find I share the same hopes as millions of others, so I ask, a single query in a chorus... Will you again be our Gandalf in "The Hobbit" now that the deal is settled?

A: Yes I will, if Peter Jackson and I have anything to do with it, he being the producer and me being, on the whole, a very lucky actor. I've just read your quote out loud - fabulous speech.

Q: Have you been approached yet by Peter Jackson or anyone else about reprising your wonderful role as Gandalf for the two upcoming "Hobbit" movies. I read that principal photography begins in 2009, and I can't imagine those movies without you!

A: Encouragingly, Peter and Fran Walsh have told me they couldn't imagine The Hobbit without their original Gandalf. Their confidence hasn't yet been confirmed by the director Guillermo del Toro but I am keeping my diary free for 2009!

Warner Bros.' New Line is planning 2010 and 2011 releases for the two films.

demio121
post Mar 26 2008, 11:57 PM

2,084 posts

with Del Toro, no doubt middle earth will be interesting. No shortage of creature cuz Del Toro is famed for monster movie. Most (if not all) of his movies, either direct or produce have a dark theme. It'll be another fun ride this time.

2010 and 2011... seems like a long time to come.

This post has been edited by demio121: Mar 26 2008, 11:58 PM
+3kk!
post Mar 26 2008, 11:59 PM

8,275 posts

wow, del toro + jackson what else can a fantasy fan ask for?
vivienne85
post Mar 27 2008, 08:41 AM

360 posts

great news....

it is great that guillermo del toro will direct the hobbit rclxms.gif
wondering which actor will potray bilbo baggins?? tongue.gif

it will be a HUGE task if they were to produce the sirmarillion...hope it will happen in the future drool.gif

This post has been edited by vivienne85: Mar 27 2008, 08:42 AM
verx
post Mar 27 2008, 10:34 AM

Soshified Madridista
3,737 posts

great news....

I feel Silmarillion isn't suitable to be remade into a movie. Unlike The Hobbit or LotR it doesn't have a central theme. It's almost like a history book for Middle Earth laugh.gif
SUSgogo2
post Mar 27 2008, 12:31 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(verx @ Mar 27 2008, 10:34 AM)
I feel Silmarillion isn't suitable to be remade into a movie. Unlike The Hobbit or LotR it doesn't have a central theme. It's almost like a history book for Middle Earth laugh.gif
I'm trying to read this book. Unfortunately, I failed. Until now also I dunno wat this book all about.. laugh.gif
vivienne85
post Mar 27 2008, 12:38 PM

360 posts

really??

the sirmarillion is one of my fav books of all time....
really like the historical stuff abt middle earth and the origins of the elves,men and dwarves and also hobbits...

verx
post Mar 27 2008, 01:09 PM

Soshified Madridista
3,737 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Mar 27 2008, 12:31 PM)
I'm trying to read this book. Unfortunately, I failed. Until now also I dunno wat this book all about.. laugh.gif
lol
It's not an easy read I have to admit. It took me quite a while to finish the book as well. And I'm quite a fast reader tongue.gif
The book basically documents how Middle Earth was formed (literally laugh.gif), and alot of stories about the 1st and 2nd age (LOTR is 3rd age iinm). It's not a book I would recommend reading. It's more for LotR fanatics. But it just shows the attention to detail Tolkien put to Middle Earth that he had written what's essentially the bible of it. tongue.gif
Klesk
post Mar 27 2008, 02:56 PM

3,469 posts

hey, what about 'the return of the kings' and 'sam and frodo'?

g5sim
post Mar 28 2008, 06:23 AM

5,750 posts

aiyo ! why the studio is MGM not NewLine/Warner ?
TSfiredauz
post Apr 25 2008, 11:17 AM

876 posts

Sauce: http://www.variety.com/article/VR111798459...3&cs=1&nid=2562

It's Official: Guillermo del Toro to Direct The Hobbit!

Guillermo del Toro has officially signed on to direct the New Line/MGM's The Hobbit and its sequel, reports Variety.

The widely expected announcement came Thursday afternoon jointly from executive producers Peter Jackson and Fran Walsh, New Line president Toby Emmerich, and Mary Parent, newly named chief of MGM's Worldwide Motion Picture Group.

Del Toro's moving to New Zealand for the next four years to work with Jackson and his Wingnut and Weta production teams. He'll direct the two films back to back, with the sequel dealing with the 60-year period between The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring, the first of the "Lord of the Rings" trilogy.

New Line is overseeing development and will manage production. Both films are being co-produced and co-financed by New Line Cinema and MGM, with Warner Bros. distributing domestically and MGM handling international.

Del Toro won't leave for New Zealand immediately as he's still in post-production on Universal's "Hellboy II," due out in July.

The official signing of Del Toro comes four months after New Line settled a lawsuit with Jackson over "The Lord of the Rings" and announced that it had agreed with MGM to turn J.R.R. Tolkien's "Hobbit" into two live-action films.

The studios didn't give a start date on production and don't yet have a script. Though no screenplay deal's been set, it's expected that the LOTR scripting team of Jackson, Walsh and Philippa Boyens will collaborate with Del Toro.

With Del Toro blocking out four years for the project, it's likely that the studios are aiming at starting shooting next year and releasing the films in late 2011 and 2012.

Jackson's WETA stages, post-production and visual effects facilities -- built for "The Lord of the Rings" -- will be used for both films. And New Zealand will again be the site of Middle-earth, with the story centering on Bilbo Baggins taking the Ring of Power from Gollum.

Ninja
post Apr 25 2008, 03:47 PM

[PBMY]™ Supreme Commander
1,764 posts

Can't wait... PJ & Del Toro FTW! rclxms.gif

aiman04
post Apr 25 2008, 05:41 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Del Toro is one of my respected young directors. Looking forward to these 2 movies.

By the way, the studio is New Line Cinema, they have come to an agreement with MGM about the rights.

43 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0271sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:28 AM